Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Your choice?

Yep, I know. Trying putting the front quarter view, Aria looks better that way IMHO.
Raj, my avtar is not Aria but XOVER concept, the front is actually quite different from Aria, but the rear 3 quarter is the same.Yes of course Aria is based upon this concept.

@TSIVipul

I also have OVERDRIVE comparo of Aria and XUV with me, but the last time i quoted OD my posts were deleted by the mods.Overdrive too believes, just like Autocar that Aria is a fantastic product only marred by its pricing.Also Overdrive mentions that Aria has got better brakes than XUV.

Thread Starter #288
Lets not forget that the guy in the video is also an owner.
+100.

I am sorry, but this maybe seen as brand bashing or fanboyism, I dont care... But many in this forum say that the Aria is a "quality" vehicle. I strongly disagree. Accepted, earlier even I used to feel the same, but recently after reading some reports on the net, I have changed my thinking. I would take the opportunity to list a few issues customers have faced. Since I am not allowed to copy-paste or post links here, I would have to write it in my own words, anyone who wants to know the authenticity can ask me for links through PM.

Customer 1 (3 breakdowns, car less than 5000 kms/6 months old):

1) oil leaks from gearbox
2) oil leaks from suspension
3) failure of electronic components
4) starting trouble
5) auto headlights & auto wipers fail
6) Clutch plate failure
7) disc brake failure
8) extended warranty paid, but not received
9) gearbox stuck
10) tachometer not working
11) ORVM controls not working
12) power outlet not working
13) door lock problems
14) hard suspension
15) noisy gearbox
16) mushy brake pedal, brakes shudder

Nobody at the A.S.S. was aware of how to repair the issues, they had to wait for parts to arrive from the factory & special engineers had to be bought in from TATA!

Customer 2:

1) USB not working from day 1
2) Navigator not working
3) Poor treatment by Tata's A.S.S.

Customer 3:

1) Had to wait for a month to get normal service appointment
2) Car in A.S.S. for 4 days for normal service! No updates & no reply to calls.

Customer 4:

1) Clutch Failure, burn out
2) Leak in oil sump
3) Rust on the chassis
4) Problems with driver's seat
5) Issues with Audio system

Again, engineers from Pune had to be called. Car lying in A.S.S. for days.

Customer 5:

1) Suspension issue
2) Airbag issue
3) Power steering issue

Customer 6:

1) Clutch issue
2) Brake issue
3) Reverse camera failing

Please note all of the above is from ONE SINGLE SOURCE. I have not googled for this & people have just come forward to post issues they are facing.

Personally, till the time TATA can make a 'reliable' vehicle, I dont think it is worth plonking 14-18 lakhs on the ARIA.

This applies to Mahindra as well, if such 'serious' issues come up with the XUV, it is a serious concern. It is too early to judge the XUV now. We have made the right decision to wait & watch.

I forgot to mention,but XUV does not have any boot space too,so you may need to get a good roof carrier for your things if you are going on a long trip with 6-7 peoples on board.
And at last,the middle row of Aria can slide forward and hence we can have decent legroom for last row passengers too,while the XUV is comparatively tight in this field.

Well,lets get back to the topic:
I forgot to mention,but XUV does not have any boot space too,so you may need to get a good roof carrier for your things if you are going on a long trip with 6-7 peoples on board..
Vipul no boot space in a 15 lac car is absolutely criminal, I personally would hate to keep my precious items at roof and leave them at mercy of rain , dust , bad weather etc. This is where Aria's packaging is so good, you won't believe Aria's boot can swallow entire luggage of 8 people without any fuss.

And at last,the middle row of Aria can slide forward and hence we can have decent legroom for last row passengers too,while the XUV is comparatively tight in this field.
Look Aria also is not like Grande in terms of third row leg space, but since the middle row seats can slide frwd a 5'8" guy like me could sit for full 2 hrs comfortably on them, that speaks once again about the flexibility of tata Aria, the third row definitely is much usable than XUV.

@raj_5004

All the list of grumpy owners you have given, lets take their case one by one.

1] Mr Bali : problem of blown tyre, not fault of tata but goodyear. Their car shuddering problem is also rectified.

2] Mr DK & Z...X : USB and Navigation problem , not a major problem, should be easily tackled by a competent electrician.

3] MR A.GEORGE : even though tass has to replace the clutch, this man is extremely happy with aria and also with tass.As far as rust well cast iron sheets do have this problem.

So all in all these private buyers are having slight niggles and not nightmares, its not that any of them have suffered any serious breakdowns.

Now coming to that guy who has zero pride in pride, hell he doesn't even own these two Arias, though i think these two cars are lemons and tata should completely replace them with new Arias.

@Xover:
You are a true fan of Aria,that's good but the way you are projecting Aria have some signs of a pure fan.
Aria's boot is also not that big,it even can't accomodate a big suitcase okay,if it does it,then no other luggage can be put in it.

WELL,TODAY GOING FOR A TD OF ARIA 4X4 AND 4X2 BOTH,WILL BE POSTING AN UNBIASED REVIEW AGAIN AFTER REFRESHING MY EXPERIENCES..

