Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

Hahahahaha, seems thread is going very hot

Friends, simple just see the car in flesh and decide whether it can accommodate 3 according to your terms or not, that's it[:)]

S class now you seem really pessimistic, due to some facts
1.) I am an enthusiast and i drive not just for transportation and comfort a little bit extra for fun as well and i have driven the Elantra and it horrible, no hyundai is good to drive, hyundai have good fit and finish and features there ends the story and engine reliability is among the worst in the timeline. S class might not have driven enthusiastically it seems, thats why i told Ecosport is not for S class
Do you know which cars I have driven till date ? Do you know at what speed I have driven cars & where ? So, just not comment on assumptions, I don't want to go around boasting, so I prefer to keep low profile. I have driven cars which are not even available in India.

And you talk about Hyundai & Ford, eh, you should see Ikon diesel. There were cars where the body had shifted over the chassis by good 1.5 inches !!

2.) Ground clearance is a need for me as i have some land on the outskirts of trivandrum city where i go thrice a month and as of now i take my uncles old Fiat padmini which is almost like flinstones car so ground clearance is a feature i need.
OK. No issues. But just because you go to some non habitable roads, doesn't make ES good for all just because of high GC. GC is subjective but I agree that it is important to you.

3.)I havent driven a Ford that competes Hyundai in India but my uncle and i once visited Glasgow Switzerland and we drove Ford Focus, thats the car thats the D class competitor to Elantra Jetta etc, i couldnt drive it but the cabin was miles miles betetr than Elantra and it was almost like a compact luxury car to sit in, and to be frank the Elantra is just like a big verna with some extra features and design,ride & handling was the worst,the Elantra had a soft suspension and the shut lines were not perfect and the body structure was not rigid to my liking, it felt like a huge plastic car, i felt even toyota corolla was better than Elantra
Never driven Focus, so don't know. Have you seen Hyundai Genesis Coupe ? It is one of the best performance car from Hyundai. But I would say that better we stick to Indian market only.

4.)plastics are not the best but i will be happy with it as for the positives i get from Ecosoprt
Exactly what I am trying to say. If they launch it similar to Chevy Enjoy, then one can bear with plastics but if is going to start from 7L onwards, then it will be rip off.

5.)Under thigh support is very subjective, i am 5.4 feet andi will be happy with ES under thigh support
+1, same was said by Raja. My only issue is that seats aren't as comfy as Dzire, thats all.

6.)I calculate VFM on criteria like solid external structure which i am sure Ecosport is better than most others in segment say except the Polo,the engine and the service cost where Ford is reasonable not costly as VW but not cheap as hyundai,toyota etc so its and one major thing fun to drive factor which sadly is provided only by Ford and VW(to an extent) but VW is costly so Ford is the way to go.
OK. I on other hand look at total package.

7.)S class there is more from Ford to come, the Kuga,Escort,2015 Mondeo are on their way, and when they strike I am pretty sure only VW and Ford will stand up for the big fight rest all are just alternatives to the big saga
Let them come first & then see. I am sure other car makers will also then bring in their cars to counter it. In anycase, it is good for buyers. But for now, lets focus on ES only.

Yes me too, i also heard that there will be a video review of Ecosport diesel this Saturday by CNBC overdrive ,fingers crossed.
C'mon buddy, such an auto enthu views such crap shows ?? [embarass] As it is Overdrive, it will be full of praise for ES. Overdrive guys are more biased towards Maruti, Ford & honda; Autocar is more biased towards Maruti, Audi, Ford, Toyota & Chevy.
I always wonder that how come in many of their comparos, Tatas are missing ?
Eg. In UV space, they had scorpio, endy & one more but no safari, once overdrive did hatch comparo where Nano was pitted against Polo, punto, i20, Jazz etc. & at the end Jazz was declared winner. Now how can one even put nano against puntos, jazz etc ?? They do this & then will say how nano doesn't has this & doesn't have that. So I just have a look at such reviews for timepass, never take them seriously. I personally only find one show to be quite neutral, which is CnB by SVP on NDTV. He is far better than all the rest combined together & I give more weight-age to what he says than anyone else in entire auto community.

