Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Re: Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Pre-Launch Coverage: Pg.83)

@Vishwas,

I have just referred Beat for the price and no way I said Beat interior quality is not good.

Yes we expect a good quality in everything with our hard earned money, but the same cost a little more always

Friends am slightly confused now on making ES my next car . As mentioned in my earlier posts I have booked in advance by a cheque to the dealer. Now that the interior quality of the ES is out I feel that it's good to rethink my decision . But my mind says to go for it but the quality of the car stops me . I feel "not good to buy a house for its paint " and so expecting valuable suggestions from you guys . I have two things running in my mind .
1. To get he ES and change the seat cover with quality leather and customisation wherever possible inside the car and planning to enquire the cost on the same .

2. To keep away from the decision and go for a sedan or hatch like Honda city or brio diesel which look pleasing and end the long wait for ES but will have to compromise on the higher GC .

Hope I will get some suggestions from you fellas. [confused]

Friends am slightly confused now on making ES my next car . As mentioned in my earlier posts I have booked in advance by a cheque to the dealer. Now that the interior quality of the ES is out I feel that it's good to rethink my decision . But my mind says to go for it but the quality of the car stops me . I feel "not good to buy a house for its paint " and so expecting valuable suggestions from you guys . I have two things running in my mind .
1. To get he ES and change the seat cover with quality leather and customisation wherever possible inside the car and planning to enquire the cost on the same .

2. To keep away from the decision and go for a sedan or hatch like Honda city or brio diesel which look pleasing and end the long wait for ES but will have to compromise on the higher GC .

Hope I will get some suggestions from you fellas. [confused]
Don't get upset by the quality of plastics used there, test the vehicle once it reaches the show-room, who knows you might love driving it and prices are better placed. you can make the interiors to suit you as well.

And please do keep some options while buying a car, i suggest you to have a look at the brio diesel too(Amaza they call it)

Don't get upset by the quality of plastics used there, test the vehicle once it reaches the show-room, who knows you might love driving it and prices are better placed. you can make the interiors to suit you as well.

And please do keep some options while buying a car, i suggest you to have a look at the brio diesel too(Amaza they call it)
Thank you Vishwa for the suggestion. Awaiting for the ES display on April 12 th in chennai and amaze too is getting launched soon. If my rea seat travellers,my parents and friends sometimes, are ok with the leg room for long time travel am planning to go for ES and change the seats if thy are not satisfying . Else have to go for AMAZE .

US automaker Ford plans to aggressively price its compact sports utility vehicle EcoSport, taking on hatchbacks like the Hyundai i20 and Suzuki DZire in its bid to expand the SUV market and challenge French carmaker Renault's bold opening gambit.

ET learns that the initial launch price of the compact EcoSport SUV will be Rs 5.9-6 lakh, much lower than Renault Duster's launch price of RS 7.19 lakh. Higher variants will command a higher price, but Ford has worked out the pricing in such a way that the top-most EcoSport variant, at around 9 lakh, will still be cheaper than the Duster's Rs 11 lakh.

Well, comparing the Duster and Ecosport with respect to pricing, I think Ecosport will be the winner easily. I can say that with out even Ford announcing the price [evil]. Only thing is Ford should not get greedy and price it say 1 Lac below duster, thinking that Ecosport already proven to be better in Brazil.
There is a huge difference between the sentiments of buyers from Brazil to India. In India we want everything in one car. Fuel economy, looks(mostly outside) more status symbol, safety is not a priority etc while it comes to buying a car.
Advantage for Ecosport is it overlaps a hatch, compact sedan and a duster class SUV. And also I assume that there will be lots of variants to choose from since 3 engines and atleast 3 levels and then AT. So If they price it cautiously it might satisfy the wide range of budgets. And note here Duster's low end which is Petrol and don't know if its in existence? It's just for paper to say range start from 7.xx. Where as Ecosport is going to see big numbers here(Daily short distance office commuters). I won't be surprised it it becomes next Swift for India. If I buy Ecosport only thing I have to be content with is, I am driving very common car in India.

Friends am slightly confused now on making ES my next car . As mentioned in my earlier posts I have booked in advance by a cheque to the dealer. Now that the interior quality of the ES is out I feel that it's good to rethink my decision . But my mind says to go for it but the quality of the car stops me . I feel "not good to buy a house for its paint " and so expecting valuable suggestions from you guys . I have two things running in my mind
Do check the car in person before making a decision. Yes, overall quality of plastics is quite average but it cannot be a deal breaker. Just like it isn’t in case of Figo.

