Tata Zest Ownership Review

Re: Tata Zest XM (Revotron) Ownership Review

Dear Zest owners,

Congratulations to you all for those superb fuel efficiency fibers you got from the Revetron. There are few things I would like to share with you.

I already have reported that during PDI, I found 194 kms odometer reading in the car allotted to me. I asked the dealer for clarifications. They replied that the company owned stock yard in the East Zone of our country is at Kharagpur, West Bengal and the car has been driven to Kolkata. The distance is 150 kms approximately. The car went through rigorous checks at the dealer end also. I confirmed their claim from the territory sales manager and the very top officials of the passenger car division of Tata Motors. All of them assured me in writing that the dealers' claim is correct. At that point of time, I realized that there are no options but to accept delivery of the car and I have done that yesterday. Now I am one proud owner of red Tata Zest XMS RT.

A few things worth mentioning.

1) The dealership (KB Motors, Kolkata) and the sales person was honest and very helpful through out the process, from booking to delivery of the car. They have delivered everything that has been promised at the time of booking.
2) I got the owners manual, battery warranty card, extended warranty and gold AMC booklet and temporary registration certificate wrapped in a leather case. Additionally they gifted me one coffee mug, free Zest written carpet mats, mud guards and 7 liters petrol. I opted for seat covers worth rupees 6500.
3) I have talked to the GM, service of KB Motors and he advised me not to cross 2000 rpm during run in. However, I have restricted my self at 1500 rpm.
4) It was my habit to switch off my previous car's engine at traffic red lights, whenever I was stopped for more than 10 seconds. That saved a lot of fuel. But in order to take care of the turbo charger, I am afraid to do the same in Zest. Fellow Zest owners, please suggest what to do. Is it safe to switch off the car at every red light? I never crossed 1500 rpm. :please::please:
I asked GM, service this question. He answered that the car can be switched off. However, twice I have heard the fan running after switching off the car in my garage.
5) The engine is little noisy considering the sound insulation provided in a petrol car. However, the engine noise can only be heard at very silent locations, like in my garage.
6) The car has been driven for nearly 50 kms only. Average fuel efficiency is 8 to 9 kmpl only for 95% non AC driving.
7) The AC is very effective considering the absence of climate control.

So far, I can say the ownership is very satisfactory considering the car and efforts from the dealership.

Dear Zest owners,

... and I have done that yesterday. Now I am one proud owner of red Tata Zest XMS RT.

5) The engine is little noisy considering the sound insulation provided in a petrol car. However, the engine noise can only be heard at very silent locations, like in my garage.
Congratulations KBKolkata. May God bless many happy kilometers to you. :)

This engine noise seems to be a common concern across internet. My wife also observed the same before taking a test drive at Concorde, Pune. I think TML must do something here.

Dear Zest owners,

Congratulations to you all for those superb fuel efficiency fibers you got from the Revetron. There are few things I would like to share with you.

I already have reported that during PDI, I found 194 kms odometer reading in the car allotted to me. I asked the dealer for clarifications. They replied that the company owned stock yard in the East Zone of our country is at Kharagpur, West Bengal and the car has been driven to Kolkata. The distance is 150 kms approximately. The car went through rigorous checks at the dealer end also. I confirmed their claim from the territory sales manager and the very top officials of the passenger car division of Tata Motors. All of them assured me in writing that the dealers' claim is correct. At that point of time, I realized that there are no options but to accept delivery of the car and I have done that yesterday. Now I am one proud owner of red Tata Zest XMS RT.

1) The dealership (KB Motors, Kolkata) and the sales person was honest and very helpful through out the process, from booking to delivery of the car. They have delivered everything that has been promised at the time of booking.
2) I got the owners manual, battery warranty card, extended warranty and gold AMC booklet and temporary registration certificate wrapped in a leather case. Additionally they gifted me one coffee mug, free Zest written carpet mats, mud guards and 7 liters petrol. I opted for seat covers worth rupees 6500.
3) I have talked to the GM, service of KB Motors and he advised me not to cross 2000 rpm during run in. However, I have restricted my self at 1500 rpm.
4) It was my habit to switch off my previous car's engine at traffic red lights, whenever I was stopped for more than 10 seconds. That saved a lot of fuel. But in order to take care of the turbo charger, I am afraid to do the same in Zest. Fellow Zest owners, please suggest what to do. Is it safe to switch off the car at every red light? I never crossed 1500 rpm. :please::please:
I asked GM, service this question. He answered that the car can be switched off. However, twice I have heard the fan running after switching off the car in my garage.
6) The car has been driven for nearly 50 kms only. Average fuel efficiency is 8 to 9 kmpl only for 95% non AC driving.
7) The AC is very effective considering the absence of climate control.

So far, I can say the ownership is very satisfactory considering the car and efforts from the dealership.
Congrats on your new zest. It's been a month I have got mine. Since it's a turbo charged, you need to follow the 30 sec idle rule so that the engine cools down a bit. If the system feels that it's not cool enough when you turn off the vehicle, it will turn on the intercooler by itself to chill the turbo. That's the noise. Or else during the run the vehicle is super silent. No noise from engine. I don't even feel that engine is running. Overall very much happy with my Zest XT RT

Congratulations KBKolkata. May God bless many happy kilometers to you. :)
Thank you for your wishes "bridge".

