Tata Zest Ownership Review

Re: Tata Zest XM (Revotron) Ownership Review

Yes, I demanded the sales guy that I need April/May 2015 manufactured unit and I got the same as he ordered directly from the plant.
Yes, I did the PDI at Tumkur where the car was unloaded from the truck.
I got the car last week and it is just awesome!!!
I took insurance outside from Bharati Xi at 24k bumper to bumper. I did not bargain any price with them. This was the price offered to me by Lalbagh unit and I just chose insurance from outside.

I didnot get any freebies other than a perfume bottle and air freshener at the time of delivery..
Woow good to hear that. Waiting for some pictures along with your experiences that could help others.

Your most welcome.
His name is Deepak, prerana motors, BTM layout.
KHT motors are quoting me Rs 6.97 Lakhs for a 'WHITE XMS Revetron' with free accessories, rear parking sensor without camera so i am getting an extra Rs.1500 discount over the price quoted by Prerana Motors and now i will finalize the deal if Prerana gives me less than what KHT have quoted. Let me try my luck :)
Could you PM me Deepak's contact

I am new and i havent done 10+ posts yet so cannot use Private Messenger. If i am correct its not right to share phone numbers on this thread, correct me if i am wrong. Can you tell me a way around to give you the contact number of Deepak?

dear zest owners... has any one put fenders/ guards on their cars.
plz post photos and source/cost

I went to Car/Bike Accessory Market near to my location, Front/Rear Guards were not available at any shop. Even one Shopkeeper asked me against it and said Zest can not be fitted with those until and unless it is done by some "JUGAAD" i.e. trick.

I have booked a White XMS RT with KTH Motors (Domlur) in Bangalore on 14-May-2015, i have got the VIN Number which is MATXXXXXXFLBXXXXX. when i decode it happens to be a Feb-2015 model. Many who have taken deliveries (other colors mostly Grey) in May have got March or April vehicles but its strange that i am getting a February vehicle. I spoke to the Sales person and he says that he got the vehicles from Pune after he placed an order in May.According to him Grey is the highest selling color followed by Beige and white so the chances are that i am getting Feb vehicle as it is a White color whereas a grey which arrived with my car is a April model.
Need your suggestion if i should go with this car or demand a car from march/April month?

Dear Kallem, it won't matter much if car is in good condition. Do a thorough PDI. Look at each and every inch of your car before demanding for invoice.

I took jan model after doing an hour of pdi. And am happy with the piece i got. So Far. Touchwood.[:D]

Dear Kallem, it won't matter much if car is in good condition. Do a thorough PDI. Look at each and every inch of your car before demanding for invoice.

I took jan model after doing an hour of pdi. And am happy with the piece i got. So Far. Touchwood.[:D]
Thank you simpleparab for your response, I shall do a thorough PDI.

To everyone who is planning to buy Zest, please read this for one time before you even think of going ahead with your purchase.

Purchased the car in Dec 2014.

Since February, steering wheel of car is not self centering at slow speeds when starting off. Tata plant team "certifies" that there is no problem in car after 8 visits to the workshop, once for 8 days at a stretch.

Car was in service center for 8 days for above problem, new problem introduced - driver seat started giving creaking noise. Tata says it is repairable but we will replace as a special case.

Handbrake was not working on slopes with even just 2 passengers, had to get it fixed.

AC stopped working one day, started working the next day as workshop, Tata found everything ok so according to them there is no problem.

Reverse parking sensor sounds suddenly stopped and then started working suddenly.

Sudden automatic horn when locking with remote key one day - for precisely 30 minutes. Then went off by itself.

Boot spring became stiff in less than 2 months, service advisor insisted that it is normal wear and tear, had to get it fixed in front of me.

Driver side sun visor was vibrating badly, service advisor insisted that it is same on all zests, had to pursue to get it replaced.

Rattling noise in dashboard - had to get 3 service center visits to get it fixed.

DRLs stopped working suddenly, Tata motors gave me "logic" to start them if they stop working.

Don't even ask about mileage.

Trust me you will have a hard time.

To everyone who is planning to buy Zest, please read this for one time before you even think of going ahead with your purchase.

Purchased the car in Dec 2014.

Trust me you will have a hard time.
Hi Atatu firstly welcome to TAI very sorry to hear your experience with the zest. if possible can you please post some pictures