Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV5OO - Which One To Choose?

Re: Tata Storme vs Mahindra XUV500 - Which One To Choose?

Okay guys, it looks like we have got a very active platform for a healthy discussion.

After reading whole thread I have some questions:
  • Am I qualified enough to post about the vehicles and driving experience of both?
  • Is there any kind of age/experience boundation on this thread?
  • What is the difference between monocoque chassis os hatches/sedans and SUVs? If yes, then what it is?
Regarding 1) and 2) Vipul, TAI doesnt have any age/sex/religion/experience/or whatsoever based criteria for posting, yes we do have bare minimum forum rules to manage decorum(applicable to everyone including me) - we are all here to learn, share and have a healthy debate - so as far as we can learn to respect each other views and be polite, agree to disagree where needed we are fine.
So no further age and experience related posting needed, not on this thread nor anywhere else on forum though i see where you are coming from, But no further discussions needed any more. I hope we can close that chapter forever, there will be no further discrimination.

Lets only focus on the topic of the thread.

Regarding 3) Best to discuss about monocoque/BOF hatch/suv on the separate thread that Xover started.

IMHO ( purely subjective ) storme lx is one hell of a vfm SUV . Its cheaper then duster , priced more then Scorpio sle but has more features , comfort and space . Superb ride quality , better road presence and looks more richer and upmarket . Better plastic quality and refinement too .

The more we go higher then storme starts losing on features , and then only USP left is 4x4 and ride quality . And xuv starts becoming more attractive because of its features and safety equipments .

Although the xuv is pricer it makes sense for some 1 who has more money to spend .
Here I would say early adopters like IR were damn lucky to get a w8 I think in lesser price then the current w6 which makes me think at times past birth good deeds help in this birth [evil]
your statement is confusing for the SLE scorpio and storme LX part . Care to explain what extra features does Lx have?

• Am I qualified enough to post about the vehicles and driving experience of both?
  • What is the difference between monocoque chassis os hatches/sedans and SUVs? If yes, then what it is?
  • How important is it to have ESP in an SUV and how helpful it can be on our roads?
  • I have read that ride quality of XUV was not flat even on well laid roads, how many people observed it?(Kindly come up)
  • There is some kind of system which senses torque(I guess we call it TSP) demand which is extensively used in diesel cars, even Beat diesel also has it, any diesel car which does not have it?
  • Have I read 65 degree incline too?
Well , I am not qualified to answer first 2 questions .But I missed you here a lot.
Third question: there is already a thread going on .

Now ESP , my answer is ESP is not veryimportant in SUV in Indian conditions at this price range .But if you get it without disturbing the budget too much.

care to explain in context to storme and XUV?

Lets only focus on the topic of the thread.
Yups, better if we don't go offtopic and let this beautiful thread run in it's own lane.

Regarding 3) Best to discuss about monocoque/BOF hatch/suv on the separate thread that Xover started.
I just asked it out of curiosity as there are some pages filled with this one too.[:)]

Not very important, that means it is important but 'not very'. Instead it is not important because it comes for a price and at this end of SUV market - price is an important key factor. Right?

• How important is it to have ESP in an SUV and how helpful it can be on our roads?
  • I have read that ride quality of XUV was not flat even on well laid roads, how many people observed it?(Kindly come up)
  • There is some kind of system which senses torque(I guess we call it TSP) demand which is extensively used in diesel cars, even Beat diesel also has it, any diesel car which does not have it?
  • Have I read 65 degree incline too?
Well , I am not qualified to answer first 2 questions .But I missed you here a lot.
Third question: there is already a thread going on .

It is ok to have it for insane things tried once in a while.

that is like saying it is ok to have drum brakes allround your car if you can brake early

and it is ok to not have ABS on your cars if you know how to pump your brakes.[roll]

No ,superbad, brakes are all time important and must have things every now and then.The present indian road condition and driving conditions further warrant its improvement.

your statement is confusing for the SLE scorpio and storme LX part . Care to explain what extra features does Lx have?
Sure why not .

Since we all taught Gurralla how safety is important and how a car with more effective safety system is worth , storme lx comes with disc brakes for all 4 wheels which Scorpio dosent . And why disc brakes are superior this is the reason --->

Disc brakes are generally considered superior to drum brakes for several reasons. First, they dissipate heat better (brakes work by converting motion energy to heat energy). Under severe usage, such as repeated hard stops or riding the brakes down a long incline, disc brakes take longer to lose effectiveness (a condition known as brake fade). Disc brakes also perform better in wet weather, because centrifugal force tends to fling water off the brake disc and keep it dry, whereas drum brakes will collect some water on the inside surface where the brake shoes contact the drums. A car with four-wheel disc brakes (versus front disc/rear drum) will still provide superior braking performance in wet weather and on long downgrades.

