Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere (Variants Leaked! Pg.98)

Re: Exclusive! Ford EcoSport Makes Global Premiere: Coverage on Pg.3

Some great news guy's

Feature rich Ford EcoSport to undercut Renault Duster in pricing

Read more: Ford EcoSport to undercut Renault Duster's pricing
Great news [clap][clap] visran here is the article in more detail .

Tags: News
Ford’s much-awaited Eco*Sport compact SUV is likely to be cheaper than the recently launched Duster, as the company looks to firm up its position in the sub-four metre compact SUV space.

After duster, all eyes are on EcoSport, which is slated for the launch early next year. The car, priced at par with mid-sized sedans, such as Honda City took off to a stellar start notching up 10,000 bookings before its launch in process to garner a six-month waiting period.

The 4.2-metre long Dus*ter that starts at Rs 7.19 lakh, sold 3,184 units in August compared with 4,204 units sold by the best-selling SUV Scorpio.

“EcoSport will be a value proposition as a sub-four metre car. Over 70 per cent of all cars sold in India are small cars sold in this segment,” Michael Boneham, MD, Ford India told FC.

Models with length of less than four metres attract 12 per cent excise duty, while longer cars with engines above 1,500cc attract 24 per cent impost. Ford India was earlier confused on deciding the EcoSport’s length as it has a stepney fit at the rear exterior, but Boneham said the model “complies with the excise rules”.

Mahindra & Mahindra will launch sub-four metre SUV named Quanto around Rs 6 lakh later this month, the first four-metre SUV in the country after Maruti Suzuki trimmed Dzire sedan earlier this year. Mahindra’s Verito will also see a shorter version next year.

EcoSport may help Ford significantly spruce up overall volumes. “Apart from 1.0 litre petrol engine that performs like a 1.4, we will also have a global diesel engine fit in the car. Including automatic transmission, we will give customers all sort of options in different variants,” Boneham added.

Source -
http://wrd.mydigitalfc.com/news/ford-likely-price-ecosport-cheaper-renault-duster-796

Even i am very excited about this news,good to see ford learning quickly from their past mistakes

Some great news guy's

Feature rich Ford EcoSport to undercut Renault Duster in pricing

Read more: Ford EcoSport to undercut Renault Duster's pricing
Oh!! thanks for sharing this news Visran[:)], it really push me towards it as my next car also gives a promising space for less budgeted guys who cannot afford bigger SUV's[clap]

When I visit hydrebad next year maybe I can get a ride either in a ecosport or strome right ? [:D]

When I visit hydrebad next year maybe I can get a ride either in a ecosport or strome right ?
Oh !! so nice of you Raja [clap] for your gentle & kind courtesy in selecting my car as your ride during your next visit, I am overwhelmed [:)]

But my friend you have forgotten some thing that I am a very cautious budgeted middle class buyer and my practice is leave a new launch for at-least minimum for a year to see what happens with it and any of its niggles will be set right, then I can bet my hard earned money on that till then, source the ride from close friends like you !![;)] But when you are in Hyderabad next and if you like to have a ride in my tiny baby Ritz, I am glad to offer that to you.

" I dream about too many things, but my need drives me always "

Oh !! so nice of you Raja [clap] for your gentle & kind courtesy in selecting my car as your ride during your next visit, I am overwhelmed [:)]

But my friend you have forgotten some thing that I am a very cautious budgeted middle class buyer and my practice is leave a new launch for at-least minimum for a year to see what happens with it and any of its niggles will be set right, then I can bet my hard earned money on that till then, source the ride from close friends like you !![;)] But when you are in Hyderabad next and if you like to have a ride in my tiny baby Ritz, I am glad to offer that to you.

" I dream about too many things, but my need drives me always "
Well no worries maybe in 2014 then ?
Btw what practice you follow has noting to do with being middle class or budget oriented .
What you practice is a very practical and sensible approach in choosing a car even multi millionaire people follow this .

Those news regarding the pricng of the ecosport in par wih the duster is a news thats quite interesting.
I am sure such a pricing would make an overwhelming response to Ecosport.

