Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

Great review there but the handling department is really where the confusion arises, duster rides excellent and i still think only the VW Vento and Fiesta sedan can match it in its price range where Ecosport has a stiffer ride, but Autocar India says Ecosport handles better than Duster by any stretch of imagination,so where does ecosport stay actually,I think a proper test drive is what i want and i have got a very positive and reliable information that Ecosport base 1.5l Pertol will start @5.99-8.99(AT)lakh diesel 1.5 @6.99-8.99 lakh and Ecoboost petrols 7.99lakh,release will be second week of june and if this is true, Ecoport will be a master success for Ford even though its not a proper enthusiasts delight and even though if its not spacious and comfy as duster.

Duster handles great , I have driven it at stretch . The fiat linea also handles expectionally well .

the fiesta sedan dosent ride as good as the duster .

Duster right now is the perfect balance of ride and handling presently in the market .

I will reserve my comments about ES until I drive it personally .

Even I feel the same Raja. Duster handles very well in the City and HW and ride quality is excellent too. I don't think ES price difference of 1 Lac across the variants with comparison to Duster would do any good even though ES has lots of bells and whistles. Indian customer will definitely divide 'everything' by 'space' to get 'Value'. [evil]

Duster 85Ps + Option pack OTR comes to 13.85 L in KA [frustration]. I don't think I will buy Ecosport with similar features at 12.85 L either. But ford has an excellent product which has a great potential to create a new bench mark in compact vehicle segment where machine and technology talk to each other so well. I feel pricing is the last factor which will decide the course now...Hope that is favorable to us [roll]

Even I feel the same Raja. Duster handles very well in the City and HW and ride quality is excellent too. I don't think ES price difference of 1 Lac across the variants with comparison to Duster would do any good even though ES has lots of bells and whistles. Indian customer will definitely divide 'everything' by 'space' to get 'Value'. [evil]

Duster 85Ps + Option pack OTR comes to 13.85 L in KA [frustration]. I don't think I will buy Ecosport with similar features at 12.85 L either. But ford has an excellent product which has a great potential to create a new bench mark in compact vehicle segment where machine and technology talk to each other so well. I feel pricing is the last factor which will decide the course now...Hope that is favorable to us [roll]
As far as i know Ford wont price ES more than 11 lakh on the road, i think its price will be maximum 11 lakh on the road for the fully loaded diesel, 10+ something for the ecoboost titanium optional and 9 lakh+ something for the 1.5 AT titanium variant, because i have got some trust worthy information on the pricing which says the 1.5 MT ES will start at around 5.99 lakh ex showroom and i dont think that will get extended to 12 lakh on any stretch of imagination and if the top end petrol and diesel variants are below 10 lakh on the road then the ES is a sure shot winner
Handling and ride quality of ES is ok its just class average and nothing spectacular and anything in the league of VW polo is more than enough to win over indians
My question is is the ride quality of duster better than sedans? and my answer is no new Fiesta rides much beer than duster in my experience and in fact new fiesta as per me is the kind of car that will give even D segment sedans competition in terms of ride quality

As far as i know Ford wont price ES more than 11 lakh on the road, i think its price will be maximum 11 lakh on the road for the fully loaded diesel, 10+ something for the ecoboost titanium optional and 9 lakh+ something for the 1.5 AT titanium variant, because i have got some trust worthy information on the pricing which says the 1.5 MT ES will start at around 5.99 lakh ex showroom and i dont think that will get extended to 12 lakh on any stretch of imagination and if the top end petrol and diesel variants are below 10 lakh on the road then the ES is a sure shot winner
Handling and ride quality of ES is ok its just class average and nothing spectacular and anything in the league of VW polo is more than enough to win over indians
My question is is the ride quality of duster better than sedans? and my answer is no new Fiesta rides much beer than duster in my experience and in fact new fiesta as per me is the kind of car that will give even D segment sedans competition in terms of ride quality
I enjoyed the way my Figo drives and the comfort + confidence i got while driving it, with my two+ years experience i know it well and it stays and plays with in my control when it comes to cornering or parking.... even though it got scratches on wheel arches due to Bangalore city traffic two wheelers and other motorists excellent driving skills

i have seen many dusters with out dust, but if i see closely all the big wheel arches have the scratches i believe 50 % of scratches and minor dents occur while parking or happened in parking lots and during maneuvering in tight traffic jam is such situation one may feel small car is better than more space per car