People have been crying that Ecosport's rear space is even worse than the likes of Swift and i20. The reviewers have clearly said that its surely less by SUV standards but better than the likes of hatchbacks. If people believe i20/Dzire/Polo/Swift can seat 3 in the rear comfortably, to which I still don't agree, its always a squeeze. Here is what the top journo in India had to tweet.

View attachment 92978

Now if you think you are better than him in judging, Keep believing! No one's stopping! Calling this one a 4 seater and others a 5 seater is a total misconception.
Who are these auto journos ? God or something ? Or just because they are editor makes them god of cars ? Give me a break man, most of them are hypocrites.

Eg. When Nano had single wiper, all cried foul but when Toyota did the same with Liva & Etios, all praised it & overlooked single wiper, when Vista & nano had console in centre, they cried foul, when liva, etios did, no mention of it at all.

Definition of comfort maybe different for different people, for me if I am side touching someone seated next to me, then surely I am not in any sort of comfort. And going by this, none of these cars can seat 5. Maybe my definition of comfort may seem bizarre to few and that's why I said earlier none of my 3 cars can seat 3 in rear comfortably. But it would be plain stupid of someone calling that an i20 can seat 5 comfortably and Ecosport can seat only 4 .
In i20, atleast you can sit 3, in ES, the 3rd will fall down. Ofcourse, if all 3 are skeletons, then they can surely travel in comfort. [lol]

Oh God @Raja is totally right. This conversation is getting messy

S Class i mean no offence with you but regarding your opinion of Ecosport being a no no car for 11 lakh Rs on road is to be changed because i just want to prove that its worth

regarding the question of whether i have driven the car, i haven't but if you would please turn to the first page of the forum TAI has put up a wonderful review of the ecosport and i believe TAI thats why i joined this forum and from this information Ecosport is better to drive than most of the premium hatchbacks an some sedans as well

As far the cars i have driven i too have driven cars not available in India and i dont boast much of them but if you can guess there is a hint in my profile name, that car made me a fan of FORD brand and i still prefer Ford brand because they have a common DNA in them like what BMW says(sheer driving pleasure)
For your information on Ford Ikon(its a 1996 Fiesta chassis) but Ford India was too premature then so they just introduced an old chassis with josh machine logo to make some money just like the Figo,which is too basically a very old Fiesta chassis 1999 i think, and at that time hyundai was much worse than this globally.
I haven't seen Hyundai genesis coupe but thats where Hyundai ends, just look at the sheer heritage of Ford, 3 time Le mans winner Ford GT40 1963,64,65,
1964 they started the pony car segment in US(Mustangs),
Worlds largest mass manufacturer of v8,Ford has the worlds most powerful production v8-2013 shelby gt500(650hp) from v8 and thats with Ford manufacturer warranty,
one of the safest car making brand in market since 2003 because ford had Volvo with them and still the kuga is the safest SUV as per EURO ENCAP
Ford Kuga 2013 review - CarBuyer - YouTube
1.4 TDCi the one of the best frugal diesel engine ever made, PSA made actually,
ford makes the most powerful and some of the best FWD cars and hot hatches around the world, and the 1.0 Ecoboost- best petrol engine till date etc etc etc it goes pages and pages thats where Ford is and Hyundai is not halfway through what Ford has done.
Reliability
Plastics aside S class is forgetting the positives it gives for lots of customers maybe not S class
As a total package itself Ecosport is good enough actually brilliant except for seating 5 people which is definitely a crowd in all cars under 10 lakh in India, Ecosport just dosent allow room for third unlike others which allow half space and squeeze anyway for 3.
S class trusts CNBC SVP, well SVP is very very positive on Ecosport and he reckons it will be a potential success and passes ES with flying colors in his episode with ES
Even the plastics SVP tells its better than Duster and legroom too he tells its quite good as well as under thigh support is descent enough
ES is worthy of 7-12 lakh price tag, but if Ford prices it lower than that then this is the car of the decade no doubt about that.

Oh God @Raja is totally right. This conversation is getting messy
S Class i mean no offence with you but regarding your opinion of Ecosport being a no no car for 11 lakh Rs on road is to be changed because i just want to prove that its worth
This is what is called as VALUE & not PRICE. For you, it will be good even for 11L, for me it is rip-off even after 9L. If priced top end at 9L max, ES can be called VFM, surely the same can't be said for 11L.

