Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

One of my office colleague's cousin is a videographer and is shooting one of the discoveries team in Delhi/NCR. As per his update the videos has been submitted to Ford. Tried to get some info on the car, but nothing much except "its excellent car" [:D].

I have never seen any discovery ES in NCR so far, however my wife did spot one near Noida expressway. She is a new driver and developing interest on automotive world. She liked its road presence and its a standout in the crowd.

In general car makers announce any new launch date around 2/3 weeks before, however in case of Ecosport why ford is still silent? Rumours says 2nd week of June, but I doubt it. Will they launch by end of June???

One of my office colleague's cousin is a videographer and is shooting one of the discoveries team in Delhi/NCR. As per his update the videos has been submitted to Ford. Tried to get some info on the car, but nothing much except "its excellent car" .

I have never seen any discovery ES in NCR so far, however my wife did spot one near Noida expressway. She is a new driver and developing interest on automotive world. She liked its road presence and its a standout in the crowd.

In general car makers announce any new launch date around 2/3 weeks before, however in case of Ecosport why ford is still silent? Rumours says 2nd week of June, but I doubt it. Will they launch by end of June???
I think RonnS you answered your own question [lol]
So far nothing from Ford on variants, pricing and launch [evil] So I feel still plenty for time to wait. Sad thing is our thread has become 'home of speculation chit chat' than any serious discussion. (I know there is nothing there for us to discuss now)

Alright I will shut up now [roll]

Got a call from a sales executive of a Ford dealer here with whom I had been in contact regarding the booking of Ford Ecosport. Today, The urban discovery challenge seems to have ended and both the Chandigarh teams were told to give there car to this dealer from where Ford will pick it up and take it. This dealer had these 2 cars at his showroom for about 2 hours. He gave me a call to ask if I was interested in having a look at the car. I went there immediately and those two Mars red Ecosport were parked right in front of the showroom drawing huge crowd towards it.

First Impression

Damn , this car looks super sexy! From outside, its an absolute looker. No two ways about it. Road presence seems to be decent going by its size. Those alloy design are just eye candy's. Loved them. The SE came and opened the car on my request. Sat inside the driver's seat and immediately with the available seat height adjustment and steering adjustment, i could find the sweet spot for my driving position. Huge side bolstering on the front seats is a boost for slim and average built people. I felt I was completely hugged by the seat, pretty good. Doors shut with a nice thud, but not as good as the Polo. Built quality seems to be far better than Duster, both In and Out. I felt the interior plastics were strictly ok, nothing great. But the dash design is really nice to look at. Really liked the feel of the leather wrapped steering wheel. Its as meaty to hold as our Fiesta Classic's steering. I personally like those grooves on the steering for your fingers and thumb. Instrument cluster too looks pretty sporty and neatly done. Overall I am happy with the interiors too. In no way, its a let down. Though plastic quality inside could have been better.

Audio quality is very good for a stock system. No speaker or ICE upgrade require for a regular music lover. It does its job pretty decently. Didn't check on the SYNC system. Went to check the rear bench, I would say its good enough. No Manza like rear leg room but it was comfortable. Me and my two cousins squeezed into the rear bench to check if 3 can seat in the rear. We all are about 60-65kgs and 5,8 - 5,10 in height. I would say we just about squeezed in. Though leg room was not an issue, shoulder room was. Then immediately we hopped inside my Polo to compare, and I would say Ecosport felt a little better to seat 3 in the rear. Though for 2 Adults and a kid in the rear, it should be pretty comfortable.

I loved the rear boot lid integrated in the rear tail lamp. Very neatly done. Boot space is ok. Though I was expecting a lot less, but to my surprise it was decent enough. For our usage, it seems to be pretty adequate. Though now, I am in two minds as my Dad goes out to play Golf on the weekends and I am not very sure if this boot is wide enough to have the golf set horizontally. Though, I am sure if the parcel tray is removed, golf set can fit in diagonally. Will have to test that next time.

Leather seats seemed to be of decent quality and I really loved the red stitching on it. Gave a very sporty feel to it.

The door locking/unlocking system is similar to the one in my Polo. There are no individual locks on the door. I am fine with that, not a deal breaker at all. Though for people with small kids, make sure Child lock is on for your kids safety.

