Ford EcoSport Review & Pictures

Thread Starter #181

Re: First Drive: Ford EcoSport Test Drive Review

@ sclass - for your consideration
Just for clarification, depends which car one compares it with. I drive Fiesta as well as driven the Duster lately and Ecosport’s gearshift didn’t feel upto the mark in smoothness. I do expect though that it should become better with constant use.

That info was posted since sclass was specially interested in how the gear shifts are in the deisel version of the ES and not the ecoboost .

Please don't put words in my mouth buddy, I didn't say ES is poorly built, I said the interiors especially plastics used are cheapo & this needs to be improved.
See S class i have driven Storme, it is a true SUV and the ride is very stiff and there is lot of body roll and its nowhere compliant on road as thee sedans and hatchbacks and the engine was unrefined and crude and there were engine vibrations reaching the gear lever at around 2000 rpm, It might be a VFM vehicle compared to ES but in no way it can match ES or sedan or hatch level refinement and comfort and easiness to drive so what i meant is its a hardcore SUV which I dont like because its a a pain in city to park etc and i still say i mean no offence so please behave in that way to me as well i didnt compare ES to Range rover or Rolls Royce then why are you putting words in my mouth

Ride quality and space of Duster is good but its bad in every other department, engine is very rough compared to 1.5 TDCI,cabin insulation is not at all good(road noise tyre noise etc creeps into the cabin at most descent speeds,which eliminates a sense of luxury in the cabin),the audio system is not good,AC is not much effective, the rear AC vents are a pain for the third passenger,the 85 ps duster was ok in performance but 110 ps had humongous turbo lag and that made my clutch foot pin during start stop traffic ,the power window control was like 1980s power windows and 1980s steering mounted audio control,the rear bulge of duster is a real big pain while reversing,the exterior looks old school as for my liking(subjective),The interior is so poor in terms of bells and whistles and to get some descent kits in the Duster also safety we need to step up to some higher trims which makes the cost around 12 lakh+on road, so if VFM SUV is the major criteria Duster is excellent but ES for me gives a bit more luxury as well

I meant 11 lakh on the road price because in my city i told earlier that the most basic Duster costs 12 lakh onroad but 11 lakh i get fully loaded ES, true i agree if priced below 11 lakh on road its going to be the best launch of the decade, about power windows, the basic ES that is the ambient variant will be priced somewhat like 6.5 for 1.5 MT-7.5 for MT diesel onroad and for that money nobody will buy that variant most of them will choose trend or titanium variants which will possibly be around 8.5l-9.5lakh onroad and has more than enough features to fit in between the other hatches and sedans in competition. About design S class please say any other brand in India that has got the sporty design philosophy to match ES, no other brand has thats why i sense ES will be a stand out in the crowd and once it gets on the road more and more people will get interested in it.

The new Fiesta was a flop primarily because it didnt have SPACE and DIESEL had no power below 2000 rpm even the SX4 felt peppier than fiesta below 2000 rpm, even figo feels more spacious than new Fiesta, if new Fiesta had the space of VW vento or Verna, it would not have become a market dud like what it is now, sure it wouldnt have been a hit as well but a descent offering, and ES has more space inside than the New Fiesta more gadgets more practical and better petrol engine and better tuned diesel engine as well so its like a redefined Fiesta sedan made into SUV with less boot space.

I agree with S class in one aspect though most Indians dont really care for comfort but for out right VFM, according to me the Hyundai Verna is the worst car in that segment right now, but its the best selling, but check VW vento its the best car in the segment miles better than Verna but its not the best seller but still its the most sensible buy, i hope ES will stay like Vento in the 7-11 lakh(OTR) car market if priced that way, but if priced like 6-10 l(OTR) it will be a dead heat between ertiga,ES,entry sedans,premium hatchs as well.

I agree to your point that majority wont like handling etc but what i say is,since Indian buyers are so VFM crazy should Ford price an excellent car so low to make the Indian customers get all the benefits and let their share in Auto industry gain wise just average, i dont think so ES has the quality worth 7-11l otr, but if Ford prices it lower to play the mass sales gain rather than less sales but more cost gain then it might not be a hit sure but anyway ES is an excellent product

Just curious. How do you guys make such authoritative, conclusive comments like "best audio system", "The best AC by a mile ahead of competition.." etc. when the car itself is yet to formally hit the showrooms for any test drives.

