Tata Zest vs Honda Amaze vs Maruti Dzire vs Hyundai Xcent vs Ford Figo Sedan

Which is the Best Compact Sedan in India

WOWO - - 5176 ! for Aspire, Excellent sales figures ! we have a easy winner
Not to defame anything from Aspire but the numbers are mainly due to the initial surge that happens when a car is newly released, Creta is getting consistent but if you see the sales of Mobilio - the first month sales is 5530 and this month sales is 899 which tell a lot about product success. We need to wait for some more months to see how it's faring in Indian market. To me lack of ABS in the trend variant is the deal breaker. Hoping they revise it soon.

From the tata motors press release about the anniversary edition.

Tata Motors launches special edition of its highly acclaimed compact sedan- Tata Zest
~ Zestifying customers with its 1st anniversary special edition ~

Special anniversary edition with 10 new attractive features
• Built on XMS variant only and will be offered in Petrol and Diesel
• New exterior features:
1. New exterior colour – Vocal White
2. ‘Anniversary’ theme body graphics
3. ‘Anniversary Edition’ badge on C-Pillar
4. New wheel covers
5. Piano black ORVM
6. Front lower bumper painted in body colour
• New interior features:
7. Anniversary embroidery on front seats
8. Scuff plate with illumination for front
9. Powered rear curtain with remote
10. Bottle holder on floor console

Mumbai, September 10th, 2015: Tata Motors launches the anniversary special edition of Tata Zest, which marks the completion of an exciting and successful journey for the brand. This anniversary edition will come with 10 new attractive features and will be available in the XMS model, in both petrol and diesel variants. This special edition will be available for sale starting end of September, in select showrooms, till October 2015. It will be priced at INR 5.89 Lakhs for the petrol variant, ex-showroom Delhi (Difference of INR.15,000 on the current XMS model) and INR 6.94 Lakhs for the diesel variant, ex-showroom Delhi. With this exciting offer, customers will enjoy benefits worth INR 31,000 at the price of INR 15,000 only.

Launched in August 2014, Tata Zest has been an integral part of Tata Motors’ passenger vehicle portfolio and started the journey of transformation for the Company’s product, sales and service experience. Tata Zest is the first all-new car, to roll-out, under the Horizonext strategy. The product was developed based on three core vectors of Designext, Drivenext and Connectnext. It has been the most awarded car in 2014 and has contributed significantly to the passenger vehicle sales.

According to Mr. Mayank Pareek, President, Passenger Vehicle Business Unit, Tata Motors, “We are delighted to announce that Zest from Tata Motors, which is the Company’s first brand new product under its HORIZONEXT strategy, has completed one year in the industry. On this occasion, we would like to extend our gratitude to our customers for trusting the brand. Designed and developed with state of the art features, Zest has changed the face of Tata Motors and has successfully exemplified the Company’s focus on best-in-class product and service experiences. With the special edition we celebrate its 1st anniversary with our customers and hope to see the brand evolve as a winner in its class in the years to come.”

The anniversary edition Zest is equipped with 10 new features such as new exterior colour, new wheel covers, Paino Black outside rear view mirrors, ‘anniversary’ embroidery on front seats. The car additionally comes with an ‘Anniversary pack’ as an accessory kit. This kit will contain anniversary theme body graphics, anniversary edition badge on the C-pillar, rear windshield power curtain with remote, bottle holder on floor console and scuff plates with illumination for the front.

- Ends-
About Tata Motors

Tata Motors Limited is India’s largest automobile company, with consolidated revenues of INR 2,62,796 crores (USD 42.04 billion) in 2014-15. Through subsidiaries and associate companies, Tata Motors has operations in the UK, South Korea, Thailand, South Africa and Indonesia. Among them is Jaguar Land Rover, the business comprising the two iconic British brands. It also has an industrial joint venture with Fiat in India. With over 8 million Tata vehicles plying in India, Tata Motors is the country’s market leader in commercial vehicles and among the top in passenger vehicles. Tata cars, buses and trucks are being marketed in several countries in Europe, Africa, the Middle East, South Asia, South East Asia, South America, Australia, CIS and Russia.
(Tata Motors Limited | Largest Indian Automobile Manufacturer ; also follow us on Twitter: https://twitter.com/TataMotors)

For further information, please contact:
Ms. Ashmita Pillay
Corporate Communications
Tata Motors
E-mail: ashmita.pillay@tatamotors.com
Mobile: +91-9029037016

I don't think this is a legitimate image, the edition said that front lower bumper is body colored, its missing. Anniversary badge in the rear c pillar is missing. Piano black orvm is only on the lower side not completely black. Can you please tell where you got this image?
Yes it's not the image for edition and i don't know how they calculated 31000/- cost.

However bottle console and scuff plates are welcome change. What I understand from lower bumper color is direct pick from Bolt. Below is the image if am not wrong:

They should take lessons from how Maruti is operating on various editions of the same car. As soon as they release a new limited edition variant, They'll release an entire webpage with details of every single thing that you'll get with the limited edition. It's photographs, price details, etc

See I'm searching for a visual for the updated anniversary edition and it's add ons in flesh. I couldn't find any. Even the official pictures in tata motors facebook page is a downright cheap Photoshop image with all the details missing.

It's disappointing.

strange
we all have voted the Zest the winner-sales are exactly the opposite! is its that all enthusiasts like us hope against hope for the home grown tata? I believe we all want it to succeed! People however are prudent with their money-Indians still spend with their brains (reliability, after sales, word of mouth...)!

Yes, People in India listen to brains when it comes to buying a Car, Coz we don't buy a car every couple of years or so. So we go for the Stability, Price, Reliability , after sales, in Long term, while choosing a Car. Afterall, it will be with us for at least 8-10 Yrs (AGW)

Dunno why but I can see a bit more discounts coming on Swift and DZire in near future.

After looking at the sales figures, with the market already at growth and every segment growing. The sales of Swift and DZire are actually on a downfall if we look at MoM numbers. Definitely Aspire, i20, Figo etc have dented the Swift a bit. Zest sales do look unfazed (I was quite sure that Zest will not face much heat) but Amaze seems to have taken the worst hit. Production lines at MSIL are already running at their peak and MSIL is producing a lot of Swifts and DZires, so if the sales keep on dropping for coming two to three months then MSIL will have a good inventory to clear; result - discounts.

And a Maruti with discounts is lethal for competitors.

Looking at the sales, initial reviews, attention and reputation Ford hai gained, I am expecting the numbers between 5-7.5k per month for Aspire and 4-6k for Figo at Max.

And a Maruti with discounts is lethal for competitors.
I am expecting the numbers between 5-7.5k per month for Aspire and 4-6k for Figo at Max.
5K-7.5 K per month for Aspire & Figo, i guess that's too optimistic I could be somewhere, 1.5K to 2 K per month. And you said it correctly, Maruti with Discounts will prove lethal for others. I think it would be interesting to see the fight between Amaze/Xcent/Zest/Aspire.

I wish my estimate fails and Ford don't hike the price.

Actually I have made his estimate after a bit of market reading and changing market demands. Aspire seems to address most of the customer expectations at the price; especially the mid variant 'Trend'. People bother less about ABS and more about Airbags. Performance is what everyone looks for and Aspire is easiest to drive in city.

I was quite assured that Zest won't face any heat because its buyer is the one one who will buy Zest only, especially for the price the Zest is available at. With Ecosport, Ford has bow gained a good reputation in terms of sturdy, reliable and low maintenance vehicles and this will give the Aspire an advantage.

Hence, my estimate for Aspire is 5-7.5 and Figo is 4-6 or total 10-11k for both siblings.

Rest Maruti is capable of changing the game any time, all they need is to slightly update the Swift and DZire and the competition is dead again, add some discounts too and competition will get the final death blow.

Overall, to stay in the game; Ford can't hike the prices at all, they do it and DZire kills the Aspire.

This thread is very good case study for all car manufactures. In Team BHP as well as here the car that sells the most is no where near the top of the vote list.

Amaze which is being criticised by both the forums is the highest seller for Honda this month, clocking close to around 7k numbers. Dzire another car which is not amongts the poll is by far the winner in sales by more than 200% that of amaze. The car which is a winner is a sales dud compared to Dzire and Amaze.

Xcent sits in the mid range in sales as well as polls. Aspire soon to comment yet it will be again somewhere close to Xcent but has a potential to be poll topper.

Aspire, xcent and amaze all provide premium looks, dzire provides resale value , service and proven record. So all these sell. Ppl may have some fantasy but will be practical when they actually buy.

Thread Starter #434
Compact Sedan sales chart in Oct 2015

MARUTI SUZUKI SWIFT D-Zire - 24502 units

HONDA AMAZE - 6971 units

Hyundai Xcent - 5101 units

FORD FIGO Aspire - 3041 units

TATA ZEST - 2526 units

Compact Sedan sales chart in Oct 2015

MARUTI SUZUKI SWIFT D-Zire - 24502 units

HONDA AMAZE - 6971 units

Hyundai Xcent - 5101 units

FORD FIGO Aspire - 3041 units

TATA ZEST - 2526 units
I can even digest people buying DZire based on brand, but on what grounds Amaze diesel/petrol is selling in such numbers? Except the Diesel engine power and space, I don't see anything else!!