How often we travel as 5 (in my 23000 kms experience i have traveled with 5 adults (including me) for totally not more than 500 kms, so in a year may be a day or two i traveled with 5 occupants and with full load)

my figo is good enough for 3 adults with a kid, so ecosport would be more than that for similar members and it can hold at-least 100 ltrs more space than that of figo.

with more space, more GC to tackle moronic Indian terrains aka roads, more futures, more safety[than duster] ,more comfort (more comfort than normal hatch) and with similar mileage of the normal hatch and if ford bet it at bit more price but not more than 10 lakh on road for the top end @ bangalore translates ecosport as a sure winner.

duster is too good but too cosy for me to afford as i prefer safety and comfort as well with in my budget.

it will be too good if ecosport comes with duster like warranty

I enjoyed the way my Figo drives and the comfort + confidence i got while driving it, with my two+ years experience i know it well and it stays and plays with in my control when it comes to cornering or parking.... even though it got scratches on wheel arches due to Bangalore city traffic two wheelers and other motorists excellent driving skills

i have seen many dusters with out dust, but if i see closely all the big wheel arches have the scratches i believe 50 % of scratches and minor dents occur while parking or happened in parking lots and during maneuvering in tight traffic jam is such situation one may feel small car is better than more space per car....

How often we travel as 5 (in my 23000 kms experience i have traveled with 5 adults (including me) for totally not more than 500 kms, so in a year may be a day or two i traveled with 5 occupants and with full load)
I totally agree with this as well, i have Ford Figo petrol and with my 3 years of owning i have done just 12500 kms, yes thats too low but for my driving whenever i drive i want a fun drive not typical family hatch boring drive, the 2 cars that was in my options list while the purchase was made was figo and polo petrol, polo petrol was marginally more comfortable and quality rich but its base and mid variant didnt even have seat adjust and some basic features, so Figo was the alternative which had lots of adjustments and essential features and a killer price tag of just 4.54 lakh on road and i sacrificed the extra driving comfort,quality for the Figo and i still dont regret,also the space inside figo is adequate and i believe adequate space is there for normal commutes in ES as well
The real point is the compactness of ES which is really a joy because its not wide and long as duster still is spacious enough and handling and ride quality and handlingof Ford is very good and i believe its better than japs and koreans and thats more than enough

Yesterday i had a chance to visit Skoda trivandrum and they are desperately trying to sell Skoda Laura 2.0 Tdi as the new Octavia is coming and are putting heavy discounts on its price tag even still its selling just like 3 cars a month the dealer told because people dont want long cars making troubles in city anymore they want compact cars with big car features and comfort and i for one thinks ES is a perfect urban SUV for the job on hand

Duster rides better then new fiesta on any given day , try driving both on a bad stretch its very very evident .
And yes duster can give run for money to most of the sedans in the market when it comes to ride and handling package .
New fiesta is a good car , and ford generally are very great handlers but ford is not the only company in the world to offer it .

Have you driven the fiat linea ? It is equally or I would say at times better then vw Vento and new fiesta .

Iam personally a fan of new ford fiesta but I would not go far to compare it with d segment cars .

Duster rides better then new fiesta on any given day , try driving both on a bad stretch its very very evident .
And yes duster can give run for money to most of the sedans in the market when it comes to ride and handling package .
New fiesta is a good car , and ford generally are very great handlers but ford is not the only company in the world to offer it .

Have you driven the fiat linea ? It is equally or I would say at times better then vw Vento and new fiesta .

Iam personally a fan of new ford fiesta but I would not go far to compare it with d segment cars .
Yes i have driven Linea as well, i forgot about that too yes the Linea too has excellent ride quality and suspension poise and the best steering for any car under 20 lakh Rs i think, it was a superb drive but sadly it was let down by its motor where it felt strained and the car seemed heavy so it spoiled the package as a whole for me, the fiesta with turbo lag spoiled it and duster 85 ps was excellent but maybe its a difference in the evaluation used by @raja and myself, i felt fiesta had a better ride at higher speeds say above 60 kmph and above, duster was too good but it felt rough inside and the diesel had a good dose of vibration to annoy me and i was disappointed by its NVH at high speeds and road noise which made made me feel the speed which was not the case with fiesta and linea,Fiestas diesel is the most refined of the lot as well, Duster is an excellent comfortable but OLD SCHOOL SUV, it rides beautifully but the package as a whole is not satisfactory for my liking, it would have been great if its price was below 10 lakh for the top end RXL diesel, the steering of duster for me is a mixed bag, its good but i felt it no way near as good as lineas or fiestas, it was like a slightly more well weighted VW polo s steering,
If Duster had modern looks and better interior and features and better NVH, i think its an unbeatable package, as of now itself duster is better than ES in many ways but its price is not justified and i dont think it can deliver VW vento levels of comfort on long drives since NVH was a real bragigng issue for duster

