Hyundai Fluidic Verna 1.6 VTVT SX (O) Coral White Ownership Review

Thread Starter #256
50 days of ownership:

My ODO reads 2010 KM now, mileage is giving ~16kmpl constantly (average), city ride hits ~12 kmpl and highway ~18kmpl. Engine is very smooth with good power except at a time the 3rd gear is bit sluggish.

Engine oil, brake oil and other lubricants are in good condition;

Issue: There is a noise like a wire hitting against the metal body somewhere in the dikki when i run the car. I open up the dikki and shake'd the hood but i didn't get any noise. Is there anyone who encountered such and rectified? I suppose i need to check again thoroughly.

Till now I'v cleaned the engine air filter twice and cabin air filter once with air jet blower. Winter is very dusty so I think its necessary for all cars to clean it properly as Mr. Soumen has mentioned.

I applied wax and its awesome, good water bedding and dust can not accumulate but only a thin layer of fine dust. Before waxing the car I could see chunks of dust specially on the rear bumper just bellow the tail light - but now its gone. I even applied wax on the windows and its wow, very smooth. I applied turtle solid wax. I'v ordered Meguiars ultimate wax (spray) too which is superior than turtle (at it looks) and waiting to receive the package.

Tire pressure is maintained constantly @32 psi (filled with N2);
No alignment issues;

What should I cover more in this topic? Please suggest if am missing anything.

Hope your uncle did not lose anything really important.? So what happened with the case. Your uncle must have had a L or V version...................................
What you all said is true, but we can do nothing. Saw the new Honda city, the top model is awesome and more features than Verna, just missing this.

50 days of ownership:

My ODO reads 2010 KM now, mileage is giving ~16kmpl constantly (average), city ride hits ~12 kmpl and highway ~18kmpl. Engine is very smooth with good power except at a time the 3rd gear is bit sluggish.

Engine oil, brake oil and other lubricants are in good condition;

Issue: There is a noise like a wire hitting against the metal body somewhere in the dikki when i run the car. I open up the dikki and shake'd the hood but i didn't get any noise. Is there anyone who encountered such and rectified? I suppose i need to check again thoroughly.

Till now I'v cleaned the engine air filter twice and cabin air filter once with air jet blower. Winter is very dusty so I think its necessary for all cars to clean it properly as Mr. Soumen has mentioned.

I applied wax and its awesome, good water bedding and dust can not accumulate but only a thin layer of fine dust. Before waxing the car I could see chunks of dust specially on the rear bumper just bellow the tail light - but now its gone. I even applied wax on the windows and its wow, very smooth. I applied turtle solid wax. I'v ordered Meguiars ultimate wax (spray) too which is superior than turtle (at it looks) and waiting to receive the package.

Tire pressure is maintained constantly @32 psi (filled with N2);
No alignment issues;

What should I cover more in this topic? Please suggest if am missing anything.

Hi Dbarma, could you pls let me know how to clean the Engine air filter and cabin air filter.?

Thanks in advance.

Thread Starter #259
@karma0306

Few weeks later khaki guys called him informing nothing but told him that there are some gangs operating in our area who might have done that and they are investigating on it. It was one and half years back and till now i dint hear anything from them. Actually parking car on the street is risky and on top of this his car was parked under a dark area. We should avoid parking our cars road side at night and if must than properly illuminated spot.

New fluidic verna SX(O) (updated) had lost its airbags, 3rd headrest, spare alloy wheel, SSADL and got projectors, LEDs and illuminated backlit switches: does it justifies? lost is more than gain here and plus 30K extra rise. Surprisingly I never escalated it before buyingm what is more surprising is I still love the car [:D]

I will go to showroom and and will ask them about the add-on security modules available to them as I feel its necessary. Installing the top level security with compromising the base level is not justified. I also agree that this security measures can be bridged but at least these people has to work to get their job done and thats what these security modules meant for. Nothing is secure in this world as we all know but good is that when we can buy some time. So adding a good and smart security features are worth of money.

I am also not so much fan to FB anymore but I will joint the community and will track the posts. I hope his wife and kid are unharmed too. Hyundai should respond to his call and investigate further on how their security system failed and learn to improve it and offer better service to their valued customer. If they remain silent it shows their carelessness.

Hi Dbarma, could you pls let me know how to clean the Engine air filter and cabin air filter.?

