Hyundai Verna (5th Gen) Launched in India @ ₹7.99 Lacs

This is ridiculous pricing for a product that has seen very few changes since 2011. (The same holds for Honda City) . Even the engines are the same. The only thing that's welcome is the move to a 6-speed automatic transmission. I would have loved a more radical look, inside out. One of the reasons that Jeep is catching interest is that it has the looks and the performance of an upmarket car at a price half-a-segment lower.

I agree with pricing part, every car manufacturer is trying to push their product into next segment, rather trying to create their own niche segment. Having said that I am seeing a drop in quality everywhere. My 2014 city cvt vx and couple of others are suffering from dashboard rattle. The car which I bought for close to 13lakhs has this issue.

Hope hyundai has pumped in quality materials and have sorted the boat feeling due to suspension.

Hope the new Verna has ironed out the Reverse gear engagement problem this time around.
Prices are pretty good even though for only the first 20000 customers. With price hikes after the first lot of 20000 cars and increase in 10% cess will make the prices go north.
Features list is spot on for the Verna but the Diesel AT is available in SX+ trim and hence even though being the costliest Verna, it will lose out on few features.
Fuel economy figures of Petrol AT will be interesting i suppose [;)]

Next gen Verna looks nice from exterior. Somehow the interior is not to my taste. Feels very blant when compared to outgoing model. I feel the soft touch feel from dashboard is also no more there.

Was Comparing models of the new Verna in Carwale Website, Somehow barring the fancy stuff EX variant seems enough for a Sedan and if it comes in 10lkh price bracket will be a great deal breaker.

It has all necessary stuff like Auto Ac, ABS, 2 Airbags, Bluetooth system with audio streaming etc.

The SX model on the other hand boasts of Electric Sun roof, 6 Airbags, 6 Speakers as opposed to 4 speakers in EX variant along with GPS touch screen system and SX(O) having leatherette interiors and maybe some more goodies.

Compared different models with the competition and this Verna is definitely bang for the price it is offering now for its customers and what they say an introductory offer for first 20000 customers is really a chance and if You're a potential buyer in this segment, wait no further and go book it! Because after the 20000 cars sold, he won't spare to raise the demand curve!

Here is the comparo (Link) with Middle Variants of the Cheif Sedans in competition:

Comparison of Top End Variants and Still Verna Wins: (Link)

This is ridiculous pricing for a product that has seen very few changes since 2011. (The same holds for Honda City) . Even the engines are the same.
Isnt that the case with every car and manufacturer these days....
Even VW, Ford , Toyota , Renault etc

Was Comparing models of the new Verna in Carwale Website, Somehow barring the fancy stuff EX variant seems enough for a Sedan and if it comes in 10lkh price bracket will be a great deal breaker.

It has all necessary stuff like Auto Ac, ABS, 2 Airbags, Bluetooth system with audio streaming etc.

The SX model on the other hand boasts of Electric Sun roof, 6 Airbags, 6 Speakers as opposed to 4 speakers in EX variant along with GPS touch screen system and SX(O) having leatherette interiors and maybe some more goodies.
Ex isn't the best variant. And sx doesnt have Sunroof or even 6 airbags.

Check my comparison. Reply #87.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...en-launched-india-7-99-lacs-6.html#post546558

Ex isn't the best variant. And sx doesnt have Sunroof or even 6 airbags.

Check my comparison. Reply #87.

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...en-launched-india-7-99-lacs-6.html#post546558
Some goof up maybe from me, excuse that, if the amount what you mentioned 43000 is the only difference between SX and EX then SX makes lots of sense owing to alloys, Touchscreen system and stuff, While SX (O) would be my personal pick as it has all the modern day car needs.

Here are the videos of the All New Hyundai Verna launched in India.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XALfURCMy44

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJpzVZ0BDfg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aoLyIuUp730

Sharing of these videos needs full credit to The Automotive India.

Thanks for the precise videos Akash, i was in Youtube in the afternoon to see Verna's launch and sadly everything is in Hindi, Gawd at least this was actually better with music to view. [clap]

Thanks for the precise videos Akash, i was in Youtube in the afternoon to see Verna's launch and sadly everything is in Hindi, Gawd at least this was actually better with music to view.
Thanks buddy. You may check the official coverage as in that I had made a small video of precisely the launching of the car.

Isnt that the case with every car and manufacturer these days....
Even VW, Ford , Toyota , Renault etc
True that.

I wouldnt say Renault, because they have a small product lineup and each product is unique (speaking of Kwid and Duster). But yes, their cousins over at Nissan/Datsun are more guilty.
Another offender used to be Maruti , but they are trying something new with the Ignis and the Baleno. Especially the Ignis.
Hyundai has the experience and the pulse of the customer to launch something radical. But somehow I dont find any of their cars exciting at all. There is nothing unique by way of design or performance. Santro was radical, so was the Getz . But all the other cars, Elite I20 onwards, look and feel just the same inside out.

Apparently the big question is how it would fair in the market?
A segment which holds a history to support only 2 cars at a time, now the major sales being enjoyed by CITY & CIAZ with an average of 4.5K to 5K for both !
Honda has been continuously updating & refreshing the CITY. Maruti seems like on a lazy attitude with lethargic powertrains & SHVS benefits.
Now this !
2017 Hyundai Verna Receives 4000 Bookings In 18 Days
Hyundai has taken a huge step forward with the launch of the Verna 2017 as the sedan looks to give headache to it's rivals. With 4000 bookings for the Verna 2017, Hyundai has made sure that the sedan stands out with new features and of course a new engine.
Someone will be knocked out ! pricing is spot on!
NDTV