What’s Wrong with Tata Motors? An Open Letter To the MD

They'd better stop their production,)]
I wish whole TML car division should be banned in India.
These solutions would create trouble for existing custemers. Rather it is good to see that TATAS and other automakers are getting lessons from the court of the law. I don't mind paying separate tax for CPA while purchasing cars, if the govt. ensures quick justice.

@ Raja, AFA customer care is concerned, TATA'S talent is exausted and whatever they are claiming about the improvement in the care is just a mimicryof the other MNC s. providing good ASS to Storme only is not enough for whole TML.

After going thru' all the pages in this thread, I felt that is that situation of TML so worst as descibed here ?? not really so

Yes there are concerns about their products quality, service quality like any other car maker, but here we have to remember something like every company has their own style of operations and TATA does has one and it may not be able to meet the customers requirements of today's era, BUT still none of the products are withdrawn and their is a good amount of effort seen from TML these days either in the product quality or service side.

And I am sure that TATA is going to come big in the coming Auto expo with the new models and the things need to be set right are being taken care by new management[:)]

I am not a TATA car owner at present and not a loyalist of them at all. This is just my subjective opinion on TML

These solutions would create trouble for existing custemers. Rather it is good to see that TATAS and other automakers are getting lessons from the court of the law. I don't mind paying separate tax for CPA while purchasing cars, if the govt. ensures quick justice.

That is a hard truth yes, but the existing customers are not getting the desired sorry needed attention! So what will you do?

Now within a week we saw the news where Tata landed in a Big trouble paying huge compensations and facing escalations at the peak.

@ Raja, AFA customer care is concerned, TATA'S talent is exausted and whatever they are claiming about the improvement in the care is just a mimicryof the other MNC s. providing good ASS to Storme only is not enough for whole TML.
This step-motherly treatment should be gone first.

After all positive reviews about strome sales is going down month by month.
i was considering seriously to buy one but after reading intial ownership review of storme in another forum i was really shocked that Quality is big issue.
Wobbling,steering wheel doesn't turn left ,door doesn't shut properly with in 3000 kms,AC Grill changed,remote locking changed with in 10K kms.[frustration]

By the way sales figure of storme is 762 for the month of April.
in terms of sale soon storme will be in the way of Aria.

That is a hard truth yes, but the existing customers are not getting the desired sorry needed attention! So what will you do?

Now within a week we saw the news where Tata landed in a Big trouble paying huge compensations and facing escalations at the peak.
But such kind of problems are not tata specific , ford and skoda are known for poorer ASS than Tatas .And we are posting letter only to TML MD, and not to MD s and CEO s of others , hence highlighting bad part of TATAS only.

Here is one example of non TATA ASS. http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...nt-wrong-ford-figo-post227372.html#post227372

100% true . And thanx for sharing it was indeed a great read .
Yes Sir very intelligent article i think. Some real eye openers 18 month project going for 6 years and you spend 400 crores in developing Storme from the Safari 2.2 Dicor - How on earth can this happen in a professionally run company!

From here the only way to go is up! Wish all the luck to Mr.Slym. As a challenge he really has a big one in his hands!

Yes Sir very intelligent article i think. Some real eye openers 18 month project going for 6 years and you spend 400 crores in developing Storme from the Safari 2.2 Dicor - How on earth can this happen in a professionally run company!

From here the only way to go is up! Wish all the luck to Mr.Slym. As a challenge he really has a big one in his hands!
You are right . some couple of post above I did mention that the process will be painful too . And the result can swing both ways like either they come out as completely new company or they are perished .
Also it will be interesting to see what cars they showcase in auto expo 2014 , I mean it generally gives a very rough idea on what direction the company is planning to go .

@IR

+100 and thanks for a good article !!

Yes, they need to revamp, readjust, rethink, renew everything and present their strategy clearly by 2014 Auto expo and as per my source this is being done in a big way and will get reflected in the coming Auto expo. I wish all the best to Mr.Slym and his team[:)]

Nice share IR. It is a good read. Most I like about the article is

If that were the case, the Aria should have been pitted right against Toyota Innova. He adds, “It looks quite similar and it sells quite some volumes in that area. There you go. But the Innova is Rs 9.95 lakh and the Aria was launched at Rs 14.5 lakh. So why do I pay Rs 5 lakh more than the Innova if we are looking at the same customer? You don’t. So that’s where we get back to the disconnect with the customer, not just at the point of sale.”

Tata Motors under its new management has been undergoing several changes in the company’s plans and one of the biggest initiatives is to introduce aggressive products in its current portfolio. The SUV range of Tata will undergo a major overhaul in this process.

The Tata Safari Storme was one of the big initiatives by the company, and the next ones to follow are the Sumo Gold, Aria and even the Grande. The Aria facelift has been due for a while, and this will happen soon, while that for the Sumo Gold is almost ready. Tata has made several changes on these products and will even price them aggressively. The Tata Sumo Gold will be getting some high-end vehicle features too, like Bluetooth connectivity. The Sumo Gold will be launched in June.
The Aria on the other hand is likely to get a new touchscreen infotainment system that we have already seen on the Indigo Manza and the Vista D90. This will get satellite navigation, USB and Bluetooth connectivity as well. The Aria will also be priced aggressively, as Tata Motors have plans to storm the market with its products. The Aria automatic with 6-speed ZF transmission will see the daylight soon.
The Safari Storme will get additional variants; one will be a more powerful version with 165bhp of power and 400Nm of torque. There will also be an automatic on the offering on the Safari Storme with the same 6-speed ZF transmission. Those who need a more stylish Safari Storme, there will be a variant with touchscreen infotainment, with Harman Kardon music system with 10 speakers.
Tata Motors is also working on its next generation of vehicles with the Land Rover team. The next generation will share Land Rover’s technology, which means that the next-generation could make things difficult for the rivals. However, there is still some time to go for that, and hence our current focus will be on the existing range, which will soon receive an upgrade.

Tata Motors to upgrade its existing SUV range | CarDekho.com

TATA already made some changes to ARIA pricing. Pure and prestige versions were withdrawn. Only Pure LX, pleaure and Pride are there. Pleasure is priced at erstwhile Punr @12.37 Lakhs and Pride 4X4 @ 15.11 lakhs from earlier 17.35 lakhs.
Further ARIA will be sold from only 28 dealers. In bangalore Concorde is only authorized to sell it since May 2013. Check the website. Prices revised with out any fan fare last week itself

I was told by sales man at KHT motors that plastics in 2013 ARIA are better as vendor was changed, and gear ratio's changed from 4.1 to 3.7 or some thing.

Some time April ARIA website had under feature link several new features listed. Now they removed the link. But if the old link is still working.

Some of the new features listed are heated seats, hormon music system etc etc

Great Review , i completely support your statements , and to add on , i think TATA has to make some extraordinary revolutions with the TAXI image it has build up in India , Whenever i think of buying a TATA product this is the first thing which struck's my mind and i will immediately back off..

Its good to see some introspection at the top. Only wish if they start looking ahead of time from here on. Not only they need to start building reliable products the consumers actually want but some honest, observable and serious efforts to get control over the A.S.C.s too.

IMO, Tata is not going to fade away that easily and I wish them to bounce back to what they are capable of, if they really wish to do so.

Yes, they need to revamp, readjust, rethink, renew ..
Did you miss "redefine?" or an intentional omission?