Why Aria Failed To Take Off But XUV Did??

I am very much serious in my comment buddy, no doubts regarding that,
I know Fortuner competes with the said SUVs, in real world you see people comparing it fortuner too. There is no harm in comparing these two IMO.

Ah yes forgot about this, I don't know how the market would respond with this comparo.
Ofcourse why should be any harm ? Mind is a creative machine it can compare anything with anything one can compare a alto with jaaz and quanto with Audi q3 there is no harm .

Sensible and logical thing is to compare cars in similar segments and price points hence the thread starter mentioned xuv and aria .

Okay guys, with Aria's current sales figure being at 'just' 147 units and XUV at 4300+. It looks like Aria, despite of being a very competitive product and of course a very capable workhorse is continuously loosing the ground in front of XUV. Now what do you guys feel is the reason behind this?
The reason is simple -

Indian car market is still not mature enough to understand such vehicles. You know in India only 3 types sell -

Hatch, 4 door sedan & butch looking UV.

Station wagon is such a practical car for weekends, where you get pleasure of car & boot where you can keep your dog too or say cycle or golf kit. But people use UV instead.

Aria was first cross-over but people idiotically were saying that it doesn't look like SUV. Now was it SUV at first place ? And these same chaps will call ecosport, quanto & duster as SUV [frustration].

Forget this, being a lover of Merc, couple of person even commented to me that hey, we saw E class cabriolet (pic below for ref) but why did Merc not give 2 more doors for rear passengers ? [lol] So much of cost cutting....and I was like [anger].

Thread Starter #363
Ofcourse why should be any harm ? Mind is a creative machine it can compare anything with anything one can compare a alto with jaaz and quanto with Audi q3 there is no harm .
Hmm +100..
But issue is that people compare cars here looking at three parameters:
  • Price.
  • No of seats.
  • Brand.

• Let me explain all three my way:
  • If two vehicles have same price or the price difference is less then they are compared irrespective of what the vehicle is meant for. I feel like [frustration] when I hear people saying "why to buy 5 seater when you can get a seven seater for the same price".
  • People don't think while comparing cars, any car having 7 seats is an SUV and hence Aria is also comparable to Fortuner because price is nearly 20 lac and there are seven seats too. WTH, PEOPLE CALL 'ERTIGA' ALSO AN SUV!!
  • Brand, brand changes it all. BMW X1 is a mutated hatchback in my views and same is with Skoda Yeti but as per people, Yeti is a mutated Wagon R[confused] and X1 is an SUV.

Sensible and logical thing is to compare cars in similar segments and price points hence the thread starter mentioned xuv and aria .
Definitely, XUV and Aria makes for the perfect comparo because both are people movers in real. Only the clothing and marketing strategy is different.

The reason is simple -

Indian car market is still not mature enough to understand such vehicles. You know in India only 3 types sell -

+100..
Aria is a vehicle ahead of its time and hence is taking the beating. People still need to understand that there exists one more segment which offers the utility of an SUV with the comfort of a sedan and that category is crossover or Xover[evil] which is an Aria.
SOMETIMES I WONDER WHAT WOULD HAVE BEEN THE SCENE IF ARIA WOULD HAVE WORE A 'TOYOTA' BADGE? I THINK IT WOULD HAVE SOLD EVEN AT 20 LAC.

Station wagon is such a practical car for weekends, where you get pleasure of car & boot where you can keep your dog too or say cycle or golf kit. But people use UV instead.
+100..

Aria was first cross-over but people idiotically were saying that it doesn't look like SUV. Now was it SUV at first place ? And these same chaps will call ecosport, quanto & duster as SUV .
Actually I don't understand why people want it to look like an SUV, it's a cab forward designed vehicle to move people in comfort instead of crushing continents under its wheels.

The reason is simple -

Aria was first cross-over but people idiotically were saying that it doesn't look like SUV. Now was it SUV at first place ? And these same chaps will call ecosport, quanto & duster as SUV [frustration].

Forget this, being a lover of Merc, couple of person even commented to me that hey, we saw E class cabriolet (pic below for ref) but why did Merc not give 2 more doors for rear passengers ? [lol] So much of cost cutting....and I was like [anger].
It is not that they are not matured enough but are good enough to choose the best VFM car when it comes to spending their hard earned money.Aria launched too overpriced for an Indian manufacturer that the mass simply didn't have confidence to go for it.

The third sin from Peter Drucker's Five Deadly Sins of Business

The third deadly sin is cost-driven pricing. The only thing that works is price-driven costing. Most American and practically all European companies arrive at their prices by adding up costs and then putting a profit margin on top. And then, as soon as they have introduced the product, they have to start cutting the price, have to redesign the product at enormous expense, have to take losses — and, often, have to drop a perfectly good product because it is priced incorrectly. Their argument? “We have to recover our costs and make a profit.” (Peter Drucker)

Recently I have started to notice plenty of new Arias on the road,but I don't know whether its just me or this trend is across entire India.
Hhahahhahaha Xover, its common and it happens at times being a Aria owner man !![lol][lol], I did not see one(new one) on Hyderabad roads yet[;)]

Recently I have started to notice plenty of new Arias on the road,but I don't know whether its just me or this trend is across entire India.
Maybe the introduction of LX variant made it to sell a little more,if you see the thread title, it has taken a tiny step in front of XUV. I wish if Tata gets it right with that image thing then Aria will have many owners.

BTW, i don't see many Arias here in my city.

Thread Starter #370
In that case, it looks like all 340 Arias sold last month were sold in Jharkhand only!![lol]

Maybe the introduction of LX variant made it to sell a little more,if you see the thread title, it has taken a tiny step in front of XUV. I wish if Tata gets it right with that image thing then Aria will have many owners.

BTW, i don't see many Arias here in my city.
Same here, I am not lucky enough to spot a new Aria even every week.

Hhahahhahaha Xover, its common and it happens at times being a Aria owner man !!, I did not see one(new one) on Hyderabad roads yet
Dear Ramkrishna Ji,

The Xover is an Aria aspirant,I don't own it as yet.My daily ride is humble Tata Indica XETA and Honda Unicorn.[:)]

Btw,your answer confirmed to me that people of Andhra Pradesh are true lovers of Storme only(seeing your and your friend's response[;)]).

If iam not mistaken I don't think xover is a aria owner .
True.
Nope the LX variant will be only available from January onwards.
BTW, i don't see many Arias here in my city.[/QUOTE]
[/QUOTE]
So it was a Jharkhand only phenomena??!!
In that case, it looks like all 340 Arias sold last month were sold in Jharkhand only!!Same here, I am not lucky enough to spot a new Aria even every week.
No seriously I spotted quite a lot of new Aria's the past month.

I have been spotting Arias here and there from few weeks.
Seems like Mumbaikars love Aria more than others.(Only we Jharkhandis are exceptions it seems)[:)]

Hahahah Raja, I was just joking looking at his passion for TATA vehicles and his Avatar pic
You're always welcome sir.But I see that recently you've became a fan of Storme as well :-)

Dear Ramkrishna Ji,

The Xover is an Aria aspirant,I don't own it as yet.My daily ride is humble Tata Indica XETA and Honda Unicorn.[:)]

Btw,your answer confirmed to me that people of Andhra Pradesh are true lovers of Storme only(seeing your and your friend's response[;)]).

You're always welcome sir.But I see that recently you've became a fan of Storme as well :-)
Yes, Xover my wish is that you should become Aria owner very soon !!

Yes, I am fan of Storm, but not blind[:)]