Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Your choice?

Guys, I have made a small but comprehensive comparo between the newly launched Mahindra XUV500 with the Tata Aria & Toyota Innova.

Points to note:

1) All variants are top end. Innova top end can be compared with XUV W8 2wd & Aria Prestige 4x2. XUV500 W8 AWD can be compared with Aria Pride 4x4.

2) All details are collected from their respective websites.

3) Ex-showroom delhi price of Aria was unavailable, hence mumbai pricing was taken. So please assume Aria's pricing to be 30-40k cheaper when compared.
Great comparison, I think Mahindra XUV offers great value for money

Took a TD of XUV yesterday and what my experience says is that the XUV is for self driven while the Aria is for both self and chauffeur driven..

On the rough patches the XUV really rattles a bit and the high speed stability is also not as good as Aria,although it darts in corners quite better..
but..

If the Aria's price is right,then I'll go for Aria in front of this UV.

Took a TD of XUV yesterday and what my experience says is that the XUV is for self driven while the Aria is for both self and chauffeur driven..
You are dead right Vipul XUV is no where close to Aria in terms of ride quality, this is exactly what autocar mag says.

On the rough patches the XUV really rattles a bit and the high speed stability is also not as good as Aria,although it darts in corners quite better..
but....
When few pages back i said that XUV rattles, people flamed me , but once again here is testimony that XUV is a 'jugaad' read poor quality car in terms of build quality especially when compared with Aria which does not look like a car built to a price.

If the Aria's price is right,then I'll go for Aria in front of this UV].
I respect your opinion, but i know more than few people that will go for Aria over XUV even at current price levels.

Once again thanks for your unbiased views buddy, my respect for you is growing each day, just keep up the good work, CHEERS

THE X-OVER

@Xover:
No doubt that XUV rattles and it rattles enough that anyone can feel it,just take it on a rough patch and it feels really unsettled.
If anyone has doubts,then firstly I want to ask if the person has really TDed an XUV?

Cabin quality is okay but still the Aria feels far better built and put together.

+1 to you,that XUV has a lot of features that can put even a CRVto shame but it still lacks what it takes to make we people happy..

ONLY ARIA FOR ME,ANY DAY..

Comparing a XUV to an ARIA is just like comparing a Verna to the Vento,in this too one has features and styling and quite good seats while the other has rest all the good bits(more comfortable too)..same is here too.
Like Verna has styling and features while the comfort levels and rise are better in Vento,same is here...handling is where XUV excels over Aria,but rattling and high speed manners eclipse all for me.
Where the aria rides very planted over 80 kph the XUV starts rebelling at just 80 kph,it tries to drive its way after 120 and when I took it to 140...being true I didn't dare to press the gas any more even on a straight stretch,instead I drove the Aria at 165 on the same stretch but was still confident to a bit(as you can never be fully confident in a SUV at high speeds)..

Thread Starter #265
You are dead right Vipul XUV is no where close to Aria in terms of ride quality, this is exactly what autocar mag says.

When few pages back i said that XUV rattles, people flamed me , but once again here is testimony that XUV is a 'jugaad' read poor quality car in terms of build quality especially when compared with Aria which does not look like a car built to a price.
I was wondering why 'The Xover' has still not come up with his comments after Vipul!

Buddy, before using strong words & calling the XUV a 'jugaad' or low quality vehicle, please have a look at some other articles on the net too!

Brand new Arias (less than 10k kms old) are facing 3 breakdowns, clutch failures, brake failures, gearbox issues, electrical issues... and you are calling the XUV a low quality vehicle?

A guy bought 2 arias & both had breakdowns within 10k kms, thats a failure rate of 100%. Another bought the Aria & his head unit/GPS is not working from day one. yet another case where the customer had issues with clutch & brake failures. I am not allowed to post links here, so have PMed you. So we can see which is a low quality vehicle. (that forum had 5 Arias out of which 4 are reported to have problems [serious issues] & one customer is happy). So lets not harp about "quality"!

I would prefer a rattling but better engineered car than a better built car which break downs in the middle of the road!