Congrats on your new zest. It's been a month I have got mine. Since it's a turbo charged, you need to follow the 30 sec idle rule so that the engine cools down a bit. If the system feels that it's not cool enough when you turn off the vehicle, it will turn on the intercooler by itself to chill the turbo. That's the noise. Or else during the run the vehicle is super silent. No noise from engine. I don't even feel that engine is running. Overall very much happy with my Zest XT RT
30 sec idle rule. Does it mean that the engine should be started 30 seconds before start and switched off 30 sec after stop. So, according to this rule one can not switch off the engine at traffic signals as most of the red lights are for 45 to 60 seconds within city limits. If this is mandatory for Zest RT then I wonder how fellow owners got good mileage from the car within city, since idling the engine for longer period increases the fuel consumption heavily. Dear owners, please clarify my doubts and I apologize in advance if my comments are wrong due to lack of technical knowledge.

I turn off the engine in tragic if it's more than 60 sec. At that time when you start the engine, you need not keep the engine on for 30 sec as the engine is already at the higher temperature.

Awesome yaar. Really good. Is it before first service or after it?
This is before first service. My total is still around 1900 Km. First service is still due. There is a separate thread of my Whitey. Have given more information on this. Feel free to go through.

The 30 sec idle rule is applicable for the when you start first time in a day and stop is end of the day or if you made any log drives continuously then 30 sec idle rule is applicable. In traffic it is not applicable. At traffic signal if you have to wait more than a minute then engine switch off is better for fuel and other parts.

Thanks for your clarification. I used to switch off my previous car whenever the traffic red light was there for more than 30 seconds. I now change the gear of Zest at 1500 rpm.

Thread Starter #296

hey guys, hows you all, its really makes me happy to see the increasing number of the zest lovers.. on the road and on the blog too.[clap]

First sorry for the no reply on the queries as was busy and enjoying my zest at its peak capability.. something yet to be tested.[evil]

Well had my first service last week as completed 3 months and 4500 km both terms

First service had only general check up, air filter clean up, and washing was done which took approx 2 hour and get my car back in my hand. overall nice experience.

Till the 4500 km journey my zest never disappointed me at any level and given me approx IE average 13kmpl in city and 17+kmpl on highway when driven in eco mode with some time sports mode on an on 60-80-100 speed not more than than not bad at all.

this 4500km journey was like my car is saying to me that "no complaints no demands" just fill me fuel and enjoy your rule.
[drive]

but if u push it harder as i had done on my one journey from Jaipur to Bikaner that is 350 km approx run completed in 4 hours, average speed was 120+ and sometime touched 160+ in sports mode only it given me 12.6 kmpl on highway.

one point that i feel is u can't push your car more than 120+ in eco mode easily
but city mode will take you 140+ easily
and sports mode iske toh kya kahne 160+ easily which make
engine feels more powerfull, more smother, and low noisy
i am really enjoying the concept of engine mode specially when it come to overtake something and you push the sports mode on and felt like dhoom dhoom......

any queries and suggestions are most welcome.....

hey guys, hows you all, its really makes me happy to see the increasing number of the zest lovers.. on the road and on the blog too.[clap]

First sorry for the no reply on the queries as was busy and enjoying my zest at its peak capability.. something yet to be tested.[evil]

Well had my first service last week as completed 3 months and 4500 km both terms

First service had only general check up, air filter clean up, and washing was done which took approx 2 hour and get my car back in my hand. overall nice experience.

Till the 4500 km journey my zest never disappointed me at any level and given me approx IE average 13kmpl in city and 17+kmpl on highway when driven in eco mode with some time sports mode on an on 60-80-100 speed not more than than not bad at all.

this 4500km journey was like my car is saying to me that "no complaints no demands" just fill me fuel and enjoy your rule.
[drive]

but if u push it harder as i had done on my one journey from Jaipur to Bikaner that is 350 km approx run completed in 4 hours, average speed was 120+ and sometime touched 160+ in sports mode only it given me 12.6 kmpl on highway.

one point that i feel is u can't push your car more than 120+ in eco mode easily
but city mode will take you 140+ easily
and sports mode iske toh kya kahne 160+ easily which make
engine feels more powerfull, more smother, and low noisy
i am really enjoying the concept of engine mode specially when it come to overtake something and you push the sports mode on and felt like dhoom dhoom......

any queries and suggestions are most welcome.....
Good to see you back. We want some pics man. Happy to see your Zest going well.

Guys, do you advise to change the Bridgstone tyres to Michelin ?

Michelin causes less rolling friction, reduces noise and improves mileage. It also has more life - almost double than the bridgestone.

Dealers are ready to exchange the new bridgestone with michelin for a suitable price.

I dont think Michelin will give double life than Bridgestone. Both tires are at par in performance and the rates too.

Michelin has softer compound tires compared to BS. As per our road conditions, BS is better.

I am not sure which varient of BS tires comes in Zest. It is better not to change. Dealers may be ready to accept BS ties, but in a low price, Because they are sure there are lot of takers for that tire in better price.