Car & Manufacturer Wise Monthly Sales

Dhaya, I spotted couple of Aria's on road.

Let me check with the RM about your ride.

PM me your details of booking.

Here we go with the stats of the car sales figures in the month of December 2010:

Hyundai reported a marginal increase in the sales. The company sold 47,228 units during this month as compared to 47,217 units sold in the same month last year. Segment wise, the A2 segment of cars (Santro Xing, i10, i20) accounted for 42,397 units during this month. On the other hand, the A3 segment of cars (Accent and Verna) registered sales of 4,708 units. The sales of Hyundai Sonata Transform, which is an A5 segment vehicle, stood at 21 units during this month.

Mahindra & Mahindra reported a jump of 41.92 percent in its total sales during December 2010. M&M sold a total of 34,062 units during this month as compared to 24,001 units sold in the same month preceding year. The total sales of company’s utility vehicles (Xylo, Bolero and Scorpio) and Pick-Ups, stood at 14,705 units during this month, as against 11,904 units sold in the same month last year, accounting for a growth of 23.53 percent. On the other hand, the sales of company’s only sedan model – Mahindra Logan – stood at 896 units during this month, as compared to mere 308 units sold in December 2009.

Tata Motors has posted a sales growth of 30.63 per cent to 67,441 units in the month of December 2010. The company had sold a total of 51,627 units during the same month last year. he sales of company’s world famous car Tata Nano stood at 5,784 units during this month, registering a strong growth of 60 percent over the same period last year. The company’s highest selling car – Indica – stood at 5,923 units, registering a growth of over 40 percent from the units sold in December 2009. On the other hand, sales of company’s Indigo series of cars stood at 5,234 units, up by 3 percent over the same period preceding year. The sales of company’s sports utility vehicles (SUV’s) including Sumo and Safari, grew by 62 percent to 2,765 units.

Ford had sold a total of 29,488 units in the calendar year 2009. Comparing the December months, in the month of December 2010, Ford India has posted a growth of 172 per cent over the sales of same month last year. Since the Figo's launch in March 2010, the company has sold more than 60,000 units of the hatchback in the country. (Courtesy: Cartrade India)

Stunned with the figures. Who is too be blamed ?

Maruti
Honda
VW

3 Brands have totally outclassed Fiat. Fiatshould think differently.
The biggest challenge for FIAT is TATA [:)] Most of the people are impressed with FIAT and its quality products, which is not just a good enough reason to buy FIAT. All are worried about the hopeless and step-mother treatment from TATA (read - dealerships, service centers etc). Unless FIAT establishes them selves in India, it will be tough for them to pull in numbers. Indian buyers will never put their money at stake. As of now, buying FIAT is a calculated risk due to the TATA factor, which 95% buyers would like to avoid. Please note, no offense mend here. It just that they should have given the same interest they are giving for Vista based products.

Nano figurers have increased by 10 times.

Kudos to TATA Motors. Great effort by increasing the Warranty on engine life, retro fitment for safety and easy finance options.

where is fiat sales for december, are they done with india , packed and gone?

i dont think tata-fiat jv is creating problems for fiat , before jv with tata, fiat was even worse.that was the only reason fiat could'nt make out anything .

fiat has such reputation almost everywhere around the globe"love it or hate it"

poor tata is being blamed for turin's silly politics.

Fiat

Linea : 189
Punto : 62
Palio : 23
500 : 1
Following might improve FIAT sales:
1. Introducing something similar to chevrolet promise
2. Overhaul sales (front desk) team
3. Better interiors for Punto.

my friend bought Punto MJD E+ one year back. Sales people were trying to convince him to buy Vista (at that time Vista doesnt have ABS, other safety features, so he ruled that out.)

Now, vista comes with ABS, airbags - with high probability people who went to Tata-Fiat showroom to buy Punto end up with buying either Vista [or, different make car - i20, ...].

nano is no surprise for me ,was expecting around 8000nos.

so for fiat countdown is looking good.
maybe within one month and they will achieve zero.

my friend bought Punto MJD E+ one year back. Sales people were trying to convince him to buy Vista
my case was opposite as a budget conscious regular indian i went for vista in tata showroom,where in i saw punto and linea had a chance to compare many cars with it.

i just wished to own one of them in near future. and within an year i did it;from vista to punto!!

but if fiat was standing out in some lonely showrooms in crowded city or suburbs i wouldn't have minded to go there.

Fiat

Linea : 189
Punto : 62
Palio : 23
500 : 1
Following might improve FIAT sales:
1. Introducing something similar to chevrolet promise
2. Overhaul sales (front desk) team
3. Better interiors for Punto.
That Fiat India has a crisis on their hands would be a HUGE understatement! While the products are good in a lot of aspects, their marketing effort has left much to be desired. A prime example being their engines.

The Fiat 1.3 MJD engine is also known as the diesel engine to the nation. Featured in the Maruti-Suzuki Swift, the DZire and the Ritz. This very same engine also powers the Tata twins - the Vista and the Manza. And the two companies out-sell the Fiat offerings like no other [frustration]. And for all those from the Fiat 'camp' making noises for the poor sales, let's leave the Maruti-Tata camp aside.

This December, Mercedes-Benz managed to sell 371 Units of their E-Class. A 50 Lakh Rupee Luxury Saloon outselling the offerings of Fiat! Unbelievable, but True!

Apart from the pointers mentioned by Gagi, the one thing that comes to my mind immediately on glancing upon the Fiat figures is the 'Brand Value'. Maybe it is time for Fiat to throw in all their might behind the sales and service support before moving onto the marketing team, else they might as well change to what they are excelling at, making MJD Engines!

p.s. thanks for the patience, saddening for this die-hard auto lover to see such a good brand waste away.

