A Negligent Volvo Bus Driver Smashed My ORVM

That's a very unfortunate incident . we at this forum do our best to maintain
Our beloved rides and road awareness . But some morons like this driver ruin it in a moment and all
We are left with is pain.
I have gone through a tailgating experience recently. Its good that you have initiated a
Legal action. All the best.

A very well written letter and I hope the department to do the needful on this case to teach these arrogant long distance Volvo bus drivers a lesson and make them pay for their devilish act and make them compensate the innocents for their losses while driving on roads in our country.

Going by the way the department under Mr.Rishiraj Singh is functioning these days, don't be surprised if you get a call or response from the official/s concerned soon.
Thank you Manoj. My damage can be compensated with money either from insurance or own. But the mental agony given by the driver can not be compensated and what he did was an unpardonable offence to the society, as if he owns the road. Even I think my complaint may be answered.

Our beloved rides and road awareness . But some morons like this driver ruin it in a moment and all
I have gone through a tailgating experience recently. Its good that you have initiated a
Thank you
Sorry to hear about your tailgating incident parth1231. What's it about?

Sorry to hear that. But happy to know that you are safe and luckily there is no damage to the body. Isn't 16k little costly for a single ORVM?
Thank you tai_newbie.

That's the approximate price they mentioned to me.The exact figure I will come to know only tomorrow. Yes it is costly because it comes with the heating system also. There are duplicates available in the market with one forth of the price but the quality is not that great. And secondly I have taken my insurance policy through Skoda only and it's a nil depreciation policy, then why should I compromise on quality?

Attaching photo of my vehicle after the incident. Left rear view mirror broken.
IMG_4672.JPG

The mirror is costly. Fortuner mirror costs 17000 RS. It is motorized, and can control the mirror position from inside. Fortuner mirror will fold only one direction. The mirror won't fold to the opposite side. [lol]

The mirror comes as a single unit. The interesting fact is that, they don't stock a single piece. You have to make a special request, and wait for 2-3 days.

ramji sorry to hear about the incident.hope you get justice. these truckers and buses in kerala are a threat to all other road users and the public who travel in them will always side with the arrogant drivers. few days back i too had a similar incident but in it i came out laughing. at a junction ( at pilathara on the NH17 ) a large 10 wheeled bharath benz tipper came straight at my car over taking a national permit lorry. he expected me to drive off the road on to the mud which i didn't. he braked right in front of my car.he put his head out of the window and glared at me but i didn't budge. he slowly turned his truck to the left and didn't notice the lorry coming on the left and smashed his left ORVM on it and i saw it falling on the road. then i drove off.[;)]

Even an original mirror costs considerably less I am assuming that your car is an octavia
Yes, they confirmed the price Rs 16800/- with painting. And dealers can't decide the price, because billing is done online and they can't reduce or hike the price. 13.6% tax is applicable for the parts as well as labour.

Attaching photo of my vehicle after the incident. Left rear view mirror broken.
View attachment 117127

The mirror is costly. Fortuner mirror costs 17000 RS. It is motorized, and can control the mirror position from inside. Fortuner mirror will fold only one direction. The mirror won't fold to the opposite side. [lol]

The mirror comes as a single unit. The interesting fact is that, they don't stock a single piece. You have to make a special request, and wait for 2-3 days.
Yes I noticed, It's really sad that we are put into trouble for others negligence.
Dealers don't stock the parts those are not moving fast. And most of the times even I had to wait for a week to get the spares, but then you will have the satisfaction of using the original parts which are any day more reliable.

ramji sorry to hear about the incident.hope you get justice. these truckers and buses in kerala are a threat to all other road users and the public who travel in them will always side with the arrogant drivers. few days back i too had a similar incident but in it i came out laughing. at a junction ( at pilathara on the NH17 ) a large 10 wheeled bharath benz tipper came straight at my car over taking a national permit lorry. he expected me to drive off the road on to the mud which i didn't. he braked right in front of my car.he put his head out of the window and glared at me but i didn't budge. he slowly turned his truck to the left and didn't notice the lorry coming on the left and smashed his left ORVM on it and i saw it falling on the road. then i drove off.[;)]
Thank you SR. These drivers are a menace to other road users. Most of them think that they own the road just because they hold a bigger wheel in hand.

Sorry to hear about this incident sir. Thank god it was limited to ORVM and you are safe. Regarding the incident, it is same everywhere and these truck and bus operators thinks that the road is only for them as they have bigger wheels.
Same incident was happened last month here in Shimla where a Lorry driver in a sharp curve hits the Nano and teared the front bumper, bonnet and driver sides door completely and offered only Rs. 1500/- as a compensation or "do whatever you want" According to him the lorry was owned by a big transporter in Haryana. [angry]
Do update us all about the reply from respective authority. [:)]

First of all, am really sorry about the incident sir. I know how you take care of your Octovia (Met in Hosur meet). And am happy that you are safe.