Exclusive video review of ecosport from autocar India .
Saw this video. Some conclusions which I drew based on this -

> Handling is good, but comes at the cost of stiff ride quality. For India, the suspension would be softer, meaning the handling will be compromised,

> Rear legroom as good as any hatch,

> Boot space similar to hatch,

> The interiors quality and fit & finish is better than new fiesta, which is good. But will this result in price hike ? [confused]

> Ford is betting heavily on 1.0 ecoboost engine, but I doubt how many will buy petrol at first place. When Swift petrol is not selling, I am sure ecosport petrol will be more or less a dud,

> It will be diesel ecosport which can bring in the nos. It is M & M Quanto which is diesel which will compete against this as of now. If petrol ecosport is priced at quanto diesel, I feel quanto will have an edge. No matter even if looks are hopeless (my friend driving a xylo saw quanto on NH4 couple of days back & said its hopeless to look at). If duster, ertiga could sell despite having no looks, quanto surely can.

> The rear doors of ecosport are bit small which makes ingress-egress a bit difficult.

All in all if diesel ecosport is launched for 7-8L on road, it has some future, else it will be thrashed by storme & scorp. Lets see how much money can be saved now ecosport being >4m.[thinking]

S class I don't understand the logic behind your observations/assumptions on the Ecosport. I was amazed to see such assumption appearing here without even Ford displaying or finished developing its compact SUV for the Indian market.

Those observations such as softer suspension which would compromise on handling and all can be said to be assumptions of a creative heart and it doesn't have any sense until some authendic report comes after driving the Ecosport in the Indian soil.
Also, regarding the price I don't think that pricing ecosport aggressively or tactically would shell any sales numbers of the SUV's like Storme or Scorpio.

Because never a person who wants a rugged SUV would look for Ecosport.Remember the fact that Ford itself is claiming it to be an Urban SUV.

You are the same person who says Ecosport or Duster(on the duster thread) can't be called an SUV while at the same time you say wrong pricing of Ecosport can get customers to Storme or Scorpio. You are comparing Ecosport with full fledged SUVs. I am of the thought that Ecosport won't ever pose threat to any of such tougher SUVs(assuming the buyer to be a person who looks for harder off roading too). Ecosport will be a SUV that targets a wider audience which include premium hatch buyers +Ertiga ,Duster category+entry level sedans.

According to ICB INDIA SPEC FORD ECOSPORT TO GET AUTOMATIC VARIANT

Well it's a old story surely the ecoboost will come with their new dual clutch auto transmission with 10 years warranty for the auto box , it was also spied 2 months before . The beauty is there won't be any mileage drop with the auto box .[:D]

During an interaction with Live Mint, Gary Johnson, Ford Motor Company’s vice-president for manufacturing operations, revealed more details about the Ford EcoSport from the manufacturing perspective.

Johnson opined that the EcoSport was not lagging behind in launch schedules and the Blue Oval will not come to India before deploying the car in Brazil and China.
He said the launch plan for India has always been 2013, and is similar to the strategy executed at the Figo’s launch where the car was revealed in installments.
Johnson did not specify an exact time frame for the Chinese market launch, but the roll out certainly does not seem very far away as the Chinese factory has already started making test prototypes.
Chang’an-Ford may begin mass production later this year and launch the vehicle at the Guangzhou Auto Show in November. Ford India has confirmed an early 2013 launch for the EcoSport that classifies as a small car, eligible for attractive excise benefits.
Ford has invested $4.9 billion (about Rs.27,097 crore today) on manufacturing plants in India and China. Johnson says the EcoSport made in India will be launched in other markets “very quickly.” Last week Ford announced the EcoSport’s launch in Europe within an 18 month window and perhaps the Chennai factory will export LHD, European-spec vehicles from early 2014.
Ford forecasts a contribution of up to 70% from the Asia-Pacific region and regards India as a major market for the EcoSport both domestically and for export.
[Source - LiveMint.com]

Read more: India-made Ford EcoSport in other markets "very quickly"

This is the best part i liked about this article:
Ford India has confirmed an early 2013 launch for the EcoSport that classifies as a small car, eligible for attractive excise benefits.

This is the best part i liked about this article:
Yes me too [clap] but still I have my fingers crossed you never know what ford can do with the pricing . Like you the ES is seriously in my buying list .