Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Your choice?

Thanks raj of your views , quite helpful, I am also considering XUV, but still want to wait for Merlin.

b] Also suppose Tata reduce the prices by 3 lacks, then what about the 4000 so people who have already plonked their money on Aria, won't they feel cheated if tata drop prices this drastically to make you consider Aria.It won't leave a nice impression IMO.
Come on. If Tata has resources and technique to effectively bring down the costs then I cannot think of a reason why they should not. Tata is here for a business, they will obviously choose to please thousands of more ‘potential’ buyers rather than being much concerned about rest 4,000 who have already spent their money on it. Honda Jazz is an apt example here. If there’s anything that has affected the company, then it was only a positive effect which was in terms of sudden surge in sales.

+1. Totally agree.

In India, pricing is one of the most important factor for selling any product. If not priced accurately there will be many failures like old Honda Jazz, Kizashi, New Ford Fiesta etc.

Thread Starter #244
I dont know whether this has been mentioned here before, but the XUV also comes with a remote for the ICE, apart from touchscreen!

Good thing for rear passengers who want to skip the boring action sequence in the movie, while watching DVDs!

I dont know whether this has been mentioned here before, but the XUV also comes with a remote for the ICE, apart from touchscreen!

Good thing for rear passengers who want to skip the boring action sequence in the movie, while watching DVDs!
I think DVD infotainment system won't start, unless car is stationary & hand brake is engaged.
As a safety measure from driver being distracted, while driving.
Yes remote is there for infotainment system.

Here is a short review by an automotive enthusiast, actress Gul Panag.
She shows the remote too.:biggrin:

Here:Mahindra XUV500 Review.MP4 - YouTube

How is the handling of XUV compared to its competitors.I want to know the agility,steering feedback and precision,last but not the least body roll.I am also interested in knowing things like the play and throw of clutch,brakes of XUV compared to normal cars under 10 lakh.

Well friends,a good news is that TOMORROW AT 11 AM,I MYSELF IS GOING FOR THE TEST DRIVE OF AN XUV-500,have already contacted the sales guy and he has promised me a good and long test drive of the car(only condition he kept is that I'll have to get the tank filled if I take it really long),but be ensured,I'll take it for at least 70-80 kms,so..I'LL SHARE TOMORROW.

Thread Starter #248
Here is a short review by an automotive enthusiast, actress Gul Panag.
She shows the remote too.:biggrin:
LOLZ! Interior rear view mirrors - standard!

How is the handling of XUV compared to its competitors.I want to know the agility,steering feedback and precision,last but not the least body roll.I am also interested in knowing things like the play and throw of clutch,brakes of XUV compared to normal cars under 10 lakh.
Handling, agility, steering feedback, clutch - Innova > XUV > Aria

Well friends,a good news is that TOMORROW AT 11 AM,I MYSELF IS GOING FOR THE TEST DRIVE OF AN XUV-500,have already contacted the sales guy and he has promised me a good and long test drive of the car(only condition he kept is that I'll have to get the tank filled if I take it really long),but be ensured,I'll take it for at least 70-80 kms,so..I'LL SHARE TOMORROW.
What a coincidence. Today Mahindra guys called me to ask about my test drive enquiry on their website (my earlier test drive was not official & was too short). I could not take the car above 80 kmph, also I could not check things like GPS, hill hold, ICE, etc.

So, I am going on Wednesday. My brother also wants to see the car & he will be free only next week. But my brother enquired about booking & they said bookings have not re-opened & they have no idea when it will.

spec sheet Shootout! Tata Aria vs XUV 500 - DNA
Interesting to see almost very similar specs.

MAHINDRA XUV500 W8
Price: Rs11.88 lakh (Ex-showroom, Mumbai)
Engine: 2179cc, I-4, diesel
Max power: 140 bhp@3750 rpm
Max torque: 33.7 kgm@1600 - 2800 rpm
Dimension in feet: Height 5.9, Width 6.2, Length 15
Kitna deti hai? 12-14 kms/litre, fuel tank: 70 litres
Transmission: 6-speed manual
Steering type: Rack and pinion with power assist
Turning radius: 5.6 m
Suspension: Front: Independent double wishbone with coil springs
Rear: Five-link suspension with coil springs
Brakes: Front: Ventilated disc, Rear: solid disc

TATA ARIA 4x2

Price: Rs11.85 lakh (Ex-showroom, Mumbai)
Engine: 2179cc, I-4, diesel
Max power: 138 bhp@4000 rpm
Max torque: 32.6 kgm@1700-2700 rpm
Dimension in feet: Height 5.8, Width 6.2, Length 15.7
Kitna deti hai? 11-13 kms/litre, fuel tank: 60 litres
Transmission: 5-speed manual
Steering type: Rack and pinion with power assist
Turning radius: 5.6 m
Suspension: Independent double wishbone
with coil springs
Rear: Five-link suspension with coil springs
Brakes: Ventilated disc, solid disc

@jayadev

The spec sheet of xuv in the above DNA shootout is wrong as it has macpherson struts at front and not double wishbone as the site explains.Infact Aria has got this kind of front suspension.

The Merlin-Safari will be the one to watch for coz it will be cheaper than Aria but may incorporate several of XUV 500 W6 features.
The other one can be with the new Innova but looking at hopless Etios twins, I am not hopeful of something BIG from Toyota stable.

Btw, some reports indicate that XUV 500 bookings when re-opened may cost more.....some say prices maybe hiked by 50-80k [confused]. Any updates ?

Yes its true that the prices may go up,but its yet to be confirmed officially,and perhaps 50k would be worth pushing,not more than that.

Thread Starter #254
I am expecting it to go up by a lakh. Please note that this may include the 80k price increase supposed to be implemented on all diesel cars.