Ford EcoSport Facelift 2018 Launched in India (Coverage Pg: 34)

Re: Ford EcoSport Facelift 2017 Exclusive Spyshots

Hey Guys,
Any idea if refreshed Ecosport will come with Diesel AT? I am waiting for ES to launch and will buy one if it comes with Diesel + AT otherwise will buy Nexon. I have put my booking for Nexon on hold and waiting for ES to launch.
there is no official confirmation yet for manual versions, leave aside AT. i would suggest go ahead with nexon, looks extremely striking and very desirable. i am myself waiting for petrol variant of nexon to hit the showrooms. ford is just testing patience.

I wouldnt advice going for Nexon so early
1. New engine, not proven locally neither internationally.
2. Nexon is a 1st gen car, be prepared for tonnes of niggles especially given the Tata badge
3. If Ecosport diesel gets an AT, itll be a torque converter whereas Nexon will get AMT. AMTs are pretty lethargic and dont feel the part
4. Nexon manual variants have very odd clutch point and driving position , not for everyone's taste
5. Nexon AMT will be announced in early 2018

IMHO if you are considering manual,Ecosport facelift is a safer buy for now over Nexon

there is no official confirmation yet for manual versions, leave aside AT. i would suggest go ahead with nexon, looks extremely striking and very desirable. i am myself waiting for petrol variant of nexon to hit the showrooms. ford is just testing patience.
If you are interested in diesel car then you should opt for nexon, but if your choice is petrol then the new dragon engine of ecosport is going to rock based on brazilian reviews so better to wait...

Hey Guys,
Any idea if refreshed Ecosport will come with Diesel AT? I am waiting for ES to launch and will buy one if it comes with Diesel + AT otherwise will buy Nexon. I have put my booking for Nexon on hold and waiting for ES to launch.
Diesel AT 0% chance. Have not seen any reports around that. I don't think Ford has that combination for Ecosport anywhere around the globe.

If you are interested in diesel car then you should opt for nexon, but if your choice is petrol then the new dragon engine of ecosport is going to rock based on brazilian reviews so better to wait...
Diesel? I wouldnt agree
Nexon petrol is a safer buy than the diesel nexon given its the Tiago petrol with a turbo

Either way, Ford's TDCI is far more proven and dragon engine is a derivative of existing engines abroad, and the exact unit itself is already in the Brazilian market for a while now

If anyone is considering Nexon or any other 1st gen car, I would suggest waiting a year at least before purchasing

Ecosport facelift is fairly minor but a much needed and good one at that

I myself am eyeing the same segment to buy another car

Hey Guys,
No Diesel AT for Ecosport, almost 100% confirmed,
Now what makes Nexon a priority over Ecosport if @mukesh is looking for an Automatic car?
If @mukesh needs a diesel automatic compact SUV the best bet is to wait for Vitars Brezza AMT,
In between Ecosport and Nexon, I say wait for the Ecosport to launch, because even though there is a huge price gap between two sometimes it will be worth it, I saw and sat inside the new Nexon last week and I liked it a lot, but I will decide on whether to put my money on Nexon only after taking a back to back test drive.
But Creta is a size larger than Ecosport and the likes
Ford Kuga is the correct comparison
Going by a couple lakhs difference, Creta is not as overpriced as people want to make it

Creta gets 2.0 diesel option from Tucson abroad
Ecosport also has 2.0 option abroad
Well how can I put it, see an Audi Q2 with a small 1.0 TSi engine and DSG is priced in the range of 35-40 lakhs , ie the same price as a Ford Endeavor, Toyota Fortuner etc, see this is what I mean, like the Ecosport is not about being LARGE, its about being a TRUE COMPACT SUV, ie smaller in dimension but drives like a big well mannered monocoque SUV, thats how Fords portfolio is, ie
Ecosport<Escape<Edge<Explorer<Expedition

Now regarding 2.0 engine only our country and China has this tax based on displacement, thats why we dont get 2.0l, in Brazil and all Ecosport also gets 2.0 engine and AWD option in higher trims, but even in lower trims the price of Ecosport is easily in Creta territory, consider it like this the Ecosport is based on Fords global B platform that spawns the Global Fiesta, the Fiesta is a competitor to cars like Honda City, HYundai Verna, Ciaz etc so the Ecosport is basically a compact SUV that fights against the C sedans of India but since its sub 4m its pricing is lower, I dont think Ford can price Ecosport any lower than how its priced as of now unless they are ready to manage below industry average profits per Ecosport sold.

usually he is 100% accurate, lets see.
Wow thats great news man, hope to get my hands on both Nexon and Ecosport one day itself, also I am too on look out for the new Dragon 1.5 engine in Ecosport , reviews aside the Indian unit is detuned to 123 HP and 147 NM, so how will it perform and does it have any chance against the new Nexon 1.2 Petrol will be my quest.

