Mahindra Scorpio: Technical Issues & Solutions

Hi Friends,

I desired to buy a Mahindra Scorpio 2010 model. Now the car has good looking. But main problem has Mileage traveled 250000 Kms. Please inform me any Engine problem or any other problem...

Hi Balaji,

The TPMS has to be "trained". Visit a Mahindra authorized service station, they will do it.

Always get tyre rotation done every 5000 km from ASC. All the 5 tyres will have uniform tread. Mine is still running stock Bridgestone tyres at 80,000 km. I will always recommend that brand !
Did found an Interesting DIY for TPMS Training after Tyre Rotation / Replacement:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkYAGLSQQe8

Folks - Any of you have faced up with a starter box issue in your respective Scorpio vehicle. The Authorized Service Centre is finding difficult to procure the Starter Bendix for my VLX - 2008 model. The earlier starting problem was related to alternator - not charging the battery , there was a replacement made in the alternator, which had the problem fixed. This is a new issue , which takes a while to get started once i key in the ignition . Vehicle has clocked 104000 kms to date.

Hai Friends,

Yesterday i left my Scorpio for 105000 kms service in SJB Mahindra Coimbatore, in spite of my friends and well wishers told me not to give the vehicle for service with A.S.S(their utter experience with both the mahindra A.S.S in coimbatore) since warranty is over, but its just a minor work like only oil change is to be carried out so i thought can leave the vehicle for service with the A.S.S itself and i gave it for service yesterday morning.

When i reached the service center the SA carried out a test drive with me and asked me is there any particular complaint to attend, i told him no problem at all everything is fine and told him to carry out only engine oil change, A/C filter ,Air filter change and lubricants top ups, he agreed and noted all these in the job card and told me to collect the vehicle by evening six o clock and gave me a quote of aprox Rs 6500/- incl of tax.

After i left the A.S.S he called me and told me that he needs to check the A/C gas since he told cooling is very low, i told him cooling is perfect and not to carryout any works on A/C he then replied me that there is some leakage in the gas and chances are there that the cooling coil might get damaged. I told its not necessary to carry out now if in future the problem exists i told him i will bring back and get fixed it. So after a long conversation with him he agreed and told yes.

Evening around 5.30pm i went to collect the vehicle, i wasn't ready since they where doing some checks and told me that it takes around 20 minutes so i was waiting in the lounge , to my surprise i saw that there where only 8 vehicles they taken out for service yesterday and two of the cars only they are carrying out periodic maintenance rest others where working on minor issues. Finally after 1.5 hrs waiting i was told that the car is in water wash.I was really fedd up with such kind of service promise they make to deliver on time. After 30 minutes of waiting it was 8pm they prepared the bill and told me that the final amount was Rs 6723/- i paid soon as it was getting late for me. Since it was around 8.10 pm and dark out(all workers left except my SA and some persons in the A.S.S) i took my vehicle out and drove around 300mts those stretch was full of potholes and uneven road then for the speed breaker in the road i pressed the brake the bite was good after two seconds the ABS warning light started to glow, i was shocked to see that, i carefully parked the vehicle and called my SA to tell about this issue, he replied that it has glow because of the treatment the carried out in engine bay for cleaning all the sensors, i told him why u didn't inform me that you carried such work without my knowledge and to my surprise it was billed Rs 750/- and told me to bring the vehicle on monday to carry out inspection. It was really pathetic to hear such kind of reply from the SA. I was really annoyed after spending around 7k for service and still you get issues after service. Before leaving to A.S.S for the service the braking was fine and i told the SA except general check ups not to carry out any work without my concern but they are adamant enough not to inform me and carried some weird treatments for sensors and results ABS warning light is on.

Friends now my concern is what will be the issue of ABS light glowing ?
for past 10k kms the car was fine without even a single issues. only after giving it for the service the vehicle will result these kind of issues with the A.S.S of Mahindra. [cry]

Sad to hear that Balaji .

Why dont you get a ecu reset done on your own before going to the ASS .Just disconect the batery terminals for 10 - 15 seconds and recconect them . the code will disappear . If the code appears again then there is a chance that the abs sensor might be damaged .

Let us know what the status is

Hi all,

I am new to this forum so let me introduce myself .

I am a car savvy ,Doctor physio by profession but have a lot of technical knowledge related to cars as my dad was an automobile engineer earlier and used to modify his own jeeps .

