Ford EcoSport Facelift 2018 Launched in India (Coverage Pg: 34)

Re: Ford EcoSport Facelift 2017 Exclusive Spyshots

1.5l petrol engine with 150nm. Isn't that less? Or am not taking it in right way

Coming to Nexon vs Ecosport, I don't think Ecosport can match Nexon due to taxes on 1.5l engine and it's already expensive. Now with higher taxes it will go up. So it will never be able to match sales of Nexon in mass market although enthusiastics might go for it.

Anyways good for everyone, more the products more the competition and more the choices :)

1.5l petrol engine with 150nm. Isn't that less? Or am not taking it in right way

Coming to Nexon vs Ecosport, I don't think Ecosport can match Nexon due to taxes on 1.5l engine and it's already expensive. Now with higher taxes it will go up. So it will never be able to match sales of Nexon in mass market although enthusiastics might go for it.

Anyways good for everyone, more the products more the competition and more the choices :)
I think thats more than adequate for an atmospheric engine
for eg the Honda 1.5l iVTEC makes 118 BHP and 146 NM

Also the new 1.5 i3 from Dragon family of Ford has higher bore stroke, means more torque lower down the rev range making it a more torquey motor to drive between the low and mid range, but the disadvantage is at higher revs say post 6000 rpm the engine will loose refinement and bigger pistons means more mass per piston and hence less revv happy post 6000 rpm unlike an i4

But as we know India needs more low and mid range torque and I feel the new Dragon will be able to deliver that in good amount

Ford India has revealed the Dragon petrol engine for India.
Highlights include 80% localized motor, so cost will be low,
Engine made at Sanand and will be exported as well.

Will come mated with 5 speed Manual and 6 speed Automatic

New Dragon engine makes 123 HP @6500 rpm and 150 NM at 4500 rpm
https://www.autocarindia.com/car-ne...cosports-new-15-dragon-engine-revealed-406191

Just got a call back from Ford Mumbai and Surat after tweeting question regarding availability of 1.0 Ecoboost Platinum edition EcoSport that car is not available anywhere in India. They persuaded me to buy 1.0 L Ecoboost Titanium edition quoting: 'Sir, only 2-3 units are left in India and i should get it soon before all offer on EcoSport ends on 8th October to get a good deal'.

I asked them about the facelift then and both General Managers replied: 'Sir, post Diwali around november 1st week mein launch hai. Its better to take the current generation as facelift would get delivered from 2018 January and prices of the top variants would be around 50k-1L more than current generation top end variants'. Then i asked them about them fearing Nexon eating away their market share, they responded: 'TATA ka reputation to sabko pata hai Sir' followed by some giggles.

The reason of delayed launch is clear that that the current generation EcoSport is still in stockyards in good numbers and company doesn't want to face losses. On the whole i feel Ford is loosing their ground on EcoSports by delaying launch.

Just got a call back from Ford Mumbai and Surat after tweeting question regarding availability of 1.0 Ecoboost Platinum edition EcoSport that car is not available anywhere in India. They persuaded me to buy 1.0 L Ecoboost Titanium edition quoting: 'Sir, only 2-3 units are left in India and i should get it soon before all offer on EcoSport ends on 8th October to get a good deal'.

I asked them about the facelift then and both General Managers replied: 'Sir, post Diwali around november 1st week mein launch hai. Its better to take the current generation as facelift would get delivered from 2018 January and prices of the top variants would be around 50k-1L more than current generation top end variants'. Then i asked them about them fearing Nexon eating away their market share, they responded: 'TATA ka reputation to sabko pata hai Sir' followed by some giggles.

The reason of delayed launch is clear that that the current generation EcoSport is still in stockyards in good numbers and company doesn't want to face losses. On the whole i feel Ford is loosing their ground on EcoSports by delaying launch.
Yes thats true, but I feel a Diwali launch is a good idea, for one most people will book it by Diwali and waiting for delivery till Jan 2018 wont be a big issue, also the current stock is a head ache for Ford, as selling them in low profits wont give them any benefit as Ecosport is Fords sole sales leader
I feel Ford will loose a big pie of its share to Nexon whether launch is earlier or after Nexon as Nexon itself has set high standards and yet cheaper, so Ford might be in the move to gather the brand power it has got to lure customers rather than making a head on collision with Nexon because its useless, however one may say Nexon offers more value, so its better to fight back with the key strengths,brand power and exclusivity factor

Article on the Ford India official website regarding the petrol engine going to be used on the new Ecosport. They have also mentioned that the release is later this year.
So I am guessing it will officially launch in November and the deliveries may start in January. Keeping fingers crossed since I am eagerly waiting for its launch as I have booked the Nexon and waiting for this car too. Hoping it'll be a good clash!

https://www.india.ford.com/about-ford/media/newsroom/2017/ford-debut-petrol-engine/

Article on the Ford India official website regarding the petrol engine going to be used on the new Ecosport. They have also mentioned that the release is later this year.
So I am guessing it will officially launch in November and the deliveries may start in January. Keeping fingers crossed since I am eagerly waiting for its launch as I have booked the Nexon and waiting for this car too. Hoping it'll be a good clash!

https://www.india.ford.com/about-ford/media/newsroom/2017/ford-debut-petrol-engine/
Autocar India, carwale and a lot of other websites are claiming that Ford wil be launching face lift Ecosport by Diwali 17, ie its not that far, maybe by 16th October and deliveries by December 2017.

