Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Premier

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Chevrolet

Votes: 1 1.1%
  • Brand Doesn't Matter

Votes: 14 15.7%

Who buys tata sumo for city commuting [surprise]. Can't even think off sumo or bolero for city families. You are also very much aware about there usage and who buys this type of vehicle. They are mostly used for taxi purposes by tourist operators.
There are many families today use Sumo as their family car as it is the only car that offer huge space and beats innova for the space and money.

I am not denying that [:)] but as i said earlier in my post these vehicles are "mostly" used by tour operators and the enterprises / companies for commercial purposes.

There are many families today use Sumo as their family car as it is the only car that offer huge space and beats innova for the space and money.

Another hypothesis cracked in my mind.. Suppose, you are blindfolded, taken to a big open field, where every available production car <10-12 lakhs (middle class view point - Remember [drive] ) is kept in a line, and you are asked to pick up any 1 (and only 1) as your free gift, and you are given just 2 mins to do so (where you cannot go back and refer and compare technical specs), then which one will you PICK? [evil]
Even if we are blindfolded , still atleast I will select a car which fits my requirements best' I will still care zero for the brand . Someone else who is a brand lover might pick something from the brand he loves has to offer .
Why you think such exercise is needed ? What human behavior you want to study out of this ?

@ic, Why do you want TAI ns in the world of imagination and hypothesis. It is the research done by the person(before being blindfolded) which is going to matter most rather than mere brand name.
+1000.

Even if we are blindfolded , still atleast I will select a car which fits my requirements best' I will still care zero for the brand . Someone else who is a brand lover might pick something from the brand he loves has to offer .
Why you think such exercise is needed ? What human behavior you want to study out of this ?

+1000.
In general thats what you,me and everyone else will do. Check if it fits our requirement. But here, in this case its only 2 mins to check "all" the cars bro. So considering that and not considering the brand, I will opt for the costliest drive on show

I am not denying that [:)] but as i said earlier in my post these vehicles are "mostly" used by tour operators and the enterprises / companies for commercial purposes.
So what is your opinion about etios , maruti desire , sx4 , wagon r and santro and alto ? In Mumbai they are used as offical taxis .

In general thats what you,me and everyone else will do. Check if it fits our requirement. But here, in this case its only 2 mins to check "all" the cars bro. So considering that and not considering the brand, I will opt for the costliest drive on show
First I need to be a completely naive person who doesn't know anything about automobiles to get into this situation .
Because if you and me are put in this situation and being automobile lovers we will have a rough idea on what cars are offering what qualities and will select a car based on our requirement right ?
And if some one with zero knowledge choose a car , based on brand only or the most expensive car it will be a not a rational desicion but a desicion based on imagination and luck or blind love for a brand .
Beside that 2 min decisions are snap decisions they are part of our evolution but are void of critical thinking . ( to understand the topic better you can read Malcolm Gladwell 's book " the blink " or Daniel Kahnenamn's book " think slow think fast " )

Nissan !
Skyline, Silvia, fairlady z series & GT-R are made by Nissan only .
am a skyline person so ya will go for Nissan

First I need to be a completely naive person who doesn't know anything about automobiles to get into this situation .
Because if you and me are put in this situation and being automobile lovers we will have a rough idea on what cars are offering what qualities and will select a car based on our requirement right ?
And if some one with zero knowledge choose a car , based on brand only or the most expensive car it will be a not a rational desicion but a desicion based on imagination and luck or blind love for a brand .
Beside that 2 min decisions are snap decisions they are part of our evolution but are void of critical thinking . ( to understand the topic better you can read Malcolm Gladwell 's book " the blink " or Daniel Kahnenamn's book " think slow think fast " )
Agree with you here. To look at it a broader way. We would have driven most of the cars on show and will have a rough memory of what it felt like in the drivers seat. Reason being same we are automobile lovers. We would love to drive different vehicles. I am sure you would have driven many more motors apart from your own.[;)]
This is a seriously difficult situation to be in (unless it happens ofcourse, and it never will). Thats why I had said I will not want to be in situation like this.
EErrrrrrrr!!! wait !! I wish I should. Take a brand new car, (remember I will buy the costliest on show) and sell(resell) it. Get extra bucks off your pockets and get a higher segment Civic,cruze,elantra [evil]
OT: I think I have read this book, the blink. Isn't it slight creamish in its cover ?

Answer is simple - whoever wants to
Yes you can say that but fact is very few people opt [;)]

Why can't you think of these vehicles for city families? Are these vehicles equivalent to submarines or spacecrafts? Please clarify.
I can not think of because for me they are not at all comfortable and i don't want such a big vehicle for city commuting. You may like to have submarines or spacecrafts for yourself for that but that is all personal decision. After all it's democracy.

Maybe so but still these vehicles have not been banned from private personal use? Correct? So whats stopping anybody from buying it?
Absolutely correct but you have to ask people only as I have already clarified my point above.

Yes my dear it is a failure from a company sales perspective & wrong image portrayed for marketing etc. But from an innovation & cost to customer maybe its not. When you get nothing else but barely an auto rickshaw for under 2lakhs today TM is giving you a real car with AC etc for roughly the same cost. Tell me how is this a bad deal to the customer & How is this a failure?
Failure is a failure, you can have n number of reasons for the same. People don't just like that buy innovated product. Aam Aadmi think a lot before putting their hard earned money and in that perceptive nano failed to hit the right cord in the common mans heart. Even the HONDA Jazz was a failure for HONDA because of obvious reasons.