As you have mentioned everything can be compensated by money, but what about mental torture given to us. Defeintly, the driver should be a REAL Morron.

Very unfortunate incident indeed.

We do seem to have a better transport department system, thanks to Kerala’s current transport commissioner Mr. Rishi Raj Singh who seem to have decided to enforce the existing laws more strictly.

Please escalate this including the pictures taken to the concerned department and copy to Mr. Rishi Raj Singh at tcoffice@ keralamvd.gov.in, tc@ keralamvd.gov.in. Also care to provide a link to this thread too.

1. Deputy transport commissioner office, Trissur
E-mail : dtctcr@keralamvd.gov.in
phone [Office]: 0487-2360450, mobile: 8547639085

2. Regional Transport officer, Trissur
E-mail : kl08@keralamvd.gov.in
phone [Office]: 0487- 2360262, mobile: 8547639073

3. Transport commissioner officer, Thiruvanthapuram
Email : tcoffice@ keralamvd.gov.in, tc@ keralamvd.gov.in
phone [Office]: 0471- 2333317, mobile: 9446033314, 8547639000

MVDKerala - TC Officehttps://smartweb.keralamvd.gov.in/kmvdnew/services/complaints/complaintlogin.php
http://www.keralamvd.gov.in/images/mvd/events2013/complaintcell.pdf
Even any one of the destination point take action also, it will be a great success from a common man against such big business giants. Let us see.

Exactly,Not only travel agency pvt buses,almost all other heavy drivers here are very reckless. They just come very close to us in traffic and makes scratches on cars :\ once a pvt bus tail ended my cousins swift and the results was fully dented rear.
100% true aneesh. For them we are all small cars and they dont bother since we will be the one who get affected a lot. More over, those buses are not thiers sweat and hard work. But for us it is our own money and more over, we love our rides than they love their buses.

If I could see a bus or lorry behind me (tailgating) closely, I will try to reduce and let them go first, then I will follow them and am sure in next 5-10 KMs they will be some where behind.

I think this could be because, they take time to bring back to a speed in which they were travelling after a braking. That should be the reason, they try to maintain the same speed even they find a car in front of them and the place is also have over crow/traffic.

Thats really so sad and I'm very sorry.

There are lots of indecent drivers who always hesitate to admit their mistakes. [frustration]
Luckily, he stopped before damaging your fender.

Sir, your ORVM wont folds forward?

Things I do to lessen damages to the ORVM.
1)Regularly apply WD-40 to the joints to make it easily fold-able, so the impact can be reduced(My ORVM can be folded in both forward and backward direction)
2)Regularly apply wax to the exterior paint of ORVM to lessen the formation of scratches.
3)I was a person who dont like to use horn much. But after experiencing these kinds of things, I started using long press of horn in city traffics just to make the adjacent drivers to consider me and my car. I still hate making noise [frustration]

You may need to wait for long to get justice.
Anyways all the best.

Regards.,
Kiran.
Kichu, even it is foldable in forward direction it will help to some extent. For example even my sparky's OVRM is foldable in forward direction. It can withstand the force of a person hitting it with hand and it will fold forward. but it can not resist the force of a big bus hitting it.

Regarding honking, I belive it is safe. Ya we know it create noise pollution but cant help it na when such people are there. I make sure to HONK Continuously when I over take a vehicle (both in bike as well as car) to allow the person to knwo that a car/bike is coming in side.

Sorry to hear about this incident sir. Thank god it was limited to ORVM and you are safe. Regarding the incident, it is same everywhere and these truck and bus operators thinks that the road is only for them as they have bigger wheels.
Same incident was happened last month here in Shimla where a Lorry driver in a sharp curve hits the Nano and teared the front bumper, bonnet and driver sides door completely and offered only Rs. 1500/- as a compensation or "do whatever you want" According to him the lorry was owned by a big transporter in Haryana.
That is very bad attitude of ever reputed travels/transporter's drivers. Even some govt bus driver also do this.

Ram sir,
Sorry to hear about the incident, Luckily nothing happened to the body. These Drivers are very rash, they dosen't follow traffic rules and are threat to road users. The photos are clearly showing the mistake of driver.
You reacted well by complaining the police and transport authorities.
Do update sir regarding the issue.

Same incident was happened last month here in Shimla where a Lorry driver in a sharp curve hits the Nano and teared the front bumper, bonnet and driver sides door completely and offered only Rs. 1500/- as a compensation or "do whatever you want" According to him the lorry was owned by a big transporter in Haryana. [angry]
Thank you himalayan3009 for your words.

Basically all these incidents are very rare to us, but for a HTV, its a regular and routine thing that they come across everyday. So, we can't expect any politeness from them, nor majority of them are owners or have basic education.

Here, my aim is to teach him a lesson at least, so that he won't repeat this for some time.

First of all, am really sorry about the incident sir. I know how you take care of your Octovia (Met in Hosur meet). And am happy that you are safe.

As you have mentioned everything can be compensated by money, but what about mental torture given to us. Defeintly, the driver should be a REAL Morron.