Had been to mantri mall in the morning. Here are my impressions:
positives:
1. Striking looks (i know its subjective)
2. Looks smashing in the Mars Red.
3. Compact and hence you won't have to worry too much about parking space in your city.
4. Good front seats. Steering is a delight to hold.

Neutral:
1. Decent quality of plastics i wouldn't say this is worst or best.
2. Frontal visibility is that of a hatch.
3. Leg room is decent.

Negative:
1. Strictly 4 seater. Disappointing shoulder room.
2. Saw a 6 footer sitting in the front seat, with no headroom left. Not a problem for me though (i am 5'5") [:)]
3. I somehow found the foot well cramped.

Overall, this is a hatch on steroids. Don't expect anything more. If Ford wants this to succeed, it has to compete with i20 and maybe command a premium of around 50-60K for the butch looks while matching the features.
PS: I spent around 20 mins over hearing people talk about this car. No body i heard was impressed by the rear seat space. Women were even more disappointed. Every body seemed to love the looks and the fact that it had good GC. Somehow couldn't sense people feeling wow about this car.
I guess unless ford pits this against B+ segment hatchbacks maybe with a slight premium its not going to fly off the shelves. Ford please don't become greedy this time.

thanks for sharing .

It all depends on pricing, if ford prices it right it will be super hit . All who are complaining will be then complaining about waiting period .

And if priced wrongly then all goes in vain .

here's my overall feedback after seeing it in flesh today..

1. the exterior is impressive and looks pretty good.
2. interior: front seats are pretty comfortable. steering and seating adjustment features should together be able to give the right seating for any one
3. interior: rear seats are a disappointment. leg room is still fine; but the width is a problem. cannot accommodate 3 adults. also a bit claustrophobic
4. boot space is pretty less. in terms of the standard big bag/suitcase used for international travels, it cannot accommodate two such pieces.

net-net:
1. If you have any reasonably good sedan now (ikon, dzire, manza, classic fiesta, accent, vento, verna) and would want to go for an SUV that indeed feels like an 'upgrade', Ecosport is NOT for you and would feel like a compromise.
2. However, if you are moving from a hatch like M800, i10, Ritz, swift etc., there are elements in Ecosport that can definitely make you feel this is a good buy.

personally, as someone who has been tracking the launch over the past many months and desperately planning to buy one, i feel disappointed. :-(

had taken some fotos during my visit to the Mantri mall.. but unable to upload due to the size restriction of 1 MB.

here's my overall feedback after seeing it in flesh today..

1. the exterior is impressive and looks pretty good.
2. interior: front seats are pretty comfortable. steering and seating adjustment features should together be able to give the right seating for any one
So its more than just a beefed up hatch, well i too feel there's not much of purpose in this car, but duster which has caught up the market very well, this could be a chance for ford to pull the rope.

had taken some fotos during my visit to the Mantri mall.but unable to upload due to the size restriction of 1 MB.
Mantri Mall is just a couple of kilometers from my home, will think of visiting today, probably with the greatv, and hey you can re-size the pictures by using any resizing tools(google for a software) and upload, else PM or mail me those pics, i'll upload it.

Do check the car in person before making a decision. Yes, overall quality of plastics is quite average but it cannot be a deal breaker. Just like it isn’t in case of Figo.

Thank you dude. Will check it in chennai when it is for display on 12 th .Then my test drive on final product in May will help me confirm I hope buddy.

Hi guys,

I checked out Ecosport Today at Paras DownTown Zirakpur(Chandigarh).

I dnt feel the need to upload pics as others have already uploaded great quality pics .

My personal and brief review.

1) Exterior- Awesome. everything looked great front looks aggressive and bold. back looks adventurous. only from the side it feels like a hatch. othervise SUV from front and back.

Grill looks amazing but I felt it looked a little weak. easy to break or atleast first to break on impact kind of a thing.

2) Interior- Dnt let others scare you.. its not bad.. actualy its pretty decent. just not the best one around but still decent.

And the one on display wasnt top model so top one might also have leather seats.

3) Space- I am 5'11. Heavy built. I'm usually comfortable by pushing the front seat to the max level. I test drove Duster and had to push seats very close to max. after which If I tried to sit in the back, my knees would touch the seat. I felt just to create good boot space duster reduced seating space. But in ecosport I did not need to push seat to the max. only a little extra than the center. after which one could easily sit in the back.. but widthwise only 2 adults and one child can sit.

boot space-felt ok. not great but also not bad..

Overall. Ok. Tested.Passed.

only test drive remains..

K10