Hyundai Grand i10 Asta Ownership Review

Re: My Hyundai Grand i10 Asta (O) Petrol Booked & Delivered

I was following this thread from quite a few days and found it a great platform to share knowledge/ queries.

I have also booked a Grand i10 Sports- Petrol version. Dealer informed me that delivery should happen in first or second week of December. Now I am in fix if I should go ahead with the delivery or wait till January 2014. Can someone guide me what is the impact of registration date/ manufacturing date on cars resale value ?

Thread Starter #62

I was following this thread from quite a few days and found it a great platform to share knowledge/ queries.

I have also booked a Grand i10 Sports- Petrol version. Dealer informed me that delivery should happen in first or second week of December. Now I am in fix if I should go ahead with the delivery or wait till January 2014. Can someone guide me what is the impact of registration date/ manufacturing date on cars resale value ?

Hi saychamps,
Even if you take the delivery in Jan-14 it will still be a 2013 manufactured car (IMO).
Now coming to the registration point,consider you register your car in DEc 2013 and you are selling it in 2016, they may call is a 4 year old car . If you register in Jan it will be a 3 year car and so changes the resale value with sentiments.Its very much debatable.
Ff you are not desperate to get your car and can wait for a month or so register it in Jan next year thats what majority of buyers do. This is precisely the reason why car companies offer deals in december and hence some people try to negotiate hard ang get themselves great deals in december. In case of grand this possiblity is almost close to none.
Hope I didnt confuse you more[confused]

Thanks Parth.. I have booked the car but would be taking delivery in Jan, I think it makes sense to wait for 1 month to get advantage of 1 year [;)]

I don't know if it will matter much because it will still be a 2013 car even if you buy in jan. Do what you think is the best.

Hi parth1231, congrats on your new Grand i10 Asta (O)..
Following the thread I see Grand i10 is a good car. How about its ground clearance? Did you try the car on rough roads with humps, potholes and non-tarmac roads?

Thread Starter #66
Hi parth1231, congrats on your new Grand i10 Asta (O)..
Following the thread I see Grand i10 is a good car. How about its ground clearance? Did you try the car on rough roads with humps, potholes and non-tarmac roads?
Yes I have been driving on road with very bad patches and high bumps[frustration]
did not floor the car anywhere so far. For this length of the car GC is not a problem at all.

Bad news guys,
HIT BY A MORON TAILGATER YESTERDAY[cry][cry]

hi parth1231, did you try with 5 people on bad roads? With luggage?

Oh sad to hear that.

Hope only small repair required.

Hi parth1231,

Congratulation for the new purchase. [:)]
I have been following your ownership review since day 1. I have also booked grand i10 asta(o) petrol. Please clarify following doubts:

1. For a medium size person is visibility from driving seat OK? I test drove it but later in the showroom I was feeling in comparison to i10, it wasnt better as dashboard is higher. What is your opinion?

2. What type of alloy wheels you chose? I heard grand comes with 2 types of alloy wheels, diamond cut or silver (not sure) . Do we have to pay extra for diamond cut alloys?

3. Are you satisfied with FE in city traffic. I10 had so many complains regarding poor FE with Kappa 2.

4. Is it the same engine used in old i10? I heard its dual VTVT. Was the old i10 also had dual VTVT or single (variable timing on the intake valve).

5. One of the member has complained about engine noise over 2000 RPM. Did you also observe it.

6. How comfortable is 5h person on the back seat as rear AC vents limit the leg space?

Thanx buddy.. eagerly waiting for your response..as this is my first car. [:)]

Thread Starter #70

Hi Parth.

Yes. the manual says so but in the 1st and 2nd gear the engine noise becomes loud and also seeps inside the cabin as soon as i cross 2000 rpm. Is it something normal ?
Chesterchaz, Yes that happens with me too. Drving in 2nd gear above 2000 rpms shouldnt be necessary are you following the gearshift indicator?

I also felt this time that I have to use 3rd gear too much for overtaking on Highways,
how about you guys?

Hi parth1231,

Congratulation for the new purchase. [:)]
I have been following your ownership review since day 1. I have also booked grand i10 asta(o) petrol. Please clarify following doubts:

1. For a medium size person is visibility from driving seat OK? I test drove it but later in the showroom I was feeling in comparison to i10, it wasnt better as dashboard is higher. What is your opinion?
Asta(o) petrol anyways has seat height adjustment. I am used to it now and not a problem for me. I am 5'8".

