Tata Zest vs Honda Amaze vs Maruti Dzire vs Hyundai Xcent vs Ford Figo Sedan

Which is the Best Compact Sedan in India

last year while looking for purchasing compact sedan test drove below cars,

Maruti Dzire: having huge network and mileage encouraging its sales, but didn't find exclusivity factor to maintain it. more than that showroom guys behavior didn't encouraged my purchasing decision. [frustration]

Tata Zest: badge itself says its robust builder. zest is heavy vehicle and its build quality is superb for its segment, a lot has changed from indica to zest in terms of quality except the design language making it look like another taxi vehicle. interiors are well layout. mileage figures are not so so and long term maintenance is not known assuming its TATA.

Honda Amaze: brand factor and best engine combined with mileage figures made me enter into their showroom. exterior design is quite ok but the interiors made me remind it as we hadn't paid enough amount so we are not provided basic interiors. city running is good and out on highway engine sound and wind sound increasing with speed made me not to go for it.

Hyundai Accent: all electronics, interior quality above its class segment, but 1.1 litre engine and its dimensions played against the vehicle. more than that its 4 seater and useful only in city.

Ford Aspire: open it on highway and hilly roads, it will show truely what it is. best design from front end and acceptable design from rear, longest wheel base in its segment, interiors are well laid out and best torque engine with leading mileage figures.
as these engines are old engines( 8 valves) there will be less maintenance compared to others and exclusivity factor still present.

finally choosen Ford Aspire 1.5 TDCI

Re: Tata's New Hatchback Zica Now Renamed Tiago

Yes bro, many websites like Tbhp(as I'm also member) & Od & Motorbeam & our Tai makes unbiased good reviews. But ACI review on Tata safari storme was not balanced. They mentioned only Cons. They never praised Tata brand & cars though. Did NVH & Transmission & Turbo lag is bad in Storme varicor? I've driven it & it's 'nvh' better than scorpio & even xuv also(I own Xuv500)!! Even 6 speed was slick and varicor smooth & refined. For me if any one gives Bad impressions on capable cars that to our Indian brand!! I can't listen that.
Ofcourse they Praise Any crap from Japanese,Korean,german brands.
I have a doubt how New Dzire(ugly design,poor sheet metal,old dzire was looking 100 times better though) was better than Zest in anyway?(Expect A.S.S) though they have amc packages (if anyone claims dzire & amaze better than zest, i seriously argue to Once TD zest)
I own Baleno also & I'm still worried on it's Build quality(it's my mom's car).
Has anyone driven Celero 2pot Diesel?
Yes if people are ok with polo,grand i10,2pot Celerio then why not Tata?
'These are just my Personal feelings & opinions if any one feels offended My Serious apologies for you'.

Yes bro, many websites like Tbhp(as I'm also member) & Od & Motorbeam & our Tai makes unbiased good reviews. But ACI review on Tata safari storme was not balanced. They mentioned only Cons. They never praised Tata brand & cars though.
Manish I respect your view but now lets not get into any other forum's habit and culture. It is against our protocol and also voids the intent of the thread.[:)]

For me if any one gives Bad impressions on capable cars that to our Indian brand!! I can't listen that.
Ofcourse they Praise Any crap from Japanese,Korean,german brands.
One should praise a deserving product irrespective of it's country of origin or the brand buddy.

I own Baleno also & I'm still worried on it's Build quality(it's my mom's car).
I know many owners have complained on this. I have seen my uncle's face and expression when he shared it with me about the sorry state of the built quality.

Has anyone driven Celero 2pot Diesel?
Don't remind me of the Horror! Spare me! You may read about the nightmare here.. I have not seen a single one here in Delhi & Noida.

Yes if people are ok with polo,grand i10,2pot Celerio then why not Tata?
Simple, one thing cannot be liked by everyone at all times.

'These are just my Personal feelings & opinions if any one feels offended My Serious apologies for you'.
No offense taken, points well accepted. Now lets continue with TIAGO

Dekho Manish & Lakshit, it is simple! While driving any brand's car the sole aim of any reviewer i.e me or anyone has to ... ... ...

