Hyundai Grand i10 Asta Ownership Review

Re: My Hyundai Grand i10 Asta (O) Petrol Ownership Review

Hope I have tried to answer your queries, experts may throw more light on this.
Thanks a lot for the time and effort for wonderfully explaining the queries that I had asked for and clarifying my doubts.

Change to 5th only when you are going above 60KmpH, if in doubt always change gears based on RPM. You can always shift into 2nd as soon as your car starts from stationery position and also let me tell you that you can crawl for speed less than 5Kmph in 2nd gear. Do try it.
I tried to engage the second gear between 5 - 10 kmph but there is almost no power and it acts as if I engaged in the wrong gear and it becomes smooth only post 10 kmph.

For very large speed brakers which may result into under body scarp, you may change to 2nd and negotiate it. But for normal one even 3rd gear will also negotiate with it, just you need to feather brake before speed breaker and feather accelerator when you are on speed braker
In Bangalore, the humps are uneven and in certain speed breakers, it is very difficult to move in 2nd gear.

While stopping in traffic and signal simply put car in neutral, in slow moving traffic always engage first gear to start off, release clutch upto biting point and hold it there, now release brake as per the safe distance ahead of you and control your car with brakes. Don’t do this for very long else your clutch will wear out soon.
Can I shift to neutral, hold the brakes to prevent roll back, and once it's Green, engage the gear, release the brake ? Is this right ?

This is true, headlights are weak in Grand i10. You need to upgrade it
This is true as well. You need to upgrade it
Can you suggest me horn and bulb for upgrade ?

Keeping the toe won’t harm the clutch, but unintentionally putting pressure on it will be like riding a half clutch which may wear it very soon. As you said it helps you in traffic which means you are pressing it to some extent and riding a half clutch.
I am keeping the toe on the top of the clutch without pressing it. It is comfortable in the traffic in the sense on comparing with totally removing the toe on the clutch

Thanks once again for clearing my doubts [cheers]

Thanks a lot for the time and effort for wonderfully explaining the queries that I had asked for and clarifying my doubts.

I tried to engage the second gear between 5 - 10 kmph but there is almost no power and it acts as if I engaged in the wrong gear and it becomes smooth only post 10 kmph.
Try releasing the clutch slowly without pressing accelerator.

In Bangalore, the humps are uneven and in certain speed breakers, it is very difficult to move in 2nd gear.
You need to judge the speed brakers height and make gear decision accordingly. If you are using same road then you may try same speed barker on 2nd instead of 1st and see whether your engine struggles or not.

Can I shift to neutral, hold the brakes to prevent roll back, and once it's Green, engage the gear, release the brake ? Is this right ?
Yes, this is right

Can you suggest me horn and bulb for upgrade ?
Sorry, but i don't know much about this as i myself running under stock headlight bulbs and horn[;)]

I am keeping the toe on the top of the clutch without pressing it. It is comfortable in the traffic in the sense on comparing with totally removing the toe on the clutch
Yes, you can keep toe on clutch without applying the pressure.

8) Do I hold the clutch at signals stop - sometimes vehicle roll back even in flat surface when stopping at signals. As I am in first gear, fully depressing the clutch and brake. Will it wear out the clutch sooner ?
I'm also a Newbie in car driving and am following the below procedure, which is very comfortable & smooth and also helps while the car is stopped at uphills or on plain surface and moved.

Stopping Procedure: Hold brake to slow down, hold clutch to full, shift to neutral and apply hand brake and switch off the engine. Afterwards shift to 1st gear while on plain or to reverse gear at uphills.The car is halted at the designated spot.

Starting & Moving the car : Hold the clutch to full, turn on the ignition -the car starts, shift to first gear, release the clutch slowly (to about 10%) and release the hand brake, the car will be moving forward and slightly accelerate and there you're moving your car smoothly [:D] without your car moving backwards nor any jerks.[clap]

I guess we are discussing driving techniques in this thread which is :offtopic:, please continue this discussion in Technical Zone. Mods, kindly merge !

Hey Jonathan, tried all the fuses, turns out in Asta the current runs for another minute after switching off the car, that might be the reason it is switching off promptly in your car and not in mine.
Rest assured it looks fantastic as come-home Leds [clap]. I hope it doesnt create additional load on battery.

It was a foggy morning yesterday in Lucknow, clicked few more pics in all combinations, DRLs are pretty bright for the kind of day light we are having here during winters.

View attachment 159580

View attachment 159581

View attachment 159582
I too have grand i10 but i want to add parking light, the same way as you have added in your, so can you please tell me where to get it .

Does anybody have the workshop manual / part numbers and spare part costs for Grand i10 ?

The headlights aren't as good as it should be, Is there any way to upgrade the headlights of Grand i10? Any battery drainage problem would occur due to upgradation ? If any members have done this please post your comments with images and links for online purchase.

I too am not satisfied with the headlight throw of grand i10. Im looking to upgrade the headlights. After doing some research few things that I figured is that xenon headlights seem to be more brighter and last more longer as compared to the halogen lights. They seem to take less power as compared to halogen lights. What Im not sure of is if the xenon bulbs have to be used with projector setup or can be used without as well? I think a standard xenon hid kit would cost somewhere between 5-6k INR?

Hello friends my car got stuck.with foopaath and front bumper is broken from lower side and one bumper lock is broken. Broken bumper nt visible.but concerned about lock of bumper.moreover one plastic plate or tray is also broken which was under the car near to bumper (1.25 metre long).dont knw its name.
Is it possible to fix lock in bumper.wats is the cost of. Front bumper.and that plastic plate in. Hyundai. Please reply

While turning on a tight corner in a very narrow lane, the rear right door got damaged severely yesterday.[cry]

What should be the best way to handle this now? Approach a local body repair shop? I guess approaching Hyundai service would be too expensive as they would want the door replaced, also the below portion of the door (C-pillar bottom side) is also damaged. Need suggestions on how best I can have this addressed. Also, any suggestions of well known body repair shops in Kolkata?

Thanks in advance.

That's bad.i too had a similar accident while turning in a narrow lane on my i10.

Hyundai will charge 2500-3000rs per panel and outside it can be done for 1500rs per panel( rates in delhi) and you are right you have to get both the panels painted. Depends on you , how much do you want to spend.

Looking at the picture, felt very sorry about the incidence.

Though it is costly, i would suggest you to approach Hyundai ASS as they will give original fit and finish to your car. It seems like you need to replace bumper as well because it has got tore enough.

Do post estimate and overall experience on bringing this back to shape.

Looking at the picture, felt very sorry about the incidence.
It seems like you need to replace bumper as well because it has got tore enough.

Do post estimate and overall experience on bringing this back to shape.
where in the snaps did you see the bumper. i was not able to see the bumper from any angle. i dunno did i miss the pic or so. but according to my understanding. its the door and the bottom end of C-Pillar that is damaged. this is repairable in the local garage. showroom might suggest you to scrap the door, I'm not sure though. in case they ask you to change the door that will be an expensive affair. IMO take it to the showroom get an estimate, take it to a local garage and get the estimate. decide which one is worth and give it for repair accordingly. in case you take it to the showroom it will be reflected in your service history as well keep that in mind too.

Sorry for the damage.
Would recommend going to Hyundai itself, as there is hole in the door and the wheel arch. Hyundai would be able to get it done perfectly. Also looks like your car's colour is Star Dust, which would be difficult to get in local garage (people correct if wrong).

Arijit