No Diesel AT for Ecosport, almost 100% confirmed,
Now what makes Nexon a priority over Ecosport if @mukesh is looking for an Automatic car?
If @mukesh needs a diesel automatic compact SUV the best bet is to wait for Vitars Brezza AMT,
In between Ecosport and Nexon, I say wait for the Ecosport to launch, because even though there is a huge price gap between two sometimes it will be worth it, I saw and sat inside the new Nexon last week and I liked it a lot, but I will decide on whether to put my money on Nexon only after taking a back to back test drive.

Well how can I put it, see an Audi Q2 with a small 1.0 TSi engine and DSG is priced in the range of 35-40 lakhs , ie the same price as a Ford Endeavor, Toyota Fortuner etc, see this is what I mean, like the Ecosport is not about being LARGE, its about being a TRUE COMPACT SUV, ie smaller in dimension but drives like a big well mannered monocoque SUV, thats how Fords portfolio is, ie
Ecosport<Escape<Edge<Explorer<Expedition

Now regarding 2.0 engine only our country and China has this tax based on displacement, thats why we dont get 2.0l, in Brazil and all Ecosport also gets 2.0 engine and AWD option in higher trims, but even in lower trims the price of Ecosport is easily in Creta territory, consider it like this the Ecosport is based on Fords global B platform that spawns the Global Fiesta, the Fiesta is a competitor to cars like Honda City, HYundai Verna, Ciaz etc so the Ecosport is basically a compact SUV that fights against the C sedans of India but since its sub 4m its pricing is lower, I dont think Ford can price Ecosport any lower than how its priced as of now unless they are ready to manage below industry average profits per Ecosport sold.

Wow thats great news man, hope to get my hands on both Nexon and Ecosport one day itself, also I am too on look out for the new Dragon 1.5 engine in Ecosport , reviews aside the Indian unit is detuned to 123 HP and 147 NM, so how will it perform and does it have any chance against the new Nexon 1.2 Petrol will be my quest.
True but for most Indian buyers, space is a major concern
They were rumoured to launch Kuga in India but they havent gone forth unfortunately
Diesel AT is a very basic and untapped market but I seriously doubt AMT is gonna cut it for the segment
Ford can easily win this game by offering a good torque converter

Either way Ecosport is a very compelling buy and Im seriously leaning towards petrol AT even if diesel AT doesnt launch
Ford has won my trust recently when an owner of an Ecosport got an engine replacement without him even asking, the car in question was from one of the 1st batches of Ecosport and out of warranty
If any non-Japanese/Korean manufacturer deserves my sale, its Ford for now

There is no diesel AT in around 10-13 lacs price bracket (my budget) except for Ameo or Vento but I am not going to take a risk on DSG. I was looking for a compact SUV but with actual AT and not AMT. I can wait till Jan-Feb 18 but chances of getting a Diesel AT are very slim. I think I will have to settle down with MT [cry].

GUYS

NEED YOUR HELP.

I'm planning to buy ecosports , initially I was planning to buy the new version so I inquired the dealership and they said it will launch in Nov or Dec and delivery will begin some where from Jan or Feb.

Instead they offered me to buy the existing version and offered me some 1 lac discount on titinum model.

My colour choice is Mars Red but it's not available they offered me Silver / Smoke Grey.

My heart still want the mats red.

To question guys if any one can answer.

1) Should I buy current version or wait for the new one?

2) is really the launch and delivery going to take so much of time ?

3) How good are Silver and Grey colour? Which one is better?

Thanks in Advance

GUYS

Thanks in Advance
- New one will be priced higher than the current one but going by all the discussions and scoops till now, seems to be worth the wait
- If you are looking for immediate delivery and its urgent, go for the current one as you are getting a super deal with 1 lac discount

- I would suggest, you should wait for 10 days more. If there is No announcement from Ford, then most likely there will be No launching during Diwali and hence expect a Dec launch with deliveries from Jan
- Also, if there is a substantial dip in Ecosport shipping numbers for September, that could be another indication that they stopped production of old Ecosport last month. We should know this in a couple of days once figures from Ford are made public

- I love Grey color more than Silver

Thanks Buddy,

I'm going to visit today at the dealership and get more details of the vehicle. Viz the manufacturing date and all other details of the vehicle.

Thanks a Lot

GUYS

NEED YOUR HELP.

I'm planning to buy ecosports , initially I was planning to buy the new version so I inquired the dealership and they said it will launch in Nov or Dec and delivery will begin some where from Jan or Feb.

Instead they offered me to buy the existing version and offered me some 1 lac discount on titinum model.

My colour choice is Mars Red but it's not available they offered me Silver / Smoke Grey.

My heart still want the mats red.

Thanks in Advance
if urgent, check nexon. a dealer in nerul was offering me 1.5Lakh discount on ecoboost version without bargaining, so i am sure, you can get more than 1 lakh discount, bargain. but i would suggest wait for new one.

2 Autocar editors have confirmed to me on twitter that it is launching in oct, mostly diwali, and deliveries in nov. there are lot of cars launching in diwali and whose delivery would begin in nov, captur, kodiaq, celerio x etc.