Totally agree with you. A reviewer should not let personal brand bias come to mind as sometimes these reviews build views of the public about a particular brand or car. They sort of give an initial impression of what can be expected from the car. A balanced review, say with equal number of positives and negatives highlighted (because every car has almost an equal number of pros and cons, one needs to look closely and find out), is the best thing to do. If a review goes entirely negative (or more negative than positive), a good percent of people may not consider the car or at least develop a negative feeling about it. The review in question has clearly stated that it is not worth unless you are a big Safari fan. I don't know but at least some people would have looked for other options and ignored the Storme due to this reason also (i.e. even without a test drive). This should be avoided. These reviews are highly influential, they mean a lot to general less-informed public. Due credit and due criticism should be provided, no matter whether the car is a Tata or a Mercedes Benz.

And we have absolutely no doubts about the quality and content of TAI reviews! Sorry for going off-topic. I will stop here. [:)]

When reviewing any of the new gen TATA vehicles don't we see a pattern always. First the reviewer will praise the looks/seating then will list out the competition. Then the positives listed are limited to that and the final judgement is buy this but at your own peril. I will give an example TATA Zest comes with 90bhp engine but baleno comes with a 75 bhp engine so performance of both of them will be more or less same since Zest is heavier. Remember all the three cars Zest, Baleno and Scross come with the same Fiat MJD engine, but the NVH levels in Zest diesel are far lower than baleno's and even the real world mileage figures are similar. Zest trumps Baleno in terms of road noise, heck in terms of road noise Zest is better than Scross too. If anyone does a back to back test these points will come out very easily. Now the same reviewer comments for Baleno will be about its stylish looks and Apple car play audio. Has anyone seen a review where it's pointed that a Baleno's steering doesn't self centre or its back seat ride is bad with high suspension noise and road noise. No because big Daddy Maruti will get angry and not treat you to goodies later.

Has anyone seen a review where it's pointed that a Baleno's steering doesn't self centre or its back seat ride is bad with high suspension noise and road noise. No because big Daddy Maruti will get angry and not treat you to goodies later.
I wrote something in my review on similar lines and do second your thoughts on Baleno's ride.

Ride and Suspension, If I speak of the ride then I must say that it is not anything extra ordinary. On a pot-holed road of Sector 62-63 Noida, though it did not scrape through due to 170mm GC but especially in petrol engine I felt the jerks were prominent on bad roads. And If I talk of the Diesel’s ride then I can say that the suspension setup is tad better than the petrol one.

PS: I think the way we are discussing other cars/forums here at some point moderator action will be there. Request you buddies to let go of the reviews and lets be on track with the TIAGO[:)]

I wrote something in my review on similar lines and do second your thoughts on Baleno's ride.

PS: I think the way we are discussing other cars/forums here at some point moderator action will be there. Request you buddies to let go of the reviews and lets be on track with the TIAGO[:)]
Akash you are definitely an unbiased reviewer hats off! I give a lot of importance to TAI because of people like you who give their opinions dil se aur dimaag se!

Before anyone jumps on me, let me make it clear that I wrote THIS (Special focus on bold part):
@Manish:
I agree that they made bad reviews about Safari Varicor and Zest engines but can you tell me what wrong they wrote? In fact what's right then? What exactly you think is special in the Varicor (320 Nm one) and revotron/quadrajet in Zest?
And THIS too:

Revotron may come out as a surprise having a better low end and mid range than competition; if yes than the engine will be best in real world driveability because our cas spend most of their life in low end and mid range. But the diesel one I am really skeptical about, I just don't trust these low displacement kids, neither they perform like a proper high displacement engine, nor they deliver FE like an engine of their size does; especially when pushed.
I am looking forward to Tiago and have set my mind on the diesel version. I don't trust their petrol engines, not that they are bad, but they don't have
1. Proven Record
2. Resale.
Exactly my point, Revotron 1.2 turbo may be getting praises at places (few though) but the engine has got nothing special to be very true. I have driven a Bolt on a long route and I was far from satisfied with performance:economy compromise.

Our Reporter saab also made a review of new safari storme!! Now please compare both reviews.
Akash doing a review of a car doesn't prove anything, does it? Can you say that he has covered every single aspect perfectly? I can't, and Akash knows quite well what all is missing and what isn't. Very simple, a 10-15 kms TD is never enough to test the vehicle in all waters.

So do you think Dzire or amaze is better than Zest?
In petrol guise, both of them are.
In diesel guise, both of them are not just better; they are way better.
Drive it to believe it, Zest has got a lot of features and a lower price; is there any other USP?
DZire has a very competent set of engines and the seating is really comfortable and so is the ride - handling compromise. Amaze has better space management and a bigger boot with both the engines being best in class. What the Zest exactly has against them; other than a lower sticker price?

