Ford EcoSport Facelift 2018 Launched in India (Coverage Pg: 34)

Re: Ford EcoSport Facelift 2017 Exclusive Spyshots

News reports yesterday from the ES's European launch confirmed an all new 1.5 EcoBlue diesel. Many are speculating this will be offered in the Indian facelift as well. It churns out 123 Bhp and 300 Nm [shock][shock] ! If they plonk this in the Indian ES, it will mean some serious firepower and will absolutely wash away the Nexon's Revotorq 1.5 (110 Bhp/ 260 Nm) and with the Ford driving DNA, will be one hell of a handler. It will easily thrash the others in the category with a PTW ratio of around 99Bhp/Tonne! Hope Ford brings this to India![clap]

If thats true, S Cross 1.6 is already hindered
My search for a 2nd car will end if it comes here especially if its a torque converter diesel or maybe even the new 1.5 dragon engine

News reports yesterday from the ES's European launch confirmed an all new 1.5 EcoBlue diesel. Many are speculating this will be offered in the Indian facelift as well. It churns out 123 Bhp and 300 Nm [shock][shock] ! If they plonk this in the Indian ES, it will mean some serious firepower and will absolutely wash away the Nexon's Revotorq 1.5 (110 Bhp/ 260 Nm) and with the Ford driving DNA, will be one hell of a handler. It will easily thrash the others in the category with a PTW ratio of around 99Bhp/Tonne! Hope Ford brings this to India![clap]
Its highly unlikely for India to get new 1.5l ecoblue diesel as Ford plans to sell ecoblue diesel cars for only European markets where engines are basically DPF designs, also its a DOHC unit as opposed to current SOHC unit as on TDCi
My guess is that Ford will keep diesel unchanged as already not much are complaining for power in diesel ecosport, the major improvements will be for petrols, the 1.5 TiVCT Sigma will be replaced with 1.5l i3 Dragon with 123 HP and the 123 HP ecoboost will be stopped and there will be Ecosport S with 140 HP ecoboost
Also check this out new Ecosport Titanium S spied testing again, something like Figo S will be superb for Ecosport

Well, with a majority of the ES production for global markets happening in India (US and UK, not sure about EU though), it would be a pity if the EcoBlue is made in Marimalai Nagar travels via Ennore to shores afar, whilst not touching down anywhere in its 'homeland'. Further, I am sure there would be quite a few takers of a high end Titanium S diesel version with the EcoBlue at an appropriate premium. The Trend and lesser variants may continue to have the 1.5 TDCi.

Its highly unlikely for India to get new 1.5l ecoblue diesel
I think it is likely to happen, all because of Tata plonking in 1.5L 260NM on engine in Nexon. Due to competition Ford may take a chance and plonk in 1.5L EcoBlue engine.

Well, with a majority of the ES production for global markets happening in India (US and UK, not sure about EU though), it would be a pity if the EcoBlue is made in Marimalai Nagar travels via Ennore to shores afar, whilst not touching down anywhere in its 'homeland'. Further, I am sure there would be quite a few takers of a high end Titanium S diesel version with the EcoBlue at an appropriate premium. The Trend and lesser variants may continue to have the 1.5 TDCi.
Ecoblue is not made in India in fact Ecosport for Europe is made in Europe itself , From India Ecosport gets exported to USA,Middle East, ASEAN and Australia and South Africa
Europe stays independent as their market strictly feels spare wheel is ugly and needs way more stiffer and dynamic setup compared to much softer setup as in developing countries like India, so no ecoblue production in India.
I think it is likely to happen, all because of Tata plonking in 1.5L 260NM on engine in Nexon. Due to competition Ford may take a chance and plonk in 1.5L EcoBlue engine.
No, I dont think so, even with the current 1.5l SOHC 100 HP motor Ecopsport has adequate poke and since its an engine that has 99% components shared with Figo/Aspire engines that makes much more sense than bringing in Fords new DOHC 1.5l motor, so we will have to settle with TDCi at least till 2020 for Ecosport
There is news that Ford might plonk a new 2.0 ecoblue Twin turbo in Endeavor in 2018 Endeavor facelift, that might be the 1st ecoblue to see India.

Let us not expect same version as Europe. It is not going to happen. Current Diesel is nice one.

My wait and aspiration is for.
Ecosport with new 6-speed torque converter auto transmission (Petrol is fine. Diesel is even more fine but don't see that happening)
7 air bags
ESC + HHA + TC
Cruise Control + Paddle Shifters
Same interiors beige and black seen in Brazilian version

Fine to pay 1 to 1.5 Lacs on top of current price. I liked this baby SUV from the time it launched. Cant wait for any longer. Let us get some brochure leak so that I can sleep in peace of mind.

