Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Premier

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Chevrolet

Votes: 1 1.1%
  • Brand Doesn't Matter

Votes: 14 15.7%

So after 4 pages,there is only 6 sensible guys out there.Hats off to the guys who has voted for Brand doesn't matter,good to see rational people.Aspirations depends on the amount of money you got,for a low income person a bike may be aspirational,for a guy above him even Nano will be aspirational.I can't understand how you can exclude BMW,Audi,Mercedes and JLR here.Honda and aspirational!No offence to Honda owners,but I don't see anything superior in their cars,its as tinny as any Japanese car.Maybe they have succeeded in creating an image of a luxury car in India.

It was every 3 months/5000kms(whichever was earlier) for City which my room mate owned.It was 2006 City,he owns an Audi and BMW now!The oil change was 6 months apart.If I remember correctly even Civic had same 3 month nonsense.

Not sure about Honda city, but there are city owners i know who service the car once in a year or 10K kms. Off course after the initial warranty period[:)]. For Honda Amaze also service schedule should be the same.

HONDA City & Amaze owners may confirm the service schedule[:D]. Which generation city your roommate owns?

No offence to Honda owners,but I don't see anything superior in their cars,its as tinny as any Japanese car.Maybe they have succeeded in creating an image of a luxury car in India.
you are direct draneeshpm, good one [clap]

Well having owned & driven a Honda automatic myself in the US a long time back, I think they were probably the company with better reputation amongst the japanese brands & the car 98 civic which I drove also was pretty good. In the US the japanese cars especially Honda & Toyota were very popular & still are I believe with the asian-americans & asian immigrants because of better mileage, finish, resale value etc & whole lot of factors which make them VFM compared to american brands/cars.

However in India that does not hold true IMHO, japanese are far from being VFM here because the comparision is with Indian brands & cars & they cannot compete with a market which strives & innovates to come out with something like the Nano a real car with a price no other carmaker in the world can sell at! Heck I can get three Nanos or two Altos at the cost of a Brio & probably not even notice the differences between the two cars!

In the cost of a Honda Brio + ~10% one can get a top end nine seater Tata Sumo Gold with a driving cost per passenger about 1/3rd & makes sense if you driving exceeds 10k kms per annum & have friends & family whom you can drive around. Of course if you are driving mostly within the city & want all the gizmos then cars like Brio do make sense in fact cars like the new M&M eVo (old name Reva) with driving cost of 50ps perkm I am told make better sense & eVo is equally stylish too.

End of the day its your money spend it the way you wish!

Who buys tata sumo for city commuting [surprise]. Can't even think off sumo or bolero for city families. You are also very much aware about there usage and who buys this type of vehicle. They are mostly used for taxi purposes by tourist operators.

Nano is a failure, even Mr. Ratan tata had admitted the same in a recent interview in a TV channel . Reasons can be brought out and discussed.

Electric cars are still under development stage and initial cost is also too high with respect to petrol cars. It is going to take some time for a electric car market to come up and competitive.

you are direct draneeshpm, good one [clap]

Well having owned & driven a Honda automatic myself in the US a long time back, I think they were probably the company with better reputation amongst the japanese brands & the car 98 civic which I drove also was pretty good. In the US the japanese cars especially Honda & Toyota were very popular & still are I believe with the asian immigrants because of better mileage, finish, resale value etc & whole lot of factors which make them VFM compared to american brands/cars.

However in India that does not hold true IMHO, japanese are far from being VFM here because the comparision is with Indian brands & cars & they cannot compete with a market which strives & innovates to come out with something like the Nano a real car with a price no other carmaker in the world can sell at! Heck I can get three Nanos at the cost of a Brio & probably not even notice the differences!

In the cost of a Honda Brio + ~10% one can get a top end nine seater Tata Sumo Gold with a driving cost per passenger about 1/3rd & makes sense if you driving exceeds 10k kms per annum. Of course if you are driving mostly within the city & want all the gizmos then cars like Brio do make sense in fact cars like the new M&M eVo (old name Reva) with driving cost of 50ps perkm make better sense & eVo is equally stylish too.

End of the day its your money spend it the way you wish!

Its not clear exactly what you are trying to say....
What I was intending to ask is, if you would buy a pal premiere build car with a powerful 1.8I-vtec or a 1.6Multijet? All the add-ons given by the dealer. Will you(as a general indian aam jantaa) buy the vehicle in today's age? How many of us here are really concerned about the looks more than its performance ?