To me, this looks like desparate attempts of potential buyers to justify their preference & decision and to just feel good about the same.. !!!

Yes, but this is applicable on for under thigh support. What about shoulder room ? Even 3 skinny models won't fit in rear seats. [lol] But as said, if one is travelling alone or not more than 4, ES space should suffice.
You claim 3 people can sit in the Swift Dzire and i20 but not in the ES.

Width of the respective cars:

Swift Dzire: 1695 mm
i20: 1710 mm
ES: 1765 mm

I fail to understand how the wider ES cannot seat 3 people but the Swift and i20 can... Let us even assume that the ES has thicker door pads which reduces the width, still it has more or less the same space (width) as the Dzire.

As far as my understanding goes, 3 adults will definitely feel cramped in the rear of the ES, but things are much worse in the i20 and Swift. I am not a fan of the ES, but I appreciate the virtues of the car for what it is. I dont expect the car to be priced at 6 Lacs just because it is under 4m in length.

I never have driven it as I face steering wheel issue with it, as usual.
Its high time manufacturers make custom cars for you, with joysticks replacing steering wheels. Pun intended.

I don't want to go around boasting, so I prefer to keep low profile.

I have driven cars which are not even available in India.
These two statements are self-contradictory!

While Ford India continues to play hide and seek with Ecosport, autojunction says the launch is on the 11th June.

As far as SYNC Infotainment System is concerned, my logic says, it isn’t going to be available in ALL variants. In China specific Ecosport, both Sunroof and SYNC are only available in Titanium variants.

As India specific Ecosport is already devoid of Sunroof and those classy LEDs, it is hard for me to expect Ford to incorporate SYNC across all variants.
Ford EcoSport bookings commence

Expected launch date for the EcoSport is mid June. Booking amount is Rs 50,000 with deliveries by end June or early July.
Got this official mailer from Ford that indeed launch is in June. Dealers in B'lore have started taking bookings for all variants.

@ s class

Here is something for you to consider when you say spares and services of Hyundai i20 is cheaper

And here is the spare parts price listof both ford figo and Hyundai i10
Very True Raja ! Ford's Figo and Classic have very reasonable maintenance costs now. The Child parts strategy of ford has helped them greatly. All this is because of localisation and I am sure that Ecosport with about 65%-70% and (will increase with time) localosation is going to be reasonable to maintain becausethat is the reason why ford has delayed this launch. On the other hand New fiesta, though it is very sturdy is of just 25% local content as far as I have heard and that has resulted in increased cost of spares compared to its rivals.

Just curious. How do you guys make such authoritative, conclusive comments like "best audio system", "The best AC by a mile ahead of competition.." etc. when the car itself is yet to formally hit the showrooms for any test drives.

To me, this looks like desparate attempts of potential buyers to justify their preference & decision and to just feel good about the same.. !!!
It was informed by all the reviewers buddy!! In all probablities they have had a decent amount of time with the car. No desperate attempts needed because Ford is not paying us for getting the car and its the quality in all kinds that has attracted us towards it. If something stands as a real VFM compared to ES after the release of price we will consider any car provided it has all the qualities which we look for.

After going through all these reviews/previews, from last 1 year or so, I have decided to put down my take on the pricing... its completely my opinion. Everyone is welcome to comment on it. It will be very interesting to see how Ford price all these 10 variants. I am sure the price difference will be really tight. If Ford price ecosport somewhat close to what I have put below, I will definitely go for 1.0 P Ti or 1.5P Ti+ (auto).

............ A ..... T ..... Ti....... Ti+
1.5 P---5.9---6.4----7------7.5
1.5 D---6.7---7.2---7.7---8.5
1.0 P-----------------7.5----8

After going through all these reviews/previews, from last 1 year or so, I have decided to put down my take on the pricing... its completely my opinion. Everyone is welcome to comment on it. It will be very interesting to see how Ford price all these 10 variants. I am sure the price difference will be really tight. If Ford price ecosport somewhat close to what I have put below, I will definitely go for 1.0 P Ti or 1.5P Ti+ (auto).

............ A ..... T ..... Ti....... Ti+
1.5 P---5.9---6.4----7------7.5
1.5 D---6.7---7.2---7.7---8.5
1.0 P-----------------7.5----8
@ RonnS hope Ford see your post and price ES as per your opinion, something similar I have also shared.
In that case I'll go for 1.5 D Titanium [clap]

All the rates of base model looks good but for successive models I think they ll charge atleast 70 k to 90 k Extra for each level horizontally seeing the decent number of features..