Worlds largest mass manufacturer of v8,Ford has the worlds most powerful production v8-2013 shelby gt500(650hp) from v8 and thats with Ford manufacturer warranty,....
As said before, lets not focus on Ford but on ES. Fusion flopped, so did Mondeo but Figo was hit. Lets not generalize car co. but talk only about that model.

Plastics aside S class is forgetting the positives it gives for lots of customers maybe not S class
yes, but at correct price point. I don't know how many will accept it at 11L, especially when Storme & Duster is there which are much more comfy, tried & tested. Duster will be preferred by many as it is more practical than ES. What ES has is just youthful looks, if not priced right, then perhaps no competition to duster atleast for now.

As a total package itself Ecosport is good enough actually brilliant except for seating 5 people
+1 but package consists of price too, right ?

S class trusts CNBC SVP, well SVP is very very positive on Ecosport and he reckons it will be a potential success and passes ES with flying colors in his episode with ES. Even the plastics SVP tells its better than Duster and legroom too he tells its quite good as well as under thigh support is descent enough
CnB on NDTV is really good & as far as under thigh support is concerned, SVP says descent, not good, not to forget SVP is not even 6 ft. The most funny stuff I see is Renuka of Autocar, she can claim even Alto to have good amount of legspace. [lol] At the end, it matters whose legs are those !!

ES is worthy of 7-12 lakh price tag, but if Ford prices it lower than that then this is the car of the decade no doubt about that.
ES is worth only between 5.9-7.5. If Chevy can do that with Enjoy @ 5.49L, despite being over 4m, why can't ES, especially when ES ambiente doesn't even come with power windows ? Now despite paying 7L if there are no power windows, sales will surely not pick up, add to it less cabin & luggage space too.

I would again like to inform all to look at my first impression & pics of ES on other thread. I have already said that ES can act as excellent substitute for my bike if priced right. Pricing is what will matter to me + few months of drive experience of actual owners of first lot.

IMHO I feel ford will price the ES somewhat close to ertiga.

This is what is called as VALUE & not PRICE. For you, it will be good even for 11L, for me it is rip-off even after 9L. If priced top end at 9L max, ES can be called VFM, surely the same can't be said for 11L.

As said before, lets not focus on Ford but on ES. Fusion flopped, so did Mondeo but Figo was hit. Lets not generalize car co. but talk only about that model.

yes, but at correct price point. I don't know how many will accept it at 11L, especially when Storme & Duster is there which are much more comfy, tried & tested. Duster will be preferred by many as it is more practical than ES. What ES has is just youthful looks, if not priced right, then perhaps no competition to duster atleast for now.

+1 but package consists of price too, right ?

CnB on NDTV is really good & as far as under thigh support is concerned, SVP says descent, not good, not to forget SVP is not even 6 ft. The most funny stuff I see is Renuka of Autocar, she can claim even Alto to have good amount of legspace. [lol] At the end, it matters whose legs are those !!

ES is worth only between 5.9-7.5. If Chevy can do that with Enjoy @ 5.49L, despite being over 4m, why can't ES, especially when ES ambiente doesn't even come with power windows ? Now despite paying 7L if there are no power windows, sales will surely not pick up, add to it less cabin & luggage space too.

I would again like to inform all to look at my first impression & pics of ES on other thread. I have already said that ES can act as excellent substitute for my bike if priced right. Pricing is what will matter to me + few months of drive experience of actual owners of first lot.
So do you think ES is poorly built
ES built quality design features even plastics steering engines etc all are miles better than the boxy Chevy Enjoys
Duster the 85 PS version with atleast 2 airbags cost 12 lakh on road and even still it looks dull inside and ergonomics is very bad
Storme is nowhere comfy as ES and its nowhere as refined as ES and its a pain to drive and its rough inside and seating position is like too straight and its in no way comparable to ES nor the duster which too is a full fledged SUV
Well if S class believes TAI review it says under thigh support is good,i believe all reviews only after test driving them but as far as my experience goes Autocar India,Overdrive,Car and bike show all are good and reliable
ES ambient dosent come with fully auto power windows, thats it, they are not lever type ones
S class is tall and not all Indians are that tall and as for a person trying to pick a car under 7-11 lakh Rs on the road budget ES is a good choice, space is ok,legroom ok,comfort is excellent,ride and handling top notch,top notch features,The ES is totally justifiable for 7-11 lakh OTR,Indians usually sacrifice everything for practicality and if thats the case ES will be a flop but as far as the market dynamics now people are willing to pay a little bit extra to get something standout unlike the competition which is really getting boring

