What’s Wrong with Tata Motors? An Open Letter To the MD

The best manufacturing will help. So will the quality checks. BUT if the buying experience is poor and so is ASS soon TATA will be back to square one

@Appu

We(Raja,superbad,dharmesh) have been to this showroom for Storme TD[:)], it is really an excellent showroom
Yes, I saw the showroom pics on your test drive report. But I was not sure while posting this post.

BTW, I'm expecting this post kind of showroom in all the dealerships.

Well...
The TMl showroom in Vellore seems to have run aground!
Have spent good money there last week to fix a wheel wobble which still persists.
Now that Vijay sales has closed down? Have to go private!
Hope these super new showtooms become a reality all over India and nit just Yier 1 cities.
Wad the atitude of staff any different [confused]

Their product line-up is too old and boring IMO.Until they inject fresh blood aka launch new products,the situation would remain the same,if not become more dire!

Well...
The TMl showroom in Vellore seems to have run aground!
Have spent good money there last week to fix a wheel wobble which still persists.
Now that Vijay sales has closed down? Have to go private!
Hope these super new showtooms become a reality all over India and nit just Yier 1 cities.
Wad the atitude of staff any different [confused]

Hope, I can clarify your doubts[;)]

Vijay sales management is currently facing financial problem. They are trying to sort out the financial issue. Vijay sales management invested huge amount in B'lore for some project, but it got failed. And, they already had this financial issue from some years back.

Even the current Vijay sales showroom may move to Pilliayarkuppam at Vellore. currently VST selling the TATA cars at Vellore. Vijay sales only concentrating in service. Last week I done the service for my Vista & they done their job good.

And there is a heavy completion to get a new dealership from TATA at Vellore, the competators are TAFE, CONCORDE and TRUE SAI WORKS. But, Vijay sales trying to continue the dealership from their side.

Vellore people had to wait till next month. Then only we will come to know about the TATA showroom at Vellore.

Once I came to know about the status, I'll let you know guys[:)]

We ma

The new nissan xe variant starts at 3.5 lakhs ex shoroom!!! The vista 65ps petrol starts at 4.7 ! I think the vista petrol is going to be extinct soon..as much as we may think they are in different categories i think Tata is losing the value for money" more car per car" tag all too fast!
Common tata introduce a 1lakh nano. 2 lakh xeta. 3 lakh indica diesel. 4 lak vista tdi and a 5 lakh vista quadjet. just to get people back! I know it may sound loss making but it will kickstart sales.

The new nissan xe variant starts at 3.5 lakhs ex shoroom!!! The vista 65ps petrol starts at 4.7 ! I think the vista petrol is going to be extinct soon..as much as we may think they are in different categories i think Tata is losing the value for money" more car per car" tag all too fast!
Common tata introduce a 1lakh nano. 2 lakh xeta. 3 lakh indica diesel. 4 lak vista tdi and a 5 lakh vista quadjet. just to get people back! I know it may sound loss making but it will kickstart sales.
They are planning something big, we might know this only after the 2014 auto-expo.

What you spoke is quite true, but something is not suiting TML now.

Now the only hope for TML is the nano diesel which the manufacturer as well as customers are banking on it,got to see the proceedings.

The best manufacturing will help. So will the quality checks. BUT if the buying experience is poor and so is ASS soon TATA will be back to square one
my Manza has clocked 43,000 kms.

In this run I have replaced the ABS Drum (thru warranty), Power Window switches (thru warranty), Glow Plugs, components for the steering mount control. I really got fed-up with all these.

Im damn sure that the quality check in the production lineup is far at its worst.

Planning to sell of my Manza by 2014 and get a Honda/Hyundai Sedan. I have already decided not to go for Tata products once again.

There might by more customers like me who have got irritated with some kind of issues.

If TML dont change their way, it will be a History.

TATA Motors Failing - What should they do?

First of all a warm Hello to all the Automotive family. I am new to this community but I was reading the threads and the comments here for a long time. It is really a great place to know about automobile industery in India and the world. I am hereby posting my first thread, I hope it will get some attention of yours, your feedbacks will be much appreciated. Thanks

For being a huge fan of TATA Motors, I am disappointing how TATA motors is failing to gain numbers and is loosing its market share month by month. So what should they do? Let's discuss here

1. TATA should stop include the name of old TAXI image names to its models. Indica and Vista, Sumo and Grande etc, they are totally different breeds, so why name them and imprint a TAXI image to these models.