Cheers :)

where is fiat sales for december, are they done with india , packed and gone?

i dont think tata-fiat jv is creating problems for fiat , before jv with tata, fiat was even worse.that was the only reason fiat could'nt make out anything .

fiat has such reputation almost everywhere around the globe"love it or hate it"

poor tata is being blamed for turin's silly politics.

Yup i too feel the same....
They should come up with something special... Briliant engines are not helping their cause... People want a very smooth gear shifts too... FIAT gearbox not upto mark.... Maruti has a very good gearbox feel and hence scores over FIAT...

FIAT should also stop comparing themselves to HONDA.... Get to Maruti Niche market... Slash prices.... Better interior quality is the need of the hour....

Nissan India registers domestic sales of 1104 nos. in December 2010

Chennai, January 4, 2011: Nissan Motor India Private Ltd (NMIPL) today announced that it has registered total domestic sales of 1104 nos. for the month of December 2010 as against 12 nos. in December 2009.

Out of the 1104 units, Nissan Micra, the made-in-India Global compact hatchback leads the sales figures with 1057 units in December 2010 as against 1029 nos. sold in November 2010. The company has so far sold 6441 units of Nissan Micra since sales began on July 15, 2010.

Out of the remaining, Nissan Teana, the luxury sedan (CBU) clocked 14 nos. in December 2010 as against 6 nos. in December 2009 and Nissan X-trail; the lifestyle SUV (CBU) registered sales of 31 units as against 6 nos. in December 2009. Nissan also sold 2 nos. of it’s iconic sports car, Nissan 370Z in December 2010. So far, the company has sold 8 units of 370Z since its launch in January this year.

The Nissan Micra comes with a standard manufacturers’ warranty of 2 years/50,000kms (whichever is earlier). In order to understand customer needs and resolve their queries, Nissan has established ‘Nissan Care’ – A Customer Contact Centre. Customers can reach Nissan by dialing Toll-free No 1800-209-4080 or alternatively by writing an email to customercare.hai@email.nissan.in

As part of its after-sales commitment, in an effort to handhold the customers and provide them with round-the-clock assistance, Nissan has introduced a host of customer care and service schemes including Extended Warranty and Roadside Assistance for its products starting with the Micra.

Yup i too feel the same....
They should come up with something special... Briliant engines are not helping their cause... People want a very smooth gear shifts too... FIAT gearbox not upto mark.... Maruti has a very good gearbox feel and hence scores over FIAT...

FIAT should also stop comparing themselves to HONDA.... Get to Maruti Niche market... Slash prices.... Better interior quality is the need of the hour....
to be honest, when i look at the road (NH17) in front of my home ( north part of kerala) . i see it swarming with puntos and lineas. well i dont mean it is same as maruthis but just within two years where i used to see a fiat car once in a blue moon ,now every 6th or 7th car passing through is fiat. i must let you know that tata-fiat showroom/ss is at visible distance from my home or at a call out distance.
needless to mention ss remains crowded with tata cars but fiat owners say good about thier product to each other ,i myself experiencing same state of mind. so i believe sales figures must be some kind of abstract of a random assessment. not the overall car registered or bought . service is provided very good (sometimes only if we are bit serious kind ) but waiting for spares is still as it is.

at least i myself as a fiat owner is not much worried or concerned (fingers crossed!!!!) as i look at showroom with more fiat cars in front yard for sale than tata cars i feel insured.

Fiat India plans new strategy for India to increase car salesBy CarDekho Team 30 Dec, 2010 at 3:36:51 PM
Fiat India which is currently in alliance with Tata Motors, sells its cars across country under the partnership with the Indian counterpart but now it plans to develop its own strategy for the domestic auto market. The Italian auto manufacturer is working towards the new strategy to pick up the drowning sales graph of the company's car in the domestic auto market. As per the new marketing strategy it will be working towards making new promotional initiatives and marketing for a stronger car brand image and also increase on the sales and service network in India.

Fiat India has big plans to capture a major market share in India. The Italian craftsman plans to sell almost 1,30,000 units every year by 2014. The auto company is also working towards a new technology which it wishes to establish in the small car segment of under Rs 2 lakh. Fiat India is focusing on covering the small car market in India wherein will compete against Tata Nano ad Maruti Alto and the likes.

As per the auto industry experts, Fiat India's moderate performance in the Indian auto market is because of it drowning sales and poor sales and service network. Fiat in India uses Tata's network for sales and service of its cars. The Tata Motors and Fiat are in joint venture with equal partnership. As per the reports, Fiat India is way behind its set sales target of 50,000 cars for this fiscal year. But its weak sales and service network did not allow the company to achieve the target.

The Italian car maker has five car models in the Indian auto market Fiat Grande Punto, Fiat Linea, Fiat 500, Fiat Palio Stile and Fiat Palio Stile Multijet. Among these car models only two stand out in the Indian auto market.These are Fiat Linea and Fiat Grande Punto.

Fiat India, recently enjoyed a light moment as it saw a participation of 125 enthusiast from various parts of the country. Around 60, Fiat cars participated in the event which commenced in Pune. Fiat India is keen to establish itself again in the Indian auto market.

here is the link site car deko..

Auto News India - Fiat India plans new strategy for India to increase car sales | CarDekho.com

I am shocked to see the dipping sales of FIAT. For the past few months i have been keeping an eye on the FIAT sales and sadly theres no improvement in these figures. In the month of December when most of the manufacturers were able to boost up their sales, FIAT seems to have taken nose dive.
IMO the only way left for FIAT to achieve the targets is setup of independent dealerships.