Tata's New Hatchback Zica Now Renamed Tiago

Hi. It's just not clear how a cracked windshield can be a threat to the occupants when the windshields are laminated and designed to crackle to bits on impact. Windshields falling off on impacts are not uncommon in crash tests as well and they are not considered a serious safety hazard. AFAIK, a cracked windshield is a much safer bet for a co-driver without a seat belt as his chances of head injury due to the impact with windshield will be cushioned out a bit.
Shattering with a strong force does involves flying glass bits in any direction, which can be fatal for in car occupants as well as to the 3rd party.
Resources what can be saved from unwanted damage are better than to let them damaged. Its not, whether they're covered under Insurance or not but its a National loss to the precious resources than can be avoided with careful engineering designs.
I won't approve such designs, as they're not logical in right direction.

TATA MOTORS please must address this issue, if anybody is reading this post on their behalf.

Or does anybody conveyed such issue to them, just for the reason of feedback related product development ?

Okay guys, it's official.
Just received the Tiago D for road test, 6-700 kms will be covered in two days and review shall follow soon.
Feel free to shoot any questions, observations and suggestions.
Crisp short review please Mr.Vipul.

Btw, like me how many from you forum members, like to see Driver side Airbag & ABS as standard feature in its mid XM & 2nd to top-XT variant !
Or Driver side Airbag standard across the range or XE variant onwards alongwith ABS as On enquiring its option packs variants are unavailable at showroom during my visit there, few weeks ago.

I booked Tiago XZ Petrol last month. Later test drove Diesel variant and was impressed with it. I was unofficially told by first week of June I can expect delivery. Didn't receive any official confirmation though.
Beginning this month I saw an offer on Diesel Figo manufactured in 2015. Initially Carwale suggested Rs50000 discount which dealer increased even more. Test drove and very impressed with powerful engine of Figo. [clap]
Although Tiago and Figo are in different class, a huge discount narrowed price gap between Diesel Tiago and Diesel Figo.
Decided to cancel Tiago and booked Figo. It's a tough call and will miss Tiago for sure.

There is no confusion in this sir ji. It is more of a mix between the red of the Swift and the i20. It looks good.
The Polo red has a tinge of Rosy gloss in it. The Tiago doesn't have that.
Thanks DJ Bro. Finally I got a chance yesterday to see the Berry Red in person :). It really looks good. It was XE version. If you get to see the the Berry Red XZ interior, please upload some pictures.

My average monthly travel would be around 700-800 KMs in City and 200-250 KMs highway drive in every 5-6 months. Should I go for Petrol or Diesel ? Planning to take the XZ variant Berry Red with customized AC vent colour.

Took this pic when got a chance to see the red tiago in person. XE variant.

image.jpeg

Shattering with a strong force does involves flying glass bits in any direction, which can be fatal for in car occupants as well as to the 3rd party.
Resources what can be saved from unwanted damage are better than to let them damaged. Its not, whether they're covered under Insurance or not but its a National loss to the precious resources than can be avoided with careful engineering designs.
I won't approve such designs, as they're not logical in right direction.

TATA MOTORS please must address this issue, if anybody is reading this post on their behalf.

Or does anybody conveyed such issue to them, just for the reason of feedback related product development ?

Crisp short review please Mr.Vipul.

Btw, like me how many from you forum members, like to see Driver side Airbag & ABS as standard feature in its mid XM & 2nd to top-XT variant !
Or Driver side Airbag standard across the range or XE variant onwards alongwith ABS as On enquiring its option packs variants are unavailable at showroom during my visit there, few weeks ago.

I'M Agree with you, there will ABS and Airbag in its Mid XM & 2nd to top-XT variant

I am not able to do PM as I don't see this option. I learnt that I would be able to see the PM option after 10 Post. So I have to wait for 10 Post

I am done with 1700 KM with my Tiago XZ Petrol and would be going this Sunday for first checkup/service as described by Tata.
Would you like to suggest any point which I need to take care during this first checkup/service.
Second, is there any Accessories which is needed additionally in the car and should be bought from showroom only. One thing I see is mud flap which were not available in showroom when I bought the car.

Just to update on Mileage Figure on my Tata Tiago XZ Petrol (Done 1700 KMs). In Trip A/B meter it shows 19.5 ( I never set this Trip A/B meter and will learn how to set. This meter shows the same KM as it is run as of today) and when I calculated by Tank full method it gave me 17.3 (in previous tank full it was 16.28).
Now I am tracking the numbers through Fuelio app shared by someone in the group.
Any idea, if this mileage figure going to increase with time/services..
Dear Manoj Bro, Kindly Update latest Mileage Figures, And AC Performance , riding Quality. Im not Decided with Petrol btwn Diesel, if Petrol Version gives Nice Mileage then will go with Petrol. whats ur suggestion?

I took delivery of my XZ Petrol White (Mfg. MAY 2016). here are the first impressions of first 200 Kms drive:

Pros:
1. Super cool AC
2. Fantastico Music system
3. Nice tyres
4. Excellent suspensions
5. Engine refinement good around 2K rpm\
6. Excellent steering and light clutch
7. Nice slick gear [initially i took time to adjust... after it was smooth]

Cons:
1. Gear lever vibrations were prominent at idle and low RPMs [of about 1 k - 1.8-9 k] [it was refined about 2K and more, i didnot go beyond 2.7-8 k] --> I request some of the buyer to confirm this. I am not sure if this will improve after 2000 kms or so. Inputs are welcome !!!
I worried because i did not feel the same in the TD vehicle [might have rum about 1.5k]. TD one was very good - hoping mine to be refined after some kms on ODO.

2. I could feel some vibes at steering as well around low RPMs [of about 1 k - 1.8-9 k]
3. Car felt bit lazy to move [especially in first / second gear [second was a bit better than first]]

MAJOR point of happiness --> in this initial ride [40% city / 60% highway and mix of city/Ecco modes] it returned average of about 20.5 [on screen] with AC on all the time :)

Please do let me know your views.
Dear Bro ,
Please Update your Latest Review of your Tiago

For those who are confused between Petrol vs Diesel choice - I've couple of pointers.

1. Budget: If budget is low better choice is Petrol. Initial investment is low and running cost & maintenance are also low. After the car is out of warranty one can convert it to a CNG car which will drive running cost even down.
  2. Average km per month: As several pundits suggested if car will be driven less than 1500 Km or so Petrol is a better choice.
  3. Drive-ability: If you love to drive, want power as and when you require then diesel would be the better choice. I'm assuming there is no budget constraint.
Let me share my experience. I drive a Nano and fully understand there is no comparison with Tiago. I have driven my Nano 20000Km+ in bumper to bumper traffic and my experience have taught me drive-ability of a car is pretty important.
Nano engine comes to life post 2200~2250 rpm when it is carrying one person. Load it with 3 more passengers and turn AC on and you'll feel the lack of power. Car will crawl till engine is revved beyond 2700~2800 rpm to get a feel of power. Note peak torque in Nano comes at 4000 rpm.

Having said this I love Nano and it is the best one can get on a shoe-string budget.

Now coming to Tiago - I've test driven both Petrol and Diesel. If I do a comparison

• Tiago Petrol is slow to accelerate at low rpm. It's peak torque comes at 3500 rpm. Therefore once car is loaded one needs to rev little harder or work on a lower gear at low speed.
  • Tiago Diesel peak torque is generated between 1800 to 3000 rpm. Load this car fully & drive in bumper to bumper traffic and one will notice car is a lot livelier than Petrol.
Now think & decide what you want. You have budget, love to drive, want to enjoy power - go with Diesel. Else go with Petrol.

Accessories for Tiago.

Good News for owners of Tiago. Finally got 3D mats and mud flaps from local shop in Ahmedabad. Mats costed 1450 and flaps 350.
There was an option in mats at 1100 but was in beige and not superior quality. The same is available on Naptol also.

Congratulations to all of you who have booked or got the delivery of the new exiting hatch TIAGO from TATA Motors.

While keeping all the excitement around. I would like to take you back to the days when the new project was just announced. I remember the TATA announced in 2013 that an all new car based on the X0 platform in under production and will take a few years to launch the product. Though the car will use the current X0 platform for fast development process, the car would bear no resemblance to the TATA INDICA. Then started hue and cry that this should have been on an all new platform as the current platform is outdated and holds no good for the new car and will fail.

TATA again re-clarified that the current platform is still good to make new cars on it and the all-new modular platform will take time to see the day light at there is considerable work and the process has just begun. But the hue and cry from fans continued, which was justified keeping in mind the admiration to Mr. Ratan Tata and TATA MOTORS. Still to remind you guys that TATA MOTORS is the only true domestic car manufacturer in India. Others just make MUVs and SUVs.

Now after watching the car in broad daylight, I am sure it has made many jaws drop and has stirred lots of excitement in the market. Despite the history of the lethargic product turnover and After sales, Good number of booking has it garnered Keeping in mind the plus points. I'm sure it is a huge success. One lakh enquires and 20.000 bookings as on 31st April is a good performance and by now I am sure bookings should have touched 30,000 units.

From now on I expect TATA Motors surge and am sure they will not need to look back to the bad days and will keep the sales chart ringing.