So I will not agree that Tata doesn't have good engines, though vehicle dynamics, gearbox and suspension leave a lot to be desired.
My thoughts are different when it comes to suspension; I personally find the suspension systems to be best in class when it comes to Tata.
If gearbox is leaving a lot to be desired then what's the use of a good engine? That's what I never like about the Tata cars; they simply never perform the way the numbers do suggest. Varicors are good and smooth engines but where is the sense of urgency that we get in mHawk?

And 320Nm one is non-Varicor, which I know will be strictly average to drive. In the 400Nm one, I doubt if anyone would find any complaints with the engine. It more than does the job, and it is exciting to see the heavy car accelerate in the turbo zone everytime!
It's 6-speed also slick & refined. Yes NVH was better than scorpio & even xuv500.
320NM was is non-varicor.
Well, this is what the brochure has to say:
Link - Official Tata Safari Storme Varicor 320 Brochure

Safari Storme is having the 'Varicor' engine from DAY 1 of its launch. DiCOR was with the older one.

I guess vipul didn't driven upgraded storme!!
Right you are, can you find any comment from my side at any corner of web where I have written anything good or bad about this specific vehicle or engine (Varicor 400)? In fact for your better understanding; I have clearly mentioned Varicor (The 320 Nm one) in my previous post - please do cross check, I have highlighted the same in the beginning of this post too.

Reviews are just point of views but at the same time point of view has to be balanced. Whether it's ACI or Tbhp or anyone, they are not ultimate deciding factors and the end decision of purchase is of the customer only. And no reviewer can ever have that sort of experience which an owner of the car will have.
Sirji my point is also exactly the same. Reviews are basically the views of a person on the car; his experience of other vehicles and his wits do make the review meaningful. Being unbiased is most important and since I myself seldom do review a car or bike; I will refrain from calling any official reviewer biased at least. C'mon man, everyone tries their best to be right; only selection of words and presentation may be different.

The same ACI praised the Storme to length and breadth of this country when the Storme was launched. The same ACI declared it better than Scorpio even after mentioning that Scorpio is more sprightly when Storme was launched. The same ACI mentioned that new gen Scorpio has better acceleration but Storme is longer lasting in terms of performance; something I will 200% agree. Now how it happens that they become biased, paid, sold and what not just because they haven't written something that isn't liked by many?

Additionally it is important not to rely on a single review always and better to compare many and focus on the common points. Pinch of salt is also needed while reading reviews though.

BTW Akash sirji, I hope you remember when I give you phone calls specifically to mention a review or two I have read somewhere just to say "Akash bhai, just read this one, how much detailed and how much unbiased". TBHP Zica/Tiago review is one such review IMO; worth a read. They have praised everything, it's only on the engine department that things do change.

Tata plonked 3 cylinder engine in Tiago and thus the performance is typical 3 pot engine, specially the kind of good built quality is on offer than a tin can which is another reason less zipping performance.
\
Sirji 3 pot engines, especially the taller stroke ones are known to be very responsive, I hope you know this one. Seriously, Celerio and Polo, both are very peppy and responsive; especially in low end and mid range. These three pot motors with taller strokes are known to require very less gearshifts and their capability to pull cleanly from dirt low speeds at times in higher gears. Polo petrol pulls right from 15 kph in third, 25 kph in fourth and 35 kph in fifth cog without any drama and so does Celerio (there is a valid technical reason for that). I have been driving a Polo petrol since a couple of days and I am happy with the way it drives. The engine is audible inside but despite of having a modest figure of just 75 bhp on paper and a heavy kerb weight; the Polo is way more responsive than Swift and Grand i10 petrol in low end and mid range; exactly where the cars are normally driven. If Polo can do that, why can't Tiago? Polo is heavier and has lower power on paper - it has 75 horses but at least all of them are present in the class when needed.

An excerpt from TBHP review and this one really says a lot about this 3 pot engine:
The talking point is its driveability. You can easily potter around in a higher gear and there is no shuddering felt inside the cabin either. It has enough poke to carry you in town with few gear changes, albeit in a relaxed manner. You won't find the need to rev the Revotron hard. Overall, it's a fair point A->B commuter, but is no scorcher. Like some other 3-cylinder engines, city driving can get jerky though, especially in stop & go traffic. You'll have to put in special effort to drive smoothly. One needs to carefully manage the accelerator & clutch to avoid jerks.
If this is true then this engine is fantastic for real world drivability.