I earlier owned the following cars during my bachelor college life

MAruti zen - 2 ,Fiat uno petrol ,Fiat palio 2007 petrol cng, Hyundai getz 06 cng , old honda city petrol , Ford figo petrol , Swift VDI ,.
I have a chevrolet cruze ltz auto diesal and a MAhindra Scorpio Mhawk 2009 vlx.
My issues are as folows .
1) MAhindra scorpio 40k on ODO 2009 model 8 seater . i usualy get a tpms signal blinking on my left rear tyre ,disappers when d code is deleted and reappears after running : Wanna know the solution and cost to fix it .
2) i get a jerk when i change gear and leave the clutch , Shown to the local garage they say its the differential noise coming from within , shown it to the ASS milestone dadar too and they say its the Suspension that needs overhauling i am confused as if i give the car in ASS they will change the complete suspension instead of the bushings . Needs solution and cost to repair the same .
3) There is a thug sound that comes from the rear whenever the car passes thru a pothhole ,the sound is similar to a seat bealt buckle hitting the plastic body ,but i have checked everything the seats have been tightened but yet the noice is still there . What can be a probable catch????
4) The ac blower makes a lot of noice when on no 2 .
5) Getting a mileage of just 9 in city on heavy traffic in mumbai . my daily running is approx 60kms . Is this the same average what all beast holders are getting or do i need to check on it .
6) I am not much happy with the music system . i had a blaunpunkt base tube which i tried fitting but as it is a 8 seater it does not fit ,moreover the nippon system does not support an amp and neither does it have bluetooth . Suggestion on how to get a better system . I am a Bass lover . if not a woofer then atleast d bass from good speakers ,Currently i have 2 coax in d front door and 2 coax in the rear door .

Experts kindly suggest and pour in ideas on the above issues .

Hello Dr.Jviyala.

I am not an expert in the technical part and have also never owned a Scorpio. But, giving my suggestions anyway.

1) You can look up the owner's manual for this. I assume there is some problem in the left rear tyre as indicated by the TPMS. You should better fix the problem (with the tyre) than fixing the appearance of error code.
2) Owners can only solve this. I have no idea. Changing the entire suspension setup shouldn't be the remedy for the problem. The ASS may be cheating as your vehicle is not under warranty. Get the cause of the issue clarified by the local mechanic and then get only that part replaced at the ASS.
3) The "thug" sound of the seatbelt hitting the lower part of the B-Pillar was there in my Alto also. I had to live with it. Do check that the seatbelts roll inside completely and are not left loose, when not in use. Tightening the seats is not the answer definitely.
4) Some noise is expected. But, I have no idea on what part to replace. Owners can advice.
5) In city, the FE is a bit less. You can expect around 10 kmpl (or more) with the correct style of driving. Considering bumper to bumper traffic condition, 9kmpl with AC is okay. You can always try to improve the driving style to get better FE.
6) You can open a thread in the ICE Section of the forum. You will be suggested accordingly. You can fit a subwoofer instead of the bass tube, for better bass response and overall better SQ from your setup. Changing the speakers is also an option. Coaxials in doors won't give you much bass. Getting components is a good idea in this case. The stock HU can also support an amplifier. You will have to create pre-outs for the amp by using a Hi-Lo Converter (or Choke) to connect the amp.

Hope other Scorpio owners can help.

Nikunj

Hi all ,
Just to update ,the Following issues have been sorted out .
1) The jerk - Was from the torsion bars ,the Buschings had worn out have been changed and problem solved - Cost 5000
2) the Thig sound was from the roof rails and have been sorted .
3) Have installed a set of Pioneer 500watt speakers in th erear and now there is good amount of bass in the Beast .
There are a few new set of Problems now .
The other day the car cleaner held the roof rail to support while cleaning the top and it jus came off the Bolt to the roof was held back with the bracket with a lot of rust . i want to know if i remove these railings do i need to open the top from inside .what would be the cost for the new roof railings or what are the other options to cover up .
2) a slight jerk lag has started gain ,sap jerk at a low intensity
3) when the scorpio moves through a pot hole or uneven stony road there a lot of noises all over the beast ,dont know what all are loose .

Scorpio m hawk 2008

Hello everyone.

