Mahindra XUV500 vs Tata Aria vs Toyota Innova!

Your choice?

Well well well friends..let me intrude back in this discussion..

My first question to my dear senior members(I hope I not need to point out anyone,just look at the stars in the avatar)..
I am favoring XOVER,not because I and he both are favoring Aria,but what I want to as my senior members is as follows:-
Its okay that a junior and less experienced member does not have enough experience and hasn't TDed the car etc etc etc..but is this the way senior members will treat the guy??
I mean,senior members can divert the topic..or they can carry forward ignoring the guy..but what is happening here?
Okay,you all three guys can have a quarrel..but doesn't it deserves the PM route??

First of all,I am driving an Innova and even today I can bet that the quality,ride and handling benchmark set by the Innova is till intact and none of the above mentioned cars have still broken it,maybe XUV has drawn customers away from Innova,but the D-4D girl still has potential and I have kept her away from the discussion only because the new variant is about to launch.

Now let me share some experiences of mine....

@Raj:Firstly,I want you to verify my points as you have also TDed an XUV like me and reply on Aria only if you have TDed it okay..(don't mind please if any of my words feel harsh)..

XUV 500:
1):Killer by looks weather interiors o exterior,leave the back as it appeals to some and looks awkward to some.
2):There are many unique touches especially outside and detailing is good too..but only outside not interiors,why?will be discussing later.
3):Looks really very appealing on paper(power and performance figures).
4)The engine is more responsive than the Aria and also the turbo lag is very less too(as compared to Aria).
5):Steering response is far better than Aria,but suspension does not support to that level as needed.
6):As all SUVs,you can never play point and shoot with it..as this SUV can shoot but can't point that accurately.

7):Accelerate it hard and tell me how planted does it feel?Don't tell me the XUV you drove had a perfect steering feel and it didn't rattle at all..
8):How about the ride?Don't tell me that it is very planted and never get unsettled.
9):What about high speed manners?In fact tell me if you have crossed 80 kph mark in this UV?If yes,then tell me about the way this UV behaves at 80+ speeds.
Doesn't it rattle?doesn't it develop a brain of its own and try to run itself?
10):Accelerate it madly and then see what the hell rattles out of its nose.
11):Attack a rough patch with this UV at a good speed and then see the way it tries to dance there.You will notice extremely rattling there,if you have not experienced,get the second and quite long test drive for you.
12):NVH levels are far far lower then the Aria.
13):Even on straight highways,the ride is quite unsettled at cruising speeds...AM I RIGHT RAJ?Again don't tell me that yours XUV had a planted ride.

ARIA :
1):More turbo lag than the XUV.
2):Really a cumbersome UV and is really tough to handle at good speeds.
3):Rolls far more than XUV.
4):The engine is nowhere as responsive as of XUV.
5):The FE figures can't match the XUV.
6):Can not handle as good as the XUV.
7):HIGHLY OVERPRICED AS COMPARED TO THE AGGRESSIVE PRICE OF XUV..

BUT STILL..
8):Ride is far better and more planted than XUV.
9):XUV is an ace of only low speed rides,while the Aria is a comfy cruiser and ace both low speed ans well as elevated ones(though low speed ride is not as good as of XUV).
10):NVH levels are far better than the XUV.
11):The plastic quality is better and feels more solidly built and better put together.
12):steering responses are not as good as XUV,but still the cruising is better.

AM I RIGHT RAJ?
IF ANY POINT IS LEFT BY ME,THEN PLEASE GET IT CORRECTED...

@MUKESHUS:
Have you TDed the XUV yet?If no,then....

Thread Starter #273
@Raj_5004: No matter what you try to convince, Xover doesn't want to accept it.

So you need not explain, everything.
I am already tired by his fanboyism, towards Aria.

After all if he want's to prove whatever brand he is experiencing is Supreme.

And this thread is moving towards pointless reasons , after all the company is caring for customer's feedback and its improving.
So what's wrong if they give an update.
Mukesh, point is - I am okay if someone is a TATA fan. I dont care if anyone thinks that the XUV is a bad car, its his prospective. But constantly posting twisted facts & using strong words just because you dislike the car is a bit over the top... and yes, even I understand that I am going overboard now.

yes, one company is giving a software update to its infotainment, that company is careless towards its customers. another company has been ignorant to its customers by parking their car in the A.S.S. for over 20 days & that company cares... one car has poor plastics on it's dashboard & that is a poor quality car. other breaks down in the middle of a road, that is a good quality car. how much more ridiculous can it get?
[frustration]

Its okay that a junior and less experienced member does not have enough experience and hasn't TDed the car etc etc etc..but is this the way senior members will treat the guy??
I dont mind you taking names friend. I prefer to be blunt & straight forward.

