A Negligent Volvo Bus Driver Smashed My ORVM

Thread Starter #61
Sorry to hear about your accident., Should I share your pic with Kerala MVD facebook page? I hope they will take action
Thank you rakeshkn for your words. Of course you can share the picture with FB, and give me the feedback.

Sorry for the bad incident Sir !! As i am from Coimbatore i will be making frequent trips to kerala for temple visits and for business. Every time i do such a trip to kerala i will notice that the private buses and these omni buses will drive reckless as if they own the road. They stop whenever they want to without signalling the drivers behind them on roads.In many such circumstance i used to escape the damage of my car in fraction of inches. I need to appreciate you sir for logging the complaint and bringing this incident in TAI as everyone should know how these morons behave. Hope u will feel better soon Sir.
Thank you balajislb. Now that the MV department in Kerala has implemented a strict rule against the private/govnt. buses and tipper trucks to install speed Governor, limiting their speed up to 60 kmph. And frequent checks are going on everyday, and any vehicle found violated, it will result in cancellation of FC. So as the rule very strict against two wheeler riders also without helmet, can attract a fine up to Rs 1000/-, and temporary cancellation of DL as well.

Because of this, the accident rates have come down drastically.

Thanks to Mr Rishiraj Singh, transport commissioner of Kerala.

But the private volvo buses are a nightmare still.

Ram sir,

sorry 2 hear about this accident, being a fellow 4 wheeler owner, i often see volvo idiots swaying to the rite without honking or braking

Since this happened in kerla, u shud have gathered a few locals i think. Kerelites are generally supportive and union minded

Also, the bus is a KA bus so they would have probably burnt the tyres or something.

Anyway, good 2 no repair is underway and mirror skull will be as new [clap]

Ram Sir,

Sorry it to hear about your ordeal. Is he bus plying the route Trivandrum - Mysore? If yes then this very same bus had broken my right side mirror also. In my case Police officers didn't even register a case and threatened me saying my car has illegal mods and i will be fined if i did decide to proceed with the case. Since i already had given the people at Kallada's office some nice sentence lined with beautiful words i didn't bother to go after the case.

Sankar

Ram sir,

sorry 2 hear about this accident, being a fellow 4 wheeler owner, i often see volvo idiots swaying to the rite without honking or braking

Since this happened in kerla, u shud have gathered a few locals i think. Kerelites are generally supportive and union minded

Also, the bus is a KA bus so they would have probably burnt the tyres or something.

Kallada is a local group, as far as I know they started in Irinjalakuda, although the group has been split, they are still pretty big and apart from buses they have hotels as well. They are probably well connected with the local police.

Advocating burning buses/tyres is not acceptable.

Sorry to hear this incident AR, and glad that nothing happened to the body shelf and specially to you, its a scary thing to see that bus colided which might be more bad on speed.
Hope you get back your car soon and we may see some action happening from the governing body.

Kallada is a local group, as far as I know they started in Irinjalakuda, although the group has been split, they are still pretty big and apart from buses they have hotels as well. They are probably well connected with the local police.

smashing somebody's mirror with zero common sense and callous attitude is disgusting and arson.

Thread Starter #68
Ram sir,

Thank you darkkid85. There are good and bad people in all categories. Organizing, gathering people, burning tyres will never find a solution, instead it will make the situation worst, and finally we will be accounted for it. It's always better to fight within the law. No matter where ever we are in the country.

Today, I took delivery of the vehicle from SASS after the work, and they had done their job reasonably well.

Ram Sir,

Sorry it to hear about your ordeal. Is he bus plying the route Trivandrum - Mysore? If yes then this very same bus had broken my right side mirror also. In my case Police officers didn't even register a case and threatened me saying my car has illegal mods and i will be fined if i did decide to proceed with the case. Since i already had given the people at Kallada's office some nice sentence lined with beautiful words i didn't bother to go after the case.