The onroad cost of M&M EVo is lesser than Honda Brio & both are almost same size & meant for city use, only that running cost of eVo is 50ps perkm & Brio is Rs5 perkm. So tell me where is the high initial cost? If you meant high initial cost for OEM then how does the customer care about that? as long as he is getting the car for a cost he finds reasonable.
First of all you can not compare these two vehicles as they are totally of different league. It seem you are not aware about the price and dimensional details of two cars. However if you compare with respect to Price, i want to clarify that Evo has only two variants of highest priced at 7.135 whereas Brio has six variants priced from 4.26 lakhs to 6.30 lakhs Ex showroom. Even the top variants has the price difference of over 80K in ex showroom price, leave apart the on-road. Also, brio is much bigger and heavier than Evo.

It is not that people have not checked Evo, even i had checked it before finalizing. But when i am getting brio at 4.9 lakhs on road, why i like to spend 8 lakhs for Evo and than 1.2 to 1.5 lakhs every 2-3 years for the replacement of batteries. For me that was not acceptable even though running cost of Evo is 50 Paisa per km. As i said earlier said, still some time is there for electric vehicles to become competitive in the market and it may come up with more innovations.

Bottomline is one need not justify his choice to anybody whether it be a Brio or a Land Rover. You spend your money the way you want to. Right?
Your bottom line is not correct and answer is right there because i can definitely justify my purchase as i am the one who is spending the money and if you check my earlier posts i am justifying only mine not others. But looks like you are trying to justify Tata motors and Mahindra vehicle which is good even i like it. As an indian i am proud on TATA and Mahindra & Mahindra. I own good quantity of equity shares of both the automomile companies too[:D]. But when it comes to putting your hard earned lakhs of money in something, we go for more reliable and practical things. Definitely i do that [clap]

So what is your opinion about etios , maruti desire , sx4 , wagon r and santro and alto ? In Mumbai they are used as offical taxis .
Boss you are also taking me wrong, when i have said the cars which are used for taxi purpose cannot be used for personal use. As far as the models you have indicated, except Etios-petrol verson all other models I have recommended to others as per the individual preferences and requirement[:)]. But I admit, I have never recommended Sumo or Bolero to anyone.

I am not against any brand but it is like I am more towards HONDA and Maruti for Petrol versions[:D].

Yes you can say that but fact is very few people opt
Bolero is the 5th largest selling car in India & the most selling UV in India for almost a decade now, get your facts right before you say very few people opt.[:)]

I can not think of because for me they are not at all comfortable and i don't want such a big vehicle for city commuting. You may like to have submarines or spacecrafts for yourself for that but that is all personal decision. After all it's democracy.
True a guy on a two wheeler or bicycle may find a Brio too big for city commuting. It is indeed a democracy!

Absolutely correct but you have to ask people only as I have already clarified my point above.
Reason for asking you is your lines "You are also very much aware about there usage and who buys this type of vehicle. They are mostly used for taxi purposes by tourist operators."

Failure is a failure, you can have n number of reasons for the same. People don't just like that buy innovated product. Aam Aadmi think a lot before putting their hard earned money and in that perceptive nano failed to hit the right cord in the common mans heart. Even the HONDA Jazz was a failure for HONDA because of obvious reasons.
Good one! Nano has sold average 2000 units per month till date & Brio sells something like 1400 units per month? By that standard if you go by popularity & sales numbers only then Brio is an even bigger failure in the Indian market.

First of all you can not compare these two vehicles as they are totally of different league.
Maybe I will agree on this one!

Your bottom line is not correct and answer is right there because i can definitely justify my purchase as i am the one who is spending the money and if you check my earlier posts i am justifying only mine not others. But looks like you are trying to justify Tata motors and Mahindra vehicle which is good even i like it. As an indian i am proud on TATA and Mahindra & Mahindra. I own good quantity of equity shares of both the automomile companies too[:D]. But when it comes to putting your hard earned lakhs of money in something, we go for more reliable and practical things. Definitely i do that [clap]
Congratulations on being able to justify your purchase & owning shares in the market & putting your hard earned lakhs in the right place & good luck, but the comparision of Brio with many Indian cars like Nano, Alto, Sumo & Bolero is because Brio is being discussed in the Indian automotive market perspective thats all!

Boss you are also taking me wrong, when i have said the cars which are used for taxi purpose cannot be used for personal use. As far as the models you have indicated, except Etios-petrol verson all other models I have recommended to others as per the individual preferences and requirement]. But I admit, I have never recommended Sumo or Bolero to anyone.

I am not against any brand but it is like I am more towards HONDA and Maruti for Petrol versions.
No iam not saying you are wrong , the point is , is the sumo , bolero used as commercial vehicle - YES , are they used very often by families too - YES . Do you prefer them - No , do other prefer them -Yes. So both things are fact , means although the sumo and bolero is used in comerical space and also by many families . Some prefer it as a family car some don't .

^^Yes Figoian the points are really interesting and which needs a new thread something like " Things you don't like in different car models "

I think this post of yours which is equally interesting , deserves a separate thread , can you start one ? Here it seems a bit off topic to me .
Oh yeah! I actually thought of starting a separate thread, but just used it to avoid multiple threads thinking it's more or less relevant to this topic as well.

Thanks for the suggestion. Will take it up with the Mods!