Thanks in advance.
Cabin air filter is located behind the glove box; open the box and locate the big plastic screws on each side; rotate it and unplug the both; remove the box then you will see the air filter tray which is a thin square plate; pull it then clean it with jet air blower. I believe there is another filter just bellow this layer which i didnt try to open. If someone has done it please suggest.

About the engine filter the assembly will be different in variants; Mine is petrol, so this is how i'v done it. Its located on left hand side bellow the fuse box; unhock the 2 clips on the right of each corner and pull little bit towards right then lift upwards gently then pull again towards right; there the engine filter; just pull then blow again and keep it back the same way.

You have to find ways to arrange the blower.

when i spoke to my dealership about the new verna they as well told me the features cut out i told them 4 air bags taken out thats not nice. They replied 'sir having air bags is a waste' Two air bags are more then enough they are hardly needed anyways and most of the times even the two air bags there in a car will never be used so its best to cancel 4 and use the same money to provide better things that are needed like projector headlights. The headlights used are super costly but sadly they are not with hid. They could as well done something with the seat belt sensors but all i can see is they are plaiyng cost cutting with the safety of the car partly more cause i feel most of us in india never think much of safety things in a car. When i was booking my car another guy was booking his he was like why to waste more money on 4 air bags this model is just fine. Its a different thing if it shoots their budget. But then again ppl who go top of the line are game on for every feature they can put in.

Thread Starter #261
Prevention is better than cure. We Indian seems to realize only when we have boil on our forehead. Even my family and relatives asked me why pay extra on features you don't need. I replied them asking - which is better: when you need you don't have it; when you don't you still have it. Human lives are uncertain, we never know when our last breath is but there is a gape between life and death and we know how to fill it right and thats called HOPE. These safety features give you hope but not sure enough to be assured.

I strongly disagree with hyundai for compromising such a life saving features and further more not letting us know about these changes. This is cheating.

Projectors are not must have features but good for off roads and night drives and yes its a sign of luxury. Compromising safety for luxury is not acceptable. What worth is that ~30K extra we paid for?

But instead of these odds I still love my white baby [embarass]

Thanks in advance.
One more point I want to add is: when you blow the air blow in - out direction but not from out - in and we can also wash it and dry properly according to some experts suggestion but its always better to replace with new filter.

Prevention is better than cure. We Indian seems to realize only when we have boil on our forehead. Even my family and relatives asked me why pay extra on features you don't need. I replied them asking - which is better: when you need you don't have it; when you don't you still have it. Human lives are uncertain, we never know when our last breath is but there is a gape between life and death and we know how to fill it right and thats called HOPE. These safety features give you hope but not sure enough to be assured.

I strongly disagree with hyundai for compromising such a life saving features and further more not letting us know about these changes. This is cheating.
A real BIG THUMBS UP to you! Dbarma!. I totally agree with you. Everyone says its India, so whats the big deal.? For instance, i was having my lunch at a resto bar, the bill had come, the waiter wanted to know my PIN, i said sorry bhai, everywhere they are advertising do not share PIN, why are you asking me, i said bring the machine to me, i will enter my PIN. You know what he said, this is INDIA, you cannot expect anything like this in regards to safety. I was like PLEASE JUSt GO i will come and enter my pin. We People just have the tendency to forefeit a normal basic safety measure too not that am complaining but its just common, isnt it a high time we atleast stand by the safety features that are even atleast basic.?

By the way i started my process.! In no way am gonna leave them for taking the speed sensing lock option and inturn not letting us know. The final step in this would be a consumer court case.!I feel that when i spoke to service people, they just wantedly told me that HYUNDAI has stopped this feature for the past 3 months so that i will be quiet, This dealer just took me for granted. I want them to pay back or respond for whatever they did in a proper way. I will definitely update if i get any update.! Hopefully i get some response. Lets see.

Thread Starter #263
I am very much interested to knock the consumers court but I have no knowledge regarding the procedures and also where to start. These days I am bit busy for my forthcoming events. Then i will give my concentration in this case until i will learn the procedures from you Mr. Karma. Kindly update your moves and experiences and also those who already had experienced and inspire us. So that those who are dormant and hibernating with their rage and anger may rise and raise their voice.

Together we are stronger.
We have initiated this so lets finish it.

