Failed Cars in India

I agree with you on most part, except your calling TATA SAFARI and ARIA as flop cars.Yes I agree that Safari hasn't ever put the sales chart on fire but it has never been a sales dud either,for example- you will see tata safari on every nook and corner of our nation,I just fail to understand how can you called it a flop car? [confused]

As regarding Aria, who expected tata to sell 3000 units of a car per annum that costs a whopping 19 lacks on road.Perhaps your expectation with Aria was too high or perhaps mine was too low, but I am extremely happy of Aria's sales figure, just last month tata sold around 560 units, call it a dud at your own sanity. :mad:

safari is not flop but aria is 100% unsuccessful!!

As regarding Aria, who expected tata to sell 3000 units of a car per annum that costs a whopping 19 lacks on road.
you mean to say if 5 lakh car comes at 10 lakh it wont be called flop because its in different segment due to price?? well aria is great but even after 4x2 its not selling!!

See TATA's or Maruti's will sell in good numbers only if they are priced correctly. Like small VFM cars priced between 3-6 lakhs. Beyond this point, if a person is ready to shell out more. Then he would look for the quality of product as a whole and not VFM (MUCH). He would like to have some exclusivity and might like to show it off. And when show comes into the picture Maruti's and Tata's are no where near to other car manufacturers (personal opinion).

Safari was marketed or looked upon as a cheapest SUV at one time. But Aria is in a different league as per TATA but people did not feel that way. Thus, sale figures are not what you would expect or compare with.

Check the entire list of Raj_5004, you will find the reason for their failures by looking at the list. They are either out right cheap or over priced. Indian market is very price sensitive and we want everything without paying anything. [lol]

I agree with you on most part, except your calling TATA SAFARI and ARIA as flop cars.Yes I agree that Safari hasn't ever put the sales chart on fire but it has never been a sales dud either,for example- you will see tata safari on every nook and corner of our nation,I just fail to understand how can you called it a flop car? [confused]

As regarding Aria, who expected tata to sell 3000 units of a car per annum that costs a whopping 19 lacks on road.Perhaps your expectation with Aria was too high or perhaps mine was too low, but I am extremely happy of Aria's sales figure, just last month tata sold around 560 units, call it a dud at your own sanity. :mad:
I expected this, that is the precise reason I wrote that disclaimer, perhaps I should have written it in bold!

ARIA is a big time FLOP. No intentions to hurt anyone, especially it's proud owner & my dear friend - cooldhaya (even I own a flop car - Punto buddy! [glasses]).

If you say Aria does not sell since it costs 18 lakhs, then how come a fortuner costing 24 lakhs & with NIL features (compared to Aria) can sell 2 times more than Aria? Mind you, I am talking about price factor ONLY since thats the point you mentioned.

As I clearly mentioned, for me, a car is a FLOP if it's sales numbers are nowhere near it's competitors.

September 2011:

safari - 1937
scorpio - 4493
innova - 4765

Similarly,
punto - 678
i20 - 7019

In july, tata sold only 823 units of safari compared to 4308 units of scorpio & 4816 units of innova (thats over 4 times!)

by the way, I dont see a safari in every nook & corner of Mumbai, to be honest.

Nissan Micra has sold over 100,000 units till date. Can it till be called as flop car ?[confused]
You are talking abt world sales figure, here we are talking in context of INDIAN market, and by the way even though Micra is selling only 1000 units or so per month I still do not call this an unsuccessful product, look same rules cannot be applied to everyone,for Nissan to sell even that no. with only wafer thin dealers is great achievement in my book.

@raj_5004

Fortuner sales because its Toyota, and for a 17lac Tata, Aria has done remarkably well,irrespective of what you think.

@raj_5004

Fortuner sales because its Toyota, and for a 17lac Tata, Aria has done remarkably well,irrespective of what you think.
See, earlier you were talking about price, now you are talking about brand image.

Every car which has failed may have many reasons to fail. we cant keep debating on why it failed. a FLOP car is a FLOP car, period.

Moreover, Aria is not a 50 lac car that numbers like 600 units a month can be called decent or satisfactory.

Consider this - Aria recorded 560 units in Sep whereas XUV recoded 505 units! XUV was launched on Sep 28th. So, in just two days, XUV almost touched Aria's monthly sales figure. So can we call Aria a successful product? IMO, NO.

Oh yes, the A star is so rare, I completely forgot about it!

See, earlier you were talking about price, now you are talking about brand image.

Every car which has failed may have many reasons to fail. we cant keep debating on why it failed. a FLOP car is a FLOP car, period.

Moreover, Aria is not a 50 lac car that numbers like 600 units a month can be called decent or satisfactory.

Consider this - Aria recorded 560 units in Sep whereas XUV recoded 505 units! XUV was launched on Sep 28th. So, in just two days, XUV almost touched Aria's monthly sales figure. So can we call Aria a successful product? IMO, NO.

Oh yes, the A star is so rare, I completely forgot about it!
Yes but XUV is full 3 lac rs cheaper than ARIA.

Now you are again talking about price!

Basically that is what I am saying. Every car has one or the other reason to fail. Some may be overpriced, some may have poor A.S.S., some may have a bad brand image, etc. Aria is just too overpriced for what it is worth IMO.

For that matter, every car I have listed may have some problem or the other, that is the reason it has failed. Hence, no point in arguing why it failed. That is why, Aria is a flop for me.

Yes, but then this no ways means that the FLOP cars are bad. I myself drive a Punto which sells in hundreds compared to the record breaking swift, but I personally dislike the swift, especially the new one.

But I cant keep arguing that Punto is this, Punto is that, it is not a flop, it is selling in decent numbers considering it is a FIAT, blah blah blah. Its a FLOP, period.

Now you are again talking about price!

Basically that is what I am saying. Every car has one or the other reason to fail. Some may be overpriced, some may have poor A.S.S., some may have a bad brand image, etc. Aria is just too overpriced for what it is worth IMO.

For that matter, every car I have listed may have some problem or the other, that is the reason it has failed. Hence, no point in arguing why it failed. That is why, Aria is a flop for me.

Yes, but then this no ways means that the FLOP cars are bad. I myself drive a Punto which sells in hundreds compared to the record breaking swift, but I personally dislike the swift, especially the new one.

But I cant keep arguing that Punto is this, Punto is that, it is not a flop, it is selling in decent numbers considering it is a FIAT, blah blah blah. Its a FLOP, period.
Yes for me Aria is super hit ,To each his own mate(even if its perception). [;)]

BTW: I also love the Punto and hate Swift, so finally we agreed upon something. [clap]