Junior? He is THE XOVER! Pun intended.

Hmm, the way i treat him, well well, he is my buddy. Outside the forum, if he was from my city, we would have met for a drink (mirinda?) & chilled out with friends, if he chose to.

but inside the forum, go back a few pages & you will find the reason of me being harsh to him. I could have posted some links, but I dont wish to carry that forward in this thread.

I mean,senior members can divert the topic..or they can carry forward ignoring the guy..but what is happening here?
Why support incorrect info?

Okay,you all three guys can have a quarrel..but doesn't it deserves the PM route??
Then what is the purpose of a public forum? we come here not just to post reviews but also to discuss about it, isnt it? some discussions may turn into debates or arguments.

agreed, it can be avoided. I dont like that too. but under some circumstances, I give in!

XUV 500:
1):Killer by looks weather interiors o exterior,leave the back as it appeals to some and looks awkward to some.
I feel the Aria looks better.

2):There are many unique touches especially outside and detailing is good too..but only outside not interiors,why?will be discussing later.
lets discuss it. why not?

3):Looks really very appealing on paper(power and performance figures).
4)The engine is more responsive than the Aria and also the turbo lag is very less too(as compared to Aria).
5):Steering response is far better than Aria,but suspension does not support to that level as needed.
6):As all SUVs,you can never play point and shoot with it..as this SUV can shoot but can't point that accurately.
if you are comparing with innova, yes... innova handles better but I felt this fella rides better than innova.

7):Accelerate it hard and tell me how planted does it feel?Don't tell me the XUV you drove had a perfect steering feel and it didn't rattle at all..
Steering feel - i dont know, I drive a Punto & no car can match it, not even the innova.

Rattle - yes, the car i drove had no rattles. what can i do? maybe rattling is an issue with the XUV though, so I am not denying it either.

8):How about the ride?Don't tell me that it is very planted and never get unsettled.
see, i have mentioned this before. I feel it is somewhere in between innova & aria. innova is too firm & aria is too soft. so innova handles better & aria rides better than XUV. XUV comes in between, IMHO.

9):What about high speed manners?In fact tell me if you have crossed 80 kph mark in this UV?If yes,then tell me about the way this UV behaves at 80+ speeds.
I took it to 120 kmph & I was very confident. it felt very stable.

Doesn't it rattle?doesn't it develop a brain of its own and try to run itself?
in my experience, no. you can take this as a biased opinion, but I really dint experience anything like that, so why say yes?

10):Accelerate it madly and then see what the hell rattles out of its nose.
I floored the throttle & I was bowled over by the acceleration. yes, engine noise is more when compared to Aria, if that is what you meant.

11):Attack a rough patch with this UV at a good speed and then see the way it tries to dance there.You will notice extremely rattling there,if you have not experienced,get the second and quite long test drive for you.
I did that, the car was stable.

12):NVH levels are far far lower then the Aria.
Hmmm, i dint notice that. I felt engine noise to be more than Aria.

13):Even on straight highways,the ride is quite unsettled at cruising speeds...AM I RIGHT RAJ?Again don't tell me that yours XUV had a planted ride.
on smooth roads, it was not a problem. on rough surfaces, the car does tend to pitch a little, but that is not such a major issue. I felt the overall ride to be better than innova, to be honest.

in ride - Aria > XUV > Innova

AM I RIGHT RAJ?
IF ANY POINT IS LEFT BY ME,THEN PLEASE GET IT CORRECTED...
See, I cant correct you or anything. Everyone has their own perspective of ride. For example, I find the safari's ride to be THE BEST, even when compared to Aria.

but the fact is - Aria is prone to troubles & there is no denying to that. I am not saying every Aria will have issues, of course not. But many reviews on the net have clearly shown tata's lack of QC. and here, we are not talking about quality of switches or plastics. we are talking about quality of vital components like drivetrain & electronics.

someone who says Aria is a good quality vehicle should watch this -

NEW TATA ARIA MAJOR COMPLAINT VIDEO - YouTube

infact in the second video, hear what the guy says when it nears 2:37 -

B******d, I should have bought a mahindra instead, that would have been better... This is the SECOND time, I am tired of this man!

Note: Even the above car is brand new.

I am not saying such problems wont happen in the XUV, its too early to judge that. but dont project Aria as the best & others inferior, thats it.

@Raj:
First thing,I didn't wanted an Innova to come in between and hence I have mentioned it above all,even before pointing you out(look where I have wrote @Raj)..