The Autocar's review of the car is out ..
http://http://www.autocarindia.com/Review/344843,ford-ecosport-diesel-review-test-drive.aspx/1
I can infer that they have tweaked up the steering a little bit to counter the weight of the diesel mill. Good to see. This makes things better from my side [glasses]

Finally we have a deserving opponent to the duster ..
What the EcoSport is, then, is a genuine rival to Renault’s segment-defining compact SUV. It does everything as well as the Duster, but in a more sophisticated, up-to-date and desirable manner. Renault has set the benchmark quite high, but in the EcoSport, Ford has a genuine shot at crippling the Duster’s sales. And that’s without factoring in the price advantage the Ford is likely to have when it is launched this June.

If Ford makes it VFM, we can see a replacement for the top spot held by duster and also and the 'launch of the decade' for the next five years atleast [clap].

The Autocar's review of the car is out ..
http://http://www.autocarindia.com/Review/344843,ford-ecosport-diesel-review-test-drive.aspx/1
I can infer that they have tweaked up the steering a little bit to counter the weight of the diesel mill. Good to see. This makes things better from my side [glasses]

Finally we have a deserving opponent to the duster ..
What the EcoSport is, then, is a genuine rival to Renault’s segment-defining compact SUV. It does everything as well as the Duster, but in a more sophisticated, up-to-date and desirable manner. Renault has set the benchmark quite high, but in the EcoSport, Ford has a genuine shot at crippling the Duster’s sales. And that’s without factoring in the price advantage the Ford is likely to have when it is launched this June.

If Ford makes it VFM, we can see a replacement for the top spot held by duster and also and the 'launch of the decade' for the next five years atleast [clap].
+100

Somewhat I agree with sclass , if the price is less then 10lakhs , it will force other car makers like Hyundai and Honda to also price their SUVs competetively but if ford goes over the top then all car makers will go over the top with pricing . Which is not good for us as a consumer .

For me top model of ES no matter how much tech it has in range of 11-12 lakhs is not a vfm buy ( strictly my personal opinion no amount of boron steel , and sync and sporty seats will convince me otherwise ).

Ideally it must be priced 25-50k more then the i20 model to model , that too because we indian are SUV crazy and love to pay premiuim for a SUV .

And data shows people don't care about handling and high speed stability much , or else verna would have not sold more then the feista on any given day .

ES built quality design features even plastics steering engines etc all are miles better than the boxy Chevy Enjoys
Duster the 85 PS version with atleast 2 airbags cost 12 lakh on road and even still it looks dull inside and ergonomics is very bad
Duster has disasterous pricing if we compare the features of ES and Duster, just for the extra legroom and Boot space and little bit wider. It gives least importance to safety. The feature list of duster proves it.
I have sat inside Ecosport's rear with front seats adjusted to my 5'10'' height and I felt it was very comfortable, be it underthigh support or the leg room. Just because of the all-dark environment it looks claustrophobic but is really not so.
But when it comes to shoulder room 3 people like me at the rear were having our shoulders rubbing( I am medium built) but two adults with a kid were comfortable. It is an Urban SUV friends! It is targetted at younger population. It is meant for nuclear families and seating 5 is a rare in such cases in city life. May be once in a month or so.
Ecosport can be judged if its worthy only if we have the most important 'yardstick called price'.

Duster has disasterous pricing if we compare the features of ES and Duster, just for the extra legroom and Boot space and little bit wider. It gives least importance to safety. The feature list of duster proves it.
I have sat inside Ecosport's rear with front seats adjusted to my 5'10'' height and I felt it was very comfortable, be it underthigh support or the leg room. Just because of the all-dark environment it looks claustrophobic but is really not so.
But when it comes to shoulder room 3 people like me at the rear were having our shoulders rubbing( I am medium built) but two adults with a kid were comfortable. It is an Urban SUV friends! It is targetted at younger population. It is meant for nuclear families and seating 5 is a rare in such cases in city life. May be once in a month or so.
Ecosport can be judged if its worthy only if we have the most important 'yardstick called price'.
+100 you perfectly summed up . Again people who are making a huge issue of space must try quanto . ES like you said is perfect for a family of 5 ( 4 adults and 1 kid ) .
Pricing pricing pricing is the only thing left , rest the car is well received by most of the population .

