Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

EcoSport to Offer India

Ford is about to set a new benchmark for safety in India. During the media drive of its urban SUV EcoSport in Goa, the company detailed all the media persons about its new safety feature that it will be bringing to India – Emergency Assistance System. Though its equipped in over 5 million Ford vehicles all over the world, it’s a-first-in-any-segment for India.

What is Emergency Assistance System?

So, what exactly is the Emergency Assistance System? Do customers need to shell out a few extra bucks for this electronic mumbo-jumbo? How does it work? These are the questions which must have sprung in your mind. Let us clear it out for you.

Emergency Assistance is a call-for-help system that can be a potential life-saver in critical road situations. It has the ability to send a voice message to emergency operators of a country in the event of an accident. The system detects if the airbags have been deployed or the fuel-pump has been shut off, and then it opens up a hands-free communication channel with emergency operators.

The Emergency Assistance System works along with SYNC, Ford’s in-car entertainment and communications system. SYNC works through voice commands and lets the driver make and receive calls as well as play music from mobile phones. SYNC-Emergency Assistance uses the mobile phone of the driver via Bluetooth, and keeps running in the background once the pairing has been completed.

Emergency Assistance System Working

In case of detection of specific triggers by the system, it will make a call to 108 (India’s Emergency Service) via the paired phone, and let the driver communicate hands-free with the operator. SYNC also has the capabilities of disconnecting an existing call as well as rejecting an incoming call in the split-second duration of an accident. In the worst-case scenario, the System will send a message about the accident to the Emergency Service as well as the GPS location coordinates.

Ford’s Emergency Assistance in a Nutshell

It is provided complementary with all SYNC powered EcoSports.
It gets triggered (only) when an airbag gets deployed or the emergency fuel pump shut-off gets activated during an accident.
Emergency Assistance automatically calls 108 to inform the rescue teams about the mishap
It provides the details including the positioning of the victim (co-ordinates of the car) and the accident.
It uses occupant’s connected cellphone for this emergency call
There is no third party call center involved here.
Ford should be applauded for taking the initiative in taking safety a notch higher in its vehicles. The best part about SYNC Emergency Assist System is that it entails no subscription cost, and is provided free-of-cost for the whole ownership cycle of the car.

However, as you can also make out there are a few India specific dependencies. But if everything works according to the system, a person can receive help when it is needed the most and this can really be a life saving feature. Looks like now we can have that peace of mind as we take the wheel of our vehicles and set pace for the woods in the outskirts of the city!

I was just thinking...Let say ford receive ES booking in tune of around 10-15k before 11 June , this will convey to ford that people are dying to buy this car , So they might price it a bit high

Now on the other hand let say they receive around 3-5k booking, then they might think of introducing much lucrative price band to attract customers.

So Stay away from ES till 11 JUNE , Do Not Go for Pre-Booking

Guess I have a point here :-)

here is another review of 1.5 TDCI ES, i think the ES diesel is a superb buy for someone who does more than 500 kms a month and if ecoboost and TDCi are priced similarly, the buyer will defenitely go for diesel but i for one would opt the ECOboost, Petrol rocks
2013 Ford EcoSport Diesel Driven In India

I was just thinking...Let say ford receive ES booking in tune of around 10-15k before 11 June , this will convey to ford that people are dying to buy this car , So they might price it a bit high
When did the bookings start? Did I miss anything? [roll]
mind sharing the source of information on booking?.

Now on the other hand let say they receive around 3-5k booking, then they might think of introducing much lucrative price band to attract customers.

So Stay away from ES till 11 JUNE , Do Not Go for Pre-Booking

Guess I have a point here :-)
You have a point here , btw same had somewhat happened with ford new fiesta also people were excited and had pre- booked . Guess what happened 95% people cancelled their bookings .
indians are emotional but not foolish .

But you are right we must show interest but not to an extent of singing songs of ES and ford . Same happened with duster too people showed so much interest that Renault took us for granted in pricing .
here is another review of 1.5 TDCI ES, i think the ES diesel is a superb buy for someone who does more than 500 kms a month and if ecoboost and TDCi are priced similarly, the buyer will defenitely go for diesel but i for one would opt the ECOboost, Petrol rocks
2013 Ford EcoSport Diesel Driven In India
Bro how come just above 500 Kms , one must buy diesel ? What if my running is only 800 Kms ?
When did the bookings start? Did I miss anything? [roll]
mind sharing the source of information on booking?.
Buddy un official bookings from dealers nothing from ford as yet .

You have a point here , btw same had somewhat happened with ford new fiesta also people were excited and had pre- booked . Guess what happened 95% people cancelled their bookings .
indians are emotional but not foolish .

But you are right we must show interest but not to an extent of singing songs of ES and ford . Same happened with duster too people showed so much interest that Renault took us for granted in pricing .

