Car & Manufacturer Wise Monthly Sales

@Raja, Now you should realize why some of us the members were continuesly bashing Tata.

If my memory is right you once asked elsewhere what is wrong with us people and why all the time bashing game only with Tata cars.
well there is seriously wrong strategy with Tata products and marketing and it is reflecting so very well in the end of the month..lol.

single word "indifference".[roll]

they somehow believed that by increasing the price of their products, some wallet healthy people will fall pray for it..but it dint work out for long.

They continued pushing cheap, low quality products on us in the name of VFM, at present very few are interested in them as of now most of us are aware of pathetic condition of theirs .
Strategy is hopeless I agree with you and nor they have any future line of products which can outclass the competetion .
you bash tata because you have atleast used there product but there are many who just for the sake of bashing bash tata .
In mahindra vehicle thread tata is brought without any reason and in tata car threads mahindra is brought without any reason at times .
And most of the times I have observed is it is more of tata lovers vs mahindra lovers war .were there must be a objective discussion about it lovers of respective segments pull data to show 1 is better then other and the story and point goes haywire .
If you ready my comment above in the thread I have mentioned tata needs a different strategy .
In my view they need a new naming and new contemporary styling for their products .
I don't rejoice that tata is falling and mahindra is going strong rather I feel happy mahindra is going strong and sad at the same time that tata is not doing well .becuase I want both to do great . There is not point in proving all the time how mahindra in particular is superior to tata when specially there are many other car makers to compare with .
Rest all your points I agree and respect them fully .

Strategy is hopeless I agree with you and nor they have any future line of products which can outclass the competetion .
you bash tata because you have atleast used there product but there are many who just for the sake of bashing bash tata .
In mahindra vehicle thread tata is brought without any reason and in tata car threads mahindra is brought without any reason at times .
And most of the times I have observed is it is more of tata lovers vs mahindra lovers war .were there must be a objective discussion about it lovers of respective segments pull data to show 1 is better then other and the story and point goes haywire .
If you ready my comment above in the thread I have mentioned tata needs a different strategy .
In my view they need a new naming and new contemporary styling for their products .
I don't rejoice that tata is falling and mahindra is going strong rather I feel happy mahindra is going strong and sad at the same time that tata is not doing well .becuase I want both to do great . There is not point in proving all the time how mahindra in particular is superior to tata when specially there are many other car makers to compare with .
Rest all your points I agree and respect them fully .
+100,very well said buddy.
Bashing a brand or car for no reason is really bad.Also there is no car which does not have some drawbacks.
About Tata and M&M discussions,there is no issue in M&M lovers vs Tata lovers..the issue is that negatives should be taken as negatives and positives should be taken as positives.

Tata needs product ,price and image revision now.
Not only Aria,Safari too needs slight price revision.

A small comparo:-
Scorpio vlx(non airbags):About 11.80 lacs on-road Delhi.
Safari GX:About 12.40 lacs on-road Delhi.

Where vlx is loaded with many extra features Safari has just ABS to boast of.This automatically makes Safari look less VFM in front of Scoprio.
Else I believe that if we want to make a comparo then none other,simply none other cars can have such a close competition with each other.Cut 50k on Safari and maybe it will do some magic.

@Raj:
+10 to you.
M&M must focus on making SUVs only.Why?Because EXCLUSIVENESS BRINGS FAME AND PERFECTION.
SUVs are where M&M is strongest and I believe that if they try to concentrate on the mass market then they may also have to face a downfall.
Waiting for Mini Xylo,but i am doubtful if it will do any fortunes..
One more issue:With upcoming competition and cars like Ertiga etc as well as the upcoming ones like Duster,Ecosport etc,M&M may also face some heat.

About Tata's condition..It looks like they now need to increase the staff's salary instead of the price of their cars...:lol!:
Well even though i can see the sentiment behind your thoughts, unfortunately i see businesses doing exactly the opposite. When you succeed somewhere you fuel ambition and you want to grow in other directions and also establish there slowly (atleast take a small share of the pie and the indian car market is a very very big pie). So definitely i see Mahindra pursuing those ambitions, they have ambitions in the 2 wheeler as well as sedan market that is clear from some of their investments/marketing ambits. So expect to see them moving all around.