Please don't put words in my mouth buddy, I didn't say ES is poorly built, I said the interiors especially plastics used are cheapo & this needs to be improved.

Ride quality of duster is very good in its class & yes, the space is far more & seats comfier than ES. Not to forget the higher taxes on duster due to >4m. And I would prefer duster engine or ford tdci over ecoboost 1.0L as I don't want to be guinea pig. So no matter how one claims good is ecoboost, I will not be buying it unless I get owner reviews who have driven it for atleast 1 yr & clocked atleast 20k.

Storme is nowhere comfy as ES and its nowhere as refined as ES and its a pain to drive and its rough inside and seating position is like too straight and its in no way comparable to ES nor the duster which too is a full fledged SUV
Bold was really :lol!: What next - ES is better than Range Rover & Rolls Royce Combined :P.

Well if S class believes TAI review it says under thigh support is good
It also has been said it is subjective. As said before, not many cars offer me comfort.

ES ambient dosent come with fully auto power windows, thats it, they are not lever type ones
So what are they ? Pulley or something ?

S class is tall and not all Indians are that tall and as for a person trying to pick a car under 7-11 lakh Rs on the road budget ES is a good choice, space is ok,legroom ok,comfort is excellent,ride and handling top notch,top notch features,The ES is totally justifiable for 7-11 lakh OTR
OK, but 11L is rip off. Look what happend to new Fiesta, good car but failed miserably, only reason was price. I doubt whether ES will even sell 1,000 units/month if base starts at 7L & top end costs 11L. One thing which we should see is ES has too radical design which may not go down well with mid-age person as well those who like subtle looks or even the corporate types.

Indians usually sacrifice everything for practicality and if thats the case ES will be a flop but as far as the market dynamics now people are willing to pay a little bit extra to get something standout unlike the competition which is really getting boring
Practicality yes, but I again doubt how many would drop buying City or Vento in cars or duster in mini-UV & Ertiga who want 5+2 seating. The only market which I see for ES is the B+ segment of hatches, price ES towards higher side, & it will be meeting same fate as new Fiesta. Who knows, then later we can have new version, ES Classic. [lol]

I would reiterate that ES atleast on paper till now looks good & surely has lot of potential only if it launched in correct price. And despite launch of ES, duster will continue to sell on account of its not so radical looks & space. Infact, even ford has admitted that ES is targeted for age group between 25-35. We also need to see that people in late 30s, early 40s etc. are also large in nos who buy cars. If ES is priced heavily, I doubt how many will jump for it. After all, not even 5% of total car buyers are car enthus who take turns at high speeds. Handling may be of great importance for many on TAI, but for many buyers, price, FE, maintenance cost & space are main criterion. People say, we can't even drive over 40-50 kmph in city, how the hell it matters how the vehicle handles at corners ?? [lol] And good or bad, majority of purchases are done by these people only in this segment.

+100

Somewhat I agree with sclass , if the price is less then 10lakhs , it will force other car makers like Hyundai and Honda to also price their SUVs competetively but if ford goes over the top then all car makers will go over the top with pricing . Which is not good for us as a consumer .
And in top of it, expect poor sales fig for ES also. Other thing is which matters to many is RESALE VALUE, which is pathetic for Ford. People buy Maruti, Hyundai, Honda etc. also for the reason that they get more resale than other cos. There are people who buy VW Vento over Skoda Rapid, not just because Vento is better but resale of Vento is also better than Rapid, it being VW. The dealer & service network of Ford is also not very great either. These things do matter while picking up a car for majority.

For me top model of ES no matter how much tech it has in range of 11-12 lakhs is not a vfm buy ( strictly my personal opinion no amount of boron steel , and sync and sporty seats will convince me otherwise ).
+100.

Ideally it must be priced 25-50k more then the i20 model to model , that too because we indian are SUV crazy and love to pay premiuim for a SUV .
It may again fail as i20 gets good resale value being Hyundai & spares too are cheaper than Ford.