I hope they do not do this as they would loose at least 50% of their potential EcoSport customers to Nexon. I am too in the market for crossover 10-12 Lakhs so if i am low at patience would get Nexon (Diesel) and if i have good patience than get a 2018 made EcoSport (if petrol AT is good). There would be no smart takers in December for EcoSport all would wait for January end. So in all thats consecutive 3months (Oct-Nov-Dec) loss for Ford whose bread butter from Indian market is EcoSport. And customer would be at loss if Nexon's introductory price are hiked for 2018 make. [frustration]

Its quiet usual that Ford makes new launches every Diwali season. Eg Figo MK I was launched around Diwali season, Ecosport too was the same, the products Ford launched other than Diwali season ie New Figo, Endeavor, Global Fiesta, all are just passers by when it comes to making good profit or marjet, so I think Ford itself is kind of superstitious now , they wont take even that risk of launching it earlier to make better profit

Regarding Ecosport product, I am sure face lift will be a fantastic product , but issue is Nexon has really closed the gap mainly in the price department which makes Ecosport a choice for peoppe who only either care about brand, safety, solidity,driving dynamics, sporty looks,
On all other counts say space,practicality,price,ride quality, features etc Nexon has made so much progress that extra cost Ecosport demands almost feels too much, still for those who value Ford DNA will stay with Ford,

Regarding Ecosport AT, I suggest @Autodoc to take a test drive of new Hyundai Verna 1.6 SX petrol auto, its an incredible package , only thing thats not good is the ground clearence, so just keep new Cerna AT also in equation in case Nexon and Ecosport disappoint.

i happen to visit SC ford in mumbai today after spending some time in tata showroom. the sales Rep said that the update would launch in Nov and deliveries in February-march as they would start taking bookings in january. but when i raised the question of why missing the diwali festival, the truth came out, he mentioned that they have lot of old stock pending and the production of current version is already stopped. he said that they have been given this week to clear off most stock with huge discounts. in the showroom compound itself they had 4 ecosport parked and 3 in delivery bay.

P.S: he offered me 70,000 discount on titanium petrol version without me pushing him, also the colors offered were very limited.

i happen to visit SC ford in mumbai today after spending some time in tata showroom. the sales Rep said that the update would launch in Nov and deliveries in February-march as they would start taking bookings in january. but when i raised the question of why missing the diwali festival, the truth came out, he mentioned that they have lot of old stock pending and the production of current version is already stopped. he said that they have been given this week to clear off most stock with huge discounts. in the showroom compound itself they had 4 ecosport parked and 3 in delivery bay.

P.S: he offered me 70,000 discount on titanium petrol version without me pushing him, also the colors offered were very limited.
See this is what I feel from all these , ie most SAs say its November launch, but I feel this discount is an indication that almost 99% of stocks are sold out and the rest 1% is whats on offer, so I still believe an October 16th launch followed by bookings a week later and deliveries by November December

I am not too sure if October or November launch will necessarily lead to a majority of buyers opting for Jan 2018 manufactured Ecosport. I am sure there are a few who would do that.

Think of Jeep Compass buyers who would have booked last month. If they were to get their Compass in December, I don't think they will insist on a 2018 manufactured car. Possibly for new launches, it matters the least.

I believe Diwali is the best time for Ford to launch Ecosport for following reasons:
1. Not too many SUV or CUV were launched recently:
- Compass, Nexon, S-Cross and Captur: Of these Compass and Nexon are really hot right now. Of these, only Nexon is a true competition to Ecosport to whom Ford will lose few sales
- Other manufacturers have No new launches so they will dole out discount to attract customers

2. Petrol AT and Diesel AT are big opportunity areas:
- Nexon, S-Cross and Captur have been launched without AT option. There seems to be a fair demand in this segment for AT
- It will be great if Ford could launch Ecosport with AT in both petrol and diesel

3. Captur seems to be a flop already. S-Cross launched only in 1.3L diesel. Again a great opportunity for Ford to launch Ecosport as there are buyers out there who are looking for better package which Captur and S-Cross may not offer