Car & Manufacturer Wise Monthly Sales

But when they have such long booked list then why don't they produce 6000 XUVs per month?
Lower waiting period will enhance sales even more.

Secondly:99% customers have herd mentality and hence this can easily make XUV cross Scorpy any day.About stretching,they have to get it on loans and for those people car's status means more than their bank accounts,so Indians are expert at stretching.
xuv are manufactured at chakan,pune whereas the scorpio is built at nashik.
They had setup a different space especially for the XUV and currently the production is working at max strength i believe.

Also i read that m &m has An exclusive workforce for the XUV so again they are falling short to meet the production demands.

I presume the numbers would be large had they kept the bookings open all the time had the capacity been close to production somewhere in the range of 5k to 10k units p.m.

By august they will be maximising their capacity and i guess the numbers will be lot more than the current numbers assuming the diesel de- regulation does not take place by that time.

Regarding the scorpio with the news of new scorpio being developed i feel there might be now many customers who would be sitting at the fence by the end of 2012-2013.

A new segment of compact suv emerging with the LUV will see some pressure for the scorpio sales figures.

Ah,new Scorpio..yes as per the initial stage sketches,the car is going to retain its original body shape with some minor tweaks from XUV and yes,maybe a new engine(rest you can believe this info,it is from a rock solid source(even more solid/tough than our 'iron' rock):lol!: .Any Mahindra car it may be,I'll be the first to scoop it if its coming out of Nasik or Haridwar facility).

Hmm,I just asked the above question out of foolishness(I sometimes do it).Rest thanks for your detailed info.

But when they have such long booked list then why don't they produce 6000 XUVs per month?
Lower waiting period will enhance sales even more.
Easier said than done buddy. Nobody wants to lose on good profits and if it was as simple as you made it to be, dont you think the experts at M&M would have done it long before you typed it?

Mahindra has invested 800 crores in a plant. Every plant has it's production capacity. It is not very simple to just make another plant.
Secondly:99% customers have herd mentality and hence this can easily make XUV cross Scorpy any day.About stretching,they have to get it on loans and for those people car's status means more than their bank accounts,so Indians are expert at stretching.
Again, you have made it sound very simple. It isnt.

It's not just about taking a loan. You need to have that capacity to pay the EMIs. If it was that simple, everybody would be roaming around in Audis and BMWs... by taking a loan.

@Sam:
you noticed it late...every month MUVs beat the sedans in that segment.

@Raj:
I am thinking,with more XUVs selling the A.S.S. is going to have a different department for XUVs only,to look at the everyday arising minor issues..[lol]

OT:
About Scorpio point:There are a lot of guys who earn 50k pe month and pay 30k as car's loan installment.We people move ahead with financial planning but 90% of our fellow buyers don't even know what cheap thing is Financial planning'.

@Sam:
you noticed it late...every month MUVs beat the sedans in that segment.
Is it so? I thought that SUV+MUV sales till last month were still trailing sedan sales by a little margin. Shall calculate the figures and get back to the forum for the knowledge of everyone. Thanks anyways!

Yaar
This is called consumerism. I feel people these days in India are becoming like USA. They are taking all kinds of loans and not prepared for contingency. I just dont think any car is a status symbol in india any more except the kinds of BMW/Audi/Merc.
Car is not something to spend too much part of your income on.

Tata motors is losing in most of the segments they have to really work hard now There strategy is just not working .
Ford how long are you going to have your breakfast , lunch and dinner through figo ?
Chevorlet is still selling aveo and UVA and I seriously would love to know the thinking process of this buyers . Pls upgrade the optra with some today's generation interiors and give it some tweaks it's a underrated but a very good car .
Mahindra is on a roll but xylo is not making any impression and I think it will be sidelined more because of ertiga.
Innova after so many years still shows who is the boss in muv segment , though might be overtaken by ertiga.
What happened to sunny suddenly the sales dropped ? Honda will you be still stubborn and not bring diesel engines fast ?

Truly...well said.

When one sits inside a punto after being into figo,or i20 or polo the feel is like from an MNC lounge to local barbershop...odd grey tone,poor fit n finish ,no unique premium(chrome like) touches etc.
Did you actually feel that way.I have spend quiet some time with an i20 AT asta.I have been into figo,polo.I think our Chevrolet beat is known to have a much better interior than the figo.Beat is known for its impressive quality.