And data shows people don't care about handling and high speed stability much , or else verna would have not sold more then the feista on any given day .
+100. One needs to look at complete package & not just handling. Even I didn't like new Fiesta, it was like hatch converted to notch. I still prefer classic fiesta looks, atleast the rear.

Duster has disasterous pricing if we compare the features of ES and Duster,
Duster was good earlier, but now as prices have been hiked, not VFM at all.

It is an Urban SUV friends! It is targetted at younger population. It is meant for nuclear families and seating 5 is a rare in such cases in city life. May be once in a month or so.
+1 & this is what I said above, 25-35 yrs is target audience. But now how many buyers in this segment will buy ES is the question. And not all are nuclear families, & whats more, there are egs. advocated by UV & MPV lovers that even if they are 3-4 in family, they bought Innova or Ertiga or XUV just because it has those 2 extra baby seats. [lol] Already, people who want proper 5 seater are wary of ES.

+10000. No doubt on this.

And in top of it, expect poor sales fig for ES also. Other thing is which matters to many is RESALE VALUE, which is pathetic for Ford. People buy Maruti, Hyundai, Honda etc. also for the reason that they get more resale than other cos. There are people who buy VW Vento over Skoda Rapid, not just because Vento is better but resale of Vento is also better than Rapid, it being VW. The dealer & service network of Ford is also not very great either. These things do matter while picking up a car for majority.

+100.

It may again fail as i20 gets good resale value being Hyundai & spares too are cheaper than Ford.

Sorry I beg to differ here resale value depends on model rather then brand . The duster has good resale value does this mean even the pulse has ? The fiesta classic has better resale value then maruti sx4 . So pls dont make it a black and white statement.
And who told you i20 spares and services are cheap ?
Ford having expensive spares and services is a history . Figo is the most cbeapest to maintain car in its segment .

@ s class

Here is something for you to consider when you say spares and services of Hyundai i20 is cheaper

Hi Guys,

I searched the entire forum for the service cost of Hyundai I20(diesel) but could not find the accurate info,so thought of starting this thread.

I own a 2011 Hyundai I20 ASTA(diesel) car and my monthly running would be around 2000kms,mostly highway.The car is good and lucky I did not get the famous steering rattle problem only some some minor issues which were promtly rectified as I have some Juniors from college working with Hyundai A.S.S department. Thankful to them for providing hassle free service.

The main issue crops with the service bills.Below is the cost of third free service

ENGINE OIL ---- 1188

FILTER CARTRIDGE --- 1736 (main issue)

AIR FILTER ----- 301

OIL FILTER----- 342

GEAR OIL------ 114

VAT 14.5% 534

TOTAL 4200

Wheel Balancing------ 500(done outside)

Grand Total 4700

The main issue as highlighted above is the cost of the filter cartridge which is nearly 1800/-.While other manufacturers like Maruti,Tata,Fiat,VW fuel filter costs only max 700/- ie nearly 1100/- higher which is almost equavalent to the engine oil cost. And for the piad service,the labour charges are around 800/- which adds to the total of 5500/- which is very high when compared to others.

So Please throw some light on this issue or is it reasonable for the high service cost or Hyundai guys are taking us for a long ride with our money.So please update your service bills for the knowledge of people.

NOTE:Moderators please move or merge this thread accordingly if neccessary.
My friends i20 service bill is always 8000+ . [sleep] maybe because of diesel

And here is the spare parts price listof both ford figo and Hyundai i10

Ford having expensive spares and services is a history . Figo is the most cbeapest to maintain car in its segment .
I got my Figo 1.2 P got serviced recently. It was my 2nd paid service at 30K or 3rd year (my odo is doing 14k though [lol] ) and the total cost was 5k. This include spare like front/rear mud flaps along with locks, wheel rotation, wheel balancing, engine oil, oil filters, work on gear shifts, seat covers foam cleaning (1k) + labour charge. My first paid service cost was 3.5k only. But this time it was a bit more due to some extra work which is acceptable. I am happy to pay 5k for the service which is done once in a year.
I agree with Raja, the spare cost for Ford nowdays is cheap. Gone are those days when Ikon was services at 12k [frustration]