Audio System Upgrade on Hyundai Verna Fluidic

@neil.vernafluidic, thanx for a quick nd to the point reply.
Nw, m gonna get my Verna CRDi, SX (O) soon, and i'm really confused abt the ICE.
I’m going to ask the questions. You guys can make fun of me, or even kick me out of the club if you want. Bt will really appreciate some expert advice frm here, as i dont trust the dealers at all.
I've read this post thoroughly nd decided to replace all 4 speakers of my car, may be the HU too, (If required), install a decent Amp and a Sub.

1) Planning to replace all 4 speakers with Infinity Kappa 63.9i (~10k)
2) Rockford 600W, 5Ch Amp (~17k)
3) 1 Infinity Kappa Series Sub (~10k)

Hw good is the Existing Factory Fitted HU? Will it fit the configuration that i intend to install?

Should i gt the Sub in a Vented box or a Bandpass box?

Hw to judge if i'm getting the genuine speakers and sub or not. i know of only 2 places in delhi to gt a decent Variety of ICE (KB, nd LajpatNagar)

pls treat me as a novice and suggest to the max.
thanx in advance.

Why i am not getting email notification while updates in threads!!!

anyways..

as your sub has SVC 4 ohm , try to get amp that has around 340 rms @ 4 ohm ( means that amp can have 500 to 600 rms @ 2 ohm)... and when you connect the sub keep your gain at 4 ohm. little less then max.

This kind of setup is best choice. Your sub will give optimum output. and your amp wont be overloaded as gains are at half. Longer life. (but if you will provide full power from amp to sub in this case one day you will get a fried sub like i did with my infinity)

Hey neil
The JBL GTO 3501 mono is only 225W RMS at 4ohm and 360W RMS at 2 ohm. This mean this mono still remained underpowered as compared to my sub 340W RMS 4ohm. Will my sub give maximum output at 225W RMS 4ohm of mono. How will be the connections for maximum output?

Secondly i have talked on mobile to my ICE dealer. He said he will thouroughly check the wiring and will check out what is the exact reason of this problem. He said the existing 2 channel will give you proper sound after it. For my safer side please tell me how should be amp connections for 2 channel(Herts HE2).

Thanks Freakdude.
Can you please suggest the best options available in this budget (20K for speakers and wiring) ?
Thanks in advance [:)].
-Harish
In 20k , you can get some best speakers.

First choice - Focal access speakers.
then polk audio
then hertz / infinity kappa / Helix

you will get all 4 speakers from any of the above brand withing 10k i guess.
keep 4 to 5k for good wiring.

Hw good is the Existing Factory Fitted HU? Will it fit the configuration that i intend to install?
Hw to judge if i'm getting the genuine speakers and sub or not. i know of only 2 places in delhi to gt a decent Variety of ICE (KB, nd LajpatNagar)
thanx in advance.
nice to meet first doctor on TAI. btw in which faculty you are?

Factory HU is not that good. but if you have powerful amps and good speakers it will do the needful.

The choices you made is really good for SQ.
I hope you will get all that products.

I have never heard how bandpass boxes are. but vented boxes are good too.
Always ask for original warranty card and bill from dealer. If he says sir no need of bill , then something fishy.
I am not from delhi so no idea. may be freakdude can help you with local dealers.

Hey neil
The JBL GTO 3501 mono is only 225W RMS at 4ohm and 360W RMS at 2 ohm. This mean this mono still remained underpowered as compared to my sub 340W RMS 4ohm. Will my sub give maximum output at 225W RMS 4ohm of mono. How will be the connections for maximum output?

Secondly i have talked on mobile to my ICE dealer. He said he will thouroughly check the wiring and will check out what is the exact reason of this problem. He said the existing 2 channel will give you proper sound after it. For my safer side please tell me how should be amp connections for 2 channel(Herts HE2).
ya its 225 rms @ 4 ohm, so from what i think , only 225 rms power will go to sub. even if you set gains at full , subs resistance is 4 ohm and it will not take that extra power. but still i am not sure , this theory is true or not. i ill find it out.

i gave you link few posts back about how should be your wiring with he2 amp.
with this he2 amp , i am not sure it will perform good. sub needs more power.
can you post pic of your sub?