Though it was the Ecoboost engine, I asked the SE for a test drive. He said not today. They will be getting the demo cars by 10th and he will ring me up the day they arrive. Although i did start the car there to check the NVH and engine noise of the Ecoboost. NVH levels inside the cabin is really good. Though on the outside the engine was fairly audible.

AC was an absolute chiller. I spent good 20 minutes inside the car and I switched on the AC that time. The car was parked outside in the sun(42degrees today), but it took less than 2 minutes to cool the cabin. Mighty impressed!

In all, I am impressed with the car. Though a test drive is still due, we are going ahead and booking the Titanium Diesel in Sea Grey color. Will be sending the booking amount on 9th. Official booking haven't opened here as yet. But I have made it pretty clear to the SE that I get the car on the day they start the deliveries. He said launch would be either on 15th or 17th May. Deliveries are starting from 1st week of July.

And price wise I was interested in knowing about the diesel, he said the base diesel is going to start at 7.4 Lacs(Very confidently). Titanium should be costing anywhere around 9Lacs ex showroom. Now its to be seen if he is just plain guessing or he really knows the inside news. I am hoping he does.[:)]

Here are a few pics taken from my Blackberry phone's stupid camera. Sorry for the low quality.

IMG00949-20130606-1214.jpg

IMG00947-20130606-1214.jpg

Thread Starter #259

So far nothing from Ford on variants
Just in case you missed it, Ford Ecosport brochure has been leaked on our forum which has full list of specifications and features.

So I feel still plenty for time to wait.
Not really. June launch is confirmed but the date is still unknown though.

Just in case you missed it, Ford Ecosport brochure has been leaked on our forum which has full list of specifications and features.

Not really. June launch is confirmed but the date is still unknown though.

Sorry Vibhor, I am aware of it. What I was trying to say was, "there is nothing concrete from Ford yet. All information we have is 'leaked'".

Hope June as you said will be a confirmed news [:)]

Got a call from a sales executive of a Ford dealer here with whom I had been in contact regarding the booking of Ford Ecosport. Today, The urban discovery challenge seems to have ended and both the Chandigarh teams were told to give there car to this dealer from where Ford will pick it up and take it. This dealer had these 2 cars at his showroom for about 2 hours. He gave me a call to ask if I was interested in having a look at the car. I went there immediately and those two Mars red Ecosport were parked right in front of the showroom drawing huge crowd towards it.........
Excellent report now after the test drive i hope GM88 will give a direct comparison between the steering of polo and the Ecosport as well because most of the journalists have been not much happy with its steering, and the reviews are a mixed bag as well because i still hope ES steering is as good as atleast polo s steering and since ES is a Ford, journalists might have expected a lot and they might have got disappointed[confused]

Also the mentioning of polo vs ES rear shoulder room,is it for real, i still cant believe it, most of the forum people including me was thinking ES might not accommodate a third person by no means, and what i think is if ES is able to accommodate 3 with atleast same comfort as polo then its a phenomenal success as far as i am concerned

Also i hope GM88 will do a thorough comparison between ES and polo in terms of bad road ability as well, if it can be as comfy as polo dealing with bumps ES is a sure shot winner and a better alternative to entry c sedans and premium hatchbacks as well
(i think)

Here is a superb review of ES vs Duster, I think ES has really hit the sweet spot of Indian customer and attach a 7.4 -9 lakh EX showroom price tag as told by the SE to GM88 then i think ES will become the launch of the decade
Renault Duster DCi Vs Ford EcoSport TDCi

Nice review GM88 [clap], you cleared lot of things. Its nice to know that rear space is not that bad as hyped on the internet. That is the first thing I will be doing when I see the Ecosport in the flesh.

1989rs500, thanks for pointing to indian Duster Vs Ecosport comparison. Looks like 'Advantage Ecosport' [roll]

Very nice backseat knee-room comparison, and I am surprised to hear 'Ecosport to have 75mm more knee space! Hope that is not 'match fixing' [lol]

Duster-vs-Ford-EcoSport-2.jpg

Duster-vs-EcoSport-4.jpg

@gm88

Finally you saw the ES [clap] great . Nice report from you DR .

