Bought My First Car - Maruti 800 AC

Thread Starter #391
This time while driving to the meet I was noticing new problems in my car.
Here they are:
1. Gearbox Woos - Will ignore it for osme more time
2. Alternator not charging when MUSIC is played loud - Will connect a wire from alty to battry
3. Wheel alignment to be done - pretty soon
4. Rear left door squeaks - Will ignore it for osme more time
5. Fenders to be tightened a bit more - tomorrow
6. Bonnet hinges lose/need replacement - working on it now
7. Rear leaf spring squeaks are too loud & its weak - rubs the underbody generously on every hump - will ignore it for sometime

Yesterday I visited the ESSAR shop again & bought these items
1. Bonnet Hinges Type 1
2. Spray nozzles Type 1
3. Seat Recliners Type 2 with plastic covers

Here are some pictures
The previous bill for buying handbrake lever, hinges, stoppers etc
billy (2)-001.JPG

This bill part 1 (doensot contain the nozzle rate)
billy (1)-001.JPG

New Bonnet Hinges
bonnet hinges packet-001.JPG

bonnet hinges (1)-001.JPG

bonnet hinges (2)-001.JPG

bonnet hinges (3)-001.JPG

New type 1 Nozzles (bought two pairs, as these get rusted faster than OEM ones)
nozzie-001.JPG

Car Type 2 seat recliners - costly but worth it. Last time I bought type 1 (roller type) seat recliner (non-mgp) & they are absolute waste of money, so this time decided to go for only MGP.

recliners (2)-001.JPG

recliners (1)-001.JPG

Hmmmm a sudden pause might hit my car restoration. I will update by evening about it.

Thread Starter #392
New nozzles & plumbing installed

motor pipe.JPG

nozzle fit.JPG

plumbing route.JPG

Old & new plumbing. MGP just gives a lengthy piece of flexible pipe which can be cut & fit.
old & new plumbing.JPG
Due to the heat in the engine bay, this pipe tends to shrink in size (width) as time passes. It also becomes very hard & tends to crack sometimes.

Thread Starter #394
Thanks Visran, I too am hoping for the same.

This is not a nice news to share but I got no choice. Some facts before I proceed
Car bought - 70k (65K+5Regn etc)
Spent till now - 44.5K (approx amount - i will have to search some more bills to get to the exact amount)

Total Investment till date: 1.2Lacs

I have drained all my savings, monthly earnings etc in this restoration & now I have hit a road block wherein I find I have spent 1 month salary in advance & hence all purchases for my car will be on hold till some fresh source of income comes up. I will be installing whatever parts I have bought in the last few days & leave it as it is for sometime (not sure how many days/weeks/months - but definately not in years).

I have swiped my credit card 95% of the time only for my car. I dont regret the investment I made, but the results aren't really what I expected (especially with rain water leakage).

Selling this car is not in my mind, as it is my identity & my love. I will be active on the forum, but my car shall hibernate for a long time. Fuel is dry, tyres are half flat, battery will be in dead state in a few days.

I had planned to finish the whole restoration in just 30K! but now I realise my inexperience in cars & mad love for the same has put me in some serious times.

I am sure, My love for my car will continue to drive me crazy enough to get into some better jobs & higher pays.

I hope I will be able to gift a neat set of alloys by the time its her first anniversary in Feb 2013 [cry].

I went to such an extent that I quite liquor, trips with friends, shopping groceries, broadband to 2G mobile net, sold my bike, quite my old job for dedicating time to my lovely car. Now I am left with nothing else to give up, so finally putting a temporary pause on my car restoration in a few days.

Tomorrow I am likely to install the bonnet hinges, seat recliners & will disconnect the battery.

Sorry for boring you guys with my emotional story, but this is a friendly CAUTION sign to people like me (who dont have money, but love cars) Beware water here (in car restoration) is too deep. It is usually too late before we realise how deep we have gone.

Dear ss80 anand,
The things u spoke r the reality of a job holder and a car restoring enthusiasist like us,we can quit anything but not loving cars...sad thing is tht our pocket size is limited and love for cars unlimited,it sometimes restricts us to the stage which u r upto now.
Sad to hear tht your bloved car is going to hibernate ,but you have to keep ur soul alive as now..i had really began to watch your thread again and again,its simply amazing combination of hard work smart work,skills and obviously one thing JOSH..wat we call it in hindi.
Anyways,i have also been silent for the same regarding my 800..will get back soon
if u want to keep her stagnant for longer time then
1)remove the battery termnals and apply some vaseline over them so tht they dont get rusted
2)empty the petrol tank with only few ml left
3)get a gud cover of polythene
4)at last stay sometime with her and say 'have a nice sleep darling,see u soon"
b in touch buddy.[cry]

Hi SS80, I don't have any words to write here ! I wish you all the best for your future.

I am expecting you to give us a ride in your car by feb 2013 with alloys !

I went to such an extent that I quite liquor, trips with friends, shopping groceries, broadband to 2G mobile net, sold my bike, quite my old job for dedicating time to my lovely car. Now I am left with nothing else to give up, so finally putting a temporary pause on my car restoration in a few days.
I hear you SS80 i can relate to you.....

Anand Bhai,
I hope that this pause is a temporary one. All the best for your future. Get a good job soon and start more upgrades and DIYs.

I have passed from similar experience 10 years ago.. my experience says never loose hope and be positive against all odds
My best wishes for quick recovery from the Vitamin M Loss.

i would like to say all beginners in secondhand car purchase that wait for the purchase of correct CAR never just purchase because u want to purchase. evaluate the vehicle from all angles.

meanwhile in my car i am trying to replace the battery holder plate along with the wirings that you have shown in above pictures i Purchased MINDA ones. i also have water issue in my car though not from the wind shields.

i salute your effort

Thread Starter #403
Varun, Abdul, Shantanu, Silver Dove, Sagar, Visran, Sreejesh, Shashikanth...

Thanks a lot friends for the wonderful support. I have just started my job hunt & hope I land in some good job soon. In the meantime, I have a doubt regarding my battery.

In the past, whenever I disconnect the battery terminals & keep it away. It tends to lose all power. The battery doesnt hold required power to start the car after 10 - 15days, is this common in cars? How long should a battery be alright in disconnected state?

This issue doesnot arise if I start the car atleast once in a week.

Silver Dove:
Congrats on your new wiring, please be careful with the old bulb holders in tail lamps, they sometimes tend to short circuit when removed after a longtime. However if any fuse gets burnt once you install the wiring & try to switch on anything, it simply means the wiring is fine, may be one of the indicators/ other external device (headlamp/taillamp) has some issue.

I am so obsessed with my car & buying parts, that even thinking about a new desk job (9hrs a day! [sad]) makes me think, how unlucky I am [anger].But then this is how life goes on.

In the past, whenever I disconnect the battery terminals & keep it away. It tends to lose all power. The battery doesnt hold required power to start the car after 10 - 15days, is this common in cars? How long should a battery be alright in disconnected state?
My car's battery (AMCO 38Amps) also tends to discharge itself if kept disconnected for a week. Most of the car's batteries tend to loose power if kept unused for 10-15 days. Earlier when I was out for a tour I returned and found by battery discharged. Last when I went for the Mumbai trip I took my battery out for using as an emergency light with a CFL and charging using a charger. In the similar manner you make keep using the battery to keep it in proper condition.