Yes I might be mentioning the top end models a bit lower than what could be expected by looking at all its offerings. But there is a reason behind it, and its Indian customer mentality. If the price of top models are placed close to 10 or 10+ then most of Indian customers will check for other options at the same price eg. verna, city etc. And they will be very happy in putting their money in an already proven car rather than becoming a guinea pig. "bada hai behtar hai".
There are hardly few people like u or me, who really does his/her homework well and explore all aspects of a car before making the final decision. Most Indian buyers go with the crowd this is the most important factor for the success of dzire/swift. So Ford will have to price it well to pull the mass, and to do so, they will have to place the price somewhat similar to my assumption.

However still if they think that their product is a segment maker which will pull the crowd, and price it in parallel with Duster.. then...... [frustration]. If they are really planning something similar to Figo success, then those prices will not be much different than what ford will place. Anyway.. less than 3 weeks time now we all will see the SUCCESS/FAILURE of the most anticipated car of the year or decade .. [lol]

To me, this looks like desperate attempts of potential buyers to justify their preference & decision and to just feel good about the same.. !!!
I havent driven the ES yet but the ES comes with 4 speaker and i have read in a review that its the same audio system of Fiesta i mean the new one, but i coudnt find in any other car such a good audio system as that of Fiestas in any other cars under 20 lakh except the Fluence(i mean stock and the ones in lower variants as well) and i have driven almost all cars under 20 lakh Rs in the segment till date, i test drive cars for fun,just go there get an invoice and will return, mostly with some of my enthusiastic friends who own some modded cars and they just call whenever something new gets released, obviously not the nissan evalia,chevy enjoy,mahindra rio etc, i even have driven VW jetta,fluence(it has the best audio system in a car under 20 lakh) ,

Regarding AC when i test drive a car i usually check some things interior built quality,the audio system,under thigh support,seat firmness,seat bolsters,gearshift,lightness of clutch,features,LOW END TORQUE,CABIN QUIETNESS,SEATING POSITION AND ITS RANGE,VIBRATIONS TO THE CABIN DUE TO ENGINE,RIDE QUALITY(LO SPEED & HIGH SPEED),REAR SEAT COMFORT JUST FOR MY FAMILY,STEERING FEEDBACK, AC as well and i dont bother much about boot space ,cup holders etc so AC is a primary concern for me, My friends VW polo which is a premium brand couldnt cool the cabin as quickly as my Figos also when i test drove Skoda rapid i felt the same, i tried i20 as well, the AC made lot of sound but cooling wasnt chilling enough, verna was better, but Figo new Fiesta and Ford classic all these have excellent AC as per me, the benchmark and i heard ES too has the same AC

It was informed by all the reviewers buddy!! In all probablities they have had a decent amount of time with the car. No desperate attempts needed because Ford is not paying us for getting the car and its the quality in all kinds that has attracted us towards it. If something stands as a real VFM compared to ES after the release of price we will consider any car provided it has all the qualities which we look for.
i would really like to see reviews from folks who have actually test driven the vehicle so far, in which the AC and the audio system are named the BEST

Regarding AC when i test drive a car i usually check some things interior built quality,the audio system,under thigh support,seat firmness,seat bolsters,gearshift,lightness of clutch,features,LOW END TORQUE,CABIN QUIETNESS,SEATING POSITION AND ITS RANGE,VIBRATIONS TO THE CABIN DUE TO ENGINE,RIDE QUALITY(LO SPEED & HIGH SPEED),REAR SEAT COMFORT JUST FOR MY FAMILY,STEERING FEEDBACK, AC as well and i dont bother much about boot space ,cup holders etc so AC is a primary concern for me, My friends VW polo which is a premium brand couldnt cool the cabin as quickly as my Figos also when i test drove Skoda rapid i felt the same, i tried i20 as well, the AC made lot of sound but cooling wasnt chilling enough, verna was better, but Figo new Fiesta and Ford classic all these have excellent AC as per me, the benchmark and i heard ES too has the same AC
Such uninhibited usage of superlatives without a test drive looks like too much of generalization and extrapolation.. i would suggest you to wait for the formal launch and test drive before further praise is showered. [:)]