A real BIG THUMBS UP to you! Dbarma!. I totally agree with you. Everyone says its India, so whats the big deal.? For instance, i was having my lunch at a resto bar, the bill had come, the waiter wanted to know my PIN, i said sorry bhai, everywhere they are advertising do not share PIN, why are you asking me, i said bring the machine to me, i will enter my PIN. You know what he said, this is INDIA, you cannot expect anything like this in regards to safety. I was like PLEASE JUSt GO i will come and enter my pin. We People just have the tendency to forefeit a normal basic safety measure too not that am complaining but its just common, isnt it a high time we atleast stand by the safety features that are even atleast basic.?

By the way i started my process.! In no way am gonna leave them for taking the speed sensing lock option and inturn not letting us know. The final step in this would be a consumer court case.!I feel that when i spoke to service people, they just wantedly told me that HYUNDAI has stopped this feature for the past 3 months so that i will be quiet, This dealer just took me for granted. I want them to pay back or respond for whatever they did in a proper way. I will definitely update if i get any update.! Hopefully i get some response. Lets see.
What you said about the PIN at restaurant that’s shocking. And what you and Dbarma said according to my experience, once you buy anything and money goes out from your hand, there is less you can do. That is why before buying I was very concern. And all these because we are a customer in India. These things truly happens here, no respects for customers.

Just before booking I had a big question to the SA “what happens if my car suddenly caught fire by itself in my garage and all burnout? Does Hyundai replace the car?” he had no answer and I got the answer I was looking for. Just few days back I saw this (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=703896882975953) where a Verna burnout due to some AC problem and Hyndai didn’t take any responsibility. And I’ve seen two complete replacement of VW Vento on the same burnout incident where the owner had no fault. No insurance, no extra pay, just complete replacement. I really doubt Hyundai have ever did this.

What you said about the PIN at restaurant that’s shocking. And what you and Dbarma said according to my experience, once you buy anything and money goes out from your hand, there is less you can do. That is why before buying I was very concern. And all these because we are a customer in India. These things truly happens here, no respects for customers.

Just before booking I had a big question to the SA “what happens if my car suddenly caught fire by itself in my garage and all burnout? Does Hyundai replace the car?” he had no answer and I got the answer I was looking for. Just few days back I saw this (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=703896882975953) where a Verna burnout due to some AC problem and Hyndai didn’t take any responsibility. And I’ve seen two complete replacement of VW Vento on the same burnout incident where the owner had no fault. No insurance, no extra pay, just complete replacement. I really doubt Hyundai have ever did this.
Dude.. you scared the **** of me man.. I am really scared of my verna. Fearing to sit inside it now after seeing this. Should keep the fingers crossed and drive.

Me too. Not only Verna many other segment cars these days tend to burnout, probably due to these days technical upgrades with cheap products. You will see lots of news if you google it or sometime these appears in newspapers.

Hahaha! Nayan -Your post really made me laugh!. There could be many reasons for that to happen in that persons verna.! Just be positive and everything would turn to be positive.! Am sure you are.

@ Soumen - Thats one hell of a fire. I really want to know what went wrong, was the car parked when it caught fire? do you know anything about the incident. I tried to read about it, couldnt find any! He or she should even contact HYUNDAI direclty and not the HMIL.

Hahaha! Nayan -Your post really made me laugh!. There could be many reasons for that to happen in that persons verna.! Just be positive and everything would turn to be positive.! Am sure you are.

@ Soumen - Thats one hell of a fire. I really want to know what went wrong, was the car parked when it caught fire? do you know anything about the incident. I tried to read about it, couldnt find any! He or she should even contact HYUNDAI direclty and not the HMIL.
I only know the car was parked and no one was in the car when it caught fire. The reason told AC system malfunction. I don’t know anything more about this. And yes the owner contacted with Hyundai head office and they ignored.

But this is a common issue many cars these days caught fires even those are not customized or factory defaults. We may relax but this could happen to anyone. The question is what if this happens?

Most causes of fire in a car is due to modifications. Mostly cause they just cup wires and tape not even use crimps. The entire body of the car is the negative polarity so if the wire touches it shorts and sparks. But whatever it maybe its hyundais job to investigate the cause of the fire and if its their fault compensate their customer. Myself i have had a few turn downs when i asked my service center to speak to hyundai of clutch noise present in all cars, they just did not reply to the three mails the service center sent, neither did they do the same for doing something of bumper quality. Also i have noticed that most of us guys who got our petrol verna in 2011 or within a year of its release all face lower fe then claimed but guys who just got it are experiencing fes closed to claimed.