“Thunderbolt” Mahindra XUV5OO Detailed Review (5 Years Report)

Thread Starter #391

Re: “Thunderbolt” XUV 5OO Detailed Review (Decals, Audio, LED, Mods++)

Just the regular long Term update-
I made a small 200km trip to temple with full family. I was a special trip as all 7 seats were occupied including 3 senior citizens , Me, Wife and parents. I luckily got the wheel and throughly enjoyed 2.2L Hawk engine till 140 KMPH

The roads soon after 50km where in a disdainful condtition. We had to transverse the remaining journey on Single village roads. They were so small infact that I had to swerve the XUV off road to let other vehicle.

I also saw the Lowest end FE of 10.2 KMPL on the MID, perhaps due to poor roads. I can also attest that Mud and cowdung spray problem has been 100% rectified with my Small MOD and there were 0 cowding strains on the doors. Roads where full of potholes which the Thunderbolt took admirably.

Thread Starter #392

yesterday night, thunderbolt put a loud theft alarm that jostled me out of sleep. while I checked outside, found nothing. no marks or clues and car works as intended.

was is a false alarm?

yesterday night, thunderbolt put a loud theft alarm that jostled me out of sleep. while I checked outside, found nothing. no marks or clues and car works as intended.

was is a false alarm?
Some switch would have conked. Faced similar issue, turned out to be an issue with the switch under bonnet. Was replaced for free.

Thread Starter #394

Again a regular Long Term update.
I Have travelled 400Km after the last update. FE is stable around 12.5 KMPL
Rear left tyre keeps loosing pressure in a week's time (till 18 PSI) and throws low pressure alert in the Morning. However, i topped the air till 35 PSI and it has been holding well for current 100km Drive. No Pressure loss noted today.

Infotainment and GPS is working well Currently. My LED DRLS and High beam assists continue to impress as always. I am Unable to use my third 12 Inch woofer due to space constraints hence have taken it away and attached to my home audio where it sounds great.

My anti Mud modified splash guards are holding well and saving me from cleaning cowdung after every drive.

Thread Starter #395

Thunderbolt returned from 200KM Trip to nearby City

1) I found the Light output to be very dismal. With a closer look, I see that left projector is putting light straight down to the road, I mean just 10 Feet. I've seen many XUV with this problem. Does anyone have experience that this is a alignment problem or else? Please Help.

2) FE was 12 KMPL overall

3) AC help up well in the sweltering 46.C Heat.

4) There is a slow puncture in Rear left wheel (which i've mentioned above) as pressure always drops to 17 PSI. However no one is ready to open a sensor-Wala-Wheel. I guess even a puncture will need trip to metro now!

tell your puncture repair guy that you dont need to open the wheel. or else take out the wheel yourself and take it with you for repair. Repair is simple enough. i do it all the time all you need is air pump and tubeless puncture repair kit.

Thread Starter #397

the wheel, I mean they aren't confident to remove the tyre from the disk. and I've seen the sensor, it's just a small box of plastic, very fragile.

how can one detect/repair the punchure with wheel on? it's a very small one like loosing a little air every week. nothing like a nail or something that I can see.

also what are your views about the projector? currently it's sharply angled downwards and no amount of adjustment is helping.

the wheel, I mean they aren't confident to remove the tyre from the disk. and I've seen the sensor, it's just a small box of plastic, very fragile.

how can one detect/repair the punchure with wheel on? it's a very small one like loosing a little air every week. nothing like a nail or something that I can see.

also what are your views about the projector? currently it's sharply angled downwards and no amount of adjustment is helping.
LOLZ, i was just reading this when i opened TAI, what a coincidence. Check this our for your projector problem How To Aim Projector Headlights - Club RSX Message Board
I was searching on how a projector headlamp works and then I saw this site and then i saw your query. Anyways, I didn't get the part about removing the tyre from the disk. You don't need to remove the whole alloy with the tyre ( considering you said remove the tire from the disk which I think you are referring to the brake disk) I mean either I have got it wrong or its crazy that you need to remove the whole alloy just to fix a puncture.

CLJ sometimes we do need to remove the wheel with the tyre because the puncture can be on the inner side of the vehicle which will make it extremely difficult to find.

Thanks for telling me. I'm a novice in changing a tyre. Maybe will become a between in 4-5 yrs.[;)]

Thread Starter #401

This sunday I took a close look at the lowbeam Projector.
As you can see in the pic, it appears that the projector lens has 'fallen off' for the lack of better words and no amount of adjustment seems to help.
How How did this happen, Suddenly is a puzzle to me. Please bear in mind that my headlamps are totally Stock and same factory 55w bulbs.