Hello,

Here's my first real contribution to the forum.

Please find official brochures attached. While it looks almost close to draft specs shared earlier, It does help close out many questions we had on variants.

Now only question remaining is the price...[:)][:)]

Thanks for that brochure upload Gurukadur. It does clear the air regarding what feature comes in which variant. SYNC available only in Titanium and Titanium + variants. So Ford guys on Facebook had conveyed a little wrong information of it being there on all the variants. The base and trend variant don't get the 3.5inch MFD screen also. Would that place be left blank in the lower variants?

And happy to see Push start/stop button and Keyless entry and Driver's side armrest in Titanium version also. Only curtain Airbags and Leather seats are the add-ons in Titanium +.

Any info regarding the possible launch date? Rumors are floating that it could be on the 11th of this month.

as shown in brochure. picture ecosport doesnt comes with spare wheel cover rite

@Gurukadur: Fantastic job[clap] At-last the confusion about the At variant comes to end. Keyless entry and Side curtain Airbags are available in the 1.5ltr AT Titanium along with class leading and Segment first ESP and TCS.

AT variant doesnt come with Keyless entry. The '*' mark on Push button start & keylss entry is acronymed at the bottom of the 3rd page of brochure.

QUOTE=1989rs500;292759]
The real point is the compactness of ES which is really a joy because its not wide and long as duster still is spacious enough and handling and ride quality and handling of Ford is very good and i believe its better than japs and koreans and thats more than enough

Your above 2 statements are completely contradictory brother . Car is just not about ride and handling its about many other aspects ( price , reliability , space , price ) and the japs and Koreans beat ford their hands down not just in India but worldwide by a good margin .

Yes i have driven Linea as well, i forgot about that too yes the Linea too has excellent ride quality and suspension poise and the best steering for any car under 20 lakh Rs i think, it was a superb drive but sadly it was let down by its motor where it felt strained and the car seemed heavy so it spoiled the package as a whole for me, the fiesta with turbo lag spoiled it and duster 85 ps was excellent but maybe its a difference in the evaluation used by @raja and myself, i felt fiesta had a better ride at higher speeds say above 60 kmph and above, duster was too good but it felt rough inside and the diesel had a good dose of vibration to annoy me and i was disappointed by its NVH at high speeds and road noise which made made me feel the speed which was not the case with fiesta and linea,Fiestas diesel is the most refined of the lot as well, Duster is an excellent comfortable but OLD SCHOOL SUV, it rides beautifully but the package as a whole is not satisfactory for my liking, it would have been great if its price was below 10 lakh for the top end RXL diesel, the steering of duster for me is a mixed bag, its good but i felt it no way near as good as lineas or fiestas, it was like a slightly more well weighted VW polo s steering,
If Duster had modern looks and better interior and features and better NVH, i think its an unbeatable package, as of now itself duster is better than ES in many ways but its price is not justified and i dont think it can deliver VW vento levels of comfort on long drives since NVH was a real bragigng issue for duster
I think you were talking about ride quality and handling and not nvh levels , road noise , interiors .
I don't how much have you travelled in a duster , since my 2 friends have 1 duster and 1 vw Vento , Vento has a plush , classy cabin , but its no way as comfortable as the duster , the hump in the middle itself makes it comfortable for 2 adults only .

There is no point in bringing the virtues of new fiesta and vw polo or Vento in a ES thread since they are completely different cars .

The ES is based on the fiestas B platform just this nothing else . Its same like Honda city is based on jaaz platform and both are different cars .

Just to avoid off topic discussions we must stick only to ES . And not bring the new fiesta , Vento in this discussion IMHO .