Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Re: Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere: Coverage on Pg.3

Ford to begin EcoSport production in Feb 2013, recruit 1,200 employees within a year

The Ford EcoSport is expected to be one of the significant launches to take place next year and the Dearborn-based auto giant will be rolling out the compact SUV in February 2013 from its Maraimalainagar plant in Chennai.

Mr. Joe Hinrichs, President of Asia-Pacific and Africa, Ford Motor Company, Mr. Michael Boneham, MD of Ford India and Mr. Joginder Singh, Executive director of Ford Business Services, met Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Ms. J.Jayalalithaa yesterday and invited her to launch the EcoSport in February.

The Ford supremos informed the CM that the company will recruit around 1,200 employees within one year for their Chennai manufacturing plant and Coimbatore business services center. The current workforce of Ford India stands at around 5,200 employees.
Ford India was established in 1995 at Chennai during Ms. J.Jayalalithaa’s term as CM and the company is in the process of expanding its Indian operations by setting up a factory in Sanand, Gujarat.

The EcoSport SUV is a sub-four metre vehicle just like the Mahindra Quanto and allows the manufacturer to price it effectively. The car is already on sale in Brazil and will be launched in China shortly.

Ford will not manufacture the 1L Ecoboost engine at the Chennai plant anytime soon. However, the 1.5L diesel engine, hugely important from the customer preference perspective, will be localized in Chennai. Spyshots of test mules in India show that Ford is packing the EcoSport with technologies such as SYNC, Ecoboost, Powershift, etc.
The Mahindra Quanto will enjoy the first mover’s advantage in the compact SUV segment, but Ford India can make use of Quanto’s sales performance as a case study and come up with an appropriate pricing strategy.

Read more: Ford India to begin EcoSport production in Feb 2013

Ecosport- This machine is stealing my attention more and more with the fresh new videos Ford Brazil is putting up on youtube.

Seu mundo ficou mais criativo - YouTube
Seu mundo ficou mais amplo - YouTube
Seu mundo ficou mais robusto - YouTube
Seu mundo ficou mais completo. - YouTube

This Brazil version is loaded to the grim! I just love the practical nature of this baby boy. The only question remains is the way Ford prices this little monster but I am still happy to pay a little premium for this stunning machine.
Ecosport scores high in the following points:
1. Practical nature: Light and compact dimensions make it easy in the city and great to drive on highway( I am seriously looking for the top end 6speed Powershift Auto version)
2. Killer looks: Neat,smooth and modern flowing lines which aids great aerodynamics. Look at it from any angle and it leaves an everlasting impression in your heart and mind. The Audi Q3 like DRL's stole my heart! The best attempt by Ford and it does look beautiful unlike the xuv500's puny LED lights. (No offense to xuv owners, its just my perspective)
3. Economical: The 1L Ecoboost or the 1.5ltr Diesel will both be economical and fun to drive.
4. Ford's ASS: I have not yet experienced the service from Ford, but looking at the quality and the way Ecosport is being put together, I am confident on this aspect and the Ecosport will have very few reasons to visit service centers.
5. Space: The Ecosport has decent amount of legroom and has several small storage bins and cubby holes, bottle holders which just ticks all the space check boxes in my list.
6. Drive: Last but not the least, the way this boy drives and handles is surely class leading as per the reviews so far. This is obvious as great handling is absolutely present in Ford's DNA.

My only worry is that Ford should price this baby monster a bit aggressively, and I am ready to trade my Dzire for Ecosport!

This if priced right will create history in India for sure .

Renault have increased the prices of Duster by 40K,so do you think Ford will be able to price Ecosport anything under 8-11 lakhs?
Yes 1 lakh more then i20 I feel very strongly .

In true sense, both the Duster and Ecosport are altogether in different league. The Ecosport is an all-rounder and is a complete package. Whereas the Duster has only one or two main advantages and that is the ride and handling and lets say the rough and tough nature.
So as per my view, it doesn't make any sense to compare Duster and Ecopsort, and even if Ford prices the Ecosport at par or more than Duster, there is quite a lot of justification to it considering the features and quality of the overall car.

This if priced right will create history in India for sure .
If not priced right, then it will become a history in India for sure. :biggrin: Just kidding. Seriously I have high expectations on the pricing part of Ecosport.

I would like to know if the Ecosport would be available with automatic gear box. Please post if you happen to know.

What do we all mean by correct pricing ? Looking at the Car I feel price would be anything around 9-11 lac or even more.. [anger]

I would like to know if the Ecosport would be available with automatic gear box. Please post if you happen to know.
Yes indeed. It will have a auto box only for the ecoboost 1ltr ''petrol'' engine and its the best Auto box ever with Dual clutch, 6 Speed and Ford calls it a 6 speed Powershift transmission.
I have a strong belief that this 1ltr Ecoboost Petrol engine will still deliver exceptional fuel economy and considering the premium we pay for a Diesel version( the initial cost while purchase) and keeping in mind to use the vehicle for say about 50,000 or 3-4 years, then the Petrol version does make a cost effective proposition. And on top of this there are various speculations floating around that government may add additional taxes on private Diesel vehicles etc etc..[frustration]

What do we all mean by correct pricing ? Looking at the Car I feel price would be anything around 9-11 lac or even more
Don’t forget that Ecosport is less than four meter car. It will avail excise benefits and therefore resulting in high possibilities of a competitive price tag.

What do we all mean by correct pricing ? Looking at the Car I feel price would be anything around 9-11 lac or even more..
+1. Me too feel the same. And as it shares its interiors & platform & even diesel engine from Fiesta, I wonder how they will keep their costs down. 4m will give them some benefit but surely can't be sufficient to bring the cost from 9-11L to 6-8L. Some say price will be 9L.

And guys, did you check Ford's webpage. Ecosport details are mentioned -

Ford India Private Limited - EcoSport | Review the new urban SUV from Ford