Thread Starter #265

In all, I am impressed with the car. Though a test drive is still due, we are going ahead and booking the Titanium Diesel in Sea Grey color.
Congrats for booking. I won’t be surprised to see Ecosports raining on our forum once it’s launched. I’m told that a couple of E-Sports were seen in Jalandhar as well.

Hope June as you said will be a confirmed news
Launch in June is confirmed. That’s what Mr.Joginder Singh, Ford India’s Managing Director revealed to us.

Nice review GM88 [clap], you cleared lot of things. Its nice to know that rear space is not that bad as hyped on the internet. That is the first thing I will be doing when I see the Ecosport in the flesh.

1989rs500, thanks for pointing to indian Duster Vs Ecosport comparison. Looks like 'Advantage Ecosport'

Very nice backseat knee-room comparison, and I am surprised to hear 'Ecosport to have 75mm more knee space! Hope that is not 'match fixing'

View attachment 93914

View attachment 93915
Hope you remember our conversation regarding the knee room in ES in march [;)].

Btw did you get chance to see the ES ?

@ gm88 - congrats for the ES

Got a call from a sales executive of a Ford dealer here with whom I had been in contact regarding the booking of Ford Ecosport. Today, The urban discovery challenge seems to have ended and both the Chandigarh teams were told to give there car to this dealer from where Ford will pick it up and take it. This dealer had these 2 cars at his showroom for about 2 hours. He gave me a call to ask if I was interested in having a look at the car. I went there immediately and those two Mars red Ecosport were parked right in front of the showroom drawing huge crowd towards it.....
the car you have caught belongs to the same location where i got my pictures from.TN 19(chengalpet) where the FORD factory is located.but amazed to see they have transported it to chattisgarh from chennai [surprise]

I think the ES diesel is a better choice than the 1.0 Ecoboost petrol, Ford has tuned the Ecoboost for milage and thats why i think it has pronounced turbo lag and less throttle response and as from the overdrive and autocar reviews the 1.5 TDCi is tuned superbly by ford, and the best trait i have found in this engine is refinement, had a chance to sit in my friends 39k kms new fiesta the car is more silent than my figo petrol and almost sure that its one of the most silent diesel i have driven and good to see that ford addressed the heavy clutch issue of the fiesta as well, the legroom comparison is striking by overdrive and this is a game changer as per me as legroom too contributes to rear seating comfort
The handling, TAI reported its good enough and from the autocar and overdrive reviews its better than duster but at a slight compromise of ride comfort but that wont mean its crashy and bumpy either, i have got a good feeling of ES now
Its bound to be a winner if priced below 10+ something lakh on road for titanium optional

Excellent report now after the test drive i hope GM88 will give a direct comparison between the steering of polo and the Ecosport as well because most of the journalists have been not much happy with its steering, and the reviews are a mixed bag as well because i still hope ES steering is as good as atleast polo s steering and since ES is a Ford, journalists might have expected a lot and they might have got disappointed

Also the mentioning of polo vs ES rear shoulder room,is it for real, i still cant believe it, most of the forum people including me was thinking ES might not accommodate a third person by no means, and what i think is if ES is able to accommodate 3 with atleast same comfort as polo then its a phenomenal success as far as i am concerned

Also i hope GM88 will do a thorough comparison between ES and polo in terms of bad road ability as well, if it can be as comfy as polo dealing with bumps ES is a sure shot winner and a better alternative to entry c sedans and premium hatchbacks as well

Here is a superb review of ES vs Duster, I think ES has really hit the sweet spot of Indian customer and attach a 7.4 -9 lakh EX showroom price tag as told by the SE to GM88 then i think ES will become the launch of the decade
Renault Duster DCi Vs Ford EcoSport TDCi
I will surely update as and when i do get to test drive the Ecosport. Will keep a check about the steering feedback and revert back to you.

Regarding seating 3 in the rear. Told you, it was a squeeze in both cars. Shoulder room felt a little less in Ecosport, while Polo had lesser of leg room for the middle passenger because of the huge transmission tunnel. Though all 3 of us agreed that Ecosport was the better among the two if we were to travel in the rear with 3 people. Perception about the space maybe different for others due to different body built types as all 3 of us sitting there at the rear are quite lanky(thin) to average stature wise.