Sankar
Thank you. I think that bus was going to Hyderabad. A case has been registered and they will be called for the hearing. I will also get an intimation. But it will take its own time. Sorry to know that the same incident happened to you also.

Yes, they may be well connected with the police, but we can always fight for the justice with the higher authorities.

Violence will never give peace of mind.

Sorry to hear this incident AR, and glad that nothing happened to the body shelf and specially to you, its a scary thing to see that bus colided which might be more bad on speed.
Hope you get back your car soon and we may see some action happening from the governing body.
Thank you vijay. I got the car back already after the work. Let's hope for some development from the MVD

smashing somebody's mirror with zero common sense and callous attitude is disgusting and arson.
Accidents do happen to most of us how ever we are careful. Here I got annoyed with the attitude of the driver. At least if he was polite and admitted his mistake and said sorry, I would not have bothered. Most of these drivers are not Volvo trained, and they lack proper education also. And when they get the support from the passengers they will be more excited also.

deville_56

These guys are illegally operating bus to many destinations without a proper permit right under the nose of all law agencies. If they can invest all these crores in this business, and run over all the vehicles, endangering, others, it is very much clear that they got money and power and no one can touch them and we are all helpless. Maximum can be done was drag them to the station and just waste our time.

These buses are registered as contract carriages and are supposed to do only the "tourist bus" duties. Without stage carrier permit, they can't operate between 2 destinations with "per seat" ticket. Even the passengers of that bus won't get any insurance benefit in case of an accident. Even Jalex (an advocate by profession) had to stand down in front of a local stage carrier because of their hold in the permit route.

Only hope was taking everything written from the driver and concerned guy before moving the vehicles from the spot. Once out of scene, the always behaves like this. (One guy rear ended us in a red light with moderate damage, and pleaded in front of police that he will pay the entire expense and once police left, he came to us to workshop and started showing real face. Estimate was 6k for new bumper plus painting, full bumper was gone. He started bargaining and finally said he won't give anything more than 500 bucks. Contacted the police and they said only said you should have taken it in writing. Anyway gave that idiot earful [evil]).

Thread Starter #70
These guys are illegally operating bus to many destinations without a proper permit right under the nose of all law agencies. If they can invest all these crores in this business, and run over all the vehicles, endangering, others, it is very much clear that they got money and power and no one can touch them and we are all helpless. Maximum can be done was drag them to the station and just waste our time.

These buses are registered as contract carriages and are supposed to do only the "tourist bus" duties. Without stage carrier permit, they can't operate between 2 destinations with "per seat" ticket. Even the passengers of that bus won't get any insurance benefit in case of an accident. Even Jalex (an advocate by profession) had to stand down in front of a local stage carrier because of their hold in the permit route.

Only hope was taking everything written from the driver and concerned guy before moving the vehicles from the spot. Once out of scene, the always behaves like this. (One guy rear ended us in a red light with moderate damage, and pleaded in front of police that he will pay the entire expense and once police left, he came to us to workshop and started showing real face. Estimate was 6k for new bumper plus painting, full bumper was gone. He started bargaining and finally said he won't give anything more than 500 bucks. Contacted the police and they said only said you should have taken it in writing. Anyway gave that idiot earful [evil]).
Thank you deville for the feedback.

I agree with you. The basic problem is nobody is initiating any action against them. It makes lot of difference when one person makes a complaint and lot of people make complaints. The impact will be more when more complaints are there. Most of us think, that there is no use of going behind the case, and that's the main reason these fellows are keep doing the same mistake.

In spite of the political pressure and such things, now you can see how Mr Rishiraj Singh is implementing strict law against the traffic offenders, and the accident cases have come down drastically. I hope he will make the law very strict against these contract carriages also very soon.

deville_56

Thank you deville for the feedback.

