Bought My First Car - Maruti 800 AC

Thread Starter #347
Paint it off before it starts rusting again. So what about that empty slot in the dash ?
I will surely do it, soon.

Anand, that welding job does not seem to be done well.I hope that it lasts long enough and doesn't give out cause of bad roads and road vibrations.
It looks like that, but the main cracked area has been welded. I too hope that it holds for a long time.

If you all are intrested in the same then i wud be starting a new thread tomorrow
Hi Anurabh,
Welcome to TAI, please go ahead & start your restoration thread. We would love to see the pictures & the restoration work progress etc.

Waiting for your thread

Anurabh - good Type 1 Car Orissa BBSR, If the engine has run nearly 1 lacs kilometer than kindly do the engine first.
use new oil and water pumps, bearings etc. then check the suspension all rubbrt parts needs to be changed, change to new shock absorbers it feels great with new Shocks,

get the complete body done and paint, there will be less rusting in bhubaneshwar and the body will be good enough and worth while to do these jobs.

start your thread and will be willing to contribute.

@japicle - i will do the restoration sometime next year because i will not be having enough time from my job.

@ SS80 - Venyl floring have many problems i have also encountered it will be better if you seal the water leakings and use original maruti floring.

I have started my first thread Restoring 1988 Maruti 800 ..Members your kind feedback pls..
Thank you silver dove,as i have already told that the restoration is complete now but many minor works are pending due to finance probs..for example
:-1)Steering box as a whole needs to be changed ,bcoz on smooth roads it rattles like hell..
2)hand brake Cable and handle needs to be changed
3)Front tyres
4)A/c doesnt work at daytime,but cools at nite.
5)front dash board glovebox cover.
6)Engine oil leak from oil sump.(1st 1 ltr brand new engine oil wasted in 5 days as the leakage was from oil switch,replaced,cost Rs.190)..
7)meters not working properly..(What will be cost of new/repair)

Pls post replies on my thread Restoring 1988 Maruti 800..

@arunabh8899:Please start a new thread and post all your questions.We will all be glad to help you sort them out as best we can.Just post a link here so we can go to your thread.

Hi SS80,good to see your nice interiors,but the gaps in the dash are looking very odd especially the big gap for the stereo,pls plan for some DIY so that i can also go for the same..any idea..?

Thread Starter #356
Hi SS80,good to see your nice interiors,but the gaps in the dash are looking very odd especially the big gap for the stereo,pls plan for some DIY so that i can also go for the same..any idea..?
Thanks Anurabh,
The gaps in the dashboard can be filled using same size plastic sheet (the one we use for switchboard in houses), you can refer to Mr.Rao's thread for the same. He has done a nice job on his center console gap for it. However I am desperately looking for a Used Dashboard as mine has a few cracks & I am not happy with my paint job. I will buy a used dashboard soon & paint it black & Beige or just black & fix it.

Wow ! Finally tumhari mehnath rang larahi hai (finally your hardwork is finally bringing results). Interior is looking nice SS80 !
Thanks RPM2500, the only part I am really happy about the interior is the roof & ICE. The floor is still yet to satisfy me. The dashboard & floor combination is something I will experiment again.

Varun: Thanks for the LEDs & the ICE menu settings, now the HU plays pretty loud & clear at volumes as low as 8 & 10. Previously with factory settings I needed atleast 28 to 30

Here is the LED cabin lamp.
led cabin 002.JPG

led cabin 005.JPG

led cabin 009.JPG

Hi SS80, you could have not cut the vinyl at the rear (middle) it looks a bit odd.

Any way those transparent mats are looking very nice.
Cabin lamp is pretty decent enough, what about using the same at rear ?

I would suggest to get a pair of speakers for the front.

Hi Dear TAI'ns,
can any one please assist me to take out the blower unit from dash without removing the dash board my cars ac vent gone inside the blower[frustration][cry]

SS80 i have a superb solution to your empty space in the dash !,
https://dx.com/p/3-8-lcd-digital-cl...eter-voltage-measuring-bar-for-vehicles-35152

I purchased it from dx.com and works perfectly fine, if you want you can drop in to my place and see how it looks in your dash. Power source is through ciggy lighter and has two options for the backlight i.e orange and blue

PS - Go through the reviews and pics of people who have purchased it , youll get a better idea