Let us not expect same version as Europe. It is not going to happen. Current Diesel is nice one.

My wait and aspiration is for.
Ecosport with new 6-speed torque converter auto transmission (Petrol is fine. Diesel is even more fine but don't see that happening)
7 air bags
ESC + HHA + TC
Cruise Control + Paddle Shifters
Same interiors beige and black seen in Brazilian version

Fine to pay 1 to 1.5 Lacs on top of current price. I liked this baby SUV from the time it launched. Cant wait for any longer. Let us get some brochure leak so that I can sleep in peace of mind.
This could be a very accurate possibility and price wise the new Ecosport with 6 speed TC AT and 1.5 Petrol wont be priced more than the Titanium+ diesel Ecosport
The features that can go missing from Brazilian spec Ecosport are sunroof,B&O Play,Safety Assists life BLIS,Emergency braking Assists, adaptive cruise control, 4WD and IRS, Rest all are highly likely to be same as in Brazilian SPEC Ecosport Titanium.

i got a call with from a Ford dealer today with whom i have been checking for Ecoboost version. when i asked him about the updated Ecosport launch, he said that its surely going to happen but not in next 3-4 months as they go into training for the new car atleast 3-4months before its launch and as of now, they have not been notified of any future training yet.

i feel he was just trying to sell off his pending car to me by saying this as training 3-4months before the launch sounds too big a time to me. i think the sales people go into training a month before the launch, just before the time of media drives.

Sales people go in Training after Media drives, so will be less than 15 days. Dealers and Ford want them to sell the existing stock first.

If you are convinced, Bargain for a Huge discount or wait 15 days.

Depends on each person and personal situation. If are planning to keep the car for more than 5 years, I suggest you wait for thee facelift. If you are ttype who changes/upgrades cars every 2-3 years, you should bargain well.

Ecoblue is not made in India in fact Ecosport for Europe is made in Europe itself , From India Ecosport gets exported to USA,Middle East, ASEAN and Australia and South Africa
Europe stays independent as their market strictly feels spare wheel is ugly and needs way more stiffer and dynamic setup compared to much softer setup as in developing countries like India, so no ecoblue production in India.

No, I dont think so, even with the current 1.5l SOHC 100 HP motor Ecopsport has adequate poke and since its an engine that has 99% components shared with Figo/Aspire engines that makes much more sense than bringing in Fords new DOHC 1.5l motor, so we will have to settle with TDCi at least till 2020 for Ecosport
There is news that Ford might plonk a new 2.0 ecoblue Twin turbo in Endeavor in 2018 Endeavor facelift, that might be the 1st ecoblue to see India.
As far as my knowledge goes, Ford doesn't have a manufacturing facility for the ES inside mainland Europe (nearest would be the one in Russia). The other locations for ES production is Brazil, Thailand, China and India. I am not sure why you compared the stiffer setup requirement of EU with the EcoBlue engine, as both are different things.
As GautamJ said, the Nexon's power figures are surely in the minds of the honchos at Ford India, and it would make absolute sense to bring the EcoBlue here. I do not think the addition of a single camshaft is a big deal in retooling Ford's Chennai plant. If parts sharing is so important as you mentioned, why is Ford bringing the new Dragon 1.5?
What you say may be actually true, which will be clear in the coming weeks, but I truly am hoping Ford brings the oil burning beast here. [:D] Fingers crossed.

As far as my knowledge goes, Ford doesn't have a manufacturing facility for the ES inside mainland Europe (nearest would be the one in Russia). The other locations for ES production is Brazil, Thailand, China and India. I am not sure why you compared the stiffer setup requirement of EU with the EcoBlue engine, as both are different things.
As GautamJ said, the Nexon's power figures are surely in the minds of the honchos at Ford India, and it would make absolute sense to bring the EcoBlue here. I do not think the addition of a single camshaft is a big deal in retooling Ford's Chennai plant. If parts sharing is so important as you mentioned, why is Ford bringing the new Dragon 1.5?
What you say may be actually true, which will be clear in the coming weeks, but I truly am hoping Ford brings the oil burning beast here. [:D] Fingers crossed.
Ford is planning to manufacture Ecosport out of their Romania plant for Europe this was in the news for quite sometime. Please see the below link

https://media.ford.com/content/ford...-more-people-to-support-the-production-o.html

I see ZERO % chance for bringing higher power diesel to India. Ford has to play features vs price game very carefully. As our friend (1989rs500 ) said no need for Ford to bring in higher power diesel as existing one is good enough. Even if ford does bring it will go the S-Cross 1.6 way due to higher costs and less than 5% of the buyers will be interested.