Even any one of the destination point take action also, it will be a great success from a common man against such big business giants. Let us see.

100% true aneesh. For them we are all small cars and they dont bother since we will be the one who get affected a lot. More over, those buses are not thiers sweat and hard work. But for us it is our own money and more over, we love our rides than they love their buses.

If I could see a bus or lorry behind me (tailgating) closely, I will try to reduce and let them go first, then I will follow them and am sure in next 5-10 KMs they will be some where behind.

I think this could be because, they take time to bring back to a speed in which they were travelling after a braking. That should be the reason, they try to maintain the same speed even they find a car in front of them and the place is also have over crow/traffic.

Kichu, even it is foldable in forward direction it will help to some extent. For example even my sparky's OVRM is foldable in forward direction. It can withstand the force of a person hitting it with hand and it will fold forward. but it can not resist the force of a big bus hitting it.

Regarding honking, I belive it is safe. Ya we know it create noise pollution but cant help it na when such people are there. I make sure to HONK Continuously when I over take a vehicle (both in bike as well as car) to allow the person to knwo that a car/bike is coming in side.

That is very bad attitude of ever reputed travels/transporter's drivers. Even some govt bus driver also do this.
Thank you sethu. These kinds of drivers are a headache even for the operators. Because I personally experienced when I had my transport (buses) business in Kerala in 90's. And these kinds of issues I was facing regularly with my drivers, and one of the main reasons that ruined my business.

Ram sir,
Sorry to hear about the incident, Luckily nothing happened to the body. These Drivers are very rash, they dosen't follow traffic rules and are threat to road users. The photos are clearly showing the mistake of driver.
You reacted well by complaining the police and transport authorities.
Do update sir regarding the issue.
Thank you so much rayal for your words. This is the second incident that my ORVM got damaged. Two years back between Avinashi and Coimbatore road it happened, and that was my right side mirror. The road work was going on those days, and all of a sudden an Indigo taxi fellow over took a bus and came straight to me, I took a sudden cutting towards left but I couldn't save the mirror, though avoided a big mishap. It didn't strike to my mind at that point of time to chase that taxi fellow.

Ram Sir, sad to see the broken mirror on your car. Good that you have pictures of the accident. Have you tried contacting Kallada Travels? may be the owner or some manager might take responsibility and pay the full compensation?

You are no where wrong, it is the bus drivers fault. The transport department/government action might take a long time. I suggest you email to the kallada Travels too. Let them know that their business will slow down due to such rash drivers.

In fact threaten them that you will go online (Fb) and start a page like "I hate Kallada travels" with these pics, I know it sounds crazy but it works for sure. Only good thing about the incident is that the body is untouched.

Skoda parts are costly, but I dint know that they would be this costly! I always thought Baleno had the costliest parts amongst sedans (headlamp 12K and mirror 8.5k).

OT:
My last employer dint pay me incentive and the argument came to an end with me leaving job without notice period & relieving letter. When I did threaten them of going online, they mocked at me, they are a big MNC and cant be easily brought to court.

After 1month they sent me a notice saying that I owe them money as I breached the employment contract by not serving notice period. The letter was rude and clearly stated that I am defaulter, I lost my temp, contacted their Public relations team in UK with a strong email and later had a meeting, they too threatened but I dint show any care, finally they budged, I got my incentives, relieving letter and I got to see fear in their face. This is the first time, in the last 8years that the company was forced to pay someone (althought lesser than what I asked for) after he left the job. Had they not paid me, I would have contacted every investor, share holder, client overseas etc. It's not money, but its the insult which provoked me. I dint spare the top manager's or their colleagues, I asked them questions for which they had no answers at all. Imagine someone earning 5+lacs a month goes dumb to a question by someone earning 20K a month, that's the power of being right.

If a multi crore MNC bpo can be taught a lesson, Kallada does not stand a chance.

Accidents happen, but disrespect to the victim + bad attitude = BIG PROBLEM for the Volvo driver.

Bad Name in the internet is like, permanent and irreparable damage for the travels company. Internet is a very powerful tool, I am sure you can get the full compensation for the mirror. I suggest you to contact the Kallada Travels head office and send an email with a link to this page and clearly tell them the consequences of the same.

We should not let people just walk over on us, because we drive a smaller vehicle than theirs. All the best Sir, we are with you.

Thank you Anand

In fact this happened near their B.O and the manager came to the spot. Until I was holding the bus, he said you come to the office and we will talk. But things got changed the moment the bus sped away. He was refusing to talk even and behaving in a very arrogant way, and that provoked me. Finally he said you do whatever you want.

I sent an intimation to the Ins. co. yesterday itself with the pictures and today I spoke to them and they gave me a green signal to go ahead with the claim.

Thanks for the idea of sending a mail to Kallada Travels, whether they respond or not, or let it take its own course of time.

Sorry for your office incident, the innocent will get justice always even if it is delayed also.

I will update the development in this thread.