Secondly,at many points you have bought the Innova in between where I had compared the XUV with aria or none.

Thirdly,I think both of us have our own driving styles and expectations from a car,where I always think of high speed long drives(500 kms or above),you consider a city_highway 75-25 type..am I right?

Fourth,where the hell has Punto came in this discussion..now I drive a Laura TSI too,can a Punto match it?(leave this point here itself,let's not discuss it ans it will result in argument).

Fifth and last,I am not biased towards any of them,just pointed out the pros and cons of both the UVs which i have felt and considering my needs found the Aria better as my father is a chauffeur driven and I too for 33% of time.

Sixth,let's proceed further in a calm way...

About the complains etc etc..every car has them and I am not ready to believe any of them until I see one in front of my eyes..I have bought a Skoda when everyone advised me to go for a Civic as I have not seen any crying Skoda owner.While there are many horrifying stories on the internet,but I don't believe them completely..

Thread Starter #275
@Raj:
First thing,I didn't wanted an Innova to come in between and hence I have mentioned it above all,even before pointing you out(look where I have wrote @Raj)..
I have already given a full blown comparo of the XUV v/s Aria a few pages back!

Thirdly,I think both of us have our own driving styles and expectations from a car,where I always think of high speed long drives(500 kms or above),you consider a city_highway 75-25 type..am I right?
Right.

Fourth,where the hell has Punto came in this discussion..now I drive a Laura TSI too,can a Punto match it?(leave this point here itself,let's not discuss it ans it will result in argument).
Well, I have not driven a Laura, so i dont know. In performance, it cant!

Fifth and last,I am not biased towards any of them,just pointed out the pros and cons of both the UVs which i have felt and considering my needs found the Aria better as my father is a chauffeur driven and I too for 33% of time.

Sixth,let's proceed further in a calm way...
If course. I have no problem with your decision mate, neither now, nor before!

About the complains etc etc..every car has them and I am not ready to believe any of them until I see one in front of my eyes..I have bought a Skoda when everyone advised me to go for a Civic as I have not seen any crying Skoda owner.While there are many horrifying stories on the internet,but I don't believe them completely..
Agreed, you are 100% right. Even I bought the Punto when I was advised the i20.

But then why do some keep harping about the Aria's quality in every page? that is what I dont understand. both Aria as well as XUV cannot be an Innova.

Well,as the second point suggests(okay third one)..there is a difference in our requirements and driving styles too so now if even God too comes down to make our choices same then he will also get a headache in doing so..

@MUKESHUS:
Have you TDed the XUV yet?If no,then....
Kindly complete the statement, i can think this in 2 ways.

So before giving a reply, i would like to know the sentence.

@Raj_5004: Even if the product is stress tested, it must fail after few hours of continuous usage or few months.
Still the car is in Temp Regn and the breakdown.

Yes i heard it, Mahindra liya hota toh accha hota, Dusri baar ye leke Galat kar diya & some ******.
As a frustrated owner i guess he took a video of it.
Still i don't call it as a bad product, this has to be blamed on QC department, who has passed an inferior product.
And inspite of selling only few numbers, still the quality is questionable.

@ FELLOW MEMBERS

3 friends of mine have got tata Aria, i often take a ride with them almost every week, and Aria being a high quality car ,for me, is not a catch -phrase, i have experienced it personally now for almost a year,alongwith my friends.As far as problems are concerned my friends have got none.Yes there will be few grumpy owners even of the mighty S class and of Aria, but still I will always believe that its an amazing car.

@ TSIVipul

Don't worry i and raj are extremely good friends, and i also respect mukes alot, so just enjoy the heat of the debate, that's why we are all here.CHEERS

THE X-OVER

Thread Starter #279
@Raj_5004: Even if the product is stress tested, it must fail after few hours of continuous usage or few months.
Still the car is in Temp Regn and the breakdown.

Yes i heard it, Mahindra liya hota toh accha hota, Dusri baar ye leke Galat kar diya & some ******.
As a frustrated owner i guess he took a video of it.
Still i don't call it as a bad product, this has to be blamed on QC department, who has passed an inferior product.
And inspite of selling only few numbers, still the quality is questionable.
I also feel there is nothing wrong with the R&D of Tata, infact they are great. Problem is with the vendors. Something is definitely wrong there, they may not be too strict with the quality of components being used in the process of cheaper vendors & hence such failures so early in it's life. Just a wild guess.