Rest about those complains..I still don't believe them.Will be enquiring the Aria customers too and well as the A.S.S. gays for any problems with ARIA..

@Xover:
Aria's boot is also not that big,it even can't accomodate a big suitcase okay,if it does it,then no other luggage can be put in it.
8 of us friends went on to a mild tour together for 2 days in tata Aria pleasure 4x4, all of our luggage was packed in 4 airbags and Aria's boot still had some more space left, we didn't tried putting any suitcases in it so you may be right here.But it can swallow 4 airbags with ease that i can vouch for as i had first hand experience in this matter.Hope it clears your doubt, CHEERS[cheers]

Well,today took a good 31 kms long test drive of the Aria 4X4 and here is my experience(I DID IT AT THE SUVs EXCLUSIVE SHOWROOM HERE,SO FOUND THREE ARIAS TOO):

First of all,the car had 21000 kms on the odo but it was still as good as new and after that took a short test drive with an owner too in his Aria pleasure for about 4 kms and talked to him too(as I believe only what I have seen),his Aria had covered about 17300 kms and it was also driving like its new,with no signs of ageing.

Then met one more customer there,he had some small problems with the car,but all were sorted out and now he was also happy with his car and he had also covered slightly more than 15000 kms in his Aria..

Firstly I agree with Raj at some points,which are as follows:-
There was an another Aria too parked in the workshop and had some problems,the problems in that Aria and the one of a customer were as follows:-
1):The GPS and USB port failure,even the TD car was having this(Its GPS was not working,but USB was).
2):While the car which was parked had its clutch burned/failed and it had just 3007 kms on odo.
Enquired about this,then came to know that this car was driven by a novice who had the habit of driving with his foot on clutch from the very first day and it was the first car to have this problem..
Still,I don't believe it as the clutch plates/clutch is not that weak thing that it will go off by any novice acts,so it may be a problem/mistake by the Tata's either QC or there is some problem that clutch is not that reliable and cannot take too much abuse.

But these brake failure,steering failure,gearbox breakdown issues etc etc were simply proven nothing more than craps there.
When I told the sales guy about the rumors that Aria is not at all reliable,he said "Sir,what proof can I give you"?
I:If you can show me the copies of service records of some cars...
He:Sir,I'll have to ask the SA.

He called the SA and a humble guy with a smiling face came in..

Sales guy:Can you show some service records and answer some questions by sir?
SA:Yes sir,just come and sit,I have copies of nine records and complain lists,I can show them to you.

I was very pleased by this(this was one of the best services I have ever got) and went on..

Then he showed me nine records and here are my observations:
1)None of the car ever had brake failure.
2)None of the car ever had a gearbox or suspension problems.
3)None of the car had any issue with steering.
4)Only one car had an issue with the clutch.
5)4 cars had got their reversing camera assembly changed,after that no complains.
6)7 had this GPS system problem.
7)2 had the USB system problem.

REST HALF OF THE ISSUES SIMPLY WERE PROVED CRAP..NOTHING ELSE..

@Raj:
Can you get me the registration number and chassis number of this Aria which was owned by the first customer,the one who had 16 problems.I showed the list to SA and he laughed and asked these two things.Saying "Bhaisahab badnaam karne ko toh main apko bhi g** keh dun(Sir,even I can declare you a g** for worsening your name)"

I hope this customer got them repaired at Tata A.S.S only,else this will not be there in record with Tata.Also can you PM me the name of the service center?(SA asked this too saying "Sir I am doing this job for 7 years and am amazed to read this,once an Indica customer complained and my job went under the sword").

Then I test drove the Aria..and now I am ready to bet on the fact that ARIA IS JUST OVERPRICED,ELSE IT IS REALLY BETTER THAN THIS XUV THING...[drive]

Last but most important:
THIS NEW SHOWROOM WAS OPENED JUST 7 MONTHS BACK,BUT IT HAS GAINED A REPUTATION OF BEING THE BEST TATA SERVICE CENTER HERE..So,this may also make some significant differences.

8 of us friends went on to a mild tour together for 2 days in tata Aria pleasure 4x4, all of our luggage was packed in 4 airbags and Aria's boot still had some more space left, we didn't tried putting any suitcases in it so you may be right here.But it can swallow 4 airbags with ease that i can vouch for as i had first hand experience in this matter.Hope it clears your doubt, CHEERS[cheers]

I wouldnt recommend packing stuff in Airbags.
Airbags are there for saving your life in emergency, and not to pack stuff.

well guys one of my friend has just got his XUV500 from chennai and he was returning to bangalore. the tyretronics was displaying the message " right front tyre error"
this doesnt end here. the temperature showed 99 deg celcius inside the cabin and he had a tough time with the ASS of M&M. apparently the ppl in bangalore had no clue what to do with the car as this car is loaded with sensors here and there. they had to wait for the R&D team to come from chennai. well they took the car with them to chennai and gave an automatic scorpio for usage as compensation.

now the car arrives to his home in bangalore and the dashboard is marked with screwdriver scars. and adding to this the tyre tronics started the same message and the temperature started giving the same message. and one more thing is that the turbocharger is making a rough grunting noise when its starts its functioning.

the car was taken again and the result was same adding to all this the day time running lights that were supposed to be white, two of them are red and the rest are blue.

my friend was suffering from day one and he has asked M&M to replace his vehicle with a new one.M&M have still not replied yet.

now the pics will do the talking
Well this is from another Forum, which I came across .
Untill now it was Aria giving us headache now one more beast joins in for troubles ;new comer Xuv500.