2. TATA should stop the current version of NANO and should change its look to Mega Pixel. The dashboard should make more sporty (Problem with every TATA car apart from ARIA)

3. Replace the existing interior of Storme with ARIA at no extra cost and TATA will see the numbers of bookings flying.

4. TATA should bring back on of its great cars ever "Siarra" with modifications and a 1.5 L diesel engine to compete Renault Duster and Ertiga like cars.

5. TATA Aria a flagship yet the most floppiest model by TATA ever made. So what gone wrong. I think the biggest enemy of Aria is the way it looks, It looks nothing more than a grown or big brother of Innova. So what should they do. I think change the makeover of Aria, make it something like X7 and see the difference, even the price tag will not be matter much then

6. Instead of showing these concepts in shows and then forget about them forever, TATA should bring them to life. Indian generation love style now and they are ready to pay for it.

7. TATA also need to change their attitude that they are the best, they were the heroes when there was no in house competition. Only Maruti was the competitors. But now almost every major automobile company has its manufacturing plant in India, they are growing faster and are producing cheaper and giving stylus cars than TATA at a great price.

Re: TATA Motors Failing - What should they do?

First of all a warm Hello to all the Automotive family
Same to you and welcome aboard.
It is really a great place to know about automobile industery in India.]
+100.
I am hereby posting my first thread, I hope it will get some attention of yours
This is your first post , and not the thread IMO.

For being a huge fan of TATA Motors, I am disappointing how TATA motors is failing
No , not you , but the TATA s are disappointing.[:D]

2. TATA should stop the current version of NANO and should change its look to Mega Pixel. The dashboard should make more sporty ]
Then price bracket would fall near Alto 800 or Eon
]3. Replace the existing interior of Storme with ARIA at no extra cost
How come?
TATA should bring back on of its great cars ever "Siarra" with modifications and a 1.5 L diesel engine to compete Renault Duster and Ertiga like cars
+10, but 1.5 lit engine would land it up in high tax net IMO.
TATA Aria a flagship yet the most floppiest model by TATA ever made. So what gone wrong. I think the biggest enemy of Aria is the way it looks,]
No , it is the ASS IMO .
]I think change the makeover of Aria, make it something like X7 and see the difference, even the price tag will not be matter much then]
No buddy , It is the price tag which is is more important for TATAS rather than anything else . The poor ASS and poor dealership experiences are some how compensated because of the affordable price tag , don't you agree ?

However I fully agree with following part of your comment.
7. TATA also need to change their attitude that they are the best, they were the heroes when there was no in house competition. Only Maruti was the competitors. But now almost every major automobile company has its manufacturing plant in India, they are growing faster and are producing cheaper and giving stylus cars than TATA at a great price.

@tornado
Hello guru ji [:)]

Thx for your reply,,

Actually I started it as a new thread but they move it into this post[:D]

I am fully agreed that by changing the look of Nano into megapixel will increase the price of Nano, but don't you think my friend that somehow the price tag of NANO is also going against it. For being a good car (Not that bad) and the cheapest car tag it is not showing good number of sales. ASS is not a matter all the time I think. I am from Punjab and most of the people here take NANO as a cheaper car and don't like to buy it. Most of them take it as an Ego matter and like to buy a good second hand car than a brand new NANO. By changing its look and name it MEGAPIXEL, Price tag near to Alto or EON will do the work as it will be stylus than both of these cars I think.

If XUV can have good gadgets inside for the same price tag almost like Top end version of STORME, why TATA cannot have the same in STORME. ARIA's Interiors specially Central Console is almost similar to XUV. STOME has now a two din stereo system but still it doesn't look that good when you sit in the driving seat of Storme. 'Vaise bhi kuj pane ke liye kuj khone parta hai'. So keep the price tag same or a little bit high for the top end version and change the central console to similar to ARIA with good gadgets would be better. When anyone sits in any car the first thing that catches eye is Central Console, What do you think.