We know it's a segment where mileage is more important than outright performance. And the kind of price everyone is looking from Tata motors we can't expect mjd of maybe a 4 cylinder mill.
Hyundai 1.2 Kappa2 is my answer to this one. If Hyundai can do then why can't Tata?

People are okay with polo, celerio and i10 grand's 3 pot engine but not Tata's. Irony
I don't have a complain regarding number of cylinders. Did I? In fact these 3 pot heroes are FE kings when driven well.

But ACI review on Tata safari storme was not balanced. They mentioned only Cons. They never praised Tata brand & cars though.
Here is the link to the said review:
Tata Safari Storme Review | Cars First Drive | SUV/Crossovers | Autocar India

Now read it and tell me which parts show that ACI is biased against the car and what wrong they have written. Safari is a heavy vehicle for the 2.2l engine (everyone knows that) and hence has turbo lab; now with the bigger turbo, the lag will be even more evident.

Engine sounds coarse when revved: Well, even ice_wise also wrote the same.

Tata has added power, torque and a gear but they haven't touched the suspension, brakes etc; you can't deny the facts sirji. With more power, it is important to give better control, what Tata has done on that front?

I have a doubt how New Dzire(ugly design,poor sheet metal,old dzire was looking 100 times better though) was better than Zest in anyway?(Expect A.S.S) though they have amc packages (if anyone claims dzire & amaze better than zest, i seriously argue to Once TD zest)
I have driven the Zest a lot, when I say a lot; I mean it. I would love to know from you what exactly are the USPs of Zest against DZire and Amaze.

Yes if people are ok with polo, grand i10 then why not Tata?
Polo petrol and Grand i10 diesel.
Have I anywhere said that having 3 cylinders is bad? I am 200% okay with 3 pots but I need the drivability and FE. If Tiago gives this then it's wonderful and if it doesn't then?

When reviewing any of the new gen TATA vehicles don't we see a pattern always. First the reviewer will praise the looks/seating then will list out the competition.
ACI declared the Zest the winner of their shootout against DZire, Amaze and Xcent.

I will give an example TATA Zest comes with 90bhp engine but baleno comes with a 75 bhp engine so performance of both of them will be more or less same since Zest is heavier.
Ciaz, Ertiga and S-Cross are all heavier than Zest. why it is so that they feel more sprightly than Zest? It's not just about weight sirji, there is something called engine tuning and selection of right gear ratios. MSIL is the undisputed king here IMO, they always tune their engine to give the best out of it and the gearbox simply complements it. All their cars IMO have the best engine-gearbox combo in their respective segments closely followed by our homegrown Mahindra.

in terms of road noise Zest is better than Scross too.
Sorry sirji, I simply can't agree on this one. The build quality, highway manners (they are best under 15 lac IMO), drivability, suspension, ride and handling of S Cross is something Zest can't even come close and NVH is more or less similar but not better in Zest at least. Err, these are too far apart vehicles to be even compared.

Now the same reviewer comments for Baleno will be about its stylish looks and Apple car play audio.
This is definitely a wrong move. BTW which reviewer did that? Funny for sure though!

big Daddy Maruti will get angry and not treat you to goodies later.
Nothing like that sirji, else Maruti cars wouldn't have ever lost any comparisons.

In petrol guise, both of them are.
In diesel guise, both of them are not just better; they are way better.
Drive it to believe it, Zest has got a lot of features and a lower price; is there any other USP?
DZire has a very competent set of engines and the seating is really comfortable and so is the ride - handling compromise. Amaze has better space management and a bigger boot with both the engines being best in class. What the Zest exactly has against them; other than a lower sticker price?

My thoughts are different when it comes to suspension; I personally find the suspension systems to be best in class when it comes to Tata.
If gearbox is leaving a lot to be desired then what's the use of a good engine? That's what I never like about the Tata cars; they simply never perform the way the numbers do suggest. Varicors are good and smooth engines but where is the sense of urgency that we get in mHawk?

Well, this is what the brochure has to say:
Link - Official Tata Safari Storme Varicor 320 Brochure

Safari Storme is having the 'Varicor' engine from DAY 1 of its launch. DiCOR was with the older one.

The same ACI praised the Storme to length and breadth of this country when the Storme was launched. The same ACI declared it better than Scorpio even after mentioning that Scorpio is more sprightly when Storme was launched. The same ACI mentioned that new gen Scorpio has better acceleration but Storme is longer lasting in terms of performance; something I will 200% agree. Now how it happens that they become biased, paid, sold and what not just because they haven't written something that isn't liked by many?

