Bought My First Car - Maruti 800 AC

Dear ss80,
the same problem of wiper getting slow is in my car also,i will have to check it in an electrical shop,not very costly though,can somebody suggest for a new wiper motor price..i think changing it or repairing it (if in case) wont cost much..try keping a wet clth dipped in colin during rain,it will help u to prevent fog for a longer time..keep us updated..

Thread Starter #377
Varun: Thanks for the info, I will check the alternator output & also the wiper motor (if its getting too hot).

Arunabh: Yes, surely I will keep you posted about the motor.

New lock installation almost done, except for the steering/ignition lock.

The old & new door locks (Driver side has white colour plastic, left side is yellow colour plastic)
old & new locks.JPG

The hole without the lock & the tiny metal rod that connects to the lock.
The hole.JPG

This is how the lock looks from inside with a simple clamp holding on to it.
lock inside the door.JPG

New key inserted
new key.JPG

Old & the new key (Old one was always funny & weak (look at the extent to which the key was worn out!)
new & old screw 001.JPG

I am unable to remove the lock on steering column as it has these oneway screws (you can only tighten using flat screw driver but cant losen it). However I have to remove the steering wheel, stalk etc or simply take out the steering column with these things fit on them & fix it outside.
how to1.JPG
how to 2.JPG

Need your input guys on this screw thing.
I have completed replacing the locks on Hatch door & fuel tank lid.

Dear Anand SS80
I had also replaced my key set during the restoration,is that a minda or any other brand ? I opted for Minda as it is cheaper and reliable.As per my experience the steering and combination switch both have to be removed to get the lock installed,requires a lot of effort and a bit of skill to actually do that widout any probs,
I had noticed the screws (in the pic) that cannot be unscrewed once you have tightened it wrongly( in case )then u may damage it while reopening and screws have got no replacement.My mech had taken help of another person while doing it and was literally SWEATING[thinking][cry],and had used a special tool(cant remember the name) and another person holding it from other side.Kindly avoid a DIY as it is going to give you a lot of headache( if not now,then in the future)[frustration].
Other doors and diki you can do by urself...

And yes for your information you cannot take the steering column out with these things attached to it,if you try to open the steering wheel you can damage any part for sure.

Thread Starter #380
@ Arunabh8899: I too felt the same intially that its better I give it to mechanic. but then this is not so difficult, so I though let me give it a try. Will post more on this once I remove that one way screw from old lock. We can just disconnect the stalk wire & ignition wire plugs & remove five bolts so that the whole steering column along with steering comes out. But I too feel its easier work without steering wheel.

Tough DIY in progress:
I have started the work of replacing the door hinges & stoppers. Today stripped most of the front part to do so.

To replace the front door hinges we need to remove these things first.
1. Bumper
2. Front combo indicators & indicators on fenders
3. Fenders (remove the inner plastic liner first) & mudflaps
4. Front wheel (I dint have a short screw driver so I had remove the wheel to access those liner screws)

Let the pictures do the talking now [:)]
1 all dismantled (2).JPG

1 all dismantled (3).JPG
All stripping done to reach the front door hinges

2 Old hinges.JPG
The old hinges now accessible

3 seam crack.JPG
A crack in the seam (not sure if it is metal too, will check again tomorrow)

4 holding door.JPG
My friend holding the door (cant take the door away as the central locking wires were there)

5 new hinges lone.JPG
New MGP hinges fixed to chassy first

6 new hinges in place.JPG
The door fixed to it

Now comes the tricky part, the panel gaps are huge! I will have to deal with it tomorrow.
Please give me some tips on how to easily get the best alignment of doors.

Irregular gaps (1).JPG

Irregular gaps (2).JPG

PS: Today I was on leave & waited from morning for the rains & heavy drizzling to stop. It dint, so I started off with my work in rain with full speed. A nice warm jerkin backing me up & later a close friend joining me made it possible. Hope tomorrow it doesnt rain, as I want to spray some paint (left over in cans) on inner side of the fenders for added rust protection.

Hats off to you SS80 ! [clap] Replacing door hinges isn't such easy.