Thread Starter #299
I forgot to mention,but XUV does not have any boot space too,so you may need to get a good roof carrier for your things if you are going on a long trip with 6-7 peoples on board.
yes, that is the biggest drawback of the XUV.

Vipul no boot space in a 15 lac car is absolutely criminal, I personally would hate to keep my precious items at roof and leave them at mercy of rain , dust , bad weather etc. This is where Aria's packaging is so good, you won't believe Aria's boot can swallow entire luggage of 8 people without any fuss.
yes, but frequent breakdowns in a 18 lakh vehicle is okay?!

@raj_5004

All the list of grumpy owners you have given, lets take their case one by one.

So all in all these private buyers are having slight niggles and not nightmares, its not that any of them have suffered any serious breakdowns.
DUDE! brake issues & clutch issues are serious nightmares for me!

Now coming to that guy who has zero pride in pride, hell he doesn't even own these two Arias, though i think these two cars are lemons and tata should completely replace them with new Arias.
what do you mean he does not own the vehicle? it is HIS company car. you are praising the Aria like hell... do you own one? No right? if you can sit in a friend's car & start praising the car, why cant that guy comment on his company's car?

oh yes... because they are negative comments & you cant take that!

But these brake failure,steering failure,gearbox breakdown issues etc etc were simply proven nothing more than craps there.

REST HALF OF THE ISSUES SIMPLY WERE PROVED CRAP..NOTHING ELSE..
I have shown you cases where people have suffered from these issues & you are saying you PROVED them to be crap! GREAT!

@Raj:
Can you get me the registration number and chassis number of this Aria which was owned by the first customer,the one who had 16 problems.
No, i cant, I am sorry. I will PM you the link, you can ask the guy for such personal details!

and why are you feeling that all info posted by owners are WRONG? they have nothing else to do in life than defame TATA? and why just TATA?

I showed the list to SA and he laughed and asked these two things.Saying "Bhaisahab badnaam karne ko toh main apko bhi g** keh dun(Sir,even I can declare you a g** for worsening your name)"[/B]
Do you think any SA will openly admit that their car has issues by the way?

I hope this customer got them repaired at Tata A.S.S only,else this will not be there in record with Tata.Also can you PM me the name of the service center?(SA asked this too saying "Sir I am doing this job for 7 years and am amazed to read this,once an Indica customer complained and my job went under the sword").
yes, it was done at a TATA A.S.S. in Pune, you can ask him the details.

Then I test drove the Aria..and now I am ready to bet on the fact that ARIA IS JUST OVERPRICED,ELSE IT IS REALLY BETTER THAN THIS XUV THING...[drive]
perceptions differ my friend. you simply cannot bet on something as subjective as this!
Last but most important:
THIS NEW SHOWROOM WAS OPENED JUST 7 MONTHS BACK,BUT IT HAS GAINED A REPUTATION OF BEING THE BEST TATA SERVICE CENTER HERE..So,this may also make some significant differences.
you think a new A.S.S. will have so many cars with them that you can find the faults?

you think a new A.S.S. will admit if the car is having issues?

Well this is from another Forum, which I came across .
Untill now it was Aria giving us headache now one more beast joins in for troubles ;new comer Xuv500.
Thank GOD we decided to wait & dint book the XUV !!!

by the way jayadev, going by the above replies... I would say what you wrote is just "crap" & you are simply trying to defame Mahindra !!!

P.S.: the above was a sarcastic comment.

Thread Starter #300
@ Xover & Vipul:

Both Aria & XUV are not saints. None of the Indian giants can make a bullet proof vehicle like the Innova.

B-U-T all I am asking is a decently reliable vehicle which will atleast keep me & my family safe. I dont mind some minor issues like GPS not working or tyre sensor not working or USB not working. They are fine IF the A.S.S. provides timely support.

But some serious issues with clutch, brake, suspension or engine is certainly NOT acceptable in a vehicle like the ARIA or the XUV. More so in the Aria as it is much more expensive as is projected as a "good quality" vehicle!

Will I buy the Aria? No. I dont wanna spend 18 lakhs & then get stranded on the road. why have I joined a forum like this & others? to keep myself informed. And now I do know that Aria is prone to issues because I believe the people who post about their cars on forums. if they have bought a 18 lakh TATA, they are not TATA haters!

Will I buy the XUV? Maybe. Earlier I would have said yes but after reading jayadev's comment above, now I am skeptical. Although the issue is minor, it cannot be ignored. Good thing is atleast the guy was given an alternate car, so he was not stranded without a car. But I would still like to wait & watch. if I do read some multiple issues (serious issues), then even the XUV is out...