Mahindra XUV500 (W201): First Impressions Pg.29 Onwards

@Raja:Still remember your first few posts on the Storme thread,where you said that you're confused between Storme base model(to be launched) vs XUVW4(again you were looking for its launch).Now it looks like you've got your wish fulfilled and XUV W4 is coming home,huh?

Dear who knows ? Maybe yes maybe not . Let them come with the pricing too .

What is the price difference between the W4 and W6?

Looking at the amount of features stripped out I expect the W4 to be atleast 1.5 lakhs cheaper than W6.

As there is difference of about 1.5 Lacs between W6 and W8 as well and the 4WD is 1 lac plus on W8.

What it has to do in a xuv thread ? [surprise]
xuv had its share of brake pad issues.

many had doubts about its reliability with similar snaps added.
so by adding the above snap just wanted to ask to members who felt range Rover as benchmark for SUVs how does the range Rover's reputation fares.

xuv had its share of brake pad issues.

many had doubts about its reliability with similar snaps added.
so by adding the above snap just wanted to ask to members who felt range Rover as benchmark for SUVs how does the range Rover's reputation fares.
Bentley also has many breakdown stories , do you think we must post that in Tata manza thread and ask opinions ?

Better will be you post how the 5th design of xuv's brakes is doing and maybe you can start a new thread on range rovers reliability.

Bentley also has many breakdown stories , do you think we must post that in Tata manza thread and ask opinions ?

Better will be you post how the 5th design of xuv's brakes is doing and maybe you can start a new thread on range rovers reliability.
no you again got me on the wrong side.

what i was mentioning is.

XUV was perceived to be vehicle filled with so called "chinese" items in it.
hence they could pack in those many features at that cost compromising in its reliability. some even called it an undercooked/untested vehicle.

so when the same problems arises with the premium brands in that case range rover. can then the range rover be called an undercooked/unreliable vehicle filled with "chinese " items?

One Range Rover having brake problem,can not be equated with plethora of XUVs having brake problem.Anyways,the dwindling sales of XUV (as compared with last year),when compared with Sccorpio(that is still going strong) proves that reliability and hassle free ownership matters most to the customers ahead of all the fancy gizmos.

^^ compare the prices of the XUV and the overall slowdown on the segment to get a realistic picture, the XUV is still doing good. you do not expect it to sell by 5k or 7k per month when even the duster has reported drop in sales.

same goes for the safari which now combines in two cars (safari+storme) yet still struggles to reach 1k figures on monthly basis.
features, hassle free ownership did not give it a boost ahead of all fancy gizmos.

no you again got me on the wrong side.
No actually I dint , but if you felt so iam sorry .

what i was mentioning is.
XUV was perceived to be vehicle filled with so called "chinese" items in it.
I don't think the xuv has Chinese items in it per say , but since cheap Chinese items are related with unreliabilty and flashy things people used their imagination and perceived it so .

hence they could pack in those many features at that cost compromising in its reliability. some even called it an undercooked/untested vehicle.
True and I think mahindra themselves believe too , or else their was no point in saying " now our car comes with zero defect "

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Autos...ahindra-XUV500-improved/Article1-1110708.aspx

The braking system, for example, has been completely re-engineered to essentially counter the complaint about noisy brakes. M&M has upgraded the whole brake system with better quality brake pads that improve feel and don't groan when used constantly.

M&M has also worked with clutch supplier Valeo to improve the reliability of the oil seals and improve clutch operation. However, this is one area where M&M still needs to work on as clutch operation is still not as progressive as we would have liked and you have to concentrate to engage the clutch smoothly. Also, the gearshift still feels notchy especially when selecting second gear. Plus, there’s still a fair amount of torque steer under hard acceleration which tugs at the steering wheel. This is hard to eradicate thanks to the unduly high half shaft angles
so when the same problems arises with the premium brands in that case range rover. can then the range rover be called an undercooked/unreliable vehicle filled with "chinese " items?
What do you think and believe ? Does range rover comes with Chinese items in it and is half cooked vehicle just because salman khans range rover had a break down ?

You are talking about one isolated example of a range rover and comparing it to a car which had niggles from day one in most of the cars sold in initial batches .

But Now answer this question we have issues sometimes with tata manza or a vista or a safari right ? why we have issues ? General complaint is maybe tata uses inferior components and even bad engineering of the car .

Now read this -->

Queen goes for a stroll after her Bentley breaks down | UK | News | Daily Express

Seconds later, the Queen climbed into the back of her police back-up Range Rover and sped onto her final engagement at Tower Bridge.
"It's clearly unfortunate but these things happen, even to Bentleys," a Buckingham Palace spokesman said.
"We're not sure what went wrong with it. We'll get it back to the garage and let the mechanics have a look at it.
What do you think is Bentley also using cheap components in their cars or is Bentley also making cars which are badly engineered ?

One Range Rover having brake problem,can not be equated with plethora of XUVs having brake problem.
+100.

it was not about a one off brake pad change.
it was about the 9 times brake pads change during its one and half year ownership.
that puts it as an average brake pad change every 1.5 months.

what more startled me was the service advisor giving reasons that its frequency is high because it is a heavy vehicle.
so brake pads wearing every one and half months is normal for a premium brand like range rover.

it was not about a one off brake pad change.
it was about the 9 times brake pads change during its one and half year ownership.
that puts it as an average brake pad change every 1.5 months.

what more startled me was the service advisor giving reasons that its frequency is high because it is a heavy vehicle.
so brake pads wearing every one and half months is normal for a premium brand like range rover.
And how many incidents you have like salman khans range rover to report , compared to issues of xuv ?

Start a new thread and then we will compare reliability of range rover vs Mercedes G wagen . ( same class and range )

For xuv it's better we compare it with vehicles in it is class and range .

Though you are free to compare reliability of xuv with range rover to your heart desire .