Source -
Disc brakes vs. drum brakes - What are disk brakes and drum brakes, and how do they work?

Beside that storme lx has 4 Chanel abs , which the Scorpio dosent come . And 4 Chanel will allways be superior to 3 Chanel which the Scorpio comes with .

Now storme also comes with a decent music system with iPod , USB , Bluetooth compatibility

Lumbar support ,

projector head lamps ,

Electrically Adjustable Body Coloured Outside Rear View Mirrors

Shorter turning radius .

All Door Power Windows with Express Down Function.

And better quality of interiors , ( subjective ) superior paint look ( subjective ) excellent ride quality , better handling , more comfortable and spacious seats .

The above points IMHO make the storme lx a better vfm option and* relatively more safer *( IMP since we are giving safety paramount importance ) vehicle then Scorpio sle .

@superbad

Can you now kindly explain the readers what features the Scorpio sle comes with which the storme dosent come or comes with ?
Since we are giving safety also importance here and since you have posted this in reply to tornado ( Pune ) post .
that is like saying it is ok to have drum brakes allround your car if you can brake early

and it is ok to not have ABS on your cars if you know how to pump your brakes.[roll]
Kindly keep the safety part also in mind ,while educating our readers about the features of storme lx vs Scorpio sle .

Mods- since its past 30 min , was not able to edit and post this in my previous post .

that means it is important but 'not very'. Instead it is not important because it comes for a price and at this end of SUV market - price is an important key factor. Right?
No , dude , You got me wrong.I didn't meant price at this end of SUV range.
I meant to say price required to know usability and importance of ' safty features' i.e. black box. If at all safty features were deal breaker why President and VVIPs travel in HM car .Their cars are bullet proof but not ESP equipped.Reason is that precautions are more life saving
than the safty features , why?, Because car safty feature science is an incomplete science just like medical science. Or do you think they are worried more about the public money than their own life.?

One needs the black box technology and cameras installed all around (car and road) so as to come to conclusion about utility of the safty features.

Now let me talk about Indian road and driving conditions, it never allows you to get the ESP utilized at insane speeds.Also depending and boasting too much about the safty features during buying decision is wrong because further safty in the form of heliambulance, trained drivers(onlookers) to help the victims , doctors availability in the nearest hospital (lack of golden hour management) is not present .So only safty features are not enough, just because they are available since you have 1 or 2 lakhs extra to spend.
Better to save that money for private heli ambulance and hospital expences.

I have dragged some posts from other thread, which doesn't mention any thing about ESP.
Additionally the helpers did the worst thing they could do. Never take an injured person out of a car when not trained to do so unless the car is in process of catching fire. This has killed many a people. Just make sure that they can breath when conscious.
s.
looking at the pictures the curtain airbags has also been deployed. But why the driver airbag din't function is the million dollar question! It can be guessed that since frontal impact is minimum driver airbag din't come but why passenger airbag deployed then!

Nothing can be clearly said till further investigations are carried out , looks like a high-speed crash in first place. But being in a one crore car doesn't mean you are death proof , still all lies in the hands of the driver.
Almost one year has gone, come on , merc
Merc should come forward with a white paper on difference between ARS of s class and other cars which merely cost 15 to 20 lakhs.
I hope , this helps but feel free to question and remove cobwebs.

Okay guys, it looks like we have got a very active platform for a healthy discussion.

[*]Have I read 65 degree incline too?
[/LIST]
I think you read correct it was mentioned by our member mr ranger , now you can hear it also from a proffesional offroader from tata motors who was giving demo of 4x4 storme on basis of which the statement was posted which you read .

TATA SAFARI strome 65 degree ascent climb, - YouTube

No , dude , You got me wrong.I didn't meant price at this end of SUV range.
I meant to say price required to know usability and importance of ' safty features' i.e. black box. If at all safty features were deal breaker why President and VVIPs travel in HM car .Their cars are bullet proof but not ESP equipped.Reason is that precautions are more life saving
than the safty features , why?, Because car safty feature science is an incomplete science just like medical science. Or do you think they are worried more about the public money than their own life.?

One needs the black box technology and cameras installed all around (car and road) so as to come to conclusion about utility of the safty features.

