What’s Wrong with Tata Motors? An Open Letter To the MD

I feel Tata has to re-design every models, sick of seeing the same old hard-shell indicas and sumos on roads where the private buyers are fleeing off seeing them in the showrooms.

came across this post in TAI

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...me-road-test-drive-review-106.html#post290192

seems like they took 5 years to develop the storme and even after 5 years if these issues occur even the TATA Loyalists will think twice to go in for their new models.
Hope Karl Slym will address these issues for sure.
I feel now Karl Slym is having sleepless nights thinking from where to start and where to end, because the issues are cropping up like anything, till last week or two the court slapped lakhs of rupees of fine and even a jail term for their defective cars, and last week,we heard the news of some dealers closing down relationship with Tata.

Yes tough times comes, i wish they really come up nice with a resolution on 2014 revising every minute aspects and policies of their company. But as of now Tata is on the fall is what i must say.

@Vishwas

I think in a transition or transformation period all these things are common, so we will come to know what exactly TATA is going to be in coming Auto Expo

@Vishwas

I think in a transition or transformation period all these things are common, so we will come to know what exactly TATA is going to be in coming Auto Expo
he must take some steps for the growth of TML or else TML wil b a History. even i planned not to take any of the Tata cars in the future as i got really fedup with the A.S.S from day one. We have a Ford Figo. We used to take it to the dealer only for the service intervals where as in Manza i have to take it to the dealer atleast once in a month for some sort of problem.

came across this post in TAI

seems like they took 5 years to develop the storme and even after 5 years if these issues occur even the TATA Loyalists will think twice to go in for their new models.
Hope Karl Slym will address these issues for sure.
This time around, both ARIA and Storme, what ever the problem they are facing, is not due to lack of efforts in development. Aria has been tested all over the world and then launched. And TATA were proud of their development process (though it took extra time).

This time the problem has to be at components sourcing end. And sounds coming from TATA, off late, is promising in that front. A centralization of the product sourcing will help.

Ideas For The Next Tata Car (Ideator)

Hey everyone! I've been given a chance to personally meet the current MD of TATA MOTORS (Mr. Karl Slym) to generally discuss cars & suggest ideas about the next Tata car.

The date & time hasn't yet been given to me, but I'm guessing its gonna be sometime at the end of this month.

Looking for suggestions as to what Tata Motors can do to improve their cars in future...

(Mods : Posted here thinking its the appropriate section, do shift if felt required, Rgds.)

Re: Ideas For The Next Tata Car (Ideator)

Looking for suggestions as to what Tata Motors can do to improve their cars in future
Heartiest welcome to The Automotive India, Bhavin. Your thread has been merged with an existing similar topic. Just flip through previous pages – You’ll find a lot of information.

Tell him we are eager to see the zx Storme with 160 bhp ,400nm and all safty features .

Also he need to revive the the cancelled prima sedan.http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...tata-prima-sedan-when-s-coming-tata-pr1ma.jpg

But ,before going for new car ,he needs to address issues raised by the owners and former owners of the tata cars on this thread.

BTW, give some skeleton idea about the IDEATOR ,before we could suggest something.

pls tel him that they need to improve their A.S.S. as v all know their attitude is like behaving to a cab driver.

they need to hav a better quality products which wil last long.

and above all, they need to change their design across all cars including Aria

Guys

Lets give the devil its due. TML had been pioneers in commercial vehicle segment, the venerable 407 and the ACE/Magic are proof to this. But what they lacked is the quality control and a good ASS which is a result of concentration on commercial vehicle segment over personal vehicle segment. So what Karl needs to improve immediately is to concentrate on overall product quality and improve the ASS. Their product portfolio is not that bad to put them under a nosedive in sales.

Once the public moves away from a company citing quality concerns, not even a fantastic product like ARIA could woo them back. So it is not the produce failure, but it is the overall concern on the company which is affecting its products. So without improving quality, even if they duplicate a 320D and sell it for 5 lakhs, it will not sell. period...

Re: Ideas For The Next Tata Car (Ideator)

Hey everyone! I've been given a chance to personally meet the current MD of TATA MOTORS (Mr. Karl Slym) to generally discuss cars & suggest ideas about the next Tata car.

The date & time hasn't yet been given to me, but I'm guessing its gonna be sometime at the end of this month.

Looking for suggestions as to what Tata Motors can do to improve their cars in future...

(Mods : Posted here thinking its the appropriate section, do shift if felt required, Rgds.)
Already other members have shared their thoughts which are perfect .

My request to you is kindly show them the aria ownership thread of our member justin , he has been harassed by his local t.a.s.s .

Beside that if possible take our esteemed member jaydev with you for the meeting , I think in such circumstances we need some one like him who can exactly tell and explain them what tata motors local dealers are doing in cities like Kannur . ( contrary to the popular perception he is actually a well wisher of tata motors )

And please change the look of sumo , vista , manza and aria and give us some new edge styling inspite of being good , vfm cars they don't appeal the younger generation / population which is growing and has and will have buying power in present & comming years .

And why on the earth does the storme in 2013 has a single din music player ?

Karl - I hope you read this.

TML needs strong customer advocates who can help your team build better products. I would suggest that you create Regional User Groups per product (Indica/Vista, Manza, Safari/Storme, Nano, Sumo) or per city. Assign a TATA Motors leader (GM, DGM, VP) as chief sponsor for each regional user group per city. The leader MUST lead/attend every quarterly user group meeting. As the user group matures, the users can lead the meetings by themselves and TML can take a back seat.

The idea is to run quarterly user group meetings, incent user involvement (for example) include free inspection camps (led by dealers/partners). Get feedback from the user group meetings; have Tata engineers & quality champions meet customers first hand and hear the voice of customers. Get the market feedback to the designers directly. Make your key leaders as brand advocates and empower them. Create strong customer advocates in each region and involve them for product design, test drives, etc.

Over the next 3 months, start with 6 user groups (Mumbai, Pune, Delhi, Bangalore, Kolkatta, Chennai). Then expand this to 12-18 cities in India. Run an annual user conference, invite RUG members for meaningful dialogue & discussions.

In the end, you need to find a good way to expose your engineers & leaders directly to the pain and thrill that your customers experience. That's the best way to fix TML's quality issues and market perception.

I being a indica vista owner last week just went for car service at kvr motors kannur. While I had some time had a glance of vista D90. BAut my point is while I was just viewing the car no sales executive tried to coax me to try a testdrive. If it was for a maruti vehicle I would be pestered for a testdrive even after I having a car. This attitude of dealers should change.Another point is kannur kvr motors dont display standard service charges for tata cars.They are more concerned of displaying extended warranty offers.