Okay if 1.5L engine will cost much because of taxes than 1.4 but it should be done. Aria is coming in a compact SUV segment soon, but again it isn't gonna make that much difference you will see. People in India like SUV style like Duster, safari, endeavor, fortuner, scorpio and so on, so a compact SUV like Sierra will make more impression than a crossover like ARIA.

Another thing that I have seen is that Media is also playing a vital role in the downfall of TATA. They are giving negative vibes about TATA cars. Watch any Indian car show like Autocars or anything, they talk less about TATA then Mahindra. I have seen a program where they were talking about cars between 5 to 10 lack segment, they mentioned all the cars including Verito, but didn't say a word about Manza which I think is better than Verito (Sorry not to hurt anyone), and the day Vista D90 was launched they talked about its exterior being same and the price been high but not even for 2 seconds they focused on the interior part of D90 which is now same as Manza. Even when it comes to QA parts they never praise any TATA car to buy. I think they have some issues with TATA.

ASS is an issue too but they are not that bad as well. I owns a Safari 3.0L and 2 Indicas, I never had any problem with service guys so far. They are quite welcoming and doing work in time.

Moreover TATA need a new car on a totally new platform soon because others are coming fast. Honda is now a Diesel competitor with AMAZE, and a big risk for Manza, which is already not getting good numbers. Mahindra is getting into compact cars market with Vibe, They are coming like Chupa Rustam within last 2 to 3 years. Chevrolet, Renault, Toyota are following fast. (And not relevant here but even Mercedes is getting cheaper with its A class compact cars[clap])

How can I upload pic in right place can you guys please give some tips.

Thx

Actually I started it as a new thread but they move it into this post[:D]
Sorry , for the misunderstanding.
By changing its look and name it MEGAPIXEL, Price tag near to Alto or EON will do the work as it will be stylus than both of these cars I think.]
But once style and price bracket falls near alto and eon , people would start comparing them on the basis of ASS /power of the car.
And increasing the style quotient above alto /eon needs R & D , funds etc.
If XUV can have good gadgets inside for the same price tag almost like Top end version of STORME, why TATA cannot have the same in STORME.]
I could not understand this.
STORME has now a two din stereo system but still it doesn't look that good when you sit in the driving seat of Storme
Not only driving seat , but also the middle and rear seats . It is not possible to have look at the 2 din screen because of the gear knob and hand changing the gears intervenes the view continously

So keep the price tag same or a little bit high for the top end version and change the central console to similar to ARIA with good gadgets would be better.
IMO , they would need to change whole dashboard and wiring so as to fullfill above demand , and I don't think it is possible without substantial price hike and don't forget the training to be given to dealership and ASS about use and handling of the gadgets.

Another thing that I have seen is that Media is also playing a vital role in the downfall of TATA. They are giving negative vibes about TATA cars.
Why to expect the media to behave like Raja Harishchandra and Queen Taramati all the time ? Media doesn't get any grands from government .
And as the media can't be believed fully all the time , we have this forum to disclose goods and bads of any car without prejudice.

ASS is an issue too but they are not that bad as well. I owns a Safari 3.0L and 2 Indicas, I never had any problem with service guys so far]
Good to know this , but they are not consistent all over India

Thread Starter #165
Another thing that I have seen is that Media is also playing a vital role in the downfall of TATA. They are giving negative vibes about TATA cars. Watch any Indian car show like Autocars or anything, they talk less about TATA then Mahindra. I have seen a program where they were talking about cars between 5 to 10 lack segment, they mentioned all the cars including Verito, but didn't say a word about Manza which I think is better than Verito (Sorry not to hurt anyone), and the day Vista D90 was launched they talked about its exterior being same and the price been high but not even for 2 seconds they focused on the interior part of D90 which is now same as Manza. Even when it comes to QA parts they never praise any TATA car to buy. I think they have some issues with TATA.
Amrinder,

Thats again a failure of Tata Motors.
They have Marketing and PR departments which should do their job and manage the media like others do.
Agree that one need not go for cheap tactics like some buinesses with out much regards to values but could manage media relations in a healthy manner (without compromising values and ethical standards )