The crack is just the body filler need not to worry even my car has this crack.
For the door alignment you have to even adjust the lock too. Make sure the door doesn't sag down. Best thing is place stool/jack below the door raise it to the desired level and tighten the hinges you are done.

Regarding the IGN key replacement, I am seeing it for the first time.:sorry:

Make sure you rub off all the dust, apply primer before you fit back the fender.

Thread Starter #382
Thanks Varun, yes the door hinges are lot more difficult to do than what I assumed. Not sure how I will pull out that old lock, will update here with shortly. Yes the inside of fender will be painted before fitting back the fender.

Thread Starter #383
I could not do anything today, as the after effect of Nilam Cyclone was felt inside my car!
SO much water on the floor as the Vinyl was doing a wonderful job of not letting it drain & stink the interiors.

No more Vinyl, no more carpets till this water issue is sorted out. Kind of frustrated with water stagnating inside car, as a last attempt I will replace the rubber strips on chassy near all four doors. If this doesnt work, some serious decision about the car might have to be made.

I am sure the floor will start rusting soon if this water leak is not stopped.
001.JPG

002.JPG
Almost 1400rupees wasted (Vinyl carpet attempt) & transparent mats[cry]

This is what i have done for my car, Fibreglass coated floor. Reduces the under-body noises, prevents rust etc. This was my first ever experiment with the fibreglass 3 years ago. Doing great!
SS80, you can try this one after the problem sorted out. Varun here are the pictures you asked me. Thanks!

DSC_0604-TAI.jpg

DSC_0612-TAI.jpg

Thread Starter #386
Hi Sreejesh, Thanks a lot for the photos, I too am interested in this. Please share some info on where to buy this? cost & quantity too.

Update:
Installation of door hinges & stoppers on right side of the door is also complete. Alignment of door with Fender was a bit tough. Only the right rear door is not not closing properly (as smoothly as left side ones) as 3 of the 8 nuts (inside chassy) are spinning freely & those three bolts can neither be tightened nor be losened.

Here are the photos [:D]

oldy newy stopper.JPG
Old & new door stoppers

stopper inner pic.JPG
Interior pic of door with stopper

REAR DOOR HINGES.JPG
Rear door hinges fixed

front door hinges.JPG
Front door hinges fixed

stripped to core.JPG
This is the lighting condition + irregular drizzling, thanks to my friend helping me out to a great extent.

Please Note:
1. Replacing hinges is a two man job.
2. Do not do this as a DIY! if I had lost one bolt/damaged one more then I could have been in some serious trouble.
3. Aligning the front door is not complete without dummy installation of Fender.
4. DO NOT FIX the fender as soon as the front door is fixed, you may have to rework.
5. Not all screws in the wheel arch liner needs to be removed
6. Removing wheel is only for convenience & not a must.

RESULT OF REPLACING HINGES & STOPPERS:
- 70% of rattling issues vanished (not sure for how long though)
- New car like stiff doors
- two step opening & closing of doors

Next set of parts to be replaced to arrest rattling completely
- Bonnet hinges
- Grill
- Dashboard

This DIY was the toughest one I have done till date (even more than floor painting) & results are awesome.

You have done some serious work on this car, replacement of door hinges & stopper pin is not an easy task & you have accomplished it very professionally.
Great work Anand.[thumbsup]
PS: can you share the cost of stopper pins, i am contemplated on replacing them on my car as currently the door flies away when opened.

Though I am unable to view the pic's but I saw it live today. Job carried on was pretty good. The front right door needs be aligned a bit more.

Hi samsag12, the stoppers cost 50 rs each, I suggest replace only front ones. Rear ones wont give you the two/single step opening its just a rod to stop the door.

Thread Starter #389
Samsag & Varun:
Thanks a lot. Yes the front driver door needs be placed a bit more far from the fender. Today I saw the gap in your car & was helpful in guiding me in the alignment to be done.

Though I am unable to view the pic's but I saw it live today. Job carried on was pretty good. The front right door needs be aligned a bit more.

Hi samsag12, the stoppers cost 50 rs each, I suggest replace only front ones. Rear ones wont give you the two/single step opening its just a rod to stop the door.
Thanks for sharing the price Varun bhai, will get front ones changed.