Poor quality? Manufacturing defect?
Im blind, Please illuminate folks!

Thread Starter #402

Hello all,
I had the Pleasure to drive thunderbolt on a trip to Pune. The summary is as follows-

1) MID showed FE all the way down to 11.9KMPL in city to 14.9 KMPL on Lazy highway cruises

2) The Engine seems to have freed up a bit. We can now cruise all day @ 70 KMPH @ Just 1300 RPM in 6th gear. Infact, Engine is useable right from 1100 RPM if you don't need much power and the road is levelled!. Amazing!

3) The GPS picked up pune's very unfamous and Confusing One-ways and could properly guide us without a hitch. (There aren't even proper boards showing one way!)

4) The traffic in Pune is horrendous beyond description. There were hardly any cops to guide and the road was jam packed with fools who were like making U-Turns on middle of the road, Lane cutting to other side and all. We took over 15 minutes at each signal sometimes.Then there were the Bikers and Buses who'd like to get into every nook and Cranny of a gap available.
Knishuk how do you manage to keep cool everyday??

5) The Nagar-Pune highway has some of the worst dividers i've ever seen. There are no Plants on it! Which means i was being blasted with High beams from Everyone. Also the Dividers started randomly and it was a risky affair identifying them against High-beaming Morons.

6) After much thought, I am finally stuffing some 4300K HIDs in Low beams. The factory low beams just "Dissapear" among the crowd and galore of High beaming 'Stadium lights" that people tend to have. Anyone knows any long term problems with HID in projectors on XUV?

7) I got the low beam projector fixed, The experience for which is as below- (Charges rs 125)

To,
Silver Jublee Motors,
Pune.

Dear sir,
I am a resident of (Other city) and as I was on a tour with my XUV 500 Veh no MH XX XXXX, I found some problem with the headlights. Just as I seemed to pass from pune, I called up your service center and was asked to visit your Wakad Branch which I promptly reached at 3.30 PM.

Unfortunately, The guards won't let me in. They were like "You should take an appointment before Coming". Now tell me, Do failures happen with an appointment?
Finally, After half an hour of Messing around and a few calls to your SA "Chetna" I was let in. Seriously, Kindly hire some sane, Non-stupid guards if you want to maintain your reputation.

Then started the long wait. Despite me making request that I am an Outstation Customer, Has a long journey ahed the service was not very quick.
It was another half an hour before i was attended and the problem was solved in 15 minutes flat.

Then started the formalities, Dozens of signs, Bills, and what not.
Sir, Kindy reduce the amount of such formality as it was only after 6 PM that I could exit your showroom. Now you see, just to fix a headlight bulb, over 2 hours of timepass for a outstation customer is not going to win any accolades.

Thank you for the assistance, and kindly improve your service.

Hey BHVM,

I just stick to the right lane, Windows up AC on with some Kishore Kumar playing on the system.

I hate taking XUV to my office as the worst part of traffic is in Hinjewadi.

and yeah sometimes I do loose my cool.

PUNEites have by far the worst traffic sense I have come across and that includes staying in cities like Surat, hyderabad and even Jaipur.

Can you tell me how the projector was fixed?

Kinshuk

Thread Starter #404

Hey BHVM,

I just stick to the right lane, Windows up AC on with some Kishore Kumar playing on the system.

I hate taking XUV to my office as the worst part of traffic is in Hinjewadi.

and yeah sometimes I do loose my cool.

PUNEites have by far the worst traffic sense I have come across and that includes staying in cities like Surat, hyderabad and even Jaipur.

Can you tell me how the projector was fixed?

Kinshuk
Dear Kinshuk,
1) I made many runs from Deccan to Camp area that day.
2) Despite sticking to Right lane, there were people who are in Left lane but want to turn right or vice versa. Many a times I had a double stop at signal due to idiots like above. Actually, despite we people being outsiders, were driving in correct lanes due to GPS guidance.

3) They did't let me see how projector was fixed (I asked but politely turned me down). But what they said that Projector had shifted from its original Position, The were able to pull it up to the position and tighten the screw. Then they parked vehicle on designated markings and properly aligned all the headlamps.

After the Alignment, High beam is somewhat higher and is much more useable. It lights up road signs over 500m away.

4) Despite the Alignment, low beam bulbs have gone 50% of what they were ( I think so). I am in the process of getting Canbus compatiable 35W AC HID Kits. I found a seller who brings such kits in India. Luckily, 4300K Lamps are available. I will update after the Install with pics.

Thread Starter #405

the hid kit just came in.

Boy! what quality. these are genuine AC ballasts compared to generic eBay crap. I'll install them on Sunday and maybe post a Guide.