2. What type of alloy wheels you chose? I heard grand comes with 2 types of alloy wheels, diamond cut or silver (not sure) . Do we have to pay extra for diamond cut alloys?
Asta-o will come with diamond cut alloys and no extra cost.

3. Are you satisfied with FE in city traffic. I10 had so many complains regarding poor FE with Kappa 2.
I am getting 15.5 to 16 with full AC and its been 75% highways (bad quality thogh)

4. Is it the same engine used in old i10? I heard its dual VTVT. Was the old i10 also had dual VTVT or single (variable timing on the intake valve).
I am not clear about this one.

5. One of the member has complained about engine noise over 2000 RPM. Did you also observe it.
Its not abnormal noise, just like other cars if you rev it hard in 2nd gear.

6. How comfortable is 5h person on the back seat as rear AC vents limit the leg space?
The A/c vents do not limit passenger leg space,its been smartly placed between front 2 seats. However 3 average size adults are just fit in the rear seat. IMO width can be a limitation but leg space no way.

How much did you car cost you and what color did you chose? Any freebies from the dealer?

Chesterchaz, Yes that happens with me too. Drving in 2nd gear above 2000 rpms shouldnt be necessary are you following the gearshift indicator?

I also felt this time that I have to use 3rd gear too much for overtaking on Highways,
how about you guys?

Hi Parth..

Sometimes i don't follow the gear shift indicator .. In city most of the times , i speed up till 2000 RPM in 2nd gear and then the indicator points to shift upwards but then i often see traffic some 50-100 m front or a speed breaker so no point in up shifting then braking to 1st again ? [surprise]

Will do a tank full this time and then calculate the FE.. my driving is 100% city till now so 2nd(higher rpms)+3rd(lower rpms) is the main gear i am always running.

How much did you car cost you and what color did you chose? Any freebies from the dealer?

Hi parth,
It is costing me 6.48 Lakhs on road here in Hyderabad and unlike your case dealer is not ready to give even mud guards and floor mats. I have chosen the white color but might go for a different one which will add Rs 4k more.

So finally after so many days, Are you satisfied with your new purchase. Is it going as per your expectation?

Thread Starter #73

Well yes, apart from the overtaking performace on highway. One has to work around eh gears for it. It was always know As Grand is dominantly a city commuter.

Apart from that I am very much satisfied with the quality of material and the minute details Hyundai has worked on this car. Rear vents are very much appreciated by all my rear occupants.

Please check the twilight blue it looks cool in flesh.

Twilight blue ! I have not seen it but I felt it looked faded. Read somewhere that grand looks best in white and orange.

Your concern about highway overtaking comes as a surprise as many experts had acclaimed the peppiness of the petrol variant of grand i10. All of them had brought up the lack of power in the diesel engine but not petrol. Anyway, it is going to be better than i20 petrol anyday I feel. [roll]

Keep the thread upated parth with your new findings/encounters with New Lingo. [:)]

Thread Starter #75

This heart breaking incident happened to me on Saturday.
We were driving home from my in-laws place, I noticed a alto was tailgating me.
We were driving around 60KMPH as the road wasn’t too good.And there was no chance of allowing overtaking as I could see a Truck followed by a Maruti Omni followed by me and then this fellow. AND truck braked then Omni and me ,my reflexes turned to the IRVM
to see the MORON coming and BANG. It was not a dead stop braking situation, the omni and I had our distances to downshift and brake still this moron couldn’t control his car.

I parked my vehicle aside and walked to see the damages, then turned to this fellow who still had his car on the road. He was alone in the car and laying on the steering wheel telling that he can’t move his hand.
I offered water and help to park his car aside but he wasn’t looking at me and was talking only to other bikers who stooped to help.
It didn’t take us long to figure out that it was a sympathy gaining trick. Sadly we walked away with the enforced damage.

Most importantly I had my 6month old kid aboard and the moment I spotted this Moron tailgating had told my wife to sit firm and hold the baby properly supporting her neck etc. fortunately no injuries.
Later visited the Hyundai dealership, they will looked for the availability of parts (certain brackets etc. they were talking about) and inform me as when they can fix the damage. I will prefer to do it with 1st service as its approximately 300Kms away.

Guys please help me to analyze the situation as I want to learn from this:
1) What could I have done to avoid this situation?

2) What can one do in such situation if he can’t do from physical and abusing assault?

3) Any suggestions whether I should claim it in insurance or not?

4) Thoughts of those front and rear bumper protection guards are creeping in my mind, though I don’t like them much.

DAMAGE: