The 2014 Honda City (First Look: Page 12)

Re: The 2014 Honda City

So much so discussed about the prices, here are prices for last sold Honda City (in BLR)

City -

City Corporate : Rs. 751,721
City 1.5 E MT : Rs. 821,976
City 1.5 S MT : Rs. 885,711
City 1.5 V MT : Rs. 939,947
City 1.5 SAT : Rs. 951,000
City 1.5 V AT : Rs. 1,005276
City 1.5 V L MT(AVN) : Rs. 1,007,000
City 1.5 V MT Sunroof : Rs. 1,015,320
City 1.5 V AT Sunroof : Rs. 1,090,649

I think they would retain same prices for petrol versions and 1.25 - 1.5 lac premium on diesel ones.

So much so discussed about the prices, here are prices for last sold Honda City (in BLR)

City -

City Corporate : Rs. 751,721
City 1.5 E MT : Rs. 821,976
City 1.5 S MT : Rs. 885,711
City 1.5 V MT : Rs. 939,947
City 1.5 SAT : Rs. 951,000
City 1.5 V AT : Rs. 1,005276
City 1.5 V L MT(AVN) : Rs. 1,007,000
City 1.5 V MT Sunroof : Rs. 1,015,320
City 1.5 V AT Sunroof : Rs. 1,090,649

I think they would retain same prices for petrol versions and 1.25 - 1.5 lac premium on diesel ones.
At these rates with the premium of 1.5 L the top end wont cost you more than 13 L OTR [clap]

I feel Honda city diesel would have max 1.5 lacs more than current petrol model
1 lakh premium for diesel engine
50 k for additional features like push start,Bluetooth,rear ac vents etc
Also it's a new platform,and supposed to be bigger than outgoing model

Re: The 2014 Honda City - automatic diesel coming????

Hi guys, any update if automatic variant in diesel is expected.

I am thinKing of moving from a week old ecosport manual to automatic car. Nothing against ecosport, just that used to automatics for last eight years.

Diesel is required due to efficiency gain it offers.

I feel Honda city diesel would have max 1.5 lacs more than current petrol model
1 lakh premium for diesel engine
50 k for additional features like push start,Bluetooth,rear ac vents etc
Also it's a new platform,and supposed to be bigger than outgoing model
thats what I feel too. Lets wait and watch it live here on the 25th [:)]

I have a feeling the new honda city 2014 front profile would be like vezel
Honda city and vezel are Jazz based. So you can expect the front to be no different.

I have a question here. Let us just imagine city is prized well and is a huge hit and the wait period will be around a year after say 40 days of launch. And you are one among those who will have to wait a year. In the mean time Honda prizes the vezel at 13 L (top variant), to compete against the likes of duster and ecosport. What would you guys choose ?

If you get the vezel at the price of city then will you guys get a Urban SUV or a city? Will you compromise the premium feel of city for the macho feel of the vezel ?

[glasses][:)]

Honda city and vezel are Jazz based. So you can expect the front to be no different.

I have a question here. Let us just imagine city is prized well and is a huge hit and the wait period will be around a year after say 40 days of launch. And you are one among those who will have to wait a year. In the mean time Honda prizes the vezel at 13 L (top variant), to compete against the likes of duster and ecosport. What would you guys choose ?

If you get the vezel at the price of city then will you guys get a Urban SUV or a city? Will you compromise the premium feel of city for the macho feel of the vezel ?
So much of excitement in this thread and its quite understandable. :cool:

Well this a tricky question indeed, but i feel that Honda will deliberately make us wait for the launch of Vezel in India. Once the dust settles down they will again come up with a bang by bringing the Vezel. IMHO i don't think that Honda will be able to manage the numbers that Jazz and City is going to generate in 2014 (if the pricing is right). So i feel that the launch of Maruti's XA Alpha and Vezel will coincide taking the competition to new heights. [roll]

Thread Starter #102

The way some of these launches are timed, one can't fully rule out some kind of cartelization between the big boys of Auto Industry - look at the pattern in the last 4-5 big launches - they have virtually been unchallenged by rivals with new launches for a window of 6 months to 1 year.

1. Duster - remained unchallenged for a year
2. Amaze - no challenge until Grand i10 based sedan (again looks like a year) and Tata Falcon
3. Ecosport - no challenge until XA-Alpha/Vezel (1.5 years?) Terrano was not in the same price segment
4. Grand i10 - no challenge in horizon

I'm not talking about challenge by existing models, but rather new launches.

The C1/C2 sedan space is the only one where it looks like some degree of open competition between Honda,MSIL,VW,Ford,Hyundai and Fiat. Purely based on the competitive outlook for this segment, it appears to promise the best buying experience and value for a consumer.

More stuff happens in the SIAM circles than meets the eye of us gullible auto buyers.

Rahul, in Karnataka the top end Verna Diesel costs 14L [frustration]
That is why I said 14.5 L for Honda D top end [surprise]
But we also have to account for City will have 1.5 Ltr engine vs Verna's 1.6 Ltr. If I am correct there should be some excise benefit to City. Hope Honda does not get too greedy.
Only engine displacement is not the sole criteria for excise benefits.The car should be under 4 meters too!!Hence no benefits for any of the sedans above 4 meters.

Honda knows that competition is waiting in the wings in the C2 segment. We already know about:

1. MSIL's YL1 Sedan
2. VW plans to fit vento with a 1.5L TDI this year which will allow them to save some excise
3. Fiat's Linea facelift launch
4. Verna facelift : the 2014 Accent has already been revealed in US

City can beat each of these individually, but all combined are still a menacing competition to City. For Amaze, Honda probably had only 1 direct competitor, but not so for the City - so all the more reason for Honda to tread cautiously in the pricing front.

I think Honda will launch the City at attractive price without compromising profitability - but will do calibrated price hikes depending on the demand.

One way to achieve this is launch at a wide price band - instead of the current City's Corporate/E/S/V, Honda can probably have E/S/V/Z editions - the topend Z will be the marquee - all bells and whistles at a premium. E/S/V will be reasonably priced, to stave off the competition.

PS: The topend Verna Diesel @14L is probably the CRDi AT. Honda is not going to launch a diesel AT, so I doubt it will go as high as 14.5L
Hey,

No excise benefits on a car which is over 4 meter long, even if engine displaces 1.5 litres !!

I too think Honda is not going above 13 L for top-end Diesel.

Generally nobody charges a premium of 1.5 L. Ok. What if 2 L,even then it will not come down to our (TAI members) cut off cost line of 14 L. Hope they dont charge a heavy premium for earthdream mill
Ajay,

1.5 L premium is already way too high for a corresponding diesel model as with diesel de-regulation difference between the two fuels is decreasing and manufacturers just can't price the diesel counterparts too high!