The 2014 Honda City (First Look: Page 12)

Not again. When will Honda come up width good interiors. Seems Honda overlooks the customers in India. Why can't they come up with interiors like in accord or CRV? Disappointed with the console once again.
That may be a sort of cost-cut to price it competitively.[;)]
Lets wait till january. I have a friend whose brother works at honda. Just had a talk with him and he says that his brother had said him that there were "talks" about city 2014 being priced from (8.5L to 11.5L) for petrol and (9.5 to 13L) for diesel. He and me were wondering why the top-end diesel expects a higher premium ?

If we are looking at 13L for the top of the line diesel I hope that is for the automatic version and OTR and not ex showroom as that would be out of reach for many and the face lifted verna round the corner which would still not be a bad bet. Only downside would be the space the city has to offer and ride quality compared to the verna. With most of the bells and whistles will be only for the top end model it will be interesting to see how the low and mid spec car will be as the verna mid spec has lot to offer.

Yes. My wrong. Its OTR.
Another way of looking at it may be cost of the top variant of amaze ==cost of base variant of 2014 city (cost). Both petrol and diesel.( This is my opinion and I have a gut feel it will go this way )

Sorry for posting back to back post but was going through the Toyota website for prices for Toyota corolla Altis and the base D4D J manual starts at 12.76L Ex-showroom Surat please guys what do you think will be the pricing strategy for Honda as the Fluence and Elantra are also selling under 13.5L ex showroom for the base model. With numbers inching towards the 13L for the Honda city as speculated what would be a realistic price range for them.

Autocarindia said that the all new Honda City is power by Same I-Dtech 1.5L Diesel motor carried over from Honda Amaze, that means no Changes had done to Turbo still it comes with Fixed Turbo Charger and same power and tourq [frustration] No VGT I-DTECH Engine [anger]

Sorry for posting back to back post but was going through the Toyota website for prices for Toyota corolla Altis and the base D4D J manual starts at 12.76L Ex-showroom Surat please guys what do you think will be the pricing strategy for Honda as the Fluence and Elantra are also selling under 13.5L ex showroom for the base model. With numbers inching towards the 13L for the Honda city as speculated what would be a realistic price range for them.
I don't think Honda will price it close to Elantra and fluence because Elantra is a one step ahead of City looking at what both the cars provide and even the size as well.

Autocarindia said that the all new Honda City is power by Same I-Dtech 1.5L Diesel motor carried over from Honda Amaze, that means no Changes had done to Turbo still it comes with Fixed Turbo Charger and same power and tourq [frustration] No VGT I-DTECH Engine [anger]
Somehow i felt that the Amaze diesel is under powered and putting the same engine into a bigger vehicle without tuning it accordingly not a good idea.

BTW: My cousin owns a petrol Amaze AT and he only gets 7-9 kml in Delhi/NCR traffic[surprise]

All New 2014 Honda City | First Look Video From World Premiere | Autocar India - YouTube[/url]

From auto car India.
thanks for the share. interiors are way too better than amaze,well proportioned and attractive. video says diesel nvh has been worked on, which is a big move compared to amaze (just because it is aluminium alloy it can't literally sound like that, inside [frustration])

think they learned from their mistakes, very nice package overall. its all about pricing now!

Dr MUDHAN

Some more interesting information from Malaysia

‘2014 Honda City makes world debut in India – class leading wheelbase, 1.5L diesel and petrol engines.
India will be the first market to get the new City, which will be launched there in January 2014. The Indian-market City will roll out from Honda’s factory in Greater Noida, and we expect production to start in Thailand and Malaysia in the near future. Another coming soon car is the Honda Vezel a.k.a. Jazz SUV, which made its debut at Tokyo 2013.
Indian customers can choose from two 1.5 litre engines, an i-DTEC turbo diesel or an improved version of the i-VTEC SOHC petrol engine we’re familiar with in the current car. The new 100 PS/200 Nm i-DTEC engine, part of Honda’s Earth Dreams Technology family, is a variant of the 1.6 i-DTEC used the the Honda Civic Euro, with a shorter stroke.
The diesel, which also powers the smaller Indian-market Honda Brio Amaze with 25.8 km/l economy, will be greeted warmly in the subcontinent, where diesel cars are getting very popular. However, it’s unlikely to reach our shores due to our sub-par diesel quality.
The petrol, which is more relevant to us, has been improved in the areas of VTEC performance, friction reduction (low tension oil seal, zigzag piston pattern coating), fuel consumption (exhaust gas recirculation EGR, valve timing, double needle plug) and weight. The latter is via an integrated resin intake manifold. No figures were given though. The current City engine does 120 PS and 145 Nm.
At the 2013 Tokyo Motor Show, Sho Minekawa, managing officer and COO of regional sales operations revealed that Honda will be rolling out a City Hybrid next year.’

Ref : Honda City 2014 by Paul Tan's Automotive News

Source

IAB have released images of the Honda City diesel equipped with a 6-speed manual gearbox. I find that quite surprising since the amaze has the same engine but a different transmission. Makes me wonder what Honda are upto. Is it because the engine will be in available in a higher state of tune or is it just to increase the driveablilty and efficiency of the car? Surprise us yet again Honda!

One of my close friend has pre-booked the Honda City diesel yesterday here. Apparently what he got the feedback from the SE is that the pre-booking ratio is almost 2 times more for the petrol version than the new diesel engine. Sure there are a lot of fans out there of this gem of an i-VTEC engine.

Pricing wise, the SE said there won't be any Corporate edition during the launch. Maybe will be launched after a few months when the sales start to drop down.

EMT petrol would start tentatively at Rs. 7.9Lakhs ex-showroom and Diesel EMT version would start around the Rs. 9Lakh bracket. My friend has booked the diesel SMT version and expects the delivery as per the dealer somewhere around February end.

Read some where over the internet the introductory prices of City 2014

Petrol starts - Rs 7.99 lacs (Ex- show Delhi)

Diesel starts - Rs 9.09 lacs (Ex- show Delhi)

No credibility on the information though.

Anshuman

Yes pricing should be around that mark only. Though I was hoping they would have launched the Diesel at Rs 8.5Lacs mark, but that would be asking for a little too much. Given that the base variants have the basic safety features such as ABS and dual front airbags, pricing seems pretty decent if it was to be true. Waiting game is on as of now.

Source

IAB have released images of the Honda City diesel equipped with a 6-speed manual gearbox. I find that quite surprising since the amaze has the same engine but a different transmission. Makes me wonder what Honda are upto. Is it because the engine will be in available in a higher state of tune or is it just to increase the driveablilty and efficiency of the car? Surprise us yet again Honda!
City's diesel engine is unchanged from Amaze, they have added 6 speed gear box. That means you have wide range of utilization of available torque. City is more heavier car than Amaze so naturally there is a chance that same diesel motor would be sluggish with 5 gear setup. Hence the 6th gear, by doing it you will have better drive-ability and also better mileage. More gears good for City, only thing is you will be doing extra gear changes. There will be almost very little turbo lag.