Now let me talk about Indian road and driving conditions, it never allows you to get the ESP utilized at insane speeds.Also depending and boasting too much about the safty features during buying decision is wrong because further safty in the form of heliambulance, trained drivers(onlookers) to help the victims , doctors availability in the nearest hospital (lack of golden hour management) is not present .So only safty features are not enough, just because they are available since you have 1 or 2 lakhs extra to spend.
Better to save that money for private heli ambulance and hospital expences.

I have dragged some posts from other thread, which doesn't mention any thing about ESP.

I hope , this helps but feel free to question and remove cobwebs.
presidents and VVIPs used to travel in HM cars. used to.
The PM since a long time now travels in a beemer which has more safety features than any other car on road in india.
Not so sure about the president but now HM cars are not preferred.

For more info about ESP i suggest you to watch fifth gear season 21 episode 3.
You will actually get the idea why i am giving it importance for an SUV at that price range.

@ raja, i have no video or data which can prove that all disc brakes can be better than the braking combination of what scorpio provides.
Same for the abs. So lets agree to disagree.
Music system at that price is said to be an average one. I do not see many people would continue to use that stock HU too.
Read somewhere that the hand rests , Rear wash and wipe cannot be retrofitted on the Lx .

Does the Lx have fog lamps too?
Sle has power windows with anti pinch , electrically operated outer rear view mirrors and fog lamps along with hand rests, rear wash and wipe .

@ raja, i have no video or data which can prove that all disc brakes can be better than the braking combination of what scorpio provides.
Same for the abs. So lets agree to disagree.
Music system at that price is said to be an average one. I do not see many people would continue to use that stock HU too.
Read somewhere that the hand rests , Rear wash and wipe cannot be retrofitted on the Lx .

Does the Lx have fog lamps too?
Sle has power windows with anti pinch , electrically operated outer rear view mirrors and fog lamps along with hand rests, rear wash and wipe .
what does technology say ? All 4 disc is modern tech compared to front disc and rear drums or not ? 1 knowledgeable guy told me that 4 Chanel abs will be allways superior tech wise since abs can individually control/apply on any of the 4 wheels depending on circumstance.

Now since we are giving safety paramount importance were does the question of agreeing or disagreeing comes ? Why can't we acknowledge the fact that storme is using some relatively modern tech compared to scorpio ?

For example we buy xuv w8 thinking it has 6 airbags right ? What if those airbags don't work when required as such cases not with xuv but many high end cars have been reported right ? But we still might buy thinking it has 6 airbags , and may not buy storme vx thinking it has only 2 airbags right ?

Music system is decent in storme , now 1 upgrades or not is different question it comes with it and the Scorpio dosent .
Rest you are right storme lx dosent come with fog lamps , rear washer and wiper driver arms rest but has lumbar support which is again missed in Scorpio sle .

I don't know about rear washer and wiper but hand rest can be easily fitted even at dealer level , I have personally asked and confirmed - fortune motors powai .

You asked me which features are there I told you , and since we were giving a lot if importance on safety part I thought storme lx has those crucial things which Scorpio sle misses .

And what about space , ride quality and comfort ? Ok comfort can be again subjective so leave it .

When we agree that Scorpio has a better low rev response and has more eager engine ,why can't you agree that storme has a better ride quality ?

Again let me repeat , in 2015 Scorpio can outclass storme in practically every department and it must only then we as consumers will get a better products , but as of now storme is a better and refined product and our official review also says that .
now this part we can agree to disagree ,since if one likes Scorpio to the core no amount of convincing will make him like the storme and vice a versa [:)]

By the way last month on tv I saw president of India came in for a function in safari and so did Maharashtra chief minister too , and 2 years before too saw president pratibha Patil comming in safari at podar college for a function with my own eyes .

MH 01 AV 999 tata safari
Spotted at Near Raj Bhavan, Malabar Hill
Used By Chief Minister Prithviraj Chavan
Source
http://www.mumbaimirror.com/article...raffic-cops-fine-the-CM-as-well.html?pageno=2

If this thread title included old Safari and Scoprio, i would have first vouched for Safari and then Scorpio (haven't tested XUV so no comments).

Seriously i tell you that old Safari looks very good, elegant and posh when compared to Storme! yes.

I was disappointed by the dashboard and the controls, it looked too basic (except for the steering wheel)

On the exterior front it no longer has the [evil] face like the old one did, but rear is some kind of decent.

Never got to test drive it as the SE told to visit the showroom there.