Also to remember that their main stay business previously in the rural tractor market is on a decline ( this market is anyways on a decline for everyone ), so they have to make amends elsewhere. Its a competitive world so gone are the days when you can just relax just being a UV king.

On the topic of Tata, I am really desperate to see them do well again. I dont want Mahindra to monopolise the 10lakh plus SUV segment with the XUV and its soon to be launched Korean brothers. Hence i want to see the Aria do well and others from the Tata stable.
Competition is essential for us consumers to get the best deal at the best price and with lot of options.

Haha,you may be right Iron rock.
Ambitions are very important for any business to grow and since they are automotive developers,so these ambitions must be there.

About tractors,maybe they are on a decline but I have an old 575 DI(We bought Scorpio be cause of this reliable Mahindra only) in my village which runs an equipment called rootervator and has given me some experience of pulling empty as well as 250 quintals os sugarcane laden trolleys too...:biggrin:..and with new farmers buying bigger and bigger Mahindra Tractors(which has already made them world's largest tractor maker after overtaking John Deere)I am doubtful if their tractor business is declining.

About cars,let them carry one,but in case if they once lost their grip on their market by chance then there stands no chance to get it back again with new more established and bigger brands entering the market where they were alone before.

Ertiga has already shown its effect(look at Bolero's sales,they are 2500 down from last month) and other may make the game even tougher.Verito is taking pathetic beating,2-3 months have passed when I last time saw a Verito,else they are as rare as Mercs.

And at last(about eating big pie)..CAPACITY SE JYADA KHANE SE ULTI DAST BHI LAG JAATE HAIN(Eating more than capacity can result in vomitting and dissentry)...

This news was more than shocking for me..

Now I'll go out for the search of the guy who one day showed me an article saying "Mahindra now world's largest tractor maker".

Now let's leave OT and carry on:-
Every other car is okay,but what is wrong with Tata Grande.This car's arch rival is Xylo but then Xylo itself isn't doing any high numbers.Then where are the customers going?

On one end theres the Bolero and on the other there is Innova.

In between the newly launched Ertiga has also pulled in some customers.

BTW, what is the purpose of a vehicle like Sumo Grande!!!

This news was more than shocking for me..

Now I'll go out for the search of the guy who one day showed me an article saying "Mahindra now world's largest tractor maker".

I don't have figures to prove but taking a wild guess here .
customers are maybe going for Scorpio ex model ( lower then lx) , tavera, if there buying power has increased they are straight hitting for the Innova .
Btw bolero is shining but remember its just not the smashing bolero which we love is making sales it is all versions of bolero add to the figures meaning the bolero pick up and the other versions but nonetheless they are selling and that too good .

On one end theres the Bolero and on the other there is Innova.

In between the newly launched Ertiga has also pulled in some customers.

BTW, what is the purpose of a vehicle like Sumo Grande!!!
I don't have figures to prove but taking a wild guess here .
customers are maybe going for Scorpio ex model ( lower then lx) , tavera, if there buying power has increased they are straight hitting for the Innova .
Btw bolero is shining but remember its just not the smashing bolero which we love is making sales it is all versions of bolero add to the figures meaning the bolero pick up and the other versions but nonetheless they are selling and that too good .
Good points ill also add Eeco and Omni to the carnage, both of them put together sold nearly 12k last month, plus time will tell how Ertiga disrupts this further and if at all it gets popular in the taxi side too.

The biggest mistake Tata made was to name it as Sumo Grande earlier which made buyers skeptical about it. Had it been only Grande, it would have sold lot more units.
Agree with you buddy from the day one I was wondering why they named it like that . They did the same mistake with vista.[frustration]

In the naming front I feel that M&M people are more smart.They give their SUVs good names and its a fact that some part of the deals are made or broken by the name only.

The biggest mistake Tata made was to name it as Sumo Grande earlier which made buyers skeptical about it. Had it been only Grande, it would have sold lot more units.
Agree with you buddy from the day one I was wondering why they named it like that . They did the same mistake with vista.[frustration]
Help me understand the harm from the name prospective only ! Are you saying that by changing the name car would sell more [surprise]. How ?

I think they meant associations which people have in their mind about names. Grande was named sumo grande the sumo name carried a association of taxi along with it . All in all it can be 1 small point but not crucial point which makes a car sell better or worse .