Dragon 1.5 engine will slowly make it to Figo/Aspire may be in different state of tune/same. Hence part sharing will be taken care.
Ford has the option of surprising with AWD version but not sure whether they will do it. They can even bring additional safety features like BLind Spot Information system, Automatic Emergency braking etc. If they do Ecosport will be first to have these features below 35Laks (Only Volvo has this I think).

The Ecosport for Europe is completely different from ours, it even has an IRS which Indian versions lack, also the suspension too is different for European spec Ecosport, much stiffer struts and different camber and caster altogether to meet Europes crave for corners

The Ecosport fort Europe will be made in Romania and the ecoblue will be made in Dugenham and in other European diesel plants, not in Chennai plant, the reason is not because of retooling, its business efficiency , Indians are fairly adept with the current gen 1.5 TDCi and apart from a few issues the engine has been doing fairly good in terms of power,refinement and mileage and even reliability has been above average, so Ford will keep moving with TDCi till emission norms becomes stringent here in India

regarding Dragon petrol, the current gen TiVCT motors are getting faced out all together ie a whole design change and this is for all markets, no new Ford NA car will have a TiVCT from 2018 onwards, all will be Di TiVCTs, Ford knows that there has been a move among people to shift to petrol cars since diesel ban etc, so pushing a new petrol makes sense and as I ve been quoting before the Dragon has 2 derivatives a 1.5 i3 and new 1.2 i3 that will serve new Figo/Aspire and an upcoming premium hatch back, so this has a wide audience with added benefit of being environment friendly which diesel is not and with 2 plants in our soil the Dragon can be manufactured and exported to more than 10 countries from here .
Ford is planning to manufacture Ecosport out of their Romania plant for Europe this was in the news for quite sometime. Please see the below link

https://media.ford.com/content/ford...-more-people-to-support-the-production-o.html

I see ZERO % chance for bringing higher power diesel to India. Ford has to play features vs price game very carefully. As our friend (1989rs500 ) said no need for Ford to bring in higher power diesel as existing one is good enough. Even if ford does bring it will go the S-Cross 1.6 way due to higher costs and less than 5% of the buyers will be interested.

Dragon 1.5 engine will slowly make it to Figo/Aspire may be in different state of tune/same. Hence part sharing will be taken care.
Ford has the option of surprising with AWD version but not sure whether they will do it. They can even bring additional safety features like BLind Spot Information system, Automatic Emergency braking etc. If they do Ecosport will be first to have these features below 35Laks (Only Volvo has this I think).
Well already the Ecosport is a lakh more expensive than the Brezza, sop I dont think those features will be added to Indian versions which means more price on ex showroom tag, so I guess we wont see assistance features and sun roof but even without that the facelift Ecosport seems like a pretty superb deal

As per Team-bhp there seems to be an advertisement in Autocar September there will be thee NEw Ecosport in Ford Showroom's soon and the Top variants will have a Sunroof.

The Ecosport for Europe is completely different from ours, it even has an IRS which Indian versions lack, also the suspension too is different for European spec Ecosport, much stiffer struts and different camber and caster altogether to meet Europes crave for corners

The Ecosport fort Europe will be made in Romania and the ecoblue will be made in Dugenham and in other European diesel plants, not in Chennai plant, the reason is not because of retooling, its business efficiency , Indians are fairly adept with the current gen 1.5 TDCi and apart from a few issues the engine has been doing fairly good in terms of power,refinement and mileage and even reliability has been above average, so Ford will keep moving with TDCi till emission norms becomes stringent here in India

regarding Dragon petrol, the current gen TiVCT motors are getting faced out all together ie a whole design change and this is for all markets, no new Ford NA car will have a TiVCT from 2018 onwards, all will be Di TiVCTs, Ford knows that there has been a move among people to shift to petrol cars since diesel ban etc, so pushing a new petrol makes sense and as I ve been quoting before the Dragon has 2 derivatives a 1.5 i3 and new 1.2 i3 that will serve new Figo/Aspire and an upcoming premium hatch back, so this has a wide audience with added benefit of being environment friendly which diesel is not and with 2 plants in our soil the Dragon can be manufactured and exported to more than 10 countries from here .

Well already the Ecosport is a lakh more expensive than the Brezza, sop I dont think those features will be added to Indian versions which means more price on ex showroom tag, so I guess we wont see assistance features and sun roof but even without that the facelift Ecosport seems like a pretty superb deal
If this is true it will be sad. Whatever said and done, a ~25% increase in power and torque would have made the ES a real hoot to drive, and leaps and bounds ahead of others in its class. Plonking an AWD would have made it the outright choice of car below 15 lakhs. But I guess, that's no to be. Ford will lose an opportunity for a game changer. [roll]