I am in great trouble with my mhawk 2008 because no one could find out problem of why it stops every now and then with jerk.i took it to authorised service center in kolkata , m&m engineers are really useless there..they are using hit and trial method which made me impatient when I saw them experimenting on my beast. first time they cleaned tank and lines but problem remain. so second time they changed oil filter but result was same, after a week check symbol lit and engine stopped more frequently. tried with scanner but they said its not showing any trouble. at last they changed oxygen sensor, which in turn gave it a smooth ride for next week. but now again problem is back and after it stops never gave any problem in restarting. so I am totally confused. so service center wrote to m and m and seek advice. And here is shock for me. they adviced to change sip pump which cost 55000 but I cannot understand if pump is not working properly from last 4 months so it should create or build extra pressure on it and as per my understanding it cant hold on for 4 months. it must be dead, so please friends help me. I am in deep trouble and I love my scorpio more than anything else in my life

Hi all,

While i was returning back from a trip to calicut to coimbatore, my scorpio brake pedal was too spongy and touched the floor while again pressing it for second time the pedal becomes firm and normal, again while pressing it for the third time it touched the floor. the brake bite was completely normal and it stopped the vehicle, but the brake pedal touches the floor for the first time when you press. I managed to reach home safely as it was less traffic and it happened just 30 kms before coimbatore. Here the mahindra service center guys are there to loot and dose't care about the quality servicing so was little worried to leave the vehicle to them to get the issue fixed. Folks can u tell me what could be the issue ? and according to that i am planning to leave the vehicle to any good reputed friendly garage in my city. Kindly drop in your suggestions please.

New Generation Scorpio

Hi every one, this is the first time I am posting here and here is my introduction.. I bought a new generation scorpio S4 on 12th Dec 2014. White color. I have driven it for 49,000kms.. No issues till date.. From fews days when I crank my engine I hear a abnormal sound from the engine for a few seconds and it stops and it is normal again.. Is this normal??

Hi TAIgers,

My Scorpio Refresh (2011 model) has the following issues. The service centre is not able to find out the root cause. Any help / pointers will be greatly appreciated.

1. TPMS starts blinking all of a sudden for all the tyre positions on the console. It remains flashing and then it becomes normal after some time or some days. It shows the pressure and temperature correctly, but don't know why it flashes and disappears all of a sudden !

The owner's manual says that because of Radio interference, it might blink. But I noticed that this behaviour occurs randomly. The battery in the TPMS sensors in the wheels are destined to last for 10 years. Thats what the manual says. My vehicle is just 5 years old running on stock Bridgestone tyres. The ODO is 1,13,000 km.

2. When the vehicle is locked using the Remote, it gets locked and all of a sudden, siren starts blazing. The vehicle remains locked but why should the siren be activated ?

This is annoying when the vehicle is parked in Hospitals, private buildings. The service centre asked me to contact Nippon as the security system is from them. When I went to Nippon, they told me that it is Mahindra's problem. It could be an issue with one or all the doors' actuators.

Sending mails to Service Manager, General Manager of Chrome Motors, CCM of Mahindra and Mahindra Customer Service were of no use.

Any idea folks ?

Hi all,

I drive a NG Scorpio S10 since Oct 2015. Driven 6000+ kms.

Issues faced:
1. TPMS warning used to say 'Communication Error'. It used to happen only on long drives (more than 50kms or so). ASC mentioned that the battery could be weak / faulty sensor. Left Front (replaced with new) & Spare (battery changed) had to be fixed.
2. Vehicle pulling to the left. On a long drive to Pondy, hit a speedbreak (3-4 inches high) at 80/90kmph between Arcot - Cheyyar. From that time, I could notice slight pulling to the left. ASC checked during 1st Service & did tyre rotation / wheel balancing-alignment to fix it. It was very hard to convince them. But finally after 3 rounds of test drives with different mechanics / technicians, they agreed about the problem. The pulling was ever so slight. Becomes very evident only at much higher speeds of 110/120.

Otherwise, munching miles happily...

CS

Problem with my SCORPIO

I am a proud owner of a 2010 Scorpio pickup turbo 2.5L. My problem is that there is a faaaaraah sound when ever I accelerate after gear change. Kindly any one help.[confused]

I had the same left pulling issue with my NG Scorpio S4+,. It has been fixed after so many visit and lastly by the help of senior most technical advisor Mohon Motor,Science city Kolkata, issue has sorted out.