@neil.vernafluidic, thanx for a quick nd to the point reply.
Nw, m gonna get my Verna CRDi, SX (O) soon, and i'm really confused abt the ICE.
I’m going to ask the questions. You guys can make fun of me, or even kick me out of the club if you want. Bt will really appreciate some expert advice frm here, as i dont trust the dealers at all.
I've read this post thoroughly nd decided to replace all 4 speakers of my car, may be the HU too, (If required), install a decent Amp and a Sub.

1) Planning to replace all 4 speakers with Infinity Kappa 63.9i (~10k)
2) Rockford 600W, 5Ch Amp (~17k)
3) 1 Infinity Kappa Series Sub (~10k)

thanx in advance.
Wonderful choice of equipment dude.

I guess it would be better if you go for RF P1 sub in a sealed box as the 5th channel of RF amp you have chosen wont be good enough for your Infinity sub(which do not kick that low in first place itself). May I suggest a GZ sub in place of Infinity paired with a GZ mono amp. You'll be blown away by the SQL effect.

Regarding installers, try visiting Driven in East of Kailash or Motor Concepts in Kirti Nagar. Both are wonderful installers and know what they are doing.

You can keep the HU intact as the equipment you have chosen will more than make up for it.

freakdude.

Hey neil

Buddy, try your hands on Rockford Fosgate P500-1BD amp. Too delicious an amp and would be around 15K.

freakdude.

Wonderful choice of equipment dude.

I guess it would be better if you go for RF P1 sub in a sealed box as the 5th channel of RF amp you have chosen wont be good enough for your Infinity sub(which do not kick that low in first place itself). May I suggest a GZ sub in place of Infinity paired with a GZ mono amp. You'll be blown away by the SQL effect.

Regarding installers, try visiting Driven in East of Kailash or Motor Concepts in Kirti Nagar. Both are wonderful installers and know what they are doing.

You can keep the HU intact as the equipment you have chosen will more than make up for it.

freakdude.
@freakdude, thanx for the advice.

So as u suggested, RF P1 Sub is better then the Infinity Kappa Series Sub, so i'd settle for it.
Nw, since i'll be using a RF 600Watt 5ch Amp, kindly suggest if i shd get a 500 Watt Sub or a 1000Watt sub. Also pls suggest which is better
a 4ohm sub or a 8ohm sub.:stupid:

I'd visited an ICE dealer recently in KB nd felt tht thy are just selling "things" as per your budget, and don't know any **** about compatibility. Thy just go by our pockets.

I was suggested "Component Speakers" frm JBL/Infinity/RF costing ~ Rs.5200/5800/5800 respectively, instead of Infinity Kappa 63.9i. I'm told tht Infinity Components are better for treble, and RF Components for bass. Any Suggestions??

Also, he suggested me some local 1500Watt, 5 channel, double coil Amp (~6.5k) with a 1250 watt JBL Base Tube
:please::help:

@freakdude, thanx for the advice.

So as u suggested, RF P1 Sub is better then the Infinity Kappa Series Sub, so i'd settle for it.
Nw, since i'll be using a RF 600Watt 5ch Amp, kindly suggest if i shd get a 500 Watt Sub or a 1000Watt sub. Also pls suggest which is better
a 4ohm sub or a 8ohm sub.:stupid:

I'd visited an ICE dealer recently in KB nd felt tht thy are just selling "things" as per your budget, and don't know any **** about compatibility. Thy just go by our pockets.

I was suggested "Component Speakers" frm JBL/Infinity/RF costing ~ Rs.5200/5800/5800 respectively, instead of Infinity Kappa 63.9i. I'm told tht Infinity Components are better for treble, and RF Components for bass. Any Suggestions??

