Hyundai Grand i10 & Xcent: Technical Problems & Solutions

Thread Starter #106
Dear Jairaj,

It's a fact that the torque delivery of this engine at very low RPM is horrible in this car. It stalls about just anywhere. ........
That's some exhaustive painful review faced by Xcent user(s)!!! If things go as I planned, I will have either Baleno CVT or Figo DCT by Dec/Jan. Let's see what happens!!! I am eager in dumping this Xcent to some poor soul!!

If things go as I planned, I will have either Baleno CVT or Figo DCT by Dec/Jan. Let's see what happens!!! I am eager in dumping this Xcent to some poor soul!!
Why don't you exchange it with FIGO? Do consult Mrs. FD before taking your call as well[:)] because a joint consent shall give you a better idea of the decision which you may take finally.

Hyundai standard warranty is 2 years/unlimited kms. Extended warranty is 3 years/60k kms. My car had already run 54 k and I dint find it worth to spend 9k for another 6k kms warranty
Okay then it is fine. I have seen many users getting their meters rolled back when they want warranty claims. I don't think now you would be able to get extended warranty (after standard warranty is over) else this would have been an option. It would be a bad practice, though!

And sorry if I sounded a bit harsh in the last post, I realised only after posting. [:)]

Thread Starter #109
Why don't you exchange it with FIGO? Do consult Mrs. FD before taking your call as well[:)] because a joint consent shall give you a better idea of the decision which you may take finally.

Ford guys didn't have any exchange for any non-Ford cars!!! [confused]

So I left with no option, other than selling it by myself. I put up on sale, and max I am getting is 5L! Hope I will finalize it by next month. And I am too scared to go for DCT, because of few horror stories I heard/read and Ford's not so great A.S.S!!

So I am more inclined towards Baleno, purely to play it safe with CVT and famed Maruthi A.S.S!! I consulted this with my wife and when she heard I am going to buy a new car with no clutch/gear, she was so happy, because finally she can drive!! I guess I'll have to take my bike very often then!

Ford guys didn't have any exchange for any non-Ford cars!!!
Really!! That's a real news to me. Over here we have re-valuation and exchange facility. In today's time premium brands like Benz, Audi et al are in to exchange business, how come FORD is lagging behind?

So I am more inclined towards Baleno, purely to play it safe with CVT and famed Maruthi A.S.S!! I consulted this with my wife and when she heard I am going to buy a new car with no clutch/gear, she was so happy, because finally she can drive!! I guess I'll have to take my bike very often then!
Ok, you're safe at least from wife's end. Let me tell you, CVT Baleno is really not that aggressive. It has sort of draggy feel in it. Any thoughts on brands other than MSIL?

Thread Starter #111
Really!! That's a real news to me. Over here we have re-valuation and exchange facility. In today's time premium brands like Benz, Audi et al are in to exchange business, how come FORD is lagging behind?
Even I was surprised when SA told me, "we don't exchange Hyundai cars!". I was like WTH!! I was like "You are about to lose one customer!!"

Ok, you're safe at least from wife's end. Let me tell you, CVT Baleno is really not that aggressive. It has sort of draggy feel in it. Any thoughts on brands other than MSIL?

As long as service don't cost me a bomb and gearbox is some alien stuff(DCT/DSG), I am fine I guess. The thing I worry a lot about is, the long term reliability. I am not going to change the next one very soon. So it should serve me till I get rid off it after 6-7 years. So I thought a familiar CVT/TC will be better bet than new DCT/DSG stuff, which are too costly to repair/replace, if something goes wrong.

If you have any better suggestion, I'm all ears!

As long as service don't cost me a bomb and gearbox is some alien stuff(DCT/DSG), I am fine I guess. The thing I worry a lot about is, the long term reliability. I am not going to change the next one very soon. So it should serve me till I get rid off it after 6-7 years. So I thought a familiar CVT/TC will be better bet than new DCT/DSG stuff, which are too costly to repair/replace, if something goes wrong.

If you have any better suggestion, I'm all ears!
Dekhlo FD Babu[:)] If I may ask, then, are you open to sedans too? or fixed upon premium hatchbacks? In 5-7 Lac bracket you may get a used/good condition car like Honda City which is bigger than Xcent and more comfortable. Also just get your car evaluated once at Hyundai H-Promise.

PS: FD Open a new thread in Car Shopper Section.

guys with rear cams installed , where did u install it and how is the feedback ? im planning to order a high quality CCd rear cam from aliexpress as the ones sold in india are bad quality cmos ones.

Mine is installed above number plate - see the image to get an idea. The white rectangle with 'MP' is the number plate. The cam is HD with night vision having some forgettable brand name, but works good. The backup light is enough to show images during night time. During heavy downpour ( as recently experienced in Chennai), the image gets distorted due to water flow over the lens.

@Grand i10 owners:
Is it so that grand i10 too struggles on the inclines like the Xcent does at times with 4-5 people on board? I have driven the car on multiple occasions but never got a chance to test it in stop-go on flyovers or inclines.

I have carried 4 peoples on board in my Grand (petrol) and it climbed without any struggle. My grand climbed the incline on 2nd gear without accelerator input by maintaining 1000 RPM by itself (though the speed is very less)

Mine is installed above number plate - see the image to get an idea. The white rectangle with 'MP' is the number plate. The cam is HD with night vision having some forgettable brand name, but works good. The backup light is enough to show images during night time. During heavy downpour ( as recently experienced in Chennai), the image gets distorted due to water flow over the lens.
i'm planning to get it installed where the number plate light is or maybe on rear parcel tray. Rear tray will make me get a bird eye view of rear bumper i think and less glare too as its placed higher incase reversing on busy roads. lemme see if possible as maybe rear glass may block or distort view.

if i go for the bumper then something like this should be good http://g01.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1RvZC...-font-b-Plate-b-font-Light-Camera-Reverse.jpg

Not on my Grand petrol i10 either. Have driven with full house on a steep recline (mall exit ramp) without any fuss. The car was on 2nd gear and hovering between 2k-2.5k RPM.. Hope it helps..

Mine is right at the center of rear bumper, helps in parking car very close to any car/object that might not be visible in rear view mirror