Nice review GM88, you cleared lot of things. Its nice to know that rear space is not that bad as hyped on the internet. That is the first thing I will be doing when I see the Ecosport in the flesh.

1989rs500, thanks for pointing to indian Duster Vs Ecosport comparison. Looks like 'Advantage Ecosport'
Very nice backseat knee-room comparison, and I am surprised to hear 'Ecosport to have 75mm more knee space! Hope that is not 'match fixing' [lol]

View attachment 93914

View attachment 93915
Yup its not too bad but its surely less than likes of Duster. Duster IMO is a clear winner in terms of rear space. I have traveled about 500kms sitting in the rear of a Duster though I was the only one in the rear that time. But this one also is quite comfortable. Though still saying 3rd one sitting will be a squeeze only. Leg room in rear is quite sufficient. But if you compare it with likes of Polo/Swift, i think Ecosport is marginally better in the rear to seat 3.
But its the front seats and the dash design and the meaty steering feel which just keeps you hooked. SYNC system should also be something very interesting. Didn't get any of that good feeling or feel good factor sitting inside the Duster.

Congrats for booking. I won’t be surprised to see Ecosports raining on our forum once it’s launched. I’m told that a couple of E-Sports were seen in Jalandhar as well.

Thanks sir. Haven't paid the booking amount as yet though. Will be doing it on 9th or 10th June. Yes there is a lot of awareness/craze about this car up north. Today itself there were atleast 15-16 people ready with their chequebooks to give the booking amount when I had gone to have a look at the car. Most of the people seemed to be impressed with what this car has to offer. Boils down to correct pricing now from Ford and this could very well change there fortunes here in India.

@gm88

Finally you saw the ES great . Nice report from you DR .
Yup finally I managed. I came back all happy after seeing this car. Dad is already a Ford fan, so don't see a No from his side. Boils down to the pricing now. Though I am going ahead with the booking as of now. Will cancel it if the prices are too optimistic from Ford at the time of launch. Though I hope that doesn't happen.

@ Harikishen95 - These two cars were from the Ecosport Urban Discovery challenge and there were around about 20-25 teams all over the country who were handed over the Ecosport. All of them had the same TN19 registration as they were all registered on the Ford's factory in Chennai.

P.S. - I am in Chandigarh and not Chattisgarh.[;)]

Quoting from the Autocar article - " the EcoSport does everything the Duster does, but in a more sophisticated, up-to-date and desirable manner.

Hope you remember our conversation regarding the knee room in ES in march [;)].

Btw did you get chance to see the ES ?

Yes Raja I remember you were dead sure about the back space being good, I have not seen ES in the flesh yet, Also if you check the knee room pics posted, the Ecosport has higher seating position that duster! Check the angle of rear passenger's knee angle. So summary is better knee-room and seating position with bit of a scarifies from shoulder room.

Launch in June is confirmed. That’s what Mr.Joginder Singh, Ford India’s Managing Director revealed to us.

Thanks Vibhor

Yup its not too bad but its surely less than likes of Duster. Duster IMO is a clear winner in terms of rear space. I have traveled about 500kms sitting in the rear of a Duster though I was the only one in the rear that time. But this one also is quite comfortable. Though still saying 3rd one sitting will be a squeeze only. Leg room in rear is quite sufficient. But if you compare it with likes of Polo/Swift, i think Ecosport is marginally better in the rear to seat 3.
But its the front seats and the dash design and the meaty steering feel which just keeps you hooked. SYNC system should also be something very interesting. Didn't get any of that good feeling or feel good factor sitting inside the Duster.
I agree, even I have driven and ridden on Duster(110PS) many occasions. Turbo lag is horrible especially you are on ghat roads. 85PS might be different story. Yes I am a family of 4, but occasionally we have parents or in-laws. I have even manage to take two kids and two adults in the back seat! I never put kids in the front row. Having the better knee room should help to rearrange seating position so that 2 adults and 2 kids I should be able to manage. But this is only on emergency kind of situations only. Even if its slightly better that my Swift I am ok with it.

In summary everything is a 'go' from my side, still not sure about Petrol Vs Diesel though. Only after TD will know for sure.