So after 4 pages,there is only 6 sensible guys out there.Hats off to the guys who has voted for Brand doesn't matter,good to see rational people.Aspirations depends on the amount of money you got,for a low income person a bike may be aspirational,for a guy above him even Nano will be aspirational.I can't understand how you can exclude BMW,Audi,Mercedes and JLR here.Honda and aspirational!No offence to Honda owners,but I don't see anything superior in their cars,its as tinny as any Japanese car.Maybe they have succeeded in creating an image of a luxury car in India.

I have no idea why Honda is a villain to you but its your point of view and I will have to respect it. I have certain brands (brand actually) that doesn't look good to me performance wise. But for me, reliability wise it is definitely honda and toyota. And again, we here are not talking of german trio or the european four.

Thread Starter #71
What I was intending to ask is, if you would buy a pal premiere build car with a powerful 1.8I-vtec or a 1.6Multijet? All the add-ons given by the dealer. Will you(as a general indian aam jantaa) buy the vehicle in today's age? How many of us here are really concerned about the looks more than its performance ?
pal premier padmini is still an iconic car for me and i adore it for its looks.. Not quite sure if the chassis and aerodynamics was built to take a 1.6 multijet or 1.8 ivtec, but if it is, it would be a great mod and a prized possesion.. A CAR for the HEART..

Thread Starter #72
Another hypothesis cracked in my mind.. Suppose, you are blindfolded, taken to a big open field, where every available production car <10-12 lakhs (middle class view point - Remember [drive] ) is kept in a line, and you are asked to pick up any 1 (and only 1) as your free gift, and you are given just 2 mins to do so (where you cannot go back and refer and compare technical specs), then which one will you PICK? [evil]

Who buys tata sumo for city commuting [surprise].
Answer is simple - whoever wants to.[:)]

Can't even think off sumo or bolero for city families.
Why can't you think of these vehicles for city families? Are these vehicles equivalent to submarines or spacecrafts? Please clarify.

You are also very much aware about there usage and who buys this type of vehicle. They are mostly used for taxi purposes by tourist operators.
Maybe so but still these vehicles have not been banned from private personal use? Correct? So whats stopping anybody from buying it?

Nano is a failure, even Mr. Ratan tata had admitted the same in a recent interview in a TV channel .
Yes my dear it is a failure from a company sales perspective & wrong image portrayed for marketing etc. But from an innovation & cost to customer maybe its not. When you get nothing else but barely an auto rickshaw for under 2lakhs today TM is giving you a real car with AC etc for roughly the same cost. Tell me how is this a bad deal to the customer & How is this a failure?

Electric cars are still under development stage and initial cost is also too high with respect to petrol cars. It is going to take some time for a electric car market to come up and competitive.
The onroad cost of M&M EVo is lesser than Honda Brio & both are almost same size & meant for city use, only that running cost of eVo is 50ps perkm & Brio is Rs5 perkm. So tell me where is the high initial cost? If you meant high initial cost for OEM then how does the customer care about that? as long as he is getting the car for a cost he finds reasonable.

Bottomline is one need not justify his choice to anybody whether it be a Brio or a Land Rover. You spend your money the way you want to. Right?

pal premier padmini is still an iconic car for me and i adore it for its looks.. Not quite sure if the chassis and aerodynamics was built to take a 1.6 multijet or 1.8 ivtec, but if it is, it would be a great mod and a prized possesion.. A CAR for the HEART..
I would have bought it as well as I am getting all the features I want. For me the top of the list requirements are the engine and the safety (airbags,ABS atleast). But many people what i have seen is care more for the looks of the car.
Where Honda was different from its counterparts was it offered this safety features in all its variants. As icing on the cake was one of the best engines doing rounds. And hence it earned the loyalty of many people. But failed in the pricing part. Everyone knows what it did with the jazz
Another hypothesis cracked in my mind.. Suppose, you are blindfolded, taken to a big open field, where every available production car <10-12 lakhs (middle class view point - Remember [drive] ) is kept in a line, and you are asked to pick up any 1 (and only 1) as your free gift, and you are given just 2 mins to do so (where you cannot go back and refer and compare technical specs), then which one will you PICK? [evil]
I dont wanna be in such situations. Will buy the costliest of all the available cars [;)]