I respect your opinion, but i know more than few people that will go for Aria over XUV even at current price levels.
Then why is the Aria's sales so much lesser than the XUV? Forget the price. According to your info, quite a lot of people want the Aria over the XUV, then why is the Aria selling only 500 units in 30 days in 28 states & the XUV selling 8000 units in 10 days in 5 states?

Once again thanks for your unbiased views buddy, my respect for you is growing each day, just keep up the good work, CHEERS

THE X-OVER
I have noticed something. If someone prefers the Aria over XUV, then for you they are unbiased & you 'respect' them. If its the other way round, then you lose respect for them & they are biased! W-O-W!!!

Chill guys.

For me, it has to be XUV5OO any day. Thanks to the unexpectedly low price and looks. As for the engine, although i havent driven it yet, i am sure the 2.2Mhawk must be continuing the amazing job as it has been on Scorpio.

My rating on basis of looks: M&M XUV5OO>Toyota Innova>Tata Aria (My personal Opinion, no offences to anyone).

Thread Starter #267
^^^ I am chill buddy and I am not against anyone hating or disliking the XUV either, after all, even I respect individual opinions.

But strong words like jugaad, low quality, bad performance, bad ride, rattling, etc. coming from a guy who has not even seen or sat in the XUV, leave alone test drive it, seems to be very very biased.

@TSIVipul

I don't know whether you know this, mahindra are working upon software upgrade of XUV so soon after its launch, they even don't care abt their initial customers.Hell i have read news that XUV suffers from bad rear monocoque mounting which causes excessive rattles, i hope mahindra improve all defects ASAP, after all people paying 12 l should not be treated as guinea pigs.
They should take a leaf out of tata's book on how to make high quality cars,eg , Aria, one year and no niggles what so ever, until you are using it as office cab.Most importantly private customers of Aria are dead happy with its performance after a year, and that's really what matters.

Thread Starter #269
I don't know whether you know this, mahindra are working upon software upgrade of XUV so soon after its launch, they even don't care abt their initial customers.
LOLZ, so you are comparing a mere software upgrade of the infotainment system (which by the way is to improve the touch response & not a defect) of the XUV with serious issues like clutch & brake failure of the Aria?

They dont care about initial customers? If they dint care, they would not have done free software upgrades for all the XUVs sold till now. if they dint care, they would not be taking feedbacks & implementing them. One member bought the XUV & had a tyre puncture. The Relationship manager from Mahindra called to ask him why this happened & that they will talk to JK tyres regarding this. another member had a door lock issue in Goa where the RM arranged the Goa A.S.S. guys within 15 minutes for his help. if they dint care, they would not bother doing this.

on the other hand, this guy has two arias & one of them is lying in the TATA A.S.S. for 20 days without any help... or relief from the company... and you are saying Mahindra does not care!

Hell i have read news that XUV suffers from bad rear monocoque mounting which causes excessive rattles, i hope mahindra improve all defects ASAP, after all people paying 12 l should not be treated as guinea pigs.
What is a bigger problem? rattling or break downs?

We can clearly see who is being used as guinea pigs!

They should take a leaf out of tata's book on how to make high quality cars,eg , Aria, one year and no niggles what so ever, until you are using it as office cab.
It was no an office 'cab' buddy. it was a office vehicle meant to carry CEOs & other people. Who in this world would buy a 19 lakh TATA to operate as a cab?

Yea yea, so many failures & still the Aria can be somehow classified as a "high quality" car!

why? because dashboard fit & finish, plastic quality of dash, no rattling... all these are more important that brakes, clutch, gearbox, etc.

Most importantly private customers of Aria are dead happy with its performance after a year, and that's really what matters.
As i said, I can give you links of the actual scenario, but I am not allowed to. Its barred in this forum. Then the world will understand how many customers are really happy!

@Raj_5004: No matter what you try to convince, Xover doesn't want to accept it.

So you need not explain, everything.
I am already tired by his fanboyism, towards Aria.

After all if he want's to prove whatever brand he is experiencing is Supreme.

And this thread is moving towards pointless reasons , after all the company is caring for customer's feedback and its improving.
So what's wrong if they give an update.