Battle of the Entry Level UVs: Sumo Gold vs Bolero

Which UV is better buy at the moment

• Sumo Gold

Votes: 61 37.2%
  • Bolero

Votes: 103 62.8%

Mind you i am not talking of the recent sumos, mine is from the late nineties and the original one - it was a blockbuster success then and original sumo was very well received in the market too - offcourse it is now obsolete and superceded by more market relevant ones.

In terms of "reliability" this was the best from the tata stable really. (Noisy unrefined etc etc will still hold true but back then the choices were limited ).

IronRock

Nice pics of your Sumo, old is gold, how can we forget this which just killed the mahindra jeep mania in the country !! no offence for any Mahindra jeep owners please as that was the fact that time. 13 years wow !! what a service it has given to you and still ready to roar !![clap]

Koshik sir,

Navratra is coming,so have you decided to book GOLD? My suggestion to you would be to wait for Storme.I think it has all the potential to become a best-seller and also would meet all your requirements aplomb.

PS: Except providing 3000cc engine under 10 lac rupees,lol.
Yes I have recently seen Storme safari at Cargo motors , Ahmedabad.It was top version and absolutely superb. It is comparable with high end SUVs in terms of look and interiors.They do not give test drive and have no idea about price.The person who drove it to Cargo Motors told me that it is far superior to current safari in performance , handling and pick up power.It is absolutely silent like a mercedes diesel car.

My requirement is different and for that reason would go for Gold GX in early 2013.Also Gold will be cheap at about rs 8 lacks(on road ).Storme will be excellent for highway cruising and will comfortably touch 175km/h (based on my theoratical calculation of top speed).
For most of it's use in rural area Gold would just be fine. Also it is abuse friendly and has military type switches , knobs, buttons etc etc. No screen touch electronic gadgets or no blue tooth devices!!! But yet king like a lonely tusker elephant who can crush and smash any other car who would try to molest it !
The Gold engine was earlier used in Safari DICOR BSIII .It had 115 PS power @3000 rpm and 300 NM of torque. To make it BSIV compliant the JLR engineers cleaverly used FGT instead of VGT to avoid turbo lag and to increase fuel efficiency.In doing this the power was reduced to 85PS and torque to 250 NM.This was again cleverly compensated by bringing the max torque at very low rpm. The end result is that as you start the car it jumps like a rabit and no turbo leg can be expierenced. Also the sound proofing and vibration control is like a high end SUVs. In any car one can get the best fuel efficiency if driven at rpm where the maximm torque starts. So fuel economy of Gold is very good even with massive 3000 cc engine.

Yes I have recently seen Storme safari at Cargo motors , Ahmedabad.It was top version and absolutely superb. It is comparable with high end SUVs in terms of look and interiors.They do not give test drive and have no idea about price.The person who drove it to Cargo Motors told me that it is far superior to current safari in performance , handling and pick up power.It is absolutely silent like a mercedes diesel car.

My requirement is different and for that reason would go for Gold GX in early 2013.Also Gold will be cheap at about rs 8 lacks(on road ).Storme will be excellent for highway cruising and will comfortably touch 175km/h (based on my theoratical calculation of top speed).
For most of it's use in rural area Gold would just be fine. Also it is abuse friendly and has military type switches , knobs, buttons etc etc. No screen touch electronic gadgets or no blue tooth devices!!! But yet king like a lonely tusker elephant who can crush and smash any other car who would try to molest it !
The Gold engine was earlier used in Safari DICOR BSIII .It had 115 PS power @3000 rpm and 300 NM of torque. To make it BSIV compliant the JLR engineers cleaverly used FGT instead of VGT to avoid turbo lag and to increase fuel efficiency.In doing this the power was reduced to 85PS and torque to 250 NM.This was again cleverly compensated by bringing the max torque at very low rpm. The end result is that as you start the car it jumps like a rabit and no turbo leg can be expierenced. Also the sound proofing and vibration control is like a high end SUVs. In any car one can get the best fuel efficiency if driven at rpm where the maximm torque starts. So fuel economy of Gold is very good even with massive 3000 cc engine.
Dr desai please can you post the info of strome on strome thread please please since members will have some 1 other then me too giving the feedback after seeing the vehicle in real .

I saw the strome in real inside out yesterday in Mumbai and I share the exact views like you about how it looks please I would appreciate that you post your views on strome thread .

Here is the link you can see the pics I posted and my mini review too on page 212 and pics on page 213 .

The link of the thread is this

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...i-storme-now-officially-breaks-cover-212.html

Dr.desai

Pretty nice review of Sumo Gold which really tempts me to have a TD very soon !!
I tried for TD today at one of the TATA showroom but unfortunately I was running out of time as went there for Vista finalisation and TD vehicle has gone for some long place in the city where I have to wait for a hour. But will do the TD of this horse very very soon and post my comments [:)]

Thread Starter #246
The Gold engine was earlier used in Safari DICOR BSIII .It had 115 PS power @3000 rpm and 300 NM of torque. To make it BSIV compliant the JLR engineers ...
I know LR has actively helped TATA in Storme development,but have they helped TATA in GOLD's tuning as well??!! If yes then it explains why GOLD is so smooth to drive.[:)]

I am in possession of Tata Sumo Gold CR4 with AC but without power steering ! This is from a corporate office and have kindly granted my request to allow me to use it at my disposal . As long as I will be working with this firm I will be using it.May be for about a week. I will try to explore many things in Gold and surely will subject it to various torture tests !!! I will be happy to share if the outcome is interesting.

Tata Sumo sale has been increased to 3335 units in September 2012 from 3129 units in August 2012. Small improvement. Mahindra Quanto sale over 1700 units in the very first month.Zylo sale decreased by 25 % . Duster sale over 4000 units. All these indicates that people are after more modern look.

So far I Haven't seen the new Sumo gold.
Unlike other cars in segment Sumo has always remained in shadow Blame Tata for step daughter treatment.
Does it comes with 4x4 ,if not why ?

Visit my city, you'll find hundreds of 'em.

No, none of the variants are 4x4, their main goal is to capture the Bolero sales and to serve the taxi/cab market add rural purposes if you want.
To me these are dated Ideas and short lasting.
cad segment has gone bit more advanced , I call a Indica vista or Tavera or Innova ,never a sumo .
sumo is sluggish with poorest ride quality,nonetheless there are no sumo cabs in our home town.
just imagine 0-100 in 35 seconds, for long drive it would be a pain.

September sales figures of these two icon's

Bolero-9499
Sumo -3335

Amazing to see an overpriced decade old MUV selling close to 5 digit mark, which even quite a few well priced hatchback's still dream of achieving.

Visran it is silly to compare bolero sales figure with sumo. Hope you are aware about bolero pickup trucks being sheepishly added in passenger section.

please come up with Tata xenon and sumo combined sale, let us see.