Also, he suggested me some local 1500Watt, 5 channel, double coil Amp (~6.5k) with a 1250 watt JBL Base Tube
:please::help:
What you are being told is the words of every other mujic installar shop wala ki language. Dont fall for them buddy.
Reason I suggested RF P1 is because your amp's 5th channel is not sufficient for the infinity sub where as it would be OK for P1. If you are ok with decent tight bass then RF sub is fine for you. But if you are looking for heavy bass then GZ sub paired to a mono is your way.

Infinity components are brighter so that is true but RF components are not bass oriented. They are more on the musical and warmer side. If you want your midbass to be punchy stick to your original choice or alternatively try to source bull audio components, nothing like them for their price.
Regarding the sub, a 4ohm or a 2 ohm is good.

freakdude.

But if you are looking for heavy bass then GZ sub paired to a mono is your way.

freakdude.
in bangalore i cant find this spl JL/ GZ etc brands or even bull.
Even getting desired model of rockford /kicker/polk etc is very tough. usually they have most basic models and not the one we need.
here if you go to dealer , they will mindwash you to buy mostly JBL then pioneer/sony/ and infinity at last. if you ask for anything else , then it's not good.

I said to one dealer , i am searching for Focal , he said sir those brands are not good at SQ , JBL dalao mast sound ayega. I just said ok i will come later then.

i dont know whether GZ/JL available in bangalore or may be i have to search more.

Today I went around ICE shopping in Hyderabad. Thanks to the guys who posted in this thread (especially Neil n Freakdude) I could atleast make some sense of what those shopwallahs were talking.

I wanted to buy the following ,

Focal Polyglass 165 VB Component kit
Focal Polyglass 165 CVX Coaxials
Focal solid 4 Amp

Tried entire Minister's road, LB Stadium and a bit of Koti as well, but couldn't find any of these [cry]. Many people there don't even know this brand. I will try in the other part of the city on monday. Can any Hyderabad guys please direct me where to find these?

But in case I don't get these,can you please suggest what to go for in Polk/Infinity as these seem to be available there?

-Harish

Focal is a very less heard brand buddy. If you find it nothing like it. Your next best bet is polk if you like laid back sounds and infinity if you like a bit brighter high notes. Both are nice. Also,if audition and availability is there, try RF and Morel Maximos too.

freakdude.

Your next best bet is polk if you like laid back sounds and infinity.
freakdude.
Thanks freakdude. Can you also let me know specific models in Polk and Infinity to look at?

Infinity I guess Kappa 63.9i is good for co-axials. What should I look at for component? Also what models in Polk?
(One dealer quoted 5800 and 3800 respectively for Polk component and coaxials. he wasn't forthcoming in giving the model numbers though.)

Harish.

Thanks freakdude. Can you also let me know specific models in Polk and Infinity to look at?

Infinity I guess Kappa 63.9i is good for co-axials. What should I look at for component? Also what models in Polk?
(One dealer quoted 5800 and 3800 respectively for Polk component and coaxials. he wasn't forthcoming in giving the model numbers though.)

Harish.
I guess the 5800 is for the SR series model SR6500. Nice entry level component set from Polk. I would suggest if you find Morels in your town then they would seriously impress you.

freakdude.

Polk DB6501- Components -Front
Polk DB651 - Co-axials - Rear
JBL GTO 1004 Amp
Infinity Reference 1260W 12" Sub
Scosche Wiring

Planning to go for this combination. Will use the amp to power front speakers and the sub. Any comments Gurus?

My amp problem is now solved. The dealer replaced the existing HE2 amp with Blaupunkt velocity series amp with 2k price difference. Now there is terrific bass sound from my polk sub. He has made some changes now. The current to amp is now given throgh key current. He has installed gain convertor which converts high in lows and these lows are connected to new amp through new RCA cable. Till now system is working fine and bass reproduction is excellent. But i have given warning to the dealer if this system also fails, he has to return my whole money without any argue and will go to consumer coart.

is this type of wiring is good?