Bro how come just above 500 Kms , one must buy diesel ? What if my running is only 800 Kms ?.
Yes that km depends on person to person and their economy as well i think for me i drive almost 400-480 km a month so petrol is enough and as per my savings go that i can easily manage petrol price of Rs 66-69, but if i have to go beyond 500 kms a month diesel will surely pay me off within 3-4 years of owning, its subjective!

i would really like to see reviews from folks who have actually test driven the vehicle so far, in which the AC and the audio system are named the BEST
I would really like to suggest you to refer whichever you think is the Best review around.

@ Raja --- Duster was price very decently when launched....Diesel Base variant was 7.99 (Ex-showroom) , which now cost around 8.74

Top end 85 bhp diesel variant was around 9.99 which cost around 11 lac now (Ex -showroom)

The introductory price of Duster was quite appealing...its the response of the car & the demand which ultimately lead to Renault increasing the price of Duster to more than 1 Lac in less than time span of one year.

Ford ES can follow the same model :)

Just for clarification, depends which car one compares it with. I drive Fiesta as well as driven the Duster lately and Ecosport’s gearshift didn’t feel upto the mark in smoothness. I do expect though that it should become better with constant use.

What is your take on New Fiesta engine & gearbox, as that is likely to come in ES ? Overall, you found fiesta diesel better to drive or ecoboost ? I know these are 2 different cars, but still for some rough idea.

That info was posted since sclass was specially interested in how the gear shifts are in the deisel version of the ES and not the ecoboost .
+1. Thanks.

You claim 3 people can sit in the Swift Dzire and i20 but not in the ES.

Width of the respective cars:

Swift Dzire: 1695 mm
i20: 1710 mm
ES: 1765 mm
What you need to see is cabin space & actual width of the seat and the type of counters used in seat.
What is the width of Volvo B9R bus ? But still only 4 people can seat in a row, 2x2. [lol] Width of Honda Jazz is 1695 mm, yet it is more comfy & airy cabin than i20 despite i20 having more width.

I fail to understand how the wider ES cannot seat 3 people but the Swift and i20 can...
This is because you still haven't sat in ES. There is difference between theory exam & practical. Anyone can work like donkey & score in theory, but for practicals, some understanding is required.

I dont expect the car to be priced at 6 Lacs just because it is under 4m in length.
And what is there to be priced in range of Storme, Duster either ? And that ecoboost petrol, forget it. I don't think it will give more than 10-12 kmpl in city.

Its high time manufacturers make custom cars for you, with joysticks replacing steering wheels. Pun intended.
Haha, but there are cars which I can drive comfortably, only thing is they are bigger & expensive ones & as of now I am looking at something which can act as replacement for my bike as said before, hence ES may fit the bill if priced correctly. I also don't bother even if ES can carry 3+1 passengers as I will be mostly driving 1+0 only [lol].

These two statements are self-contradictory!
Had this been the case, I could have flooded Pics of you thread with these beauties. Anyways, I don't wish to take it longer as I am on this thread to discuss ES & not individuals.

Has anyone noticed from the pics posted by fellow member Harikishen, the lower variant Ecosport which comes with black door handles and wheel covers, does not even have roof rails above. IMO it is looking a little weird, having less of that SUV flair and anyone going for the lower variants should add the roof rails immediately to add to the appeal of the car. And is the lower variant also not getting the chrome treatment on the front fascia? Will have to check out a clear pic as to see how that one looks.

Eagerly waiting for the Ford Ecosport 1.5 Tdci diesel engine test drive review from the TAI team. Can we expect it anytime soon?

@350z
When is the 1.5 TDCi review of Ecosport coming to TAI forum, some otherforums have already come up with their reviews, waiting for 1.5 TDCi review!!

Here is first time a comparison on Indian soil between the much talked Ford Ecosport with its true rival - Renault Duster. Courtesy - Motorbeam

Shootout Ford EcoSport vs Renault Duster | MotorBeam – Indian Car Bike News & Reviews

Going by the pics, they do look comparable, although one can easily make out that the Duster is longer than Ecosport and the boot space difference is also very evident. But these two points don't worry me much. The one which does is the reviewer saying that the Ecosport has more body roll than the Duster and that the driveability of the 85PS diesel Duster is slightly better than Ecosport diesel. Super confused now as I had set my eyes on the Ecosport diesel. A back to back test drive of the two should sort this problem.

Although Ecosport trumps the Duster in the looks department as well as safety and other features, its to be seen how Ford positions it in the market. The reviewer said if the Ecosport diesel undercuts the Duster 85PS by Rs.60,000 , it would be there winner among the two. I feel and I have been saying earlier also, the margin should be close to or over 1 Lakh rupees in order to make Ford Ecosport really a success in India. Ford should pass on the excise benefit they got because of under 4 meter length of this car to the customers and see it setting sales charts on fire.

@GM88

I have read complete report and thanks for sharing that, but never conclude till you see and drive one, till then reserve all your thoughts about ES. I am very much sure that it is going to be hit in the market(my subjective assumption[lol])