My views on the above points:

Zest diesel is better than Dzire/ Amaze interms of rear seat comfort because of better suspension. Also the under thigh support as well as the seat width is better suited for 3 people. Comfort is better because of better NVH be it road noise or outside noise insulation. Because Zest has a VGT turbocharger fewer gear shifts are required in traffic compared to the Dzire. And I always believe Zest is a much safer car than both because of better brakes and crash tested and TATA's inhouse facility. The bigger and better tyres of Zest which are of size 185/65 R 15 contribute to the better braking unlike the crappy 165/80 r14 JK tyres on Dzire. Now all these at a cheaper price than others.

Storme had a Varicor engine from beginning but the same Varicor had changed to 156bhp with a self adjusting clutch in middle of July 2015. Now how many reviews are pointing out about the light clutch in the Storme. I can tell from my 18months of owning the same engine clutch combo in my Aria that its a real blessing in traffic.
The Auto car first drive review of the new Storme 400 comments that there are flaws in the 400nm version and it had serious turbo lag below 2000rpm. I have driven the 2wd myself and the way it picks up speed from low rpm was much better than my Aria. The refinement was in another world it was far from the coarse feeling which Auto car mentions. These views of mine are concurrent with the many ownership reviews floating around.
Quoting from the owner ship review
"Idle rpm is around 900rpm at which its quite stable.
Torque delivery is max & linear from 1100 to 2000 rpm.
Does not require frequent gearshifts like Mahindra Xuv Mhawk 2.2
Comfortably cruises at 80 in 6th gear.Jeepster's 2016 Tata Safari Storme Varicor400 (1500rpm)
No or Minimum turbo lag."

http://www.theautomotiveindia.com/f...sters-2016-tata-safari-storme-varicor400.html

Now every Storme vs Scorpio review note that the storme would be a 4x4 whereas a Scorpio will be a 2 WD. A 4wd version will have a heavier steering with slower initial acceleration too. If they can't get a 2wd storme they should refrain from those comparisons.

Ehh.. Good ol' days seem to be getting back [:D]

My views on the above points:
Zest diesel is better than Dzire/ Amaze interms of rear seat comfort because of better suspension. Also the under thigh support as well as the seat width is better suited for 3 people.
Sin in the rear seat of a DZire, open the armrest and see what's the difference. Where Zest is virtually having a bench type seat; DZire has properly accommodating well shaped seat. Check it to believe it. Amaze also has got decent cushioning with great legroom advantage. Many people don't prefer the all black interior of Zest because it gives a claustrophobic feeling at times, what you have to say about that?
Suspension I agree is better in Zest but the ride quality of DZire and Amaze also isn't far behind by any ways. Drive it to believe it.

Comfort is better because of better NVH be it road noise or outside noise insulation. Because Zest has a VGT turbocharger fewer gear shifts are required in traffic compared to the Dzire.
NVH difference isn't much remarkable I tell you. It is there and NVH is better in Zest for sure but the difference isn't too much and a normal joe will barely mark any much difference.
Fewer gear shifts!! Saarji, just go for a drive. Zest requires more of them as compared to DZire which happily pulls in 3rd, 4th and fifth gear from lower speeds (Not standstill).

And I always believe Zest is a much safer car than both because of better brakes and crash tested and TATA's inhouse facility. The bigger and better tyres of Zest which are of size 185/65 R 15 contribute to the better braking unlike the crappy 165/80 r14 JK tyres on Dzire. Now all these at a cheaper price than others.
Z variants of Swift/DZire get wider rubber as well as brake assist too. Lower variants I agree have very poor braking performance and skinny tyres just add more to the voes.

Now how many reviews are pointing out about the light clutch in the Storme.
Most of the reputed ones have given a special mention to the light clutch when Storme came into market. Even I also praised the light clutch a lot but that's a market standard now; nothing special.

I can tell from my 18 months of owning the same engine clutch combo in my Aria that its a real blessing in traffic.
Agree sirji; BTW Aria is the best Tata ever made is what I believe. I have been into an Aria on driver seat as well as middle row on a good long drive and I know what a gem of comfy cruiser it is. [clap]

Now every Storme vs Scorpio review note that the storme would be a 4x4 whereas a Scorpio will be a 2 WD. A 4wd version will have a heavier steering with slower initial acceleration too. If they can't get a 2wd storme they should refrain from those comparison.
Agree sirji and that's the reason I go by my experiences with 2WD Safari.