I have checked punto 2012 75 hp emotion today this evening.

Oh yes,fit and finish is not great,on a brand new car,the driver side power window controls cam off from one side.I pushed it and it was almost on its place.the only think the came off from our Chevrolet beat was the small plastic cover that wraps around the nob for controlling the side mirrors that too it happened after one year and few months and I was impressed with the quality of that little plastic cover.Kudos to Chevrolet.Beat has very good build quality and doors close with a thud.
Punto feels very solid.

Me and my mother was left impressed after checking out punto.Mind you I and my mother have checked out polo and have spend quiet some time with i20 asta AT.

But I don't "hate" the interior of the punto.

Did you actually feel that way.I have spend quiet some time with an i20 AT asta.I have been into figo,polo.I think our Chevrolet beat is known to have a much better interior than the figo.Beat is known for its impressive quality.

I have checked punto 2012 75 hp emotion today this evening.

Oh yes,fit and finish is not great,on a brand new car,the driver side power window controls cam off from one side.I pushed it and it was almost on its place.the only think the came off from our Chevrolet beat was the small plastic cover that wraps around the nob for controlling the side mirrors that too it happened after one year and few months and I was impressed with the quality of that little plastic cover.Kudos to Chevrolet.Beat has very good build quality and doors close with a thud.
Punto feels very solid.

Me and my mother was left impressed after checking out punto.Mind you I and my mother have checked out polo and have spend quiet some time with i20 asta AT.

I also need to add that the plastic cover that wraps around the nob used for controlling the side view mirror had two nice blue colored hooks on it to keep in in its place.

I think "depressing" literally does not mean "Hate" .

interior looks are quite poor for 8 lakh+ premium car.even though it is loaded with features but not well portrayed. USB port remains super hidden ,and couple of other useful functions are not at fingertip for contemporary standards

Punto interior requires a major make over in aesthetics department if they Fiat wants sales meter ticking fast.

The new generation Punto abroad has quite promising and tempting interiors but in India it is same old decade old plastic love it or loath it looks.

reflecting very well as measly sales figures.

Tata sales are just about 6 thousand odd more than M&M Which has far less offerings in the market than tata.
Something is just not right with Tata.

+10. Its actually 2000.

TATA sold 22658 cars whereas Mahindra sold 20006.

More importantly, TATA has small budget diesel cars which contributes to more than half of it's total sales.

If Mahindra launches small cars, then TATA would shift down to the 4th position (after Maruti, Hyundai & Mahindra). But I dont want M&M to lose their focus. They are UV specialists and should stick to UVs.

Tata sales are just about 6 thousand odd more than M&M Which has far less offerings in the market than tata.
Something is just not right with Tata.
If Mahindra launches small cars, then TATA would shift down to the 4th position (after Maruti, Hyundai & Mahindra). But I dont want M&M to lose their focus. They are UV specialists and should stick to UVs.
@Raja, Now you should realize why some of us the members were continuesly bashing Tata.

If my memory is right you once asked elsewhere what is wrong with us people and why all the time bashing game only with Tata cars.
well there is seriously wrong strategy with Tata products and marketing and it is reflecting so very well in the end of the month..lol.

single word "indifference".[roll]

they somehow believed that by increasing the price of their products, some wallet healthy people will fall pray for it..but it dint work out for long.

They continued pushing cheap, low quality products on us in the name of VFM, at present very few are interested in them as of now most of us are aware of pathetic condition of theirs .

@Raj:
+10 to you.
M&M must focus on making SUVs only.Why?Because EXCLUSIVENESS BRINGS FAME AND PERFECTION.
SUVs are where M&M is strongest and I believe that if they try to concentrate on the mass market then they may also have to face a downfall.
Waiting for Mini Xylo,but i am doubtful if it will do any fortunes..
One more issue:With upcoming competition and cars like Ertiga etc as well as the upcoming ones like Duster,Ecosport etc,M&M may also face some heat.

About Tata's condition..It looks like they now need to increase the staff's salary instead of the price of their cars...:lol!: