Tata Zest Ownership Review

Re: Tata Zest XM (Revotron) Ownership Review

Do we really need to change ? aren't bridgestone good enough for 30-40K!!!!
Yes they really are. But what if we get extended life of another 30-40k for a price of around 7 to 8k ?

I dont think Michelin will give double life than Bridgestone. Both tires are at par in performance and the rates too.

Michelin has softer compound tires compared to BS. As per our road conditions, BS is better.

I am not sure which varient of BS tires comes in Zest. It is better not to change. Dealers may be ready to accept BS ties, but in a low price, Because they are sure there are lot of takers for that tire in better price.
A tyre dealer claimed that Michelin can easily go 90k. In one thread on carwale, somebody has already driven them for 70k KMs. The same person than replaced them with Bridgestone (on the forum 2nd or 3rd page) and as per him Michelin was better anytime.

That is the reason I opened this discussion. Is it worth to change now for 7-8k or are we better with the BS ?

Guys, do you advise to change the Bridgstone tyres to Michelin ?
Michelin causes less rolling friction, reduces noise and improves mileage. It also has more life - almost double than the bridgestone.
Dealers are ready to exchange the new bridgestone with michelin for a suitable price.
Do we really need to change ? aren't bridgestone good enough for 30-40K!!!!
Michelin good for comfort - less noise, smooth and is good for highways and good roads.
For bad roads Bridgestone or Apollo Acelere is better.
Bridgestone will last longer than Michelin.

Yes they really are. But what if we get extended life of another 30-40k for a price of around 7 to 8k ?

A tyre dealer claimed that Michelin can easily go 90k. In one thread on carwale, somebody has already driven them for 70k KMs. The same person than replaced them with Bridgestone (on the forum 2nd or 3rd page) and as per him Michelin was better anytime.

That is the reason I opened this discussion. Is it worth to change now for 7-8k or are we better with the BS ?
Better to stick with bridgestone, even reviews point to BS for Indian roads. Use that 7-8 k for accessories.

I know an airport taxi owner(Tavera) who uses BS tires only and for him BS tires last 1.10 lakh km easily.He cover that km in 1 year. At the same time another indica taxi owner for whom BS tires last approx 70 k km. Tire life also depends on the tire size too. Bigger the tire, rotation will be less to cover the distance and last for more miles.

Guys, Below are the things that I noticed :
1. In the morning when I start the car, the RPM stalls at 1200-1500 and only after few turns on the wheel, it comes back to the normal 650-750.

2. When in the traffic, I hold down the clutch and slowly release while accelerating, it suddenly does to 2K RPM and slowly comes back. Scenario of stall again?

I may be technically very weak with cars, but I certainly believe that something is not right here as I have experience of owning couple of petrol cars and also countless kms of driving experience. Help appreciated.

Guys, Below are the things that I noticed :
1. In the morning when I start the car, the RPM stalls at 1200-1500 and only after few turns on the wheel, it comes back to the normal 650-750.

2. When in the traffic, I hold down the clutch and slowly release while accelerating, it suddenly does to 2K RPM and slowly comes back. Scenario of stall again?

I may be technically very weak with cars, but I certainly believe that something is not right here as I have experience of owning couple of petrol cars and also countless kms of driving experience. Help appreciated.
The car engine is cold when you start it in the morning. This is why you have noticed a higher engine rpm. After a few seconds, when the engine temperature reaches operational limit (may be one rotation of the radiator fan), the engine rpm comes down to normal. I have noticed this same in my Zest XMS RT and in my previous car also (Maruti Zen owned for 11 years).

I can suggest one solution to you for the second problem. I first release the clutch completely, then press the accelerator. This can be done in every gear and I used to do this since last six years of driving. No problem at all and resulted in longer clutch life. I have not changed the clutch assembly of my previous maruti Zen for last six years.

I have one quarry to you moscowhiskies. I found you got good mileage from the Zest in city limits. The owner's manual states that to idle the car for 30 seconds before start the engine and switch off the engine. Following this rule, I now became unable to switch off the car in any traffic red light since majority of the traffic lights in Kolkata remain red for 45 to 60 seconds. Keeping the car on in traffic lights wastes a lot of fuel and resulted in poor fuel economy (8 to 9 kmpl only for 95% non AC driving). Do you switch off your car in traffic lights?

@KBKolkata
Thank you for your concern to reply on my queries. But, I believe you did not understand exactly what I was asking. But, nevertheless I am going to answer your question :) :
Yes, I got good mileage from my Zest XT RT, I never turn off the engine in any traffic condition and was always on full AC with engine in ECO mode.
From what I observed till now, I was getting around 19.0kmpl+ in Highway @ 80-100kmph and 14-15kmpl in City @20-60kmph (not Bumper to Bumper traffic). When it comes to B2B traffic I am getting 9-11kmpl only. All of these are in ECO mode and 100% AC.

Hi Guys,

Couple of questions. I have taken delivery of my RED RT XT and have not driven at all after taking delivery on 25th Dec. I have observed few things as i start the engine everyday and keep it on for 10 mins.

1. The engine rpm raises to 1200 and then settles down to 650- 750.
2. There is slight jerk/jump/movement which can be felt in car and in steering also while the car is idiling.

other than the above i could not find any issue as of now. Could you please let me know if these are normal with Revotron or do i need to visit the service center and get it clarified. Thanks in advance.

Hi Guys,

Couple of questions. I have taken delivery of my RED RT XT and have not driven at all after taking delivery on 25th Dec. I have observed few things as i start the engine everyday and keep it on for 10 mins.

1. The engine rpm raises to 1200 and then settles down to 650- 750.
2. There is slight jerk/jump/movement which can be felt in car and in steering also while the car is idiling.

other than the above i could not find any issue as of now. Could you please let me know if these are normal with Revotron or do i need to visit the service center and get it clarified. Thanks in advance.
Hi SASSAS,

Congrats on your purchase and wish you many many happy miles ahead. As to your queries, I guess it is common for RT as many users have reported such behaviour and I have same experience on my XM RT (same colour as yours [:D])

Hi SASSAS,

Congrats on your purchase and wish you many many happy miles ahead. As to your queries, I guess it is common for RT as many users have reported such behaviour and I have same experience on my XM RT (same colour as yours [:D])
Thanks sasi. I wish you the same. Let's hope no major issues crop up.

Hi Guys,

I was not able to follow the thread since some time, so Congrats to all who have recently became proud owners of Zest and i wish you all lacs of happy miles.

Update from my side:
I was supposed to get my Zest RT on 25th Dec but as usual and expected they did not kept their commitment and after the threat of cancelling the booking they gave me not a certain delivery date but 1st week of new year and guess what Today i received my VIN number and has been told that my car is in transit.
I received a different VIN number , please have a look and need your help to figure out which month it could be.
MATXXXXXXELPXXXXX, E should stand for 2014 but what does P stands for, does any new owner of Zest have this Series of VIN.?
:help:

Hi Guys,

I was not able to follow the thread since some time, so Congrats to all who have recently became proud owners of Zest and i wish you all lacs of happy miles.

Update from my side:
I was supposed to get my Zest RT on 25th Dec but as usual and expected they did not kept their commitment and after the threat of cancelling the booking they gave me not a certain delivery date but 1st week of new year and guess what Today i received my VIN number and has been told that my car is in transit.
I received a different VIN number , please have a look and need your help to figure out which month it could be.
MATXXXXXXELPXXXXX, E should stand for 2014 but what does P stands for, does any new owner of Zest have this Series of VIN.?
:help:
Hi sagacious,

Congrats.. regarding vin my vin had ELN where N was November.. and O is never used in vin. So yours is December manufactured car
Note : Tata following a new pattern as discussed by many users.

Hello all, first of all, thanks for the reviews here, based on that i have booked TATA ZEST XMS RT on 31st dec with full payment.
I got the 333 confidence offer. The dealer did not give any discount nor any freebies.
i didnt opt for insurance from the dealer as he quoted 20,000. I got the quote for 12,000 from new India assurance (nil depreciation). I will be taking delivery on 8th jan since my car is in transit. Iam on tight budget so iam ordering every accessorie online, got a good deal on ebay for a seat cover (leather art) for 4700/-, also ordered bumper guard for 350/- and steering cover for 400/-