I agree with you. The basic problem is nobody is initiating any action against them. It makes lot of difference when one person makes a complaint and lot of people make complaints. The impact will be more when more complaints are there. Most of us think, that there is no use of going behind the case, and that's the main reason these fellows are keep doing the same mistake.

In spite of the political pressure and such things, now you can see how Mr Rishiraj Singh is implementing strict law against the traffic offenders, and the accident cases have come down drastically. I hope he will make the law very strict against these contract carriages also very soon.
Those who stood against them are sacked. Even media won't cover any case against big shot. There is one bus team running fully illegally owned by a father-son minister team, who tried to run over the guy who filed case against them, which came only in one news channel, no others covered it.

Rishiraj came up got the biggest limitation, 90% of these illegal buses are registered outside Kerala. He can only charge them for the violations made inside Kerala, and not implement speed governor and other things that can be forced only Kerala registered buses. There are even Orissa and Nagaland buses running to Kerala, owned and operated by these goon bus owners from Kerala.

One of these Kallada's was charged 1.24 lakhs for a single trip traffic violation alone. Now, errant drivers can be spotted in the wink of an

Thread Starter #72
Those who stood against them are sacked. Even media won't cover any case against big shot. There is one bus team running fully illegally owned by a father-son minister team, who tried to run over the guy who filed case against them, which came only in one news channel, no others covered it.

Rishiraj came up got the biggest limitation, 90% of these illegal buses are registered outside Kerala. He can only charge them for the violations made inside Kerala, and not implement speed governor and other things that can be forced only Kerala registered buses. There are even Orissa and Nagaland buses running to Kerala, owned and operated by these goon bus owners from Kerala.

One of these Kallada's was charged 1.24 lakhs for a single trip traffic violation alone. Now, errant drivers can be spotted in the wink of an
Thanks for the link and good information.

It's not possible to install speed governors in inter state running transport vehicles registered out side the state whether buses or trucks, because the MVD rules are different from state to state. And tax per seat also differs, and that's the reason lot of other state registered buses plying in the state.

As far as a common road user is concerned, he needs a fearless drive, that is lacking due to these reckless drivers, and the MVD should impose strict rules against them, like what is mentioned in the link you have given. Hope Mr RRS will succeed in this mission and it will be continued and followed by the next official.

Thread Starter #73
An update

Just now I got a call from Mannuthy police station, I was told that the driver of the particular bus was caught and brought to the station for enquiry. Seems that the SI received calls from all the MVD authorities whomever I had sent the complaint including from the office of Mr RRS, asking for the action taken against the driver. And the driver was defending himself by saying that it was not his mistake. But the photographs are showing a clear evidence of his negligence.

Anyway, the driver was imposed with a fine (I am not sure how much), definitely more than Rs 1000/-, and was given a warning letter which will go into his records.

I am not disappointed with my efforts, and definitely it was attended at least to some extent. If every victim raises his voice for justice, and bring these kinds of drivers to the notice of the authorities, surely we can minimize the disasters.

My thanks to each and everyone who responded to this thread and given me guidance and inspiration all the way through.

An update

Just now I got a call from Mannuthy police station, I was told that the driver of the particular bus was caught and brought to the station for enquiry. Seems that the SI received calls from all the MVD authorities whomever I had sent the complaint including from the office of Mr RRS, asking for the action taken against the driver. And the driver was defending himself by saying that it was not his mistake. But the photographs are showing a clear evidence of his negligence.

Anyway, the driver was imposed with a fine (I am not sure how much), definitely more than Rs 1000/-, and was given a warning letter which will go into his records.

I am not disappointed with my efforts, and definitely it was attended at least to some extent. If every victim raises his voice for justice, and bring these kinds of drivers to the notice of the authorities, surely we can minimize the disasters.

My thanks to each and everyone who responded to this thread and given me guidance and inspiration all the way through.
Well done, that is great news.

An update

Great news. Sweet. Though insufficient, justice is served. Hope this implants some fear into those idiotic people who doesn't care about others safety and ethics.