Mahindra XUV500 (W201): First Impressions Pg.29 Onwards

News about the W4
although the spec has been finalised internally, Mahindra has not yet green-lighted this new variant for showrooms. This is because it wants to see if the W6 and W8 variants (now with lower prices thanks to the new ground clearance rating) manage to re-ignite the sales charts. Mahindra is looking at a target of about 3,000 units a month, and if it can meet this with the existing models alone, the W4 will be kept on hold.
Mahindra readies base ‘W4’ XUV500 variant | News | Autocar India

Mahindra XUV price hike upto 20k from Oct 1st 2013

Mahindra hikes the price of their global SUV - XUV5OO by upto 20K with effect from Oct-01-2013. [frustration]

Commenting on the price hike, Pravin Shah, Chief Executive, Automotive Division, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd said, “We have been holding back prices for a while but now it has become necessary to raise them due to increasing input costs, devaluation of the rupee and increase in some raw material costs. As always, Mahindra remains committed to its customers.”

Source : Mahindra becomes the latest carmaker to hike prices in India

We learn through dealer sources that Mahindra will launch a new base variant ‘W4′ for the XUV500 by the end of this month, that misses out on equipment, thereby allowing the vehicle to have a lower starting price.

As the auto industry is experiencing a decline that was driven further downhill by the excise duty hike on SUVs, manufacturers including Mahindra have seen sales fall over the last six months. Another problem for Mahindra is a growing race of competitors – the Renault Duster, Ford EcoSport and impending introduction of the Nissan Terrano are trying to tap into Mahindra’s market share.

These vehicles haven’t cannibalized sales of the Scorpio or the XUV500, but a variant that positions it closer to this segment’s target customer may tempt a few to upgrade from the lower segments.

The XUV500 which consistently sold over 3,500 units a month, is now managing just over 2,000 units. The W4 variant, with a significant price advantage (currently retailed for between 12.01-14.64 lakh rupees, ex-showroom Delhi) could rev up numbers.

The sheet here lists all the features on the W4, but allow us to wrap it up for you.

Features sheet of the Mahindra XUV500 W4 variant.

Technologically, the Mahindra XUV500 W4 gets the same 2.2L diesel engine (140bhp/330Nm), start-stop and six-speed transmission, but it lacks the 6-inch touchscreen infotainment display, DVD player, tyre pressure sensor, parking assistant, rain sensing wipers and light sensing headlamps.

In safety, the W4 features dual airbags, and ABS with EBD, but misses out on ESP, Hill Hold and Hill Descent control. Cosmetically, the car does not have front foglamps, twin exhaust tips, roof rails or cladding strips.

On the aspect of comfort, the base variant bids goodbye to telescopic steering, fully-automatic temperature control, power-folding side mirrors and premium fabric upholstery.

In the matter of convenience, the car lacks cruise control, a multi-function steering wheel, illuminated key ring, camping lamp, puddle lamps and door ajar lamps.

The price difference between the W4 and the W6 is not available to us, but it won’t be long before Mahindra reveals this detail.

Source -IAB

We learn through dealer sources that Mahindra will launch a new base variant ‘W4′ for the XUV500 by the end of this month, that misses out on equipment, thereby allowing the vehicle to have a lower starting price.
Source -IAB
The base model, XUV 5OO-W4 still comes equipped with loads of features. Its no way a bare-bone. Most importantly it comes with all the safety features of W6, which I thought is an excellent gesture from Mahindra.[clap]

The practical W6-features that I would miss in W4 [subjective and price dependent though]
  • Power windows
  • Illuminated key rings
  • iPod & USB connectivity [probably included]

The base model, XUV 5OO-W4 still comes equipped with loads of features. Its no way a bare-bone. Most importantly it comes with all the safety features of W6, which I thought is an excellent gesture from Mahindra.[clap]

The practical W6-features that I would miss in W4 [subjective and price dependent though]
  • Power windows
  • Illuminated key rings
  • iPod & USB connectivity [probably included]
I think they will remove power folding mirrors and not power windows .

"Power windows with driver side express down" is seen unchecked for W4 in your post, thus my comment.
Probably the only the "express down" feature omitted with Power windows retained.

"Power windows with driver side express down" is seen unchecked for W4 in your post, thus my comment.
Probably the only the "express down" feature omitted with Power windoms retained.
Maybe . Because removing power windows from a 10 lakhs ₹ plus car is insane . So yes maybe they will remove " express down " feature .

I must admit i am a bit surprised - they could have gone for the kill by making it more bare bones and invade/persuade lower territory but they seem to clearly not want to do that and stick to a more premium not compromised position - i think this is more a branding decision than a business decision. If they get the pricing really right as in the early launch days shocker - this could be get them back in the game.

The current XUV W6 costs 11.90 Lacs ex showroom in Mumbai. If the W4 costs 10.5 Lacs to 11 Lacs ex showroom in Mumbai, then that means an on road price of about 12-12.5 Lacs in Mumbai. That puts it bang on in the Ecosport, Duster and Terrano territory. Competition intensified!

I must admit i am a bit surprised - they could have gone for the kill by making it more bare bones and invade/persuade lower territory but they seem to clearly not want to do that and stick to a more premium not compromised position - i think this is more a branding decision than a business decision. If they get the pricing really right as in the early launch days shocker - this could be get them back in the game.
Infact, I would say thats a wiser decision. The XUV has been launched as a premium product and I would like it to stay that way. I dont want to see the XUV facing Aria's fate by going downhill and finally launching a stripped down variant for the taxi market.