@ FELLOW MEMBERS

3 friends of mine have got tata Aria, i often take a ride with them almost every week, and Aria being a high quality car ,for me, is not a catch -phrase, i have experienced it personally now for almost a year,alongwith my friends.As far as problems are concerned my friends have got none.Yes there will be few grumpy owners even of the mighty S class and of Aria, but still I will always believe that its an amazing car.
I really liked your reply this time.

3 Arias within your friend circle? [surprise] WOW!

U are the reason? [evil] Kidding!

^^
No , I could not dare suggesting a 15 lac tata to them, when it was launched, but one of my friend's father "MR IMMAM ANSARI" took the risk and bought Aria pleasure 4x4 last year, since than he has been instrumental in the purchase decision of others who are looking to buy Aria.

PS: Did you like my first avtar pic, it is of XOVER concept by tata.

Kindly complete the statement, i can think this in 2 ways.

So before giving a reply, i would like to know the sentence.
Well,leave it bro,please don't get angry on that.I just left it incomplete else I didn't have any intentions to disrespect you or make you feel bad or something like that..okay..so lets cheer up..[cheers]

@The XOVER:
Following you,I too read the ACI magazine yesterday night and read both the articles one on XUV 500 on page no 106 and the comparison on page number 116.
I quite liked them and also some of my opinions are different from them,maybe due to the difference in driving styles.
Rest its a fact that if one reads the articles then they will make the person in favor of Aria,in fact the comparison test even says that Aria is better only if it is not overpriced..
But still there is a lot to go..

For example:ACI says,ther XUVs handbrake is nearly useless as the car rolls even after it is applied.One fact that I 100% agree with ACI magazine is,if you press the brake slightly,then there is lack of braking and if you press the pedal quite hard,then XUV has fantastic braking.
@RAJ:Please clarify it if you have experienced,while I did my TD on a plain road and city so I didn't got a chance to experience it.

@Friends:
About the complains over Aria,especially the ones shown in the video.I am really feeling very bad for the owner and also are you people sure he hasn't abused the car?
Rest,the first Aria of northern UP is here in Meerut and just half km away from my home(I don't know the owner that nice),so yesterday I simply went to his house,found him outside and asked him about his experience,the conversation was as follows:-
I:Hello uncle.
He:Hello beta,you are Mr. Chaudhary's son?
I:Yes,actually uncle I wanted to as something about your Aria.It is a Pleasure 4X4 right?
He:Yes,I have covered about 32000 kms and its running good.
I:Any complains with fit and finish,engine or gearbox or even the brakes.
He:Brakes need to be better(as they are really not that good,same as Safari),rest I haven't encountered any problem yet,only services,nothing else.
I:Actually I have heard that Aria has a problem of very soon loosing clutch and brakes failure..is it true?
He:Sab bakwaas hai(it is just crap),I haven't got such problem,neither I have met anyone with such problem.

The person get his Aria(he is a self driven guy)serviced at an SUVs exclusive Tata workshop(here in Meerut,we have one,where only Safari,Grande,Sumo and Arias are serviced ).
He told me that "I have seen there more than 10 Aria owners and all are happy,only one was sad as he was having problems,but he had once banged his Aria into a divider.."

HOW DO YOU PEOPLE FEEL THE WORDS OF AN OWNER?

Rest if you consider the guy in video,what I felt bad is that he was continuously asking for someone(maybe service advisor)to come and inspect the car but still no one came out.If same would have happened to my car,then I would have beaten the hell out of the service advisor...
C'mon yaar,Aria is the most premium product of Tata and aria customers being treated this way..[frustration]

Thread Starter #283
As mentioned before, braking distance of XUV could have been better for an all disc setup.

Regarding abuse of the Aria in the video, how much abuse can he probably do in a brand new car?

He:Sab bakwaas hai(it is just crap),I haven't got such problem,neither I have met anyone with such problem.
Even I used to say same about My Tata product(Indica vista) Which i bought 2 years back almost when it was newly launched untill it broke down at place called nowhere..

HOW DO YOU PEOPLE FEEL THE WORDS OF AN OWNER?
Earlier I had good words to share about Tata. but consistent problems and shoddy support lead me to sell away my Vista.I do not recommend Tata anymore though I do only to those who have some sensible knowledge about mechanics.

C'mon yaar,Aria is the most premium product of Tata and aria customers being treated this way.
The broken plastic part shown in the video is just a simple fix which I know and I wonder why it was required to towed to service centre ? (and so much of naatak?)
But that part and material (which i inferred from video) is same found in Indica vista which I did not expected to see in 18 lakh car